Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


74 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Exception Season for MI-5
It's good to see Series 8 released to the American audience. This is one of my favorite series and has been since series 1. I already purchased mine at Amazon UK as "Spooks" because I couldn't wait and I own a region-free dvd player.

The stories are realistic and timely, the acting superb (with one exception), and the action is fast-paced. Actress Genevieve...
Published on January 7, 2011 by Joan C. Crenshaw

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars what has happened to one of my favorite shows??
I've watched every episode of every season and for some reason the show has suddenly gone down the toilet. They have one person suddenly retire and that's it; they don't have anything in the show about it except he tells Harry he's retiring. Another person gets killed and there's also almost zero in the show about her death. What's even worse, they don't replace her so...
Published on October 23, 2011 by T. Bill


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

74 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Exception Season for MI-5, January 7, 2011
By 
This review is from: MI-5: Vol. 8 (DVD)
It's good to see Series 8 released to the American audience. This is one of my favorite series and has been since series 1. I already purchased mine at Amazon UK as "Spooks" because I couldn't wait and I own a region-free dvd player.

The stories are realistic and timely, the acting superb (with one exception), and the action is fast-paced. Actress Genevieve O'Reilly struggles with an American accent and some decidedly non-American idioms, but that's a minor complaint.

And in typical MI-5 fashion, Section D sustains personnel losses, often when the viewer least expects it. Long-time viewers will be pleased to see Ruth Evershed return in an exceptionally good storyline, and in another Lucas North is confronted by the man who imprisoned and tortured him for 8 years. I'm a fan of Richard Armitage, but I watched the series before he joined and will continue till the Powers That Be cease production.

On its' worst day, MI-5 beats 99% of other dramas' best days hands down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Premier Drama Series, February 11, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: MI-5: Vol. 8 (DVD)
At eight years running, most TV shows begin to loose steam. Either the stories become increasingly far-fetched, the cast becomes tired and pushed into new settings to "freshen" the story line, or the series begins to realize that, after telling so many stories, there are simply no more to tell. We've seen this in series after series, and it reminds one of what Carl Reiner insisted upon after five years of unparalleled success in The Dick Van Dyke Show" back in the early 1960's: he ended the show at the height of its popularity to leave on a high point in order not to experience the slow and painful unwinding most shows suffer as they pass their apogee, yet continue to run because they remain economically viable.

MI-5 not only escapes that fate, but actually breaks it and throws it in the trash bin. After eight years, the series is strong, engrossing, intelligent, suspenseful, and continues to expand on it's base story line, the "defense of the realm" by common people who become officers of "5" from all walks of life. This is easily one of the best produced, acted, and scripted television shows ever made, and that's saying a lot, but, in my opinion, its absolutely the truth. These episodes are like 60-minute movies rather than TV shows, and the suspense and intrigue so immense that there can only be counted two, or perhaps three, truly "weak" episodes in the eight year run of some 70 - 80 episodes (and one of the weakest episodes is the pilot, which is typical as new shows get started and are unsure how to immediately handle all the show's components).

In fact, I've often likened MI-5 to one of those plate-twirlers you occasionally see, where the person takes a dinner plate, puts it atop a tall stick, and twirls it so that the plate seems to defy gravity by spinning effortlessly on top the pole. And then, the twirler adds another plate on another stick, and with a few deft twists, keeps a second plate simultaneously up in the air. And then a third. I've felt from the beginning of the series that MI-5 is just like that. By the end of Season One, we have a plate up in the air, and it seems difficult to believe that the series can maintain this level of suspense and interest. But then Season Two comes along, and they do just that, with now TWO plates in the air. Of course, you can't really maintain that for any length of time, but we have THREE plates up and spinning by Season Three, and by this point, we keep saying, "OK, that's it... they've reached the crescendo, there's nothing more they can realistically do and keep this believable and workable, the decline will start here, ..." But then, they do it again. And again. In fact, this progression keeps up to a point where even by Season Eight (the Season listed here for this review), its just impossible to believe how this can possibly be maintained. But indeed it is, and it is, truly, a wonder to behold.

