Macroeconomics: Imperfections, Institutions and Policies

2 customer reviews
ISBN-13: 978-0198776222
ISBN-10: 0198776225
Why is ISBN important?
ISBN
This bar-code number lets you verify that you're getting exactly the right version or edition of a book. The 13-digit and 10-digit formats both work.
Scan an ISBN with your phone
Use the Amazon App to scan ISBNs and compare prices.
Sell yours for a Gift Card
We'll buy it for $5.85
Learn More
Trade in now
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Rent
$18.35 - $18.36
Buy used
$32.68
Buy new
$84.24
Rent from Amazon Price New from Used from
Paperback, February 2, 2006
"Please retry"
$18.35
$84.24
$47.89 $19.10
More Buying Choices
38 New from $47.89 44 Used from $19.10
Free Two-Day Shipping for College Students with Amazon Student Free%20Two-Day%20Shipping%20for%20College%20Students%20with%20Amazon%20Student


Best Books of the Month
See the Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.
$84.24 FREE Shipping. Only 5 left in stock (more on the way). Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.

Frequently Bought Together

Macroeconomics: Imperfections, Institutions and Policies + Advanced Macroeconomics (McGraw-Hill Series Economics)
Price for both: $144.27

Buy the selected items together

Editorial Reviews

Review

"When teaching intermediate macroeconomics in Harvard, I deeply felt that existing textbooks were all lacking: 1) proper microeconomic foundations linking important notions such as the Keynesian consumption function, the investment accelerator, the Phillips curve, the possibility of persistent (involuntary) unemployment, to precise sources of imperfections in the product, labor, or financial markets; 2) a suitable treatment of growth theory that can shed light on observed convergence and divergence patterns across countries and also on how growth policies should be designed in various countries at different stages of development. Being the first comprehensive attempt at filling these gaps, the Carlin-Soskice textbook should be used by any instructor who wants to bring her students to the frontier of modern macroeconomics while at the same time remaining fully accessible to a broad undergraduate audience." Philippe Aghion, Robert C. Waggoner Professor of Economics, Harvard University

"At last, an advanced undergraduate book which maps theory to facts. The theory, from the new Keynesian model of fluctuations to Schumpeterian models of growth, is sound. The applications, from European unemployment to the Japanese slump, highly revealing. You will enjoy every chapter, and become a good macroeconomist in the process. Olivier Blanchard, Class of 1941 Professor, Massachusetts Institute of Technology"

"The best way to learn economics is to have a textbook which develops a theoretical framework interactively with practical questions. Macroeconomics: Imperfections, Institutions and Policies does just this. The book is based on the mainstream monetary macro model which is now widely used by both academics and policy-makers. In a straightforward manner, it shows how this model can be used to address an enormous variety of practical questions without heavy use of mathematical technique." Stephen Nickell, School Professor of Economics, LSE; Member of the Monetary Policy Committee, Bank of England

"Imperfect competition, knowledge-based growth, inflation-targeting central banks and many other central features of modern economic systems have recently been integrated into the heart of macroeconomic theory. Carlin and Soskice do the profession a great service by writing a textbook that makes these developments accessible to undergraduates. The book presents macroeconomics at its best - as a useful framework for analyzing important questions." Peter Howitt, Lyn Crost Professor of Social Sciences, Brown University

"What makes Carlin and Soskice invaluable is both their clarity and their commitment to helping the reader understand the intuitions that lie behind the models. Furthermore, there is constantly an attempt to make the work relevant to practical questions of public policy. They tackle the impact of German Reunification, EMU, British economic performance, the 1990s US boom, and the long-standing Japanese recession. There is a major final chapter addressing the issues of unemployment, especially among the larger nations of Continental Europe. The authors approach these questions through the penetrating analytical lens of their framework, critically address the empirical evidence and come up with sometimes novel conclusions to the conventional wisdom." Professor John Van Reenen Director, Centre for Economic Performance, London School of Economics

" If, like me, you've been waiting a long time for the successor to Macroeconomics and the Wage Bargain, you will not be disappointed."

"Macroeconomics needs to be exciting and contemporary. Too often it becomes an area of difficulty and confusion for students. This book is to be welcomed for its very clear vision of what contemporary macroeconomics is about and its careful exposition leading the student to this." Dr Mary Gregory, Oxford University

About the Author

Wendy Carlin is Professor of Economics at University College London and is a Research Fellow of the Centre for Economic Policy Research. She is managing editor of the Economics of Transition and has published widely on macroeconomics, institutions, and transition. David Soskice is Research Professor at Duke University and at the Wissenschaftszentrum Berlin. He is Centennial Professor in the European Institute at the London School of Economics. He is Emeritus Fellow in Economics at University College, Oxford and has held visiting positions at the Australian National University and the universities of Berkeley, Johns Hopkins Bologna, Cornell, Pisa, Trento and Yale. He has published widely in economics, industrial relations, and political science.
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE


Best Books of the Month
Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Product Details

  • Paperback: 852 pages
  • Publisher: Oxford University Press (February 2, 2006)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0198776225
  • ISBN-13: 978-0198776222
  • Product Dimensions: 9.6 x 1.5 x 7.2 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 3.9 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #222,624 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Important Information

Ingredients
Example Ingredients

Directions
Example Directions

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

5 star
50%
4 star
50%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
See both customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful By Mike on November 13, 2009
Format: Paperback
I teach intermediate macro at a research university. However, I don't think I could use this book for teaching an undergraduate class. It's better targeted at a non-PhD. macroeconomics graduate class. I have two main criticisms and one main praise. I think the authors needed to pick whether they wanted to be technical, in the vein of Sargent, Romer, etc., or non-technical, like Blanchard or Mankiw. There is a lot of algebra and a lot of notation, but very little calculus. For as much algebra as the book contains, it would be nice to see more constrained optimization, since most of the models presented rearrange FOCs anyway. Also, there's very little exposition that's written at a non-graduate level. This book is pretty terse. It is not written to an audience that is still learning the basics of macroeconomics; it assumes quite a bit of knowledge.

Now the praise: it is an excellent, excellent reference. This book covers growth well. It does well with the IS-LM model. It has a nice chapter about asset markets. It's incredibly thorough with the open economy. I highly recommend this book to instructors who want to nail the intuition in their lectures but find the texts they choose to lack good mathematical descriptions.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Karina Ferracioli on March 31, 2014
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
This book is great for those who are looking for to understand a little more of macroeconomics world. Very good
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more
Macroeconomics: Imperfections, Institutions and Policies
This item: Macroeconomics: Imperfections, Institutions and Policies
Price: $84.24
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com