Truck Month Spring Reading 2016 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it The Jayhawks Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Beauty Mother's Day Gifts Amazon Gift Card Offer ctstrph2 ctstrph2 ctstrph2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now SnS

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$14.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 26, 2005
A unique and different kind of TV action series, MacGyver made its television premiere in the Fall of 1985 to much fanfare. Audiences immediately responded to the title character and his unusual penchant for turning everyday items like chewing gum and paperclips into elaborate life-saving contraptions. In this way, it maintained a slight resemblance to The A-Team, and this recurring plot device helped MacGyver build a strong cult following...

Richard Dean Anderson plays the title role of MacGyver, an energetic employee of the fictional Phoenix Foundation for Research. An unorthodox hero by action series standards, MacGyver has a deadly fear of heights. A pacifist who refuses to use weapons, he relies heavily on his ability to use his brain and tinker with the various materials at his disposal. MacGyver's best friend, and the director of the Phoenix Foundation, is Pete Thornton (Dana Elcar). Pete often sends MacGyver on Foundation missions and sometimes comes to his aid (usually after MacGyver has saved the day). In addition, MacGyver is joined on a regular basis by his airplane pilot friend Jack Dalton (Bruce McGill), a man who constantly entangles himself in illegal activities and other troublesome situations. Between the usual slew of bad guys, the vendetta of archenemy Murdoc (Michael Des Barres), and his multitude of troublesome friends, MacGyver is always in the midst of interesting and dangerous events, and the show's true entertainment value derives from watching MacGyver's distinctive method of dealing with each one...

The MacGyver (Season 2) DVD features a number of action-packed episodes including the season premiere "The Human Factor" in which MacGyver and the Phoenix Foundation are called upon to test the security of a top-secret military installation. When MacGyver makes a bet with the security designer, Dr. Jill Ludlum, he successfully gains entry, but the automated system traps them both inside (with a dwindling supply of oxygen) where they're forced to race for their lives against a ticking clock... Other notable episodes from Season 2 include "The Road Not Taken" in which MacGyver encounters his former fiancée while helping a nun, and "Birth Day" in which MacGyver must guard a pregnant woman from her husband, who's out to kill her...

Below is a list of episodes included on the MacGyver (Season 2) DVD:

Episode 23 (The Human Factor)

Episode 24 (The Eraser)

Episode 25 (Twice Stung)

Episode 26 (The Wish Child)

Episode 27 (Final Approach)

Episode 28 (Jack of Lies)

Episode 29 (The Road Not Taken)

Episode 30 (Eagles)

Episode 31 (Silent World)

Episode 32 (Three for the Road)

Episode 33 (Phoenix Under Siege)

Episode 34 (Family Matter)

Episode 35 (Soft Touch)

Episode 36 (Birth Day)

Episode 37 (Pirates)

Episode 38 (Out in the Cold)

Episode 39 (Dalton, Jack of Spies)

Episode 40 (Partners)

Episode 41 (Bushmaster)

Episode 42 (Friends)

Episode 43 (D.O.A.: MacGyver)

Episode 44 (For Love or Money)

The DVD Report
11 comment|63 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 8, 2005
It's amazing that Season 2 has come so quick on the heels of of Season 1. The first thing that the buyer who purchased season 1 will notice different about the complete second season is the new slimmer packaging. The set is six discs but they have got those babies squeezed in a nice small box. The discs are housed in jackets-2 in eack jacket case. Another plus about this set is no nasty dual discs like a lot of other one hour releases currently on the market. The discs are a bright yellow color with the disc number clearly marked and the episode names on the disc. The set includes 22 episodes from the second season.This set is noticably smaller than the complete first season. The art work is similar to season 1. The images aren't particularly crisp, but they did manage to include the now popular Terri Hatcher in a still photo on the back cover. You can also check out a very 80's picture of Terri on the back of the jacket for discs 3 & 4.

The season opens with the exciting episode, "The Human Factor." MacGyver gets trapped in a computer and has to get out or else he will be toast. There were a lot of exciting episodes from the second season. In the episode, "The Road Not Taken," Macgyver makes a trip to South East Asia in an attempt to rescue a nun and a group of orphans only to discover his ex-girlfriend there.

