Customer Reviews


312 Reviews
5 star:
 (227)
4 star:
 (58)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


89 of 99 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the all time best action movies ever
This movie, the second in the Mad Max trilogy, is easily the best of the three. Visually, it's very distinctive. The first movie showed a society breaking down in the post apocalyptic world. By this movie, it's broken down. The first movie showed the immediate aftermath. There were still working phones, power lines, people trying to go on with their normal lives,...
Published on February 7, 2005 by Amazon Customer

versus
14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One of the worst DVD transfers out there
Great Movie. 'Nuff Said. Horrible first-generation DVD. The menuing system looks like it was done with the sort of throwaway software they give out with DVD-burners. The audio is horrible - the effects and the music drown out the dialog, so you either have to play it so low you have to watch subtitles for the dialog, or just be blasted by the effects track. Chapter...
Published on July 22, 2005 by Jay Rogers


‹ Previous | 1 232 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

89 of 99 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the all time best action movies ever, February 7, 2005
By 
Amazon Customer (Norfolk, Virginia United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Road Warrior (DVD)
This movie, the second in the Mad Max trilogy, is easily the best of the three. Visually, it's very distinctive. The first movie showed a society breaking down in the post apocalyptic world. By this movie, it's broken down. The first movie showed the immediate aftermath. There were still working phones, power lines, people trying to go on with their normal lives, etc. There was even a police force, of which Max was a member, trying to maintain order. Now, society has descended into complete anarchy. Civilization's infrastructure has broken down completely. In the first movie you saw shops, service stations, hospitals. Now you see people scavenging in a wrecked world. Max's car is no longer a gleaming black vehicle, but a delapidated, dirty old beater, its engine still in top shape, but its interior stripped, and its body covered in dust, battered and old. Max's leather police uniform is no longer immaculate, but torn and patched. Visually, this movie set a new standard, and like "Star Wars" and "Blade Runner", changed the way movies in its genre were made. Even the setting works in telling the story. Where the first film featured country with trees and green grass, this movie is set in a blasted desert, further accentuating the sense of collapse.

And this movie's quality doesn't end with the visuals. It has a great, exciting story, very reminiscent of the pulp adventures of old. It's hero, a wanderer, a uniquely skilled and deadly loner, is a mythic archetype. The actors are all perfectly cast. Mel Gibson, with only a few lines of dialogue, turns in a compelling, emotional performance, showing the transformation from the happy, loving husband and father of the first film, to the wounded, burnt out shell of a man seen here. In this film, Max is a tough, fang-scarred old wolf, who has absolutely nothing to live for, but whose survival instinct, combined with his toughness and resourcefulness, just won't let him quit.

The other characters in this movie are also unique and memorable. Bruce Spence's gyro captain is a likeable opportunist. Mike Preston's Papagallo is the determined, idealistic leader, in over his head, but trying his best. Vernon Wells makes a great, flamboyant villain. And Kjell Nilsson is the Humungus, whose face we never see; leader of a vicious band of trash, whose hulking physique, and savage followers seem at odds with his articulate speech, and ostensibly conciliatory manner. The story and characters elevate this movie over the host of low budget imitators that followed. But the film is not short on action either. And George Miller was a gifted director who put to film what remain the best car chase scenes ever shot, right down to this day. Action lovers will find plenty of excitement with this movie. It's a terrible shame the third film wasn't very good, as it killed the prospects of a long running series. This is sad because Max, wandering lone wolf that he is, is a character who, like James Bond, Sherlock Holmes, or the Conan of the old pulp magazines is eminently suitable to a series of adventures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 49 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Finally!, May 18, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Road Warrior [HD DVD] (HD DVD)
I'm saying "finally" because we've finally received a version of the Road Warrior that looks outstanding! The picture looks the best I've ever seen and while the sound isn't as great in terms of bass reproduction, it still sounds very clear, just a tiny bit lackluster. Several of the scenes have a bit of softness to them probably due to age but I'd say about 95% of the film looks crystal clear. There aren't many extras other than an introduction by film critic Leonard Maltin and a filmmaker commentary. A bit lacking in the extras department but the commentary is informative enough for film enthusiasts and fans of the film. It'd be nice to get a retrospective documentary one day on this classic.

