Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Real Machine Head
From day one, this has been a band all about live performances. I've thought for years that it just didn't do these guys justice that their only live album was Hellalive, which heavily featured Supercharger. For one, that's my least favorite MH album, and for another, they've put out three albums since then that have defined their career. From the Ashes of Empires, The...
Published 20 months ago by J. Hill

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It gets old
Well, hearing Machine f'n head between every song is just ridiculous and very annoying. So much for loving this live album.
Published 18 months ago by RR


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Real Machine Head, November 13, 2012
By 
J. Hill (South Charleston, WV) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
From day one, this has been a band all about live performances. I've thought for years that it just didn't do these guys justice that their only live album was Hellalive, which heavily featured Supercharger. For one, that's my least favorite MH album, and for another, they've put out three albums since then that have defined their career. From the Ashes of Empires, The Blackening, and Unto the Locust needed to be captured live, and this CD does it in grand fashion. Loud, intense, and highly interactive, this is Machine Head in their true element, doing what they've always done best...absolutely slay crowds.

Made up of songs from a variety of shows, you get something from each one of their albums. The crowds are amazing, the performances are damn near perfect, and it reminds me of some of my favorite experiences seeing them live. Come to think of it, not being able to see footage from these shows, as in having an accompanying DVD release, is my only critical thing to say. I would love to see some of this stuff, particularly the high-energy pummeling of "Aesthetics of Hate" and the crowd participation on "Darkness Within." And of course, thrash-fests like "I Am Hell" and "This Is The End." Then, there's one of my favorite tracks from the new album, "Be Still And Know." Ahh, yes, Machine Head have delivered one hell of a live release here, and if you're a fan of these guys, you won't waste a lot of time getting a copy. Machine F'n Head, indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why are you reading this?...., November 13, 2012
If you have clicked on this and checking it out then you already a few steps behind and should've bought it already. not one of those cheesy live recordings where it sounds like they have someone in the back or side of the stage with some recording device. great quality, awesomely powerful band...

just got back from the gym and it took every ounce of energy not to start a pit and breaking stuff from listening to this

you still here? why haven't you bought this yet?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best live metal album in forever, November 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Machine F**king Head Live (Special Edition) [Explicit] (MP3 Music)
Live albums of true metal are usually hard to capture and so compressed they aren't usually an enjoyable listen; however, Machine Head nailed this and it's already in my top-three live albums of all-time, with Deep Purple's 'Made In Japan' album from the 1970's and Alice In Chains' Unplugged. Robb Flynn does an amazing job with the crowd and the double disc album features most of The Head's top songs, with a couple of covers and demos as a bonus. The band is as tight as ever and you can feel the crowd's energy in every song. A must buy!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars awsome, May 2, 2014
By 
William Thompson (Gulfport, Mississippi, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
this is a great cd! i would recomend it highly. bill t. gulfport,ms. machine head is a great band to see live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good live album, July 31, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I don't like live albums a whole lot usually but Machine Head kicks ass and I got it on sale which always helps. It does have a lot of their better songs on it. Machine Head is an awesome live band so if you like live albums and you like Machine Head then what the hell are you waiting for, buy it already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars No words., June 26, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
My most listened to record in my player. Brilliant writing, musicianship, and performance. Thrash at it's very best. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars machine head is at it again, February 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
big fan of live albums and this is def a top contender. wish i could have been there for the recording. sounds like it was crazy. "lemme see your middle fingers in the air, and your tits too!" -robert flynn
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Machine Head rules!, January 29, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a very good live album, on the heals of Unto The Locust, probably the best guitar work for a studio album in 2011.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bang your freaking head!, January 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you're looking for just straight up heavy metal with no nonsense breakdown garbage and no lengthy jams, you listen to Machine Head. If you're just angry and want to bang your head there is no better band to do it to than this. Machine Head is pure unadulterated metal, and this live album is absolutely relentless. Listening to Machine Head albums you can feel the intensity in their sound, and know they will put on a killer show, after listening to this you realize you may not come out alive. You see all the older greats on here like Bulldozer, Old, Ten Ton Hammer, and The Blood the Sweat the Tears. The absolute classic from Through the Ashes... Imperium, a couple good ones from The Blackening, Good Mourning and Halo, as well as the majority of Unto The Locust. This is a GREAT live album, very high energy and very intense. Whether you're an old Machine Head fan or you've never experienced them before this is an album you don't want to miss. Bang your freakin' head!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Live Album for Metal/Rock fans!, January 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Machine F**king Head Live (Special Edition) [Explicit] (MP3 Music)
As Disney would say, i am one of "Machine Heads Undesirable fans" [...]
This album is great! really good quality recording that captures what it's like to be at a Machine Head show. (I've seen them three times and counting) I would recommend getting the special edition as it comes with a couple of really solid bonus tracks. Was hesitant on spending $15 on an album considering most of my music purchases have been no more than $10 but i would have paid twice as much if i knew the quality of the recordings.
The only thing i could gripe about would be that Rob's vocals are lost in the mix at times. Again its really good quality live recording but not Nine Inch Nails perfect live recording.
Five Stars for Sure! Please support this band they are the best at what they do right now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.