Customer Reviews


515 Reviews
5 star:
 (349)
4 star:
 (80)
3 star:
 (36)
2 star:
 (16)
1 star:
 (34)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


166 of 211 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-have for XBox 360 Gamers
If you've got an XBox 360, you really need to get your hand on one or two wireless controllers. These controllers are GREAT for keeping your gaming area free of clutter. To start with, the controller is much smaller than the standard XBox controller was.

For control items, you start with the standard blue X, yellow Y, red B and green A buttons. There are two...
Published on November 25, 2005 by Lisa Shea

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Priceless.... Until it breaks
Alright, maybe I had a lemon for a controller, but I can not tell everyone how much rage built in side of me when i saw my 50 dollar controller sitting next to my Xbox 360, useless.

I had two wireless controllers, and both got a fair amount of use for about two months. The one that came in the box was awesome, and is still good, however I bought a second...
Published on February 11, 2006 by Randall P. Peelen


‹ Previous | 1 252 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

166 of 211 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-have for XBox 360 Gamers, November 25, 2005
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: MICROSOFT B4F00014 Xbox 360® Wireless Controller (Video Game)
If you've got an XBox 360, you really need to get your hand on one or two wireless controllers. These controllers are GREAT for keeping your gaming area free of clutter. To start with, the controller is much smaller than the standard XBox controller was.

For control items, you start with the standard blue X, yellow Y, red B and green A buttons. There are two thumbsticks, one on the upper left and one in the center right. There is also a directional (d-pad) in the lower left.

Next, you have a pair of shoulder buttons at the "top" of the unit, up above the other buttons. You also have a pair of triggers below those shoulder buttons.

Finally, you have a center X button that can be used to turn the console on and off, plus a "start" and "back" tiny white buttons on either side of it.

The unit has a rechargeable battery unit inside it, the size of two AA batteries. You have to buy a recharger set SEPARATELY that lets you charge up while you play. In essence you plug the charger into the back of the controller - and the other end into the USB port in the front of the XBox 360 unit. So you play with the controller "wired" as it charges up. When it's fully charged again, you just pop off the wire and keep playing.

The range of the wireless unit is 30', which is probably much further than anybody is really going to even try playing a game at. The wireless is much easier on your hand - no cable holding you down - plus it's a great help in keeping your gaming area organized. You can easily pass the controller from person to person, and visitors can come and go without tripping over wires.

The documentation says you can get 40 hours of gameplay between charges, but if you have features such as vibration on, that sucks the time down to maybe 8-10 hours. It's up to you of course - I personally like having vibration on because it is often important for gameplay to get those warning signals.

Still, even if I have to plug the cables in every 10 hours or so to give it a juice boost, I still love wireless!! Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Next Generation Controller, April 19, 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: MICROSOFT B4F00014 Xbox 360® Wireless Controller (Video Game)
Truly a fascinating controller! This controller's performance is outstanding. There is no delay at all and is much more comfortable than even the first XBOX controller. Do not buy third-part wireless controllers. This is it if you are looking for quality and precision. It is so powerful that even if I, just for testing, try it from the most outrageous angle, it works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hands down, the best controller I have ever used., March 2, 2007
By 
gamerdude27 (Rochester, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: MICROSOFT B4F00014 Xbox 360® Wireless Controller (Video Game)
I've gamed with almost every gamepad imaginable and never before have I used a controller that is so comfortable and easy to use. The Xbox 360 wireless controller is near flawless. Everything from its button layout to its build quality to its comfort level; it's all just perfect.

Never before have my hands wrapped around a controller so naturally. Typically with a controller, you have to make your hands form to the controller in order to access all of the buttons, typically resulting in fingers getting jammed into each other uncomfortably or strecthed out across the controller awkwardly. With the 360 controller, my hands just mold into every angle of the design and my fingers effortlessly wrap around the controller's button layout.

The button layout is as follows: Two analog sticks, D-Pad, four face buttons, two triggers, two shoulder buttons, start & back buttons, and the Xbox Guide Button. I'd give the layout and button design a 10/10. Everything is accessible without having to move your hands from the controller and everything has a solid, durable design. The triggers are smooth and glide with the motion of your fingers and are truly perfect. The shoulder buttons work just fine and are easily accessible (these are where the black and white buttons the from Xbox controller S went). The face buttons have great spring to them and don't feel mushy like the Playstation controller. The analog sticks are an 11/10. Compared to the PS controller in which you jam your fingers into each other and trying to correct out the play in the analog sticks, the 360's sticks are awesome; firm, precise, smooth gliding, and simply perfect. The D-Pad is unchanged from the Xbox controller, which wasn't good to begin with. It works and get the job done, but it could be better. The start and back buttons have moved to the middle of the controller and are better off in the center. And last but not least, the Xbox guide button (which needs a paragraph of its own).

