Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (16)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely underrated excellence
I've been a fan of the Macross universe since the beginning of time (for the Macross Universe anyway). Recently I ran across this little gem of an anime that was bashed by almost every reviewer in professional sites. The truth is, this title not only delivers excellent animation, but also quality entertainment for all ages.
The story opens with an ambitious...
Published on April 7, 2002 by godsmurf

versus
15 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Decent, but in no way excellent.
When I first saw this movie, it was my first introduction into the world of "Macross". It wasn't as good as it could've been. But after seeing more "Macross" titles like "Macross Plus" and "Robotech" and doing a little research on this film, I quickly realized how low it really was in the world of anime.
"Macross II: The...
Published on October 1, 2001 by arxane


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely underrated excellence, April 7, 2002
By 
This review is from: Macross II The Movie (DVD)
I've been a fan of the Macross universe since the beginning of time (for the Macross Universe anyway). Recently I ran across this little gem of an anime that was bashed by almost every reviewer in professional sites. The truth is, this title not only delivers excellent animation, but also quality entertainment for all ages.
The story opens with an ambitious reporter for the SNN uncovering alleged scandals drawing from his inspiration formed when he saw the war report from the first Zentraedi war. In a series of events, Hibiki, the main character, runs across an alien girl, who at first is Hibiki's "scoope" but later becomes more. As the story progressed, the movie uses the theme of love and music to begin tying up loose ends in the movie, and ultimately agrees with the proverb "Love conquers all".
This movie has many underlying social comments, including human rights(or Marduk rights), handling responsibilities, government censorship of the media.
All in all, this movie's animation quality is extremely well-done. The characters definitely follow the style of the Macross series. Transformations of mechas are done with extra detail. Action sequences are done with impressive cinematography complete with crisp animation and timely perspective changes, as well as excellent camera work.
The English dubbing as well as the localisation of the script are not among the best in the anime genre, but they are nothing terrible either. On top of all that, if you truly do not like dubbing, you could always turn on the subtitles and switch the audio to Japanese track. There are awkward pauses every now and then, however.
This movie is extremely highly recommended, and unlike most other anime DVD releases, this one actually contains a respectful amount of extra goodies outside of the featured film and previews for other animes.
If you are a fan of the Macross universe, snatch this one up with extra greed in your eyes and drool in your mouth. If you're not ... well, buy it anyway... or I will tell the Marduk Emulators to sing the song of death as I unleash my Zentraedi warriors upon you...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for what it is...., January 7, 2005
By 
Amazon Customer (Colorado Springs, CO) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Macross II The Movie (DVD)
First off, I want to say that this work is nowhere near as good as the rest of the Macross sequel offerings (Macross Plus, Macross Zero, Macross 7, etc).