I won't go into story lines, plot descriptions, or characters, because you can read all that in detail elsewhere (and it's often a mistake to do so, or you'll loose a lot of the drama and twists that get thrown at you by knowing these things ahead of time). What I will say is that this is simply one of the most amazing TV shows I've ever watched, and I've been watching TV since the 1960's. The actors are superb, the stories dramatic and intense, and the ability to make realistic story lines while keeping up the drama is a talent all too rarely seen in shows.

I can highly recommend MI-5 if you like drama, and particularly if you like to consider the sometimes contradictory forces of a nation's security concerns and its dedication to the rule of law. There are some tough criticisms within the show directed at a variety of countries (including the UK, in no short amount), so you have to be willing to take the slings and the barbs as they come, but its surprising to see that, just because one country does things a bit differently than another, doesn't necessarily mean that they are wrong, or even unwise. There is much to be said when one considers the complex issues addressed in this show (and the manner and approach taken toward each), and that's just part of the MI-5 experience.

Six stars for performance, six stars for stories, six stars for technical implementation and direction. Some of the seasons, unfortunately, are very expensive, and that's a shame, but most of the rest are reasonably priced (including Season Eight, here). And one final comment: to really get the most out of this series, start with Season One, and watch the episodes in order. The stories build upon themselves. The opening pilot epoisode is perhaps not that strong, but just get past it and the next one or so, and watch the whole production take off like a slingshot. Or, should I say, a plate twirler. And watch with amazement, as I have, as the plates keep getting added Season after Season. By the end of Season One, you'll see what I mean, and if you keep it up in order, I think you'll be convinced of my description. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars _Spooks_ is supernaturally good!, January 25, 2011
By 
This review is from: MI-5: Vol. 8 (DVD)
I've never understood why the marketing people changed the name of this series from _Spooks_ to _MI-5_. I know why they changed the first Harry Potter title for the American market (it was called _Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone_ in the UK): they think we are stupid. But how is MI-5 more accessible for a US audience?

But, although I do think names are massively important (Juliet, let us remember, was wrong, wrong, wrong,) none of that really matters with this series. It's just so amazingly good . . . .

In most long-running series, the production values get better while the plots get worse. Not true here. The issues are timely and sharply focused and remarkably balanced. As an American, I feel the slings and arrows of British opposition to our foreign policy, but fair enough. I've started using clips from the series in my Humanities class as examples of how much the US resembles the Athens of Thucydides.

As the other reviewer says, the casting is impeccable. And I've been hoping for the return of Ruth, the dead-pan intel genius.

This is a great series at a good price. My only complaint is that there are so very few episodes.

PS and I agree with the first reviewer about the CIA woman's accent/vocab; who could believe a CIA operative saying "I don't like being messed about" ???
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Weak season in a great show -- hopefully not in decline, February 21, 2011
By 
Jonathan (Chicago, IL USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is one of the best television series ever, in my opinion. Fascinating characters, carefully drawn, in grippingly suspenseful thrillers. The show also provides a really interesting view into one of the world's oldest democracies, as it struggles to maintain its essential British character in an age when empire is becoming a distant memory.

In short, love the show, and loved season 8 almost, but not quite, as much. Aspects of both the story arc and individual stories had strong echoes of seasons past and made me wonder if the shows best days are behind it.

Also a gripe -- as I write this episode 6 is not available. Why? Somewhat unlikely that a single episode in the middle of a series has different licensing issues than the rest of the season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All Spy Fans Will Love this Show, May 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: MI-5: Vol. 8 (DVD)
MI-5 is a great show that ran for 10 season. Don't expect the American seasons of 20 to 24 episodes. Some have only six, a couple have 10 and others 8. They'll kill your favorite character in a heartbeat. It is well written and the main actors are all top notch. A few minor characters need to work on their American accent of course it is a British show. I have gone so far as to order the UK version to watch on a region free DVD player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this show!, February 13, 2011
By 
ceela (SF Bay Area, CA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The MI-5 series is excellent. It is tense, suspenseful, well acted and thoroughly enjoyable. I was a fan of 24 when it first started, but grew weary. This series deals with the terrorist environment, but in a much more thoughtful way. It's also interesting (and quite amusing) to get the British point of view and their barbed comments about Americans and American politicians.