The Xbox guide button is a feature that is running 24/7 and is implemented straight into the 360 architecture and games. Even in the middle of a game, you can hit the Xbox guide button and access everything from your gamerscore, friend's lists, messages, music, achievements, game invites, etc. It can even take you back to the dashboard without even having to restart the console or remove the disc. When you're done with the dashboard, you just fire the game back up with even leaving the couch. When you want to turn off individual controllers or even turn off the console, simply hit the guide button. Want to turn on the console? Just hit the guide button. It's easily the best feature of the controller.

Wireless technology = 10/10 Seamless integration with the console and an incredible stable connection with the console, even through walls, doors, etc; it'll even stay connected through different stories of a house. In over a year's time with the 360 wireless controller, I have NEVER lost my connection with the console. That's right, never. No interference with my wireless network, 2.4 ghz cordless phones, nothing. It is incredible how seamless it is. To connect a controller to a console, turn it on, press the link button on the controller and then the connect button on the console and almost magically, your controller is hooked right up and playing. And once your controller is connected to your console, you never have to link them together again; the next time you turn on your 360, the controller is automatically synched with the 360. If you want to add controllers to your 360, you simply synch them together with the same method that I just mentioned. Want to use your controller on a different 360? Simply synch them together and you're playing. The wireless technology with the 360 and its seamless integration is top-notch. Simply the fact that I will never have to deal with cords again makes the wireless controller more than worth the extra money. But with wireless, you have the issue with charging and batteries...

I average about 25 hours per charge with my controller, although intense vibration feedback in games can drop that number down to about 20 hours. I get plenty of charge to last me through a week or two and when I run out of juice, I simply switch out my battery pack with the fresh pack sitting on my quick charge kit. The biggest problem with the wireless controller is the fact that you are literally forced into buying the rechargeable battery pack with the Play & Charge kit or the Quick Charge kit. It's not that big of a deal, but if you think you can get away with AA batteries, this controller will eat them for lunch, especially with rumble. Speaking of rumble, the motors in the 360 controller pack quite a punch and you'll end up paying more in batteries than the mere rechargeable pack costs. Everything from the roar of a machine gun to the light vibration of deflecting a pass to the jolt of a hard impact, everything on-screen is brought to life in your hands with this controller. And no, this isn't the same rumble like the PS2 or Xbox controller. The 360's rumble is more seamlessly integrated into games and serves a much more useful purpose in immersing you within the experience and can create all kinds of varied feedback effects like never before. I'd take this over six degrees of tilt any day.

Overall, this controller is near flawless and hands down the best I have ever used. Comfort, wireless precision, durability; this controller packs it all into one sleek little controller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wireless controllers are the way to go., April 3, 2007
By 
Steven (Colorado, USA) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: MICROSOFT B4F00014 Xbox 360® Wireless Controller (Video Game)
First, I would like to say that this controller is LEAGUES above the original XBox controller as far as comfort goes. I used to swear by the PS2 Dualshock controller (yeah, I know you XBox fanboys just cringed cuz I said PS2, but I don't care, I just love games). Anyways, I didn't think any controller could best the PS2 Dualshock. I was wrong. This wireless controller is actually extremely comfortable, even more-so then the Dualshock. Also, unlike the new PS3 SixAxis controller, it actually feels nice and solid, not cheap and plasticy. I absolutely love it.

Wireless is definitely the way to go. I have two extremely hyper Australian Shepherds and I can't tell you how many cords they've chewed, or how many times they've ran through my living room and tripped over cords from other controllers i've owned in the past - causing either the controller or the console to come crashing down. It's like the difference between having a typical universal remote for your TV and having a universal remote for your TV with a cord (yeah, they don't exist with cords but imagine if they did... just not quite right) - or it's like the difference between a infared cordless mouse and a ball-and-chain mouse. My couch is just far enough from my TV so that when I am using a controller with a cord I have to lean over so my cord isn't stretching across the living room. This controller frees me from that, I can just sit back and relax now. It's SO much better. I like how the analog sticks are placed on this controller. When I use the Dualshock now it seems like the analog sticks are much too low. This controller feels perfectly natural.