The episodes are well, MacGyver episodes. This show has never really went away and can still be seen in syndication on many networks. It aired on WGN Superstation at one time. If you are a MacGyver fan you will enjoy this set. The episodes look about the same as they do on the television episodes and just like season 1, there are no new extras. No commentary or interviews. It's Macgyver! If you are a MacGyver fan you will be pleased. This set would also make a great Father's Day gift.
0Comment|28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 5, 2005
The MacGyver television series can be divided roughly into two separate phases, each plagued by different problems. The first phase would be the first few seasons, blessed with great writing and acting but unfortunately overtly dated with campy special effects and the overuse of stock footage. The second phase, particularly the last couple years of the show, saw the special effects improve but unfortunately the writing suffered. The storylines became corny and MacGyver became more of an urban-savior, dealing more with ghettos and gangs rather than rugged CIA-type secret agent work. Still, the second season marks a time when the show was finding its stride, and the second, third, and fourth seasons really were the best of the entire series. The episode plots in season two are similar in style to those of the first season -- MacGyver travels all over the world to foil plots involving drugs, kidnapping, environmental destruction -- all while using his brains and science rather than brute strength or guns. But the characters are better developed in the second season, particularly that of Pete Thorton (MacGyver's boss), who becomes a prime player and good friend of MacGyver's. Like in all seasons, MacGyver rescues countless women, all of whom he seems to have dated at some point in his past. But it's good wholesome fun from an era when television action shows weren't all about computerized special effects.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 11, 2005
Although I do not consider myself a die-hard viewer of MacGyver, I would nevertheless like to point out with regret that Dana Elcar (ne Ibson Dana Elcar), who portrayed Pete Thornton and whose real-life battle with glaucoma was incorporated into the script, passed away around June 6 or 7, 2005.

In spite of his struggle with the glaucoma that eventually cost him his eyesight, he continued to work using a special computerized text-writing device. He was a great character actor, appearing in countless movies and television episodes and more recently, in roles tailored for him. One such role was in an episode of ER as a sightless diabetic.

He will be greatly missed.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 7, 2005
As all true Angus Macgyver fans know, getting the series on dvd has been like pulling teeth. As one of the best shows ever on television, you would think it would be an easy choice. However, it is here, and I am overjoyed.It has something for everyone. For the girls, it has a hot star and the hero every girl wants to be there when they have a crisis. For the guys, it has action, adventure, bombs, and even some nail biting moments. During the second season, we see a little bit more about our reluctant, but always present hero. Give him a stick of gum and a wire, he'll make a bomb. To all those who are complaing about no extras...get over it! It was hard enough just getting the dvd. I am looking forward to this season because, my personal favorite character (besides Mac) Murdoch will be out in full force. Everyone will enjoy this dvd.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 8, 2014
What can I say ? I love this entire series and Richard Dean Anderson as Mac was definitely an original creation. In my opinion, this character can never be copied better from anyone else so I would not even attempt to try a remake today with a different star--again, that's my opinion. 7 great seasons. I own the entire series set, but I purchased this one because one of my 2nd season discs had a flaw that interfered with it's playback. This set was priced very reasonable so I just purchased the whole 2nd season to replace the bad disc I turned up. The only thing that is a disappointment: Please understand these shows were not filmed in HD, so don't expect HD playback perfectionist quality. But the quality is better on these discs as opposed to broadcast quality. They were filmed in stereo so they sound great. Like all series there are great outstanding episodes, great ones, good ones and fair ones, and some series have poor to bad- this series has few fair ones and none are ever dull. This is a series that is timeless and meant to play over and over again for adults and kids safe.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 13, 2014
MacGyver is a genius, and he's compassionate besides talented and good looking. Good values in a TV show Opposed to violence and encourages the person to use your common sense and imagination. Love it!!!!!!!!!!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2014
Do not buy unless you have an old tube type tv. We have a 55 inch led tv and when watching this DVD the frame rate is off and the picture skips. I have bought older tv shows on DVD and never had this problem before.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 14, 2015
I purchased the Complete First Season for a gift a couple months ago. I purchased the Complete Second Season for a Christmas gift for the same person. They were delighted with both gifts. Great series!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 14, 2014
When I was younger I found this series boring & made little effort to watch it. Now my tastes have changed & I love it look forward to the next episode. I like how MacGyver can figure out how to make something out of nothing to get out of tight spots. This is a nice break from detective shows. He does not use a gun.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.