Customer Reviews


322 Reviews
5 star:
 (257)
4 star:
 (42)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


75 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From A Man Who's Mad About This Show
From day one, this show has not disappointed. It has some of the best writing and acting that Hollywood has produced for a television show in a long time and it has the awards to prove it. It's a highly stylized look at a Madison Avenue advertising agency and the people who work there and has been extremely enjoyable. