Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An anime classic, visually, musically and vocally
It is a regrettable reality that one of the most beloved animated films ever created in Japan has never been officially released in its full form outside the island nation of its birth. That this particular work of anime shares a history with a genre defining animated series that helped introduce Japanese animation to a wider audience is all the more frustrating for anime...
Published on February 28, 2012 by L. W. Swint

versus
15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great production, but still a fan-sub/dub...
As a long time Macross fan, I have been trying to find an actual, legitimate DVD release of Macross: DYRL. And while I am going to say that the movie is a stellar recap of the series with top-notch animation for 1984, I am going to provide a review for this DVD in particular. Now, this is for the Macross: Do You Remember Love? (Perfect Edition) from Crescent Media which...
Published 17 months ago by P. Echols


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An anime classic, visually, musically and vocally, February 28, 2012
By 
L. W. Swint (Detroit, Michigan) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Macross Super Dimension Fortress: Do You Remember Love? (2-Disc Special Edition) [Japan, 1984] (DVD)
It is a regrettable reality that one of the most beloved animated films ever created in Japan has never been officially released in its full form outside the island nation of its birth. That this particular work of anime shares a history with a genre defining animated series that helped introduce Japanese animation to a wider audience is all the more frustrating for anime fans around the world. That film is commonly called "Macross: Do You Remember Love?" released in Japan in July of 1984. For those admirers of anime that long to have this movie in their collection, there is hope in the form of "The Super Dimension Fortress Macross: Do You Remember Love? Perfect Edition," an unlicensed "DVD+Soundtrack CD" collection of this revered film, offered through amazon.com.

"Do You Remember Love?" is a feature film retelling of the television series "Super Dimension Fortress Macross," which premiered on Japanese television in October of 1982. Running for a total of 36 episodes, "Macross" became a highly regarded anime creation, bringing acclaim to the animation company that created it, Studio Nue, and admiration to members of its production crew, notably: Shoji Kawamori,story creator and lead mechanical designer; Haruhiko Mikimoto, character designer; and Mari Iijima, singer and voice actress, who portrayed the character Lynn Minmay in the TV series and movie.

"Macross" is a space adventure tale of human and alien conflict told from the point of view of three young people: Hikaru Ichijyo, a gifted fighter pilot; Lynn Minmay, a popular "idol singer;" and Misa Hayase, a duty-bound military officer aboard the Super Dimension Fortress Macross. The Macross is an alien spacecraft that crashlanded on Earth in the recent past, containing technology that advanced human society. The ship was so colossal that an entire city came to be built within it. The Macross' size was a harbinger of the threat the people of Earth would come to face in the form of the Zentradi, an alien race of giants that would eventually wage a genocidal war on all of humanity. Only the bravery of Hikaro and his fellow pilots, and significantly, the voice of Lynn Minmay, would be able to defend humankind from a terrible fate.

The "Macross" TV series came to be first enjoyed by an audience outside of Japan when it was edited into an epic animation trilogy in America called "Robotech," overseen by the Harmony Gold production company and Japan's Tatsunoko Productions. This 85 episode series was supervised by American producer Carl Macek, and consisted of what came to be called the 36 episode "Macross Saga;" followed by "the Robotech Masters," a revision of the 1984 anime series, the "Super Dimension Calvary Southern Cross," which ran for 23 episodes; and concluding with "Robotech: The New Generation," a reworking of 1983's "Genesis Climber Mospeada," a 25 episode anime show. Premiering on American television in September 1985, "Robotech" would mark a turning point in the exposure of Japanese animation to audiences in the United States and later, around the world.

But "Robotech" would also play a role in the movie "Do You Remember Love?," as well as many other anime incarnations of the "Macross" franchise being unable to be legally seen by fans of the saga. Due to legal conflicts between Harmony Gold, Tatsunoko Productions, and Studio Nue, "Macross" anime like "Do You Remember Love?" have been prevented from being released to the world-wide home entertainment market.