There is one tiny complaint though. I almost knocked it down to four stars but I just couldn't. I would give this controller a 4.5/5 if I could. My complaint is that the analog sticks slip a tiny bit sometimes - which doesn't happen on the Dualshock because the analog sticks on the Dualshock are coated in rubber, as opposed to the plastic analog sticks for this controller. This is only slightly annoying for me in games like Gears Of War where perfect aiming is essential. It's a bit easier for me to aim with the Dualshock controller. Perhaps this is just an issue because I'm so used to the Dualshock. Other people don't seem to have this problem so it's probably just me.

This controller RULES! Get it! oh and get the rechargeable battery kit too, you'll thank me later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars quite possibly the best controller ever made, December 8, 2005
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: MICROSOFT B4F00014 Xbox 360® Wireless Controller (Video Game)
if you're one of the people who bought an original xbox, you all remember the "duke" controller that it launched with. the size and discomfort of this huge controller led to so much negative feedback that microsoft was forced to redesign it. in light of doing so, microsoft designed one of the best controllers on the market, known as the controller S. not wanting to repeat history, its obvious that microsoft carefully designed the new controller for their latest console, the xbox 360. to say that the wireless xbox 360 controller is the best i've used is an understatement.

the first thing many gamers will notice is how incredibly light the controller is. in fact, the wireless is LIGHTER than the controller S for the original xbox, even with the battery pack on. the controller is also very comfortable to hold. with the combination of the above, gamers will be able to keep their eyes on the game, and not constantly have to look down at the controller to locate buttons. after some gaming, you almost forget you're even using a controller.

if you've used a controller S before, you'll feel right at home with the xbox 360 wireless. this is essentially the same controller. there are still the 2 analog sticks, the d-pad, the 2 triggers, and of course, the A-X-Y-B buttons. the black and white buttons have both been removed, being replaced by the shoulder bumper buttons, which are on top of the controller. the back and start button are now beside the brand new "guide" button. the guide button is easily the coolest innnovation on the new controller. players can turn on the console with a single push of the button, among many other features. all of the buttons and both analog sticks feel much more responsive and workable (for lack of a better term) vs. the controller S.

the ring of light around the controller is also very cool, because while you're playing, one of the 4 segments lights up to designate players 1-4. before launch, i was confused as to how the wireless controllers would work with no adapters, this is where the console comes in. with one press of a button on the xbox 360, the console automatically designates which controller will be players 1-4.

performance wise, this controller is flawless. while microsoft says that the controller's range is 30 feet, i tested at >40ft and the controller still worked flawlessly. while i really don't think anyone will be playing any games from 30 feet away, its nice to know that the signal is so strong. the vibration is excellent on the controller, its strength is also adjustable.

another nice thing for the controller is that the headset port is now on the bottom of the controller, so the wire for it can remain out of your way. if you've played on xbox live with the headset, you know how this could become frustrating.

the battery life is supposebly 40 hours, but depending on how strong you have the vibration set and how far away you are playing, chances are you won't get nearly as many hours between charging.

my only gripes are that the placement of the shoulder buttons can occasionally be mistaken for the triggers, and vice versa. this can be annoying in games like PGR3, where the trigger is brake, and the shoulder button is used to change the view, and the wrong press of one can lead to frustration. however, once you use the controller more, you get used to them and they shouldn't be a problem.

all in all, this the best controller to launch with a console ever. i strongly recommend picking up some of these, along with some extra battery packs, or the play and charge kits, which allow you to continue using the controller while the console charges it.

