Customer Reviews


323 Reviews
5 star:
 (267)
4 star:
 (35)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


58 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a treat!
If you're reading this review, you probably already know what a great hard-rock classic Deep Purple's "Machine Head" was and would like to know if this deluxe edition is worth the extra cash. Yes, it is!

Disc One contains the entire original "Machine Head" LP correctly sequenced, along with a non album B-side and two slightly different remixes of different...
Published on August 4, 2005 by Danno

versus
8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not so Good DVD-A
This was probably my 1st Rock album purchase - I have had 2 LP versions - one worn out, the CD, and now this DVD-A. No doubt I've listened to it more than any other recording I have.
Whoever put this together cared a lot less about Deep Purple. In fact probably not at all.
The mix is marginal at best.. Maybe I'm a Leo has a "new" guitar solo - an out...
Published on March 4, 2004 by S. Powell


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

58 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a treat!, August 4, 2005
If you're reading this review, you probably already know what a great hard-rock classic Deep Purple's "Machine Head" was and would like to know if this deluxe edition is worth the extra cash. Yes, it is!

Disc One contains the entire original "Machine Head" LP correctly sequenced, along with a non album B-side and two slightly different remixes of different songs done for the long out-of-print Quad version of the LP. To be honest, to my ears the Quad remixes don't sound noticably different unless I have stereo headphones on, but they're nice to have.

Disc Two contains what Deep Purple bassist Roger Glover modestly refers to as "subtle" remixes. Anything but! Glover strips away the studio sheen of the original songs, leaving the original intros and endings intact. Thus, for example, we hear the band warming up to play "Highway Star" and jamming till they suddenly stop at the end of "Smoke on the Water." As you'd expect from a bass player-turned-remixer, Glover accentuates the bassier frequencies as a rule which lends these remixes a punch they didn't have in their better-known versions. Glover also substitutes previously mixed-out alternate versions of a couple of Blackmore's solos. While Ritchie Blackmore might not be delighted to hear the automobile sound effects returned to the climax of his "Highway Star" solo, lots of fans will be VERY pleased to hear bits and pieces of an alternate version of a classic album.

Some die-hard rockers might shudder at the word "remix," fearing that drum machines or synths were added. Fear not. Not one new note has been re-recorded and flown in. Everything you hear in the remix existed on the master tapes, although it may not have made it to the final version of the album as eventually released.

If you're a Purple fan, get this. And, if you aren't, I wouldn't be surprised if it turns out you like the remixes even better than the originals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