Thus, anime fans have this alternative, the "Perfect Edition." This 2 disk set contains the "Macross" movie with its original Japanese language audio track along with an English language dub track with the options of English and/or Spanish subtitles. I suggest watching and listening to the film with the original Japanese dialogue. The English dub is inferior and detracts from fully enjoying the movie. Another negative with the DVD is the use of on-screen karaoke text during scenes featuring Lynn Minmay singing. Unfortunately, the viewer cannot disable or remove them from the video picture. Visually, the DVD format is a great showcase for anime and even this unlicensed version of "Do You Remember Love?" reveals the amazing artistry of this film. Its creators were at the peak of their storytelling powers, and given a bigger financial budget than they had on the TV series, Shoji Kawamori and his colaborators produced a spectacular theatrical space opera.The animation is beautifully fluid, the background settings are rich in color and detail. Viewing this film is an enthralling experience.

The "Perfect Edition's" second disk is the music and vocal soundtrack to the movie and it is a special treat. "Do You Remember Love?" featured a thrilling score by Kentaro Haneda, based on themes he composed for the original TV series plus new music. The soundtrack also features the enthusiastic vocal talent of Mari Iijima, bringing the voice of Lynn Minmay to life. Even after nearly 30 years, her songs bring chills of delight to this old anime fan.

"Macross: Do You Remember Love?" is one of the great works of anime and truly deserves to be given a proper release to a public that cherishes it. Because this "Perfect Edition" is an unlicensed bootleg copy of the film, I've chosen to rate this release with 4 stars with the hope that this 5 star film will someday reach its audience in a presentation worthy of its greatness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great production, but still a fan-sub/dub..., April 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Macross Super Dimension Fortress: Do You Remember Love? (2-Disc Special Edition) [Japan, 1984] (DVD)
As a long time Macross fan, I have been trying to find an actual, legitimate DVD release of Macross: DYRL. And while I am going to say that the movie is a stellar recap of the series with top-notch animation for 1984, I am going to provide a review for this DVD in particular. Now, this is for the Macross: Do You Remember Love? (Perfect Edition) from Crescent Media which this review should be posted under.

For starters, this package is very well done and comes in a near professional-grade material. It is produced in Spain, I believe with what stickers are on the shrink-wrap, and comes with the film on DVD and "the soundtrack" on CD. The outer box, case, and discs all have full-color print and very slick, glossy packaging. A lot of care was taken into making this release as professional as possible. This is all a plus for a Macross collector that cannot afford the more expensive collectables. However, there are some issues I've seen for this release that I want to warn potential buyers about, and I will attempt to do this without being overly critical or nit-picky.

The first thing I want to warn buyers about is that this is not an 'Official' release, at least, not from Big West. There may be some sort of loop-hole this company went through to produce this or obtain the rights, but this is, at best, a high-quality fan-sub/dub. I say this because I did some research into the company Crescent Media and what I found from it suggests that this release is not on a large-scale operation or in correlation to major production standards.

With that said, the video transfer is fairly sharp, but it is not the best I've seen. There are several un-cut (meaning, not coming from the edited, but official, blu-ray or Clash of the Bionoids) versions circling around on the internet with a better quality transfer than this. In fact, I'd be hard-pressed to say this transfer may actually be one of those, but I cannot confirm that speculation. I will say that, if you're not a perfectionist like I am, you will not mind it that much. It plays, and doesn't look too bad, but I do think the black box around the studio logo that first produced this movie that should play before the film starts is pretty shady in my opinion.

Audio is standard and nothing really to note other than they chose to include a really bad English dub. Even if you prefer dubbing, I would still recommend the original Japanese audio track and subtitles.

That brings me to my biggest gripe, which is the menu and the subtitling that are both pretty substandard with everything else I've seen from this release. The menu is a standard static image that is very "fuzzy" due to up-scaling from it's original size and with large English text options that are obviously dated. Secondly, the subtitles are really large and, as people have said before me, cover up the original Japanese subtitling for the Zentraedi dialogue and most of the bottom third of the screen. Again, if you're not nit-picky like me, it won't matter that much, but again, there are better quality fan-subs floating around out there with far better subtitling.