9.5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get A grip, April 4, 2006
By 
Hill(WILLIS BOY) (Clinton TN.-Columbus OH) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: MICROSOFT B4F00014 Xbox 360® Wireless Controller (Video Game)
This joystick is the best stick so far. The ability to power on the console, open and close the disc tray, complete control of the 360 interface, light good feeling and a comfort fit, and most of all wire less. I recommend getting a play and charge kit, mainly because changing out the batteries is costly the kit will save hundreds in the future years on battery cost. Now in my opinion when you think about all the sticks that have come out this stands out in the best way Microsoft has found a way to out do the comp. again. I don't want you to think that this is a joke I own 3 and recharge about once every 2 weeks. Nothing interferes with the signal at all not my Nextel, home phone, thunderstorms, rain, snow, "nothing." If you have a 360 YOU NEED this BABBY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best controller I've had for every console I own...., January 27, 2006
A Kid's Review
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: MICROSOFT B4F00014 Xbox 360® Wireless Controller (Video Game)
I love my Xbox 360 wireless controller. It is very comfortable to hold in your hand, and the battery life is very good with the PLAY AND CHARGE KIT.(sold seperately) Features: -30' range for ultimate freedom

-No delay period, exceptional precision

-Play with multiple friends and multiple wireless controllers with Xbox 360 Networking Adapter

-Xbox Guide Button turns your system on and off with a touch of a button

Experience the ultimate in wireless freedom with next-generation precisions, speed, and accuracy. 2.4 GHz wireless technology with 30-foot range, lag-free play, integrated headset port for Xbox Live play, and adjustable vibration feedback for longer battery life.

Using optimized technology, the Xbox 360 Wireless Controller lets you enjoy a 30-foot range and up to 40 hours of life on two AA batteries, and when they run low, you're given ample warning so you can connect a Play & Charge cable for uninterrupted play. Plug the Xbox 360 Headset into the controller for full duplex voice communication: a wireless first. With quick access to Xbox 360 features including DVDs, music, pictures, and more, along with the ability to support four wireless controllers simultaneously, gamers can experience wireless freedom, precision, high quality, and performance for endless gameplay. Experience easy Vibration Control with a simple On or Off setting to match your personal preference The Xbox Guide Button at the center of the controller gives you quick access to all your favorite Xbox 360 system activities, such as watching movies, listening to music, contacting friends on Xbox Live, and customizing your gaming experiences. Easily jump to the Xbox Gamer Guide or Xbox Live Marketplace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wireless is perfect, August 2, 2006
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: MICROSOFT B4F00014 Xbox 360® Wireless Controller (Video Game)
I just bought my 360 and ordered an extra wireless controller on another site (cheaper with free shipping too!) and I love them so far! They never lose connection and they are nice to hold. No wires holding you down either!

My only gripe about these are that they don't come with a rechargable battery! Why make a next generation system and have the state of the art wireless controllers run on "AA"s??? Ohh wait! We can charge an extra 12 bucks to sell battery packs and another 30 for a recharging kit!

Other than that they are great! I saved the money on the recharging cable and bought the recharging dock that comes with 1 battery pack and I bought 3 other battery packs so I'd always have wireless with no wires! Thats the way to go!

But SHAME ON YOU MICROSOFT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a must have! you need this one!, April 18, 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: MICROSOFT B4F00014 Xbox 360® Wireless Controller (Video Game)
if you have a xbox 360 system you owe it to yourself to pick up a wireless controller..they are very comfortable to hold and have all the functions of the regular controller..and whats very cool about this one is if you get the plug and play charge kit..you can actually play while you charge the battery or just have the controller hooked up after the system is shut off and it trickle charges for optimum performance...this is worth the money..if you have the wired controller trade up ..and go for the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Comfort =), November 27, 2005
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: MICROSOFT B4F00014 Xbox 360® Wireless Controller (Video Game)
There are some controllers that just don't fit comfortably in your hands, but not this Xbox-360 controller! It is the most comfortable controller I've used yet!

It has no wires, which makes it hassle-free. The battery is great on this thing. I used it every day for hours since the first day the 360 came out, and it still has yet to be charged. I can be in the other room and it still works. When it comes time for the controller to be recharged, I just plug it into my Play & Charge kit so that it becomes a wired controller while it charges and I play... at the same time.

According to its descriptions, the wireless controller gives us a 30-foot-range, lasts for 40 hours without needing recharge, and gives us an early warning when battery is running low.

On the controller are the A-B-X-Y, Start, Back, LB, LT, RB, and RT buttons. There are two analog sticks, an 8-way directional pad, and an Xbox guide button that brings you back to the main menu. You can also plug in your headset to your controller for voice chat. The weight of the controller is not heavy either. :)

For $10 more than the regular wired one, definitely worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 252 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

MICROSOFT B4F00014 Xbox 360® Wireless Controller
MICROSOFT B4F00014 Xbox 360® Wireless Controller by Microsoft Software (Xbox 360)
Used & New from: $20.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.