71 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Purple's crowning achievement, August 10, 2001
This review is from: Machine Head (Limited Edition) [2-CD SET] (Audio CD)
Deep Purple could easily have been as big as Led Zeppelin. They were certainly as talented. If only Ritchie Blackmore had got on better with Ian Gillan and Roger Glover, this classic line-up could have stayed together for a few more years, and clocked up true supergroup status. And earned an awful lot of money.
But an inability to make compromises often goes with the territory of being highly talented. Listening again to these remastered anniversary editions of 'In Rock', 'Fireball' and 'Machine Head' together with 'Rainbow Rising', I am strongly persuaded by the argument that Ritchie Blackmore has been rock's greatest post-Hendrix guitarist.
This was a re-master I had to buy. 'Machine Head' was the first album I ever bought. For several months it was the only album I owned, so I played it to death. Every piece of music brought into my boarding school had to be approved by the headmaster. At the time, only 'Bridge Over Troubled Water' had been approved. Rather than ask permission and get the album confiscated, I sneaked 'Machine Head' in to the school, intending to play it to myself on headphones. But other boys -- we were 13-year-olds -- wanted their own copies, so a number of crude speaker-to-microphone recordings were made. That summer, the sounds of 'Highway Star' and 'Pictures of Home' echoed around the subterranean cavern that was called the Model Club. Fortunately this was not the era when hard-rock bands felt obliged to insert gratuitous four-letter words into their lyrics. Despite the musical style of 'Machine Head' not nothing like the classical stuff that our teachers wanted us to aspire to, the album was not banned. Strangely, 'Smoke on the Water' was NOT one of the tracks we paid much attention to. It was only when I moved on the next term to another school -- one where boys could learn the guitar -- that I became aware of the legendary status this track was acquiring.
This 2CD set throws up an immediate dilemma: which to listen to first -- the Remixes or the Remasters? I know every note of the original album, so the Remasters were my first port of call. The recordings are clearer, but there's no particular revelation.
What is stunning -- and this is the reason why every Purple fan has to own this version -- are Roger Glover's Remixes. Normally I am suspicious of remixes. Today remixes are usually an excuse for another producer to cut and splice, re-order chorus and verse, and put down several new layers of synth and drum machine. Glover has done none of that, but he has brought a fantastic clarity to the recordings. Most tracks last a little longer, because Glover has left in an additional bar of music at the opening or at the very end. Two tracks, including 'Smoke on the Water', have completely different solos.
In listening to the remixes, you feel very close to the stage of the Grand Hotel, Montreux. There is a tremendous live feel to the recordings. Extraordinarily for a band whose members couldn't abide each other, the level of empathy between the musicians is oustanding. The interplay between Blackmore and Lord is wonderful. (Now at last with the sonic clarity of the remixes I can just about be sure which bits are played by Lord and which by Blackmore.) Even Glover's bass solo on 'Pictures of Home' sparkles.
Ian Gillan may have been casual about the writing of the lyrics, but Purple's music has lasted because the band put so much into the development of each track. I found that it took many listens to fully appreciate all the nuances of their finest recordings. That was, after all, part of the appeal of progressive music. This anniversary set is a fitting testament to the greatest progressive hard rock band I have known.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Purple, May 15, 2000
This review is from: Machine Head (Audio CD)
Deep Purple at their ultimate very best. The classic line up of Gillian, Blackmore, Lord, Glover and Paice. Too bad they only made a few albums with this grouping. Sure, we all know it's tough to get along with Ritchie Blackmore, but the esoteric types usually are. Blackmore shreds & slings like there is no tomorrow on Machine Head. All the band members click her, but most notably are Blackmore & Ian Paice. Paice is one of the most under-rated drummers ever... he cooks on this album. His drumming is smooth and almost effortless. "Highway Star" and "Smoke on the Water" are two songs that any person even slightly interested in rock & roll will remember. But, the songs that didn't make it to the radio (or got very little air play) are the ones that hold this great album together. "Pictures of Home", "Maybe I'm a Leo", "Never Before"... and "Lazy"... how can you not jump up from whatever you are doing and just run yourself silly? This classic hard rock is full of energy & heart. A 1972 essential in any rock library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 30 Years New, February 7, 2001
By 
Joseph P. Skinnell III (Hanover Park, IL United States) - See all my reviews
So, this is the shape of music to come eh? Take an excellant, superbly recorded and mixed album from 30 years ago and make it sound like it was just done yesterday. Without a doubt the greatest breakthrough in music since the first CD was pressed. 6.0 sound track, 5.1 soundtrack, and for those who don't want to know what they're missing, 2.0 soundtrack. All in Dolby Digital All with highs so crisp they cut like a knife. All with bass so intense if you walk in front of your subwoofer you will do yourself an injury. And all with every nuance of the music brought out in crystal clear clarity. The DVD contains the 7 original tracks plus the bonus 45rpm flipside of When A Blind Man Cries. Add to this video of the band playing Highway Star and Lazy from the Danish TV in 1971 and you have one special little package. Too bad it dosen't have the alternate tracks and out-takes from the 25th anniversary CD, then it would have been perfect. If you want to hear your music sound like the soundtrack from a modern movie buy this DVD. You will need a DVD player marked with the DVD AUDIO label in order to play the videos or the 6.0 tracks. If you don't have one, the 5.1 is just as effective for seperation and effect. There are quite a few other albums in Deep Purple's discography that I would like to see recieve this treatment. Shall we say, all of them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A terrific re-issue of a very important album., August 27, 1998
This review is from: Machine Head (Limited Edition) [2-CD SET] (Audio CD)
This is perhaps one of the best-sounding CDs I have ever heard. I grew up on the album, and, in fact, went through 2 copies. Thus, I thought I knew it pretty well. The first CD version of the original album was 1 of my first CDs, but it rather disappointed me as it was not much of an improvement on the original album, if at all. This re-issue, however, goes way beyond just remastering. The remixes on Disc 1 bring out the interplay of guitar and organ like you've never heard it before, in effect making the songs new again. Drums and bass are both given resounding punch, and the vocals will move you. The overall sound is cleaner and crisper than ever, yet not to the point of being sterile. You can really feel the emotion and tension in that Swiss hotel-made-studio, I swear. Disc 2 is the original album, beautifully remastered for CD. This one will always be in my Most-Played rack. It's a model for re-issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HOLY PURPLE, October 17, 1999
By A Customer
Here's a band that care so much for their fans. The remastered album sounds REALLY good, and the remixes are the best gift for Purple fans, featuring alternate solos and the complete recordings, without the fade out effect at the end of the song. Keeping the spirit of the 70's, with the sound cleaned up with cutting edge technology, the way that every 60's and 70's albums should be re-released. Besides the sound quality, the musical quality is over the top, the quality necessary to become a real classic and influent record. The interaction between Jon Lord and Ritchie Blackmore, the solid rhythm section of Glover and Paice, and the power lungs of Gillan are all combined in an all time favorite. If you want to start with Deep Purple, be sure to start with this one, not the regular CD release, but this 2 CD package, either the UK or the US version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Great Albums redone in an even greater way!, March 4, 2002
By 
Deep Purple Machine Head is an absolutely fabulous album containing the smash hit Deep Purple songs, Smoke On The Water, Highway Star, Lazy, and Space Trukin.' This is a must have album for any hard rock fan and now its even better as a remastered CD. Disk One is the whole album remastered with 24 bit technology Smoke On The Water, Highway Star, Lazy, and Space Trukin, Maybe I'm A Leo, Never Before and Pictures of Home along (songs out of order in my review) Three bonus tracks; When A Blind Man Cry's (a B side), Maybe I'm A Leo and Lazy both Quadraphonic mixes. Disk 2 is all the original songs Smoke On The Water, Highway Star, Lazy, and Space Trukin, Maybe I'm A Leo, Never Before and Pictures of Home from machine head and the B side When A Blind Mans Cry's all remixed with different emphasis, for instance there are different Guitar and keyboard parts on many of the songs; Disk 2 is very very cool. The booklet is informative as well. Cool Pictures and a nice slip case for the Jewell case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great CD Layer, January 1, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Machine Head (Audio CD)
If you're looking for the best PCM CD version of Machine Head available - this is it. The CD layer on this hybrid SACD is vastly superior to the anniversary 2 CD remaster (which is superior to the original CD release). It sounds very natural and hi-res, exactly what I'd expect the master tape to sound like. On previous versions, including the original vinyl, the mix was all jumbled with the instruments all seemingly jammed on top of each other. On this DSD remix and remaster, the instruments and vocals are all in their own space, and the soundstage has depth, plus the bass is stronger and more defined. The price, at the time of this writing, is astronomical, so I'd recommend buying from one of the Amazon Market sellers or go to Amazon UK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Makes the DVD Audio player worth every cent, August 27, 2002
By 
In my opinion, this is one of the all time great rock albums.
The music is lots of fun. "Lazy" is a nifty jazz influenced piece. It starts with a back and forth interplay between the keyboards and guitars. It has a kind of laid back easy going kind of groove which builds into a straight out rocker. "Highway Star," "Smoke on the Water" (the big hit), and "Space Truckin'" all have a tight drum beat and bass line anchoring metalic guitar riffs and organ breaks and crisp vocals. Clean, straight forward, hard driving rock - the kind music to listen to barreling down an open stretch of freeway at 90 miles per hour.