Also included in this set is a cd-soundtrack that I cannot tell whether the music came from an actual soundtrack release or if they were picked from a list of tracks from the movie and burned it to disc. I will say that if you don't own Macross music that this is a good place to start. The track titles are in Japanese text so unless you know a little of the language or, don't, the music is still great and unhindered by those technicalities. It is a nice little extra to say the least.

Here's the thing: if you're not a serious collector or don't care as much for this not being in it's purest form (being straight from Japan), then give this release a serious consideration. It looks pretty close to a legitimate release and most people won't know the difference. It seems un-cut (minus the original film company logo being blurred out), which, as a purist is important, and is a fairly good quality transfer even though there are better out there. It does have a sloppy menu and large, unattractive subtitles, which is a big deterrent for me. There is also the question if this is a actually a legitimate release or a very high-end fan-sub, but with the "Macross Embargo" we have here in the U.S., you're not going to find an official release at this price. And, again, most people won't be able to tell the difference anyway, so if you don't mind a few nit-picky things here or there, this is one of the better releases I've seen. At least the translation isn't in Engrish like some of the Chinese subs I unfortunately picked up. You aren't getting a bad package at this price, but anything more than $20 is too much for this release. Hopefully this helps the reader to make an wise purchase.

- P. "Mr. Macross" Echols
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's not perfect, but it'll do for now., January 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Macross Super Dimension Fortress: Do You Remember Love? (2-Disc Special Edition) [Japan, 1984] (DVD)
While this product is not endorsed by any "official" companies in the United States or Canada, this special edition from Crescent Media is probably as good as it's going to get for us until Harmony Gold and Studio Nu stop playing hardball with each other. The film is presented in its original widescreen aspect ratio, and it has two audio options. The first option is the original Japanese language track, in either Stereo or surround sound. I'm not entirely sure, only, that Dolby was used. It also comes with English subtitles, which are fairly accurate. The second audio track is an English dub. Unfortunately, this is nto the English fan dub found on YouTube, but instead is the original 1984 International dub commissioned by Toho, who distributed the film. While some of the voices are recognizable from old action film dubs and many of the 1970's Godzilla movies, as well as the International dub of The Return of Godzilla (1984), the quality of the dub ranges from somewhat decent to hilariously awful. the quality of th edub never stays consistent, and is constantly changing, depending on who is speaking and which voice actors are present in a particular scene or sequence. The first disc also lacks a chapter or scene selection menu, but these can be accessed through the use of a remote control with the >>I or I<< buttons, or the display button, if your remote has one. My DVD player from Pioneer has these, but Pioneer always did have more specialized products than mainstream companies, so I don't know how well other people may have that option.

The second disc in the set is something that many fans will salivate over: [dun dun dun] the original soundtrack for the movie. This is a CD that has ther film's soundtrack, and it is exactly the same as the original release from Victor in Japan. Unfortunately, this means that not only is Do You Remember Love placed in the middle of the disc and thus out of order, but that the version featured here is the five minute version, not the six and a half minute full version found on other compilation CDs, such as Minmay Sings For You, and Macross Song Special. This also means that the CD lacks any of Minmays other vocal songs heard in the movie, such as Red Moon Silver Moon, My boyfriend is a Pilot (arguably the second most famous song in the franchise), and Little White Dragon. Still, those complaints aside, the film's orchestral soundtrack, by Kentaro Haneda (Sayonara Jupiter, the original Macross series, and more), is an absolutely beautiful and evocative experience. While a few pieces of his score for the TV series are reused, the main theme in this movie score is the new DYRL theme that he composed specifically for this movie, which is quite moving and romantic. Unfortunately, again, several of the shorter tracks have been left off of this disc, just as they were on the Japanese release. These excluded pieces include three short but lovely instrumental renditions of Do You Remember Love, Sad Space Soldier (or Wounded hero) (which plays when Roy Fokker dies -- he dies no matter what version of the story is being told, so spoilers don't count in his case), and a few others. This is quite unfortunate, as the disc's runtime is within the forty minute range, meaning that several of those music pieces could have easily been included. For this special edition release, this was a missed opportunity, but I suppose Cresecent Media didn't want to press their luck, what with Harmony Gold's embargo* on any Macross products being released in the states without their permission (despite the courts in Japan ruling that HG has no authority over any entries in the franchise other than the original TV series that they used for Robotech).

