Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply astounding
I've become a big fan of MAC knives and this JU65 is a cut above (Ha!). The first thing you'll notice is the beauty of the blade. The blade is well stamped; its just wide enough and the handle is quite lovely. Very solid and well built. This is a knife that will last a life time.

Nest, you'll pick up the knife. For me, the first thing that shocked me was the...
Published on December 25, 2009 by Amazon Customer

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I'm a little disappointed!
The reviews were so glowing for this knife that I couldn't wait to get it. America's Test Kitchen also rated it their favorite. I don't know what happened with mine, but I'm not that impressed. First of all, it isn't all that sharp. The way the reviews read, I was almost afraid to use the knife because they said it was so sharp. I had a different experience. It's...
Published 11 months ago by Bunnylulu


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply astounding, December 25, 2009
This review is from: Mac Knife Japanese Series Vegetable Cleaver, 6-1/2-Inch (Kitchen)
I've become a big fan of MAC knives and this JU65 is a cut above (Ha!). The first thing you'll notice is the beauty of the blade. The blade is well stamped; its just wide enough and the handle is quite lovely. Very solid and well built. This is a knife that will last a life time.

Nest, you'll pick up the knife. For me, the first thing that shocked me was the weight; the knife is light, wonderfully so. As any great knife should, when you hold it it feels right, like an extension of self. Note I do have small hands so as with any knife, you really should try holding a few from the manufacturer before purchasing. Anyway, I digress, the knife is fluid in my hands; the balance is near perfect for me and my hand does not get tired after cutting veggies.

Which leads to the final and most important point; does it work? The quick answer is yes, it works beautifully. MAC is known as one of the best brand of knives out there and the vegetable knife delivers. In spades. It easily goes through anything I through at it. Plus I find that this knife gives me better control on my cuts so that when I want to practice my elephant ear cut or matchstick its actually a little easier using this knife (which makes me think my next knife will be a Chinese cleaver). I can't really explain why this is, it must have something to do with the balance of the blade to handle. In any case, the knife is sharp, well balanced and cuts through vegetables like they are butter.

You really can't go wrong with this knife, for the price its a steal
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great knife, November 2, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mac Knife Japanese Series Vegetable Cleaver, 6-1/2-Inch (Kitchen)
This is a great knife! Sharp as hell and has stayed sharp for a long time, with just routine steeling. I work in a kitchen professionally and this knife cuts the mustard and much more. The wide blade surface is great for transferring whatever it is you are slicing/chopping/mincing/dicing/ to whatever you need to transfer it to. It feels good in my hand and has stood up as far as toughness is concerned. Highly recommend this knife for pros and home cooks as well. Have fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Could NOT live without this knife!, October 2, 2010
This review is from: Mac Knife Japanese Series Vegetable Cleaver, 6-1/2-Inch (Kitchen)
I've owned this knife for 15 years and it is indispensable. No other knife measures up to the quality, ease of use and overall performance. It keeps its edge and it is super comfortable to use. I cook every day from scratch with lots and lots of vegetables. This knife never lets me down. Love it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very sharp knife., September 9, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mac Knife Japanese Series Vegetable Cleaver, 6-1/2-Inch (Kitchen)
This knife works great for hard to cut vegetables like butternut squash. Just remember to use it carefully-- it's very sharp!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best knife ever!, November 28, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mac Knife Japanese Series Vegetable Cleaver, 6-1/2-Inch (Kitchen)
I now have two of these, just in case something happens to one, I have a back up while the other is getting fixed. This is the main knife that I use in my kitchen, and it is fantastic. You can't beat a MAC knife, especially this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sharp!, March 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mac Knife Japanese Series Vegetable Cleaver, 6-1/2-Inch (Kitchen)
What a fantastic knife!!! Glides through the hardest squashes with ease. BUY THIS KNIFE today; you will not regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rated #1 vegetable cleaver by "America's Test Kitchen", April 26, 2013
By 
Chuck Moore (Carlsbad, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mac Knife Japanese Series Vegetable Cleaver, 6-1/2-Inch (Kitchen)
We can understand why this knife is rated "1. It is everything it is cracked up to be <g>
It has beautiful blade and comfortable smooth wood handle..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love, love, love this knife, February 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mac Knife Japanese Series Vegetable Cleaver, 6-1/2-Inch (Kitchen)
I am a woman with small hands. This knife fits like a glove for me. The handle is the perfect size for small adult hands. The balance is great and it slices through root vegetables of all types with very little effort. I'd recommend this knife to family and friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Peggy J, January 1, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mac Knife Japanese Series Vegetable Cleaver, 6-1/2-Inch (Kitchen)
Beautiful knife - very sharp. I haven't used it long enough yet to know if it holds its sharpness. I'll let you know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Splitting hairs... literally, October 20, 2013
By 
Richard Kenyada (Atlanta, Georgia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mac Knife Japanese Series Vegetable Cleaver, 6-1/2-Inch (Kitchen)
This particular Mac Knife was brought to my attention by the Cook's Country TV Show. They tested several vegetable cleaver's and the JU-65 was judged the best. That review alone compelled me to buy one, and I'm happy with my purchase. This is the sharpest knife I've ever used. In fact, after using it the first time I took my set of Wusthof Classic knives to get sharpened. The Mac Knife is now the star of my chef knife collection, but it won't share a slot in the knife block. I wrap it in a microfiber towel and place it in a drawer. I plan to eventually replace all of my Wusthofs with Mac Knives. I've found that with knives, as with computers - once you go Mac you never go back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Mac Knife Japanese Series Vegetable Cleaver, 6-1/2-Inch
$85.00 $84.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.