That being said, I think that this series is unfairly being compared to it's siblings, that are paradigms of the genre (kinda like Alien 3, which in and of itself, was a good movie, but paled in comparison to it's predecessors). But if you look at it by itself, you'll find that it's a pretty fun story with really good animation. Again, not up to par with the rest of the family, but still able to knock the socks off of a lot of other anime offerings out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Decent, but in no way excellent., October 1, 2001
By 
"arxane" (Oklahoma City, OK United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Macross II The Movie (DVD)
When I first saw this movie, it was my first introduction into the world of "Macross". It wasn't as good as it could've been. But after seeing more "Macross" titles like "Macross Plus" and "Robotech" and doing a little research on this film, I quickly realized how low it really was in the world of anime.
"Macross II: The Movie" (also known as "Macross II: Lovers Again") is a classic example of how a franchise can be milked out for all of its worth. Many problems plagued this movie from the start, including the overall "silliness" of the film and the "bluntness" of the characters' features (face shapes, noses, etc.) that was at the time being replaced by more sharper features in anime. The movie was originally set several years after the last "Macross" series, but because of the lackluster appeal of this movie, it was eventually discarded as an alternate universe.
Although it does put out a decent effort on its part, "Macross II" somehow manages to contain a flaw in every aspect. The plot is quite original, although in the end it's one of the movie's main pitfalls. The characters, while not completely stereotypical, aren't well fleshed out and at times act like cardboard cutouts. This can be attributed to the less-than-bearable English voice acting, which often is flat, emotionless, and even laughable.
I will give the film credit for one thing, however. For the English release of the movie, the invaders use the movie's original Japanese track as their "alien language," quite an original idea I have yet to see elsewhere. Even so, while I haven't seen "Macross II" in Japanese, the Japanese voice acting in the English version often at times sounds as flat as the English voice acting. The animation, while probably good enough for its time, is nothing special. Movements, particularly speaking, appear choppy and oftentimes unnatural.
Even the two major factors that define a "Macross" world - fighting and music - fall short. The fighting in "Macross II", while plentiful, makes the viewer feel he's watching uninspired vintage footage. And the singing, while done rather well, consists mostly of bubblegum pop that isn't anything to talk about.
All in all, "Macross II" made a decent effort yet couldn't live up to the standards of the rest of the "Macross" series. If watched on its own without any previous knowledge of the Macross universe, it might be seen in a better light. But with the name of "Macross" attached to its title, and with everything that defines a "Macross" series/movie falling short in this film, "Macross II: Lovers Again" isn't a good choice for serious anime fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars --=Ugzz=-- (A "New" Fan), January 7, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Macross II The Movie (DVD)
Ok now here comes a review from someone who has never seen Macross, or any of the series, or any of the macross plus series. I am entirely uneducated in the Macross world of anime. But a friened of mine who is a Anime buff had this and i saw it at his house and Loved It Entirely. This movie is Amazing beginning to end. Some people complained comparing this to the seires or other macross medie. But not having anything to compare with, other then the anime titles i own (many St Fighter movies and episodes, Princes Mononoke, Akira and many others now) i loved it.
This movie had everything and more that a movie should have. Great animation, Excellent voice overs. Wonderfull plot, action, drama, Everything.. and even the tail end of one of the songs is in english i believe its "do you remember love". The song also is excellent. Now on the other hand i have seen the origional version and it is better then the dubbed version. But belive me, not by that much. and personally i like not having to read the subbing. And with voice over that are as good as these i dont need subbing. They voices have great emotion and anything you would expect from a good dubbing job. I am Very Very pleased with this Amazing movie. Any anime fan should buy it. It was the 1st movie that sparked my entire anime collection and it is also the Best anime i have seen to date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointing, July 26, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Macross II [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Let's get one thing straight, Macross II is NOT a true sequel to Macross. Why? Because Shoji Kawamore and Studio NUE (the creators of Macross) were not involved in this project (unlike Macross Plus). The story is about a purehearted young man, Hibiki, who meets (and falls in love) with an alien singer, Ishtar. The two try to stop an alien invasion with the help of a tough, attractive military woman, Silvy (which starts a love triangle). They find out that Ishtar's songs has the power to confuse the enemy. Sound familiar Macross fans, it should, because it is almost the same plot of the original Macross. But it does'nt come close the paragon of storytelling that Macross was. The animation was OK, but the dubbing was terrible. I would have rated this VHS higher if it did'nt have the name Macross written all over it. Very dissapointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I dont want to see this movie again., April 15, 2000
By 
"strike-net" (the Macross Flight Test Institute) - See all my reviews
A friend had let me borrow this movie and I was glad I saw the movie before buying it. The animation quality is inconsistent and not the greatest in many places for one thing. Then of course was the dubbing that was so bad I was laughing and rewinding scenes just to imitate the attempt at being serious with my friends. My favorite instance of this was Hibiki's strange monotone speaking co pilot with a hangover that died on a mission. I was actually delighted he was dead cause his voice was so annoying. I have seen plots much worse than this even though this plot couldve been better and I did like a few scenes that actually made me smile. Sadly though after Hibiki's close bond and relationship with Ishtar in the movie, suddenly Hibiki turns around and kisses Silvie? Silvie was a brat to both characters throughout the whole movie and then Ishtar just gets sent away in the end. Really dumb. Picture Top Gun with Tom Cruise, where Tom Cruise suddenly turns and goes out with Meg Ryan (His dead co pilots girlfriend) in the end instead of his flight instructor. Thats how strange this ending was to me, giving the whole movie a slightly pointless feeling. As an anime fan, I recommend to still see it just for a comparison to other movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, but I don't understand all the putdowns..., October 20, 2001
By 
"warrenius" (Neon Wilderness) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Macross II The Movie (DVD)
I just saw Macross II: Lovers Again, and believe me, it was an excellent movie from start to finish. For those of you like me who have watched the classic Robotech series on either early morning television back in the 1980s, to a rebroadcast on the Sci-Fi channel in 1991 to Cartoon Network's airing of it, Robotech has been a classic series, and Macross II captures the spirit and essence that has made Robotech so popular. The characters, while somewhat blunt and re-used anime sterotypes, fit in well with the action - orientated universe of Macross. The music fares well with the story's simple but effective plot, nothing to the quality of Macross Plus, but decent in its own right. Yet the thing that shines about this film is the way it captured anime's classic look and feel in its beautiful renditions of space battles, gorgeous backgrounds on both land and space and creative and somewhat cute character design that is what anime is all about. I'm personally captured to this wonderful feeling, and Macross II has all of it, and (dare I say), does it better than Macross Plus. An overall excellent movie, don't miss this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mediocre Macross, November 14, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Macross II [VHS] (VHS Tape)
In all fairness, people should know Macross II was made during a period where the Japanese Animation industry was in a bit of a slump. Titles produced during this period saw a marked drop in animation quality coupled with so-so scripts. Macross II's storyline simply followed the Macross formula--a love triangle, clash of cultures, and space battles. Macross Plus is also more or less cliched in this regard. However whereas Macross Plus has spectacular animation which makes forgiving its tired plot extremely easy, Macross II is saddled with laughably inconsistent animation quality, and hence has virtually no redeeming value. (Sidenote: for the OVA version of Macross II, only two episodes--4 and 5, can boast decent animation) Perhaps, if this were made just a couple of years later, it would have been better received...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Plan 9 of Anime!, March 9, 2003
By 
This review is from: Macross II The Movie (DVD)
So this isn't best anime feature in the world. Okay maybe that is an understatement. The art is dated, the subbing is awkward, and all that other jazz. But you know what? That is the best thing about this movie! It is so damn bad it is freaking hilarious, heck the opening battle scenes had me rolling on the floor with the fact they were fighting amidst holograms of dancing pop singers! And what is up with the singing? The singing is the best part! Hell I am little [irritated that] the characters didn't whip out any dance moves during their selected scores...
Just try to keep a straight face when Hibiki is placed in jail and he gives his "heartfelt" speech about media censorship or whatever...
Even the closing dialogue will give you big chuckle. God, what a disastrously great movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favorite Macross OAV., October 9, 2005
This review is from: Macross II The Movie (DVD)
The 3 main characters go through the same end-fate as Lynn Minmei, Rick Hunter, & Lisa Hayse. (Does that make Kyle like Marduk?) It's basically the original Robotech crossed over with Audrey Hepburn's Roman Holiday (the similarities are outstanding). The English music bites the big one, so I highly reccomend watching it subed.

Also reccomend Gall Force: Eternal Story & Wind of Amnisia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Macross II The Movie
Macross II The Movie by Shôji Kawamori (DVD - 2000)
$29.97 $21.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.