So, in conclusion, there were several things that this special edition could have done better, but to be honest, for an unofficial and probably unlicensed product, this special edition is far better than it has any right to be as well. It isn't perfect, but until Animeigo convinces Harmony Gold and the other companies involved to let them release the film legally on DVD in the states, then I suppose that this special edition will have to suffice.

*Harmony Gold doesn't really have an actual embargo. In reality, they sue and take to court any company that releases a product or entry in the franchise produced after Macross Plus. Only Macross II and Macross Plus are currently legally available in the United States (and possibly Canada), in their original forms, courtesy of Manga Entertainment. I believe that the manga adaptation of Macross Frontier may be legally available here as well, but I don't really know for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This is a pirated disk. Do not buy it., August 2, 2013
By 
Raisuli the Magnificent (SF Bay Area, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Macross Super Dimension Fortress: Do You Remember Love? (2-Disc Special Edition) [Japan, 1984] (DVD)
This is a pirated edition. Do not buy it.

I have the official special edition release of this film on a Region 2 disk directly from Japan, and last I checked with the two big American anime-importers, the export rights to Macross are mired in a web of legalese that has yet to be sorted out, and the special edition did not come with a soundtrack. Additionally, there is more than one special edition for this film, the larger coming in a large box with loads of extra goodies in it; all of which are Region 2 disks.

There is no publisher nor studio mentioned here, which should give you a clue. Your next clue is that this is a region free disk. There is no region free disc of this movie.

Buy the real thing from Japan. Do not purchase this disk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you truly love Macross...you'll love this., March 6, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Macross Super Dimension Fortress: Do You Remember Love? (2-Disc Special Edition) [Japan, 1984] (DVD)
Let's be honest..this was made in 1984 so don't expect too much from the graphics (although I think they are fantastic). I grew up watching this in Germany (my dad was in the Air Force) & I loved the sounds of the jets and this anime always kept me dreaming of space flight and the world of tomorrow. If you are a true Macross fan then you will absolutely love this! Sure it has its corny moments but the overall plot and music make up for that! I feel like I time travel back to when I was a kid every time I watch this and hear the amazing music in the background. Although it never says it..I truly believe that this is "dedicated to our pioneers" as well. I hope you enjoy this as much as I do!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A great interpretation, August 19, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Macross Super Dimension Fortress: Do You Remember Love? (2-Disc Special Edition) [Japan, 1984] (DVD)
Any fan of macross and robotech will love this interpretation about the TV series in a movie style format. This is a great DVD to have in your collection. Now for the DVD it self, to me it looks imported from over seas. The packaging seems to be well manufactured but the DVD seems to be cheaply made. It might look to some as a high end boot leg or something you could have done yourself. Watching the DVD; the title screen and menu selection looks home made but navigates properly. The actual movie itself has some great animation; some parts seem to have been re mastered while other scenes seem to be the original cells from 1984 just transferred on to DVD as you get some blurry effects. One thing I do not like is the freaking karaoke English and Japanese words every time minmay sings - and I mean every time, it's distracting. It can't be turned off as it's not a subtitle. The original didn't have this. It would be great if we could just get a high quality untouched version of this classic in the states. The English dub is extremely horrible! This is suppose to be a love story not a 1980's kung fu flick. That's what the English dub voices sound like. LOL I can't say enough about how horrible the English dub is. There is way better fan edits on YOU Tube when it comes to English dub. So I recommend watching it in Japanese with the English subtitle to get the maximum effect of emotions the story is trying to display. Final thoughts; this is probably the best version of this movie we can get here in the states, and for under $20, $15.95 plus shipping, is a great buy for this classic movie and a must have for any macross or robotech fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Do you Remember Awesomeness?, June 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Macross Super Dimension Fortress: Do You Remember Love? (2-Disc Special Edition) [Japan, 1984] (DVD)
Do you Remember Love? is worth watching because of the differences between it and the TV series. Hikaru doesn't meet Minmay until after she becomes a celebrity; Roy Fokker no longer has the stupidest death in recorded history; the Zentradi men and women are at war with each other instead of simply segregated; Earth is even less fortunate this time around, if you can believe that. There is also considerably more nudity and violence than I remember being in the series. If you can get past Minmay's sappy love songs, you'll find a classic anime that won't disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Return of a classic!, February 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Macross Super Dimension Fortress: Do You Remember Love? (2-Disc Special Edition) [Japan, 1984] (DVD)
I bought this dvd/cd combo from an independent seller. It shipped quickly and was as described.

