Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for sparring
Light weight which enables you to move around. Not too heavy. This is definitely a must for those who practice a lot of contact sparring. I use it all the time for the JKD class.
Published 17 months ago by WWUHA

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not durable for tournament winning level competitors.
Got this for my daughter. She did win state wearing this gear, but....

If you look at the picture, where it does not bulge out, the material is pretty thin (about 1mm thick), to allow for flexibility.
After 2 months in class and 1 tournament, a joint it the shoulder opened up along the seam.
2 more months and 1 more tournament, it tore after a...
Published 4 months ago by J. Leung


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for sparring, July 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Light weight which enables you to move around. Not too heavy. This is definitely a must for those who practice a lot of contact sparring. I use it all the time for the JKD class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Macho, April 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Exactly as described Very durable Great sparring protection. Delivery was super fast, I ordered on April 5, received on the 9th. I'm 5'8, 185lbs, an adult large fits good. No complaints so far, let's see how it holds up, time will tell
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not durable for tournament winning level competitors., August 26, 2014
This review is from: Macho Sports / Martial Arts Chest Protector (Misc.)
Got this for my daughter. She did win state wearing this gear, but....

If you look at the picture, where it does not bulge out, the material is pretty thin (about 1mm thick), to allow for flexibility.
After 2 months in class and 1 tournament, a joint it the shoulder opened up along the seam.
2 more months and 1 more tournament, it tore after a lateral kick that tore the middle/base along the seam.
It is now being held together with duct tape (which is ok for now, since the duct tape is stronger than the seams).
Looking for another replacement, that performs similarly, but is more durable.

When new, it was very nice because it was light weight and allowed good movement, however, the durability is not good enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Thin, February 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Bought this for my son and he feels its a little thin to spar in. I wouldn't recommend for anyone under ten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ready for Sparring?, November 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great! My son had it on during a karate tournament. It protected my son from getting hurt, he even got 3rd place. highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Looked small out of the box but fit was fine. It absorbed chest and kidney punches during self ..., October 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Looked small out of the box but fit was fine. It absorbed chest and kidney punches during self defense class with little pain to body.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The straps of the small fit a little better than the medium, August 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I originally ordered a small, but I had to return it because the chest guard was too small for my son. The straps of the small fit a little better than the medium, so I just had to sew the straps a little shorter to get a better fit since I like the size of the medium chest guard better than the small. The chest guard is a little thinner than I expected, but it is lightweight and works for my son's current level. Once my son gets higher than his current orange belt and needs more protection for higher impact, I will look for a chest guard that is a little thicker since he does compete in tournaments. Overall, this is a great LIGHTWEIGHT chest guard and a great seller with excellent customer service!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, July 7, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This runs small and I had to return it for a larger size.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Just Adequate Coverage, June 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Me and my friends practice knife fighting, among other things, and we wanted some abdominal shielding against thrusts with our training blades. Bought this protector and it works okay, but really there are a lot of areas left vulnerable still and I can tell we're going to destroy this flimsy thing within a year or so. Here's a video of us using the product[,,,]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars More like a toy, June 4, 2014
By 
Darren Adair (Moore, OK United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This looks great in the picture. Unfortunately, the sizing is vague and honestly, I don't think it would hold up to much real sparing. I'm under 5' 10 and not overweight. This was laughable once I got it on! The seller said just return it but I gave it to my 4 yr old grandson instead. It's slightly big on him if that give you an idea. I thought there was a mistake in sizes but the seller said they don't come in child sizes. If you're sparing with adults then pass on this one, it's not a quality product by any standard unless you're playing Ninja Turtles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Macho Sports / Martial Arts Chest Protector
$50.00 $33.79 - $57.44
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.