Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOST MODERNIST GEMS PHOTOGRAPHED BY MASTER PHOTOGRAPHER, January 17, 2001
This review is from: Modernism Rediscovered (Paperback)
Modernism Rediscovered is not just another book of gorgeous Julius Shulman photographs, but a serious and scholarly attempt to right a wrong done to each of the worthy edifices featured in this book.
To secure an enduring place in the public consciousness a new building must be photographed, and those photographs printed in a variety of publications, both professional and popular. Why do photographs of some buildings get wide exposure and others not? A history-altering book, Modernism Rediscovered explores that conundrum and, at the same time, attempts to redress the omission of these buildings from the public forum.
A fascinating convergence of elements determines which buildings are deemed editorially appealing and which fall through the cracks. Prevailing trends, editorial policy, financial considerations, the photographer's interpretation, and even personal editorial taste all contribute to the selection process and resulting exposure of a building project. Ideally, all these elements coalesce to lend the building and the architect validation and prestige, establishing recognition of the work within the profession and to the general public. As Modernism Rediscovered shows, this has often not been the case.
Now nearly ninety years of age, Julius Shulman granted access to his archives for the first and only time ever to architect Pierluigi Serraino. From this treasure trove of architectural history Serraino selected such underexposed projects as the breathtaking Spencer Residence, a steel cage cantilevered out over the Malibu coastline; the Upton Residence, an Arizona winter retreat combining the lightness of an open glass box anchored by desert stone and concrete; and the C.Y. Stephens Auditorium at Iowa State University featuring steeply cascading balconies jutting out of folded concrete side walls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reminders of Architecture at Its Best, January 1, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Modernism Rediscovered (Paperback)
This book is an elegant window back to a magnificent period of residential architecturel. Julius Shulman reminds us of not only his incredible eye for architectural drama, but of the many architects of modernism that invited us to live at the magical boundary between nature and architecture.
This is a wonderful retrospective of many, many talented architects who deserve a closer look at their work and their optimism and clarity of vision.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great source of the lost moderns, February 23, 2010
By 
M. Hughes (Herndon, VA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Modernism Rediscovered (Paperback)
I have more than a few books on the modern style of architecture. Most all of the properties are from California however and you seem to see a lot of the same ones over and over. This book, however, is different as it includes pictures of houses that I have never seen before from obscure or extinct magazines and weeklies spanning from the late 40s all the way up through the mid 70s. Some of the pictures are in glorious color as well. A lot of them are still from California but a lot are from all over the states. This book is really wonderfully done.
The only thing knocking off a star is that Taschen still insists on providing three languages (English, French, and German) wording throughout which unnecessarily adds pages where they are not needed. Why they do not publish in each market is beyond me as otherwise this is a quality book. The second point I want to make is that there really isn't a lot of expository writing describing each of the properties. The reader will have to go elsewhere to gain that knowledge, if they can. (as I mentioned before, a lot of these properties were pretty obscure to me.)
I especially enjoyed the E Stwart Williams Palm Springs properties, but truthfully all are very nice.
If you love modernism, then you need to buy this one for your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Modernism is King!, December 12, 2007
This review is from: Modernism Rediscovered (Paperback)
If you love modern architecture and design, this book is a must-have for your library. The photos are gorgeous (of course), the text is informative, the quality is top notch.

I've got several modern architecture books, and most of the buildings in them are in CA or along the east coast. This is the first book I've seen that includes many buildings from more overlooked parts of the country, such as Texas, Oklahoma, Colorado, etc. [In fact, my grandfather was an architect in OK in the 50's, and it was a great surprise to see two of his firm's (Conner and Pojezny) buildings in the book.]

Finally, whenever I'm in the mood to take one of my architecture books off the shelf to look at, it is usually this book I pick up. It's such a fantastic addition to my library that all I'm asking for Xmas is the three-volume follow-up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice presentation, April 18, 2002
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Modernism Rediscovered (Paperback)
The pictures alone justify the price; the commentary is standard stuff. Top quality coated paper and soft binding, too. Makes you appreciate this famous photographer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Modernism Rediscovered a Difficult Purchase, January 13, 2013
By 
Jacee (Tennessee, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Modernism Rediscovered (Paperback)
Evidently publisher Taschen had the charmingly pin-headed notion of releasing multiple versions with more or much less content, but with the same title. And the same cover. Reviews of this book were very confusing, as reviewers covered content without specifying which edition they were reviewing. Given the general confusion, they probably didn't know there were different versions. Some vendors on Amazon were not specific as to which of several versions they were offering, which added to my purchasing fun. I even visited the publisher's website, trying to get an ISBN number which would enable me to know what I was buying--a waste of time.

This version of Modernism Rediscovered is the large format paperback edition (ISBN 3-8228-6415-3) from 2000. It is 8x10" in size, over 570 pages, and the paper cover is quite substantial. The book is multilingual. Type is very small, in order to fit English, German, and French translations on the same page. An irritating publishing decision, to say the least. Julius Shulman's superb photography deserves multiple language editions.

For those who love modern architecture, Modernism Rediscovered is a must have. Shulman's beautifully composed photographs, most in crisp black and white, cover homes and other structures from 1946 into the mid-1970's, the majority in the United States. Some of the subjects have received a great deal of coverage over the years, but many of these cutting edge designs haven't been studied since their first appearance in limited circulation magazines. The publisher is to be commended for bringing them back to public notice and filling a significant gap in our understanding of this important period in design.

Author Pierluigi Serraino has treated this material, in a sense, as an abbreviated catalog of the photographer's personal archives. The photos record Shulman's job number, the architect, general structure location, and when the image was captured. Where known, the publications in which the photos were featured are credited. Descriptions are brief and seem to have been taken from the articles the photos illustrated. I hope that in the future Mr. Shulman's complete archive will be offered, in independent language editions.

I am rating this book high for the value of the content. You may not find the multilingual pages as annoying as I do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sick Cribs, August 2, 2005
This review is from: Modernism Rediscovered (Paperback)
This is a great book, do not hesitate to buy it! No better houses photgraphed in one book. This book will blow your mind, you will be bummed that you can't buy houses like these today! Must have for every modernist!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great review of modernism, June 22, 2001
By 
pietro-di-tricesimo "tutti libri" (charleville-mezieres, France) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Modernism Rediscovered (Paperback)
This book is made of the essence of modernism. All photos are taken during the original time period. It is a great lesson of architecture. To be read after a Frank Lloyd Wright book's and an Art & Craft anthology to discover how tasteless is the architecture of the end of the millenium.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xd85c8e2c)

This product

MODERNISM REDISCOVERED
MODERNISM REDISCOVERED by Pierluigi Serraino (Paperback - May 30, 2000)
Used & New from: $20.75
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.