Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Macroeconomy Today
This textbook is quite a comprehensive of introductory macroeconomics. Great graphs, well-explained, carefully thought out. The one downside is that it is quite idealistic, as one would expect of a neo-classical economist. The author does not recognize flaws in the theories nor does he acknowledge that the real world is not so cut-and-dry and ordered as we would be...
Published on April 14, 2000

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not much glue
Although the concepts are presented in a fairly understandable way, they are not tied together well for someone new to macroeconomics. Particularly annoying are the missing variable definitions for formulas. With Barron's as a supplement, it makes more sense.
Published on July 21, 2006 by mbamom


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Macroeconomy Today, April 14, 2000
By A Customer
This textbook is quite a comprehensive of introductory macroeconomics. Great graphs, well-explained, carefully thought out. The one downside is that it is quite idealistic, as one would expect of a neo-classical economist. The author does not recognize flaws in the theories nor does he acknowledge that the real world is not so cut-and-dry and ordered as we would be led to believe. However, as stated before, this is a wonderful introductory text for anyone who wants to understand the economy today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not much glue, July 21, 2006
By 
mbamom (Columbus, OH) - See all my reviews
Although the concepts are presented in a fairly understandable way, they are not tied together well for someone new to macroeconomics. Particularly annoying are the missing variable definitions for formulas. With Barron's as a supplement, it makes more sense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dry and theoretical, January 28, 2009
By 
Clint Dangler (Choadland, Russian Federation) - See all my reviews
As an undergraduate majoring in economics and political science, I recognize the difference between theory and practice. The Schiller text is unbelievably dry and theoretical. It's such a shame that the mathematical and empirical aspects of economics are neglected. I've found few explanations for graphs (formulas, how they develop the formulas, etc) and they appear at great frequency. Schiller adequately expresses how to read the graphs, but any economist who sees interesting graphs generally likes to know the formula, as well as what each piece of the formula represents, and how those numbers came about. If this text was titled "Macroeconomic Theory" I would have rated it four stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Microeconomy for undergraduate, January 26, 2001
By 
This review is from: Micro Economy Today (Paperback)
Excellent feature of this book is the aplication part that shows real impacts or examples of theory in reality. I have bought this book to accompany my Economics by Collander and it was good choice. If you want to test your knowledge - buy yet Economic Concepts (ISBN 0070455910). You will do the best for your understanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book., November 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great book! It provided me with the information that I was looking for and is an easy read. Not every book has all of the information that you may need, but it is definitely a good start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Will use company again if needed, September 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Macro Economy Today (McGraw-Hill Economics) (Paperback)
The book was in a better condition than expected. It arrived on time. I was able to read the chapter before the class and I loved that. Thank you! Keep working this way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible, July 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is the worst e-book I have ever had. There are so many spelling errors and the spacing is uneven making it very hard to read. I would suggest just buying the physical book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, July 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Macro Economy Today (McGraw-Hill Economics) (Paperback)
Good condition and exactly what i needed at a great cost! Thank you Amazon!
The school wanted a hundred dollars for this book and I am happy to rent and return after my semester.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Gross..., July 5, 2013
This review is from: The Macro Economy Today (McGraw-Hill Economics) (Paperback)
My textbook came in with some mysterious stains and obvious water damage. I was disappointed. Didn't affect the material, however, but it sucked to not get my money's worth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Was Great, March 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The book was in great shape. IT HAD BEEN HIGHLIGHTED. Which meant I didn;t have to do it I pass the course
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Macro Economy Today (McGraw-Hill Economics)
The Macro Economy Today (McGraw-Hill Economics) by Bradley R. Schiller (Paperback - October 2, 2009)
Used & New from: $9.50
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.