The dvd: Picture quality and sound are excellent.

English dub: Original - Awkward at times with some weird accents.

Japanese language/English or Spanish subtitles: Fine except when Japanese subs appear underneath the English or Spanish subs making it difficult to read. The Japanese subs appeared when the giant aliens were talking - I think because their speech, eventhough in Japanese, is highly distorted and the subs were meant to aid the original Japanese audience. I keyed the subtitle menu to remove them but there is no way to. So, I went back to watching the movie and when these double subs appeared, I just paused the movie and read carefully. Slightly annoying, but part of the original film - I think. This is the only reason why I gave a rating of 4 instead of 5 stars.

I do, however, strongly recommend this dvd. This film is one of the anime classics and is such a good story. There is so much going on emotionally between the characters that, even today, rivals the best quality anime out there. From a technical stand point, this film holds its own: The colors are rich and beautiful, the movement fluid, the story's 'technology' is believable or nearly so. But most of all, it's the message the movie brings: That no matter what, hope and love can and will survive - sentiments very refreshing in this day and age. I suggest viewing the movie in the original Japanese dialogue with or without the English or Spanish subtitles - It adds much to the experience.

Warning: There is brief nudity - Lynn Minmay floating about in a shower for a few seconds. So be careful if you consider watching it with little Billy, little Susie, Grandma Jo, Aunt Edna or anyone else who may be suprised and/or offended!

The cd is excellent. The score is rich and beautiful, very nice to listen to while driving. There are only two Lynn Minmay songs included: The final battle song: "Do You Remeber Love" and a song played during the end credits. Both are very nice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Macross!, April 10, 2012
By 
Chef Rob (Sugar Land, Texas) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Macross Super Dimension Fortress: Do You Remember Love? (2-Disc Special Edition) [Japan, 1984] (DVD)
Okay....to keep this short, let me say up-front that I am not an anime geek. All I want to add is that for us normal folks that grew up watching these shows after school, it's great to be able to see them again. The characters haven't changed or had a "re-boot" to something that isn't recognizable. Beautiful art, complex characters and a love triangle that makes some soap operas look like 5 year-olds playing a sand box. There's no point in griping about what it isn't, I think it's always better to appreciate it for what it is: A space opera...hope this helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An old Favorite, August 17, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Macross Super Dimension Fortress: Do You Remember Love? (2-Disc Special Edition) [Japan, 1984] (DVD)
I was happy to see there were a few copies of this movie floating around on DVD. It has been so long since seeing this, and as of recently, was only able to see bits and pieces on You Tube. My only gripe with this film is the english dubbing. It stinks on Ice. But from what I remember originally was watching it with english subtitles. And for this DVD its the only way to go. The english dub appears to be a low budget late to the game addition. I have seen better fan dubs on You Tube. I do however suggest any fans of Macross, pick this movie up when its available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.