At the end of the day, the movie is delivered in an above average presentation and definitely worth a peek in HD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Max never looked better., August 2, 2009
I've been a fan of this movie ever since it came out. I've always been disappointed with the mediocre image quality on the DVD edition of the Road Warrior. It always lacked detail and looked grainy; I feared that the original print of the movie was of low visual quality.
I recently got a 46 inch Hi-Def LCD set and had watched the DVD on it. The image was bigger but no better.
The Blu-Ray version of The Road Warrior ( or Mad Max 2 since this is the original Australian version,) is far superior to the DVD. There is far more detail and the colors are more saturated. I found the widescreen scenes of the Aussie desert quite stunning. This film is easily worth the discounted price it sells for on Amazon.
Since this is the original Aussie version of the film, there are about ten more minutes of the movie which were trimmed out of the U.S. version. While the Aussie version doesn't move quite as quickly as the U.s. version, it is more complex and interesting.
The added detail of the Blu-Ray makes the road battle finale even more dramatic. You have to admire the fearlessness of the stuntmen as they are thrown dozens of feet through the air during those amazing crashes. As this was in the days before CGI, what we see is more or less what really had to happen in front of the camera. Obviously some scenes have dummies getting crushed under wheels, but those are brave guys driving down that narrow road with that huge tanker.
Sadly, the Special features are rather sparse. We do get a commentary track with director George Miller and the director of photography. While I could have wished for a making- of featurette, the Blue-Ray commentary is far better than the zero features of the DVD.
If you love this movie, You should see this disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ruthless... Savage... Spectacular, July 8, 2003
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Road Warrior (DVD)
Ahhh, the classic post-apocolyptic thriller that sets the standard for post-apocolyptic thrillers. One tagline reads 'In the future, cities will become deserts, roads will become battlefields and the hope of mankind will appear as a stranger'. I remember skipping school in the early 80's to stay home and watch this one on cable, Such a great movie that has lost none of it's appeal even after 20 plus years. This is the story of a man, once an officer of the law, who now roams the highways of post-apocolyptic Australia searching for gasoline and maybe a reason to exist. In this time, gasoline is the most valuable commodity, so much so men kill for it. Mel Gibson plays Max, in the role that made him known worldwide. During his travels, he comes across a small settlement that is actually producing petroleum. This settlement is besieged by a group of motorized, murdering, mauraders who want all the fuel. Knowing that the fuel is life, the people in the settlement defend the fuel, but their strength and ability to hold out against this powerful force is becoming less and less each day. Max strikes a deal with them for all the fuel he can carry provided he can get a truck for them so they can haul their tanker of gas out of the wasteland and find a better life in a fabled coastal land. Max fufills his end of the bargin, and leaves the settlement with his fuel, but is attacked and left for dead. Having lost his car, he decides to drive the tanker. This sets up one of the most amazing highway battles ever filmed, as the settlers have turned the tanker into a moving fortess, and the marauders will stop at nothing to stop the tanker and get the gas. This movie is what I would call a nearly pefect example of excellent casting, story, dialogue, plot, script, wardrobe, etc. to make up a near perfect movie. Everything in the movie works so well that your entire attention is focused on the screen, even after multiple viewings. This is actually the second in a trilogy, Mad Max being the first and Mad Max Beyond Thunderdome being the third, but, in my opinion, this one is the best. It's raw, gritty, sometimes humourous and competely enthralling. On a side note, what's up with Warner Brothers and their crummy cardboard packaging? It just seems so flimsy and cheap. And don't look for a lot of extras with this release, just the full and widescreen versions and some production notes.
This just in...I heard George Miller and Mel Gibson are bringing Max back one more time in 2004 in Mad Max: Fury Road......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars High Octane Excellence, January 27, 2005
By 
David Baldwin (Philadelphia,PA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Road Warrior (DVD)
The summer of '82 I remember it well. "E.T", "Wrath of Khan", "Poltergeist", "Blade Runner", "Annie"(heh-heh). Why is it that this turbo charged import from down under has more resonance for me than these high-profile domestic releases? I did see the original "Mad Max" on it's initial release in 1980. It was a huge international success while it was a cult favorite here in the States. I remember first hearing of "The Road Warrior"(or "Mad Max 2" as it was known outside North America) in a long piece in Time magazine in the spring of '82. Time's critic hailed it as "Apocalypse!Pow!" and went on to rave about the film's virtues. Later in the year he put it on the list of the ten best films which was no small feat. I finally got around to seeing this film in August of that year as the bigger releases were winding down their runs. To say I was blown away is an understatement. "The Road Warrior" had energy and imagination to burn. Director George Miller did with a fraction of the budget what other director's with bigger largesse could only dream of. The film's basic premise, a group of post-apocalyptic survivors holed up in an oil refinery while rampaging hoards of leather-clad hoodlums hover outside looking for the smallest fissure to crack this fortress and take the "juice" is a compelling one. The exodus of this band from the Outback to the promised land while the marauders attempt to hi-jack their trucks is viscerally exciting. Throw in a burned-out mercenary anti-hero, Max(Mel Gibson), and you've got a classic on your hands. One can marvel at this film and say that Miller has created an original work but his influences are subtle. I can see him paying homage to Ford, Leone, and Kurasawa here. What also distinguishes this film are the rich characterizations. Aside from Gibson whose star was starting to grow with this film memorable performances are turned in by Bruce Spence as the Gyro Captain and young Emil Minty as the Feral Kid. This film is generally hailed as an action classic but I say it's classic,period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true post apocalyptic classic, now in High-def, May 26, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I just finished watching The Road Warrior (Mad Max 2) on Blu-ray which I ordered from Amazon. It's one of my favorite films and still holds up today, largely thanks to its wonderful direction and quality attention to realistic detail. Likened to westerns and samurai films, it should be at the top of anyones list that is a fan of action, cars, post apocalyptic futures and stories about a lone wolf type hero. The quality of the picture is great and the sound is good too thanks to being on Blu-ray. And if you are worried about getting this because you haven't seen the first Mad Max, fear not, the film is done in such a way you don't really need to. There is a short recap at the start of the film which will help tie things together. Also a new feature exclusive to the high-def version not found on regular DVD is a new audio commentary with the director. I haven't listened to it yet so I'm hoping it sheds insight onto the production of this wonderful film.
See Mel Gibson at his best as... The Road Warrior.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun movie, good transfer with caveat, January 15, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Road Warrior is the sequel to Mad Max, though you don't need any knowledge of the first to enjoy the second as they fill you in at the beginning of the movie and honestly, the back story doesn't matter.