Why buy the DVD-Audio? Aggressive, progressive metal needs clarity, warmth and lots of headroom. CDs are dry and edgy sounding. They accentuate the edge in metalic rock and make the music seem harsh and brittle. DVD-A fixes this problem. If you have a DVD system, even just a regular dolby digital system pumped through a stereo, you will be amazingly impressed with the sound quality of this DVD-A. If you have a 5.1 surround system, you will be in the center of the music, much like being present when it was recorded because this album was not recorded in a studio. It was recorded in the hallways of ground floor of the Grand Hotel in Montreaux, Switzerland. The 5.1 surround mix gives back an intimacy which is lacking in a two channel mix. It is like sitting in the hallway with the band as they recorded the album. In addition, the DVD-A significantly improves sound reproduction. The bass is more tangible, the guitar and voices are alive and stunning, and the high end of the drums and cymbals are more lifelike. If you have the CD, you will never want to listen it again. But, you will play the DVD - a lot. A must have album for any rock collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Ghosts in this Machine, October 21, 2005
By 
This review is from: Machine Head (Audio CD)
The first thing to state about Machine Head is that if any group were to release an album of this calibre today you would not be able to avoid hearing about them in the media. But the fact is that no group today will release an album like this, not even come close. The main reason for this is quite simple; this album was a product of a different age where the motivation was to create music that was a form of exploration and which, when it was at it's best, pushed the boundaries of what was possible. That simply does not happen anymore where far too many groups and musicians are in the music business because it is a career option and a means to make money, and not because they have any understanding of, or sensitivity to the fact that music might be a path to knowledge. Suffice to say that Machine Head blows away anything around today by a country mile and in another 30 years time will sound just as good if not better than what is going to be around then if current trends are anything to go by. No point in giving individual reviews of the songs because the album should be taken as a complete package and as such it is a razor sharp statement of metal integrity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.