Thank you, Amazon, for making the complete series 8 available. It is most appreciated, but there do seem to be a couple of gaps. I believe that episodes 6 and 7 may have been cut short a bit. I look forward to future seasons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spooks as good as ever!, February 25, 2011
By 
Irish Feline (Naples, ME USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: MI-5: Vol. 8 (DVD)
I had long been waiting for the US release of Spooks (MI-5) Volume 8. I am happy to report that after viewing it, I was not disappointed, for this latest foray into "Spookdom" is every bit as good as its predecessors. There is, of course, a cliffhanging conclusion which naturally leaves one wondering if the protagonist is dead/alive, and most importantly, coming back for Volume 9! True MI-5 Fans beware: there are only 3 discs in this release, so if you don't pace yourself, you will have viewed them all in the blink of a Peter Firth eye!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Spy-Adventure TV Show/Film in Many Years, March 10, 2011
By 
Emil "Emil" (Matawan, NJ, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: MI-5: Vol. 8 (DVD)
I've seen all the episodes of "MI-5" ("Spooks") since Series 1 and even saw Series 9. Everything on DVD purchased from Amazon US and UK.

Well directed, both entertaining and imaginative, well connected stories with good characterization, and with references to real-life modern world political issues. Islamic terrorism, Russian and Chinese espionage. Sometimes it's even Pakistani or Israeli intelligence in action (the double episode "Hostage Takers" of Series 5). Foreign and domestic threats, more or less effective collaboration with American Intelligence, moles, betrayals, more or less helpful politicians ... everything is present. Peter Firth, John Armitage, Nicola Walker, Hermione Norris create solid and believable characters.

Now, if you want SPY STUFF, but much less shooting, just "pure" intelligence work (great spy stories of The Cold War), watch again the two brilliant TV British adaptations of John le Carre: "Tinker, Taylor, Soldier, Spy" and "Smiley's People", both with Sir Alec Guinness. Or ... revisit the TV series "Danger Man" ("Secret Agent"), very well acted by Patrick McGoohan. If you long for a really good James Bond, watch again "From Russia with Love" with Sir Sean Connery (good spy story, clever plot, great villains, great acting), and, maybe "For Your Eyes Only" (clever spy plot, good acting, humor) with Sir Roger More, but Roger Moore delivers better in the detective (occasionally spy) TV Series "The Saint", especially in the B&W episodes. And ... if you want "lighter" spy & detective stuff and much more humor, consider "The Avengers", especially the TV episodes with Dame Diana Rigg or "The Man from U.N.C.L.E." with Robert Vaughn. Last but not least, if you look for very ingenious and perfectly executed (though not much believable) plots try one more time "Mission Impossible", the TV series with characters played by actors, such as Martin Landau, Leonard Nimoy, Steven Hill, Petr Graves (the smartest spy episode: "The Mind of Stefan Miklos").

All the above are available from Amazon, ... but it's old stuff.
"MI-5" / "Spooks" (The British Security Service) IS the best spy TV/Film feature of our days !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars English Movies, November 25, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: MI-5: Vol. 8 (DVD)
I think the English out do us in the movie industry. There movies are more plausible and don't have that Hollywood look. I rate them very highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Episode 2,3,4, ... ONLY Season 8: Episode 1, January 28, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Fans of MI-5, known as "Spooks" in the UK, will not be disappointed with Season 8: Episode 1. It's intense and well produced. However ... there are no more episodes available presently on Amazon Video On Demand. Personally I would not have paid to watch Episode 1 if I had known NO MORE WERE AVAILABLE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

MI-5: Vol. 8
MI-5: Vol. 8 by Peter Firth (DVD - 2011)
$39.98 $26.69
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.