Mel Gibson is Mad Max. He's a warrior in a post apocalyptic Australia, fighting for gasoline. He winds up being roped into helping a village of people that have gasoline get away from some of the nastiest guys alive.

Not much more to say about the movie itself. Plenty of action and stuff blowing up.

Now for the transfer to Blu Ray.

The video is using VC-1 in 1080p as should be expected on a Blu-Ray film.

Now for the caveats. There are some issues, mostly minor, with the video. The source material is likely at issue and not the compression used. First up is grain. There are some instances with excessive grain. There are instances of dust/dirt/scratches on the film. And in the single night scene, where Max is leaving the village to get the truck, the video quality is EXTREMELY poor. Overly grainy and lacking in detail. It's blurry and sticks out like a sore thumb for lack of a better comparison. Acceptable, but annoying as you'd hope remastering would fix this type of issue as it is so clearly a problem with the source film. Perhaps nothing better is available? I don't know.

Next is the audio. You can watch the movie in Dolby Digital 5.1 at 640kbps or French/Spanish in Dolby Digital 2.0 at 192 kbps.

The issue here is that there are instances where dialog is difficult to understand. Of note is when Mel is getting the gyro copter/ultra light. His "partner" is darn near indistinguishable from the background noise.

Music, orchestral, is almost nonstop in this film. This is expected in a way, given the lack of much dialog, but it can be overpowering and it's only marginally good.

