Truck Month Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Tile Wearable Technology Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Subscribe & Save Mother's Day Gifts Shop now Amazon Gift Card Offer ctstrph2 ctstrph2 ctstrph2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now Learn more

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 24, 2005
I've been playing this in a regular senior English class. Many of the students are finally understanding the play. The actors in this cd do a wonderful job interpreting their lines. The Scottish accents are well done. Sound effects make it vivid. It's the best production I've found to date.
0Comment|44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon November 25, 2010
Othello was one of the first plays I was exposed to when I was younger. It has murder, suicide, intrigue and things that would get a teenager into Shakespeare.

I've had mixed success with some of the free Kindle versions of Shakespeare. Some have been good, some have been awful. This is an exceptional version. It's formatted nicely and is easy to read. The only "lack" is that it is without line numbers, so if you were to use this for academic reasons, you might have an issue or two.

Thus far, Othello's my favorite free Shakespeare play. I missed how much of a jerk Iago was, and all the deception that lead to Othello killing Desdemona.

If you've got a Kindle and want to read Shakespeare, then download this version.
11 comment|42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 25, 2005
Is there any other character in all of literature who is as calculatingly evil as Shakespeare's Iago? His jealousy over being passed over in favor of Cassio engenders a revengeful scheme that turns jealousy into a weapon used to destroy the noble Othello. Here innocence and trust is contrasted with pure manipulation and evil in what is one of Shakespeare's most revealing tragedies. The characters act exactly as they would be expected to based on the overriding quality that they represent. Othello is wonderful Shakespearean drama that ranks among his greatest works.

The Folger Library editions are my favorite. Each page has a facing page that explains obscure terms and helps as a handy reference to make reading the plays pleasurable and educational. These paperback editions of Shakespeare's works are a great value and fit in your pocket.
0Comment|29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 12, 2007
This series is wonderful if you are a teacher. It really helps students to hear how Shakespeare's words are supposed to flow when spoken by classically trained actors. Students snicker a bit at first when they hear the Scottish accents, but they get used to them quickly and the quality of the recording is excellent. The cheesy music in between acts is irritating, but you learn to ignore it. A fun bit of trivia is that the porter scene is acted by David Tennant who most people know as the current Dr. Who! It's also a treat to be able to listen to Macbeth in my car. Shakespeare makes rush-hour almost tolerable.
0Comment|31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 26, 2010
Really, if you enjoy Shakespeare's plays, then you'll enjoy Othello. The actual read-ability of this digital version is excellent, so I'd recommend it above other digital versions.
0Comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2007
As a high school English teacher I struggle with students' bad attitudes toward Shakespeare. Forget reading it aloud! They have no idea what they are saying, and it is painful for all of us. And having them read it on their own is a joke, as they will stop after a page because they can't understand what they are reading.

This unabridged, dramatized reading of Othello is a perfect solution for anyone who wants to read and understand Shakespeare in his original vernacular without reading some kind of "updated" version. The characters are distinct, the pace exciting, and the included music really sets the scene. You could just listen to the CD, but if you're not familiar with the story or you have trouble with Shakespeare, I would follow along with a text as well. And of course, listen to it more than once because you will pick up new ideas or images each time--I know I do!

I have purchased this product twice (once on tape and once on CD). I would love to have a whole Shakespeare set of these!
55 comments|31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon January 31, 2006
The Play, the Book, the Format---all outstanding, absolutely outstanding...With the original text on the left page and a modern easy to read and understand text on the right, Shakespeare reads like a Vince Flynn novel--well, almost. It really opens up the story, the ideas, the characters and the struggles. (Iago is still reprehensible! In any time, in any format!!) And in Act 5, "Othello" turns into a page turner, like a modern day novel. Who would have ever thought it!!! Good way of doing it, well done. The Bard is alive and well...And we are all the better for it.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 17, 2008
I've been using the Folger library series for years now, and although the Norton Critical edition has its place, the Folger edition cannot be beat for clarity and accessibility. Pay the extra couple of bucks for the 5.5 x 8
paperback rather than the smaller mass market paperback. The paper quality and illustrations are far superior in the larger version.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 14, 2007
This CD is excellent--the witches are super creepy sounding, and the unabridged text is well performed. Definitely helpful for teaching Macbeth.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 27, 2007
As my first introduction to Shakespeare working in a senior high school collaborative English class, this book helped me enormously with its Modern Day English interpretation on one side of the book and the Shakespearean writing on the other which follows the regular novels. This proved to be a lifesaver!
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$6.50
$6.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.