Customer Reviews


96 Reviews
5 star:
 (73)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


62 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great kippers
The Polar Kipper Snacks have great flavor. They aren't "fishy" and taste more like bacon than other kippers I've tried. So I often have them with scrambled eggs for a more healthy alternative to bacon.

Here is the nutritional information from the bottom of the tin:

Serving Size 1/2 can (46g)
Servings per Container 2

Amount Per...
Published on April 30, 2009 by djin

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars variable quality from can to can on same shipment
the good ones are great, but some of them are average. quality inconsistent from can to can. not sure if i will buy again.
Published 2 months ago by pain doc


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

62 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great kippers, April 30, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: MW Polar Kipper Snacks, 3.53 Ounce Units (Pack of 18) (Grocery)
The Polar Kipper Snacks have great flavor. They aren't "fishy" and taste more like bacon than other kippers I've tried. So I often have them with scrambled eggs for a more healthy alternative to bacon.

Here is the nutritional information from the bottom of the tin:

Serving Size 1/2 can (46g)
Servings per Container 2

Amount Per Serving
Calories 100
Calories from Fat 60

Total Fat 6g...........................................9% DV
Saturated Fat 1g................................5% DV
Trans Fat 0g
Cholesterol 30mg................................10% DV
Sodium 260 mg....................................10% DV
Total Carbohydrate 0g........................0% DV
Dietary Fiber 0g..................................0% DV
Sugars 0g
Protein 9g

Provides 1.4g Omega-3 Fatty Acid Per Serving.

Vitamin A 0% Daily Value (DV)
Vitamin C 0% DV
Calcium 1.5% DV
Iron 4% DV
*Percent Daily Values (DV) are based on a 2000 calorie diet.

Ingredients: All natural smoked boneless fillets of herring, water, salt.

Kosher Parve

Distributed by: MW Polar Foods
Norwalk, CA 90650
Product of Germany
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Polar Kipper Snacks, May 20, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: MW Polar Kipper Snacks, 3.53 Ounce Units (Pack of 18) (Grocery)
These Polar kipper snacks are excellent. I have been buying these since the price of the Crown Prince snacks went up. These are just as good or better then the Crown Prince & are a lot cheaper. I have tried other brands of Kipper snacks, & the Polar snacks are as good or better than all of them.
D.Martinez
Dearborn Heights MI
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful! Keep 'em coming!, March 20, 2009
By 
Kellie (Pacific NW) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: MW Polar Kipper Snacks, 3.53 Ounce Units (Pack of 18) (Grocery)
I just ate my first serving of these kipper fillets. They seem just right with light salt and just enough water, not too much. Very nice indeed. The best non-edible part of the deal is the can which opened easier than any other kipper can I have tried. Oh, and the price per can is amazing. Just yesterday I checked and the cheapest kippers at Krogers were 2.49 for just 3.25 oz.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Herring died smiling, February 12, 2011
By 
D. LLOYD (PENNSYLVANIA usa) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: MW Polar Kipper Snacks, 3.53 Ounce Units (Pack of 18) (Grocery)
I've enjoyed kippered herring all my (long) life, and have tried all of the popular brands found on supermarket shelves, at least in my area. Found these by accident and, boy, they're head and shoulders above the competition....well, herring don't have shoulders, but you know what I mean. Kippered means smoked, and these have fine smoky flavor, are beautifully packed in nice wide tins. There's no extra juice or excessive oil, just fine flavor, packed like soldiers, no empty space. Savor them!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT Product!!, January 21, 2009
By 
Carol Pogroszewski (Big Bear City, California) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: MW Polar Kipper Snacks, 3.53 Ounce Units (Pack of 18) (Grocery)
These are so good! I bought them for my husband, thinking they would be chunks of fish, but no, *Happily* they are filets, great!!! My husband loves them, he frys them in a little butter and has them for breakfast along with a good peice of french bread and butter. We will be buying these again and again. Best part is that they do not have to be refrigerated and you can have them anytime you want.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Delicious & Convenient, October 6, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: MW Polar Kipper Snacks, 3.53 Ounce Units (Pack of 18) (Grocery)
I bought the 18 pack for office snacks / small meals. They are just right for this. The nutrition information says "two servings," but the total package, consisting of two filets, is 3.53 ounces, and if you are like me it will be "one" serving for you. That will net you 200 calories (120 of this is from fat, including 2 grams of saturated fat but no trans fat), and 520 mg of sodium. Not bad. These are very tasty kippers, deliciously smoked. They are packed in water, not oil, but the fish texture is good -- not soggy as I thought might be the case. These fish are packed in Germany. I think these are a great value and will help keep me away from the potato chip machine in the office.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Kippers, September 17, 2007
By 
M. Batchelor (South Carolina, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: MW Polar Kipper Snacks, 3.53 Ounce Units (Pack of 18) (Grocery)
These are absolutely great Kippers. And at a great price. They are almost impossible to find in stores.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars These are my pick!, December 8, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: MW Polar Kipper Snacks, 3.53 Ounce Units (Pack of 18) (Grocery)
These kippers have a wonderful flavor and texture. They are smokey with just enough salt. I wish the cans were bigger. You open the can and the fillets are solid and firm, which is surprising for not being in oil. I think they taste a touch better than the John West brand without the oil. If I had both in front of me I would have a problem picking between the two. If you like smoked kippers this is the brand I would suggest. I was a lifelong King Oscar fan until I tried these.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb kipper snacks, May 9, 2009
By 
Allan Lindh (Santa Cruz, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: MW Polar Kipper Snacks, 3.53 Ounce Units (Pack of 18) (Grocery)
Delicious lightly smoked herring at reasonable price, and best of all Herring are a sustainable resource, far enough down on the food chain that they don't concentrate toxins to the same degree as larger predator fish. The firm fresh texture is as good as I've ever found in a canned fish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The gold standard of canned kippered herring, April 6, 2013
This review is from: MW Polar Kipper Snacks, 3.53 Ounce Units (Pack of 18) (Grocery)
I first started eating kippered herring in Germany. I've had virtually all brands on both sides of the Atlantic and can say that the Polar herrings are top tier. They excel in every measure: relative freedom from bones, great texture, perfect herring flavor without being too "fishy", perfect degree of salt and smoke (and a good smoke flavor, not that nasty chemical fake smoke flavor you find in far too many American/Canadian brands).

And unlike many top-tier products, these are cheap too.
It's a real shame that too many Americans today won't even consider kippered herring.
They are a tasty, good for you, portable, temperature stable lunch with some bread or crackers and a piece of fruit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.