Over all I'm happy with the transfer to BD and the movie itself. I was hoping for a near perfect transfer, but instead I receive what I'd call an 80% perfect transfer. Worth the money if you like the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Post-Apocalyptic Vigilantism At It's Finest, August 22, 2005
By 
One of many (somewhere in the blur) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Road Warrior (DVD)
Although The Road Warrior is technically the 1981 sequel to 1979's Mad Max, it does quite well as a stand-alone film. The narrator explains the events of the first film at The Road Warrior's beginning. The world has been degraded to desert-stricken chaos, and "Mad" Max (Mel Gibson) is the road warrior, a lone traveler across the desolate roads. He has lost his family, and as a result lost most reason to live. He is a "shell of a man", as the narrator explains. All he knows is survival. And, seeking to prolong that survival, he is in search of the holiest of possessions in the post-apocalypstic world: gasoline. The only ones able to survive in the new world are those with the skills of the road, as all other are destroyed and robbed of what little they have -- especially the much needed fuel. Max runs into trouble in the form of a murderous gang that are determined to become the rulers of the wastelands, lead by the barbaric Humungus. The gang's most recent plans are to over-run a small community of desert-dwellers for their fuel. Without originally intending to do so, the road warrior befriends the community and ultimately sees that they must all work together to defeat the gang and Humungus. With the help of a feral child, the goofy side-kick, and the group he now feels obligated to protect, Max takes on the enemy with road-raging speed, down-n-dirty combat brutality, and primitive determination, packing The Road Warrior with gritty action that's satisfying to any fan of the genre. As one of the most classic action characters, Mel Gibson has marked his place in cinematic history with The Road Warrior, and we can relive the adventure time and time again through DVD. So strap on your leather, grab the nearest sawed-off shotgun, hop in your dirt-caked hunk-a-junk car, and refuse to let the legend die!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best action films ever made, July 27, 2000
This review is from: The Road Warrior (DVD)
The Road Warrior is every bit as good as it's said to be, delivering relentless suspense and exhilarating thrills in all its action sequences. Known widely as the film that launched Mel Gibson to international fame The Road Warrior is an incredible exercise in creating a pure adrenaline rush.
Set in post-apocalyptic Australia, the loner Max (Mel Gibson) travels in his car through the outback with a dog as his companion. He encounters a man known as the Gyro Captain (Bruce Spence) who threatens to kill Max. Max, however, reverses the position and becomes the aggressor. In a desperate attempt to save his life, the Gyro Captain tells Max about an oil refinery not far away. Max, with his dog and hostage, reaches the refinery and observes.
It seems like a relatively stable place but the real problem is a group of bizarre warriors led by a hockey masked muscular man known as the Humungus. His warriors are vicious people who will stop at nothing to get that oil and the entire refinery. He offers a deal to the people inside: Just leave everything behind and he will offer them safe passage. He gives them 24 hours to decide. Max, though, offers the people another deal. Let him bring a rig big enough to haul the tank of gas and in return give him as much gasoline he can carry. They accept the deal and from here Max must bring the rig back and defend the fuel against Humungus and his warriors.
It's not often you find films this exciting. The Road Warrior features not one, but two of the best car chases in film history (the other three go to Raiders of the Lost Ark, Ronin, and The French Connection). The first major chase in the film involves Max attempting to bring the rig into the refinery while Humungus and his men try to stop him. The last fifteen minutes features one of the all-time ultimate action sequences: a near fifteen minute long chase with the entire gang after Max and the gasoline. It's an all-out battle for survival.
Add to all this with a superb performance from Mel Gibson and an adequate supporting cast along with fine direction from George Miller and you have an action masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent blu-ray transfer for a classic action flick, December 6, 2009
4.2 stars

I remember seeing this with my Dad the day it came out. Then we saw it again over 20 years later in Austin's classic movie house, the Paramount, just before my old man went to the great fuel depot in the sky. I've shelved my dvd since then but I'm glad I checked out this version; it's a very fine transfer.

Not much to add to the rest of the reviews here. It's one of the great action films and has all the things that make a superior b-movie great, minus the bad. It does feel like a b-movie, in all the right ways. The next Max felt like a studio blockbuster and that killed it; this one keeps to its Ozploitation roots, to its credit and benefit.

I'd sure like to have seen a making-of doc, etc on this blu-ray version---the studios sure can be cheap. Just commentary and a weak Maltin intro? Pathetic; this film deserves a lot more, as do blu-ray buyers. But hey, times are tough for the studios: so many pirates that they're only having yet another year of record profits. So, clearly they must skimp. Wouldn't mind seeing Max take on some of them studio CEOs, actually...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 232 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Mad Max 2: The Road Warrior [Blu-ray]
Mad Max 2: The Road Warrior [Blu-ray] by George Miller (Blu-ray - 2013)
$19.98 $9.29
In stock but may require an extra 1-2 days to process.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.