Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful buzz gun that works...
Being a licensed manufacturer+SOT, naturally, I took on building one of these fine pieces, the MP22 (I also built an MP9, covered in another book)... and they both runs flawlessly. There are a couple of lightly covered details, but in a deep, careful, read, plus me speaking with the author, I was able to get my piece built and running. Bill clearly describes how, with...
Published on June 6, 2007 by Keith

versus
19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars infomative book
This book while giving all the information nessary to build the gun is still a little patchy in its information and you realy need to know about firearms in the first place to fully understand it.If you have a basic knolage of the insides of firearms you should find this book infomative and enjoyable to read.
Published on April 8, 2000 by Tim Sheane


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars infomative book, April 8, 2000
This review is from: The .22 Machine Pistol (Home Workshop Guns for Defense and Resistance) (Paperback)
This book while giving all the information nessary to build the gun is still a little patchy in its information and you realy need to know about firearms in the first place to fully understand it.If you have a basic knolage of the insides of firearms you should find this book infomative and enjoyable to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful buzz gun that works..., June 6, 2007
This review is from: The .22 Machine Pistol (Home Workshop Guns for Defense and Resistance) (Paperback)
Being a licensed manufacturer+SOT, naturally, I took on building one of these fine pieces, the MP22 (I also built an MP9, covered in another book)... and they both runs flawlessly. There are a couple of lightly covered details, but in a deep, careful, read, plus me speaking with the author, I was able to get my piece built and running. Bill clearly describes how, with some bare tools (and he showed me, personally, a couple of neat techniques mentioned in yet other of his books), that raw metal can, in fact, be turned into something really useful... as to the so-called missing extractor, it's there, on the bolt face in its slot. Bill also was kind enough to show me how to blue my new receiver in his own bluing tank.

Two differing actions are covered in this book... closed bolt, and open bolt. In the open bolt, there are a couple of variations in how the disconnector can be arranged... In one setup, a light trigger pull provides semiauto action, and a full pull provides full auto action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great hobby machinist project., March 14, 2007
This review is from: The .22 Machine Pistol (Home Workshop Guns for Defense and Resistance) (Paperback)
I purchased this book (and another book with similar themes and content)as a challenge to teach myself some fundamental engineering and lathe techniques. This was because I had found it difficult to find any general purpose project related plans and schematics on the internet which seemed relevant and instructive.

While I never had an intention of building a final working model, I'd say that an average person wouldn't be able to do so anyway. To create the auto pistol from the enclosed plans would require a person with considerable technical knowledge and experience, coupled with an impressive home workshop, with milling and lathe machinery.

For the hobbyist wanting a challenging project - at least to experiment with some of the techniques, this is quite an informative book. I was impressed enough to consider purchasing other titles and videao by the author to see what they have to offer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book on a very simple weapon!, March 10, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The .22 Machine Pistol (Home Workshop Guns for Defense and Resistance) (Paperback)
I was very impressed with this book and the weapon it describes. The design is very clear and easy to understand. The author is very knowledgeable and skilled and I enjoyed his way of communication and articulation. Technically be aware that basic tools/machines are required as are machining skills and shop knowledge, but it certainly is not rocket science. Prior to purchasing this book I read other reviews who criticized this book and say that it is poorly done and crap. Let me assure you from a professional engineer and journeyman machinist, these people are simply ignorant and are wannabes who do not have a basic understanding of mechanical engineering and shop skills. Admittedly, the prints in the book are hand drawn, not CAD, but again, they are clear and complete and workable. The weapon described is very simple in nature and does not require high tolerances in addition to being very inexpensive to fabricate. If you have basic shop skills and access to basic machine shop equipment this weapon can easily be completed in about 25 hours. If you do not have basic shop skills and equipment, then realistically dont buy this book thinking you are going to make the weapon with a hammer and files. It simply wont happen. Overall, I was very happy and the book and its contents exceeded my expectations by far! I certainly would recommend it to a friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book. Naturally Mr. Holmes assumes you're not an idiot, November 29, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The .22 Machine Pistol (Home Workshop Guns for Defense and Resistance) (Paperback)
If you have decent metal working skills and don't mind tinkering a bit you can turn out a nice little weapon with the assistance of this very informative and well illustrated book. The author stresses that you could get yourself into some hot water with the BATF if you take this information beyond the educational purposes for which the author points out this manual is intended. On the other hand, if you WERE living in some country where the authorities were a little more open minded you could turn out a very awesome compact piece of ordinance. The author covers all tools needed (a lathe, mill, and welding are going to come in handy), materials and sources for same, techniques, finishing, trouble shooting, and lots of other helpful tid-bits. Various optional features are thrown in toward the end, just in case you feel like (mentally) experimenting with design variations. You can't help but appreciate all the author must have been through trying to develop a successful weapon, only to have run into masses of red-tape and administrative gobbledy-goop before throwing in the towel and settling for talking about building weapons instead of actually doing it. A shame, really. Bottom line is that this is a very nice little book at a reasonable price for students of this type of arms development.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars They don't make the magazines for this design anymore., April 8, 2010
By 
Sherman (Hanford, Ca, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The .22 Machine Pistol (Home Workshop Guns for Defense and Resistance) (Paperback)
This book is not for beginners. You will need a lathe and milling machine and the knowledge to use these machines correctly. From page 9 of the text: "A suitable magazine for this gun is available (at the time of this writing) from Gun Parts Corporation, West Hurley, New York. The company calls these "Universal" magazines. They are used in Thompson .22-caliber guns as well as a number of others." Unfortunately, the Thompson in .22LR is no longer being made. Hence the 30-round magazine are no longer made as well. And without a magazine, a machine pistol becomes a single shot weapon. So the design in the book is basically outdated right out of the gate. If you can find/obtain a 30 round, .22LR magazine from another manufacturer (or can make one yourself) and then modify the measurements of the lower receiver to accept the new magazine, then you might find this book a worthwhile purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book for general knowledge., January 3, 2007
This review is from: The .22 Machine Pistol (Home Workshop Guns for Defense and Resistance) (Paperback)
I like the book. There is not quite enough info in the book to produce a working weapon, but almost. The author refers to earlier books in the series to explain severial details during the building process. Overall, however, this is a good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 2lefthands, March 31, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The .22 Machine Pistol (Home Workshop Guns for Defense and Resistance) (Paperback)
Great book, great reading and I would imagine quite informative for someone with a right and left hand,lol,beyond my craftsman abilities but getting quite alot of attention on the coffee table.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars very interesting read, March 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The .22 Machine Pistol (Home Workshop Guns for Defense and Resistance) (Paperback)
a great book for any amateur gunsmith, or any one wishing to learn the simple working of an automatic firearm. Weather it would work or not is unknown at this time, but it looks possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wish there were more stars!, August 6, 2014
This review is from: The .22 Machine Pistol (Home Workshop Guns for Defense and Resistance) (Paperback)
I wish there were more stars to select! This book is amazing, an awesome academic study! Must buy and a must have for those hard days coming! Wake up people!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The .22 Machine Pistol (Home Workshop Guns for Defense and Resistance)
$22.00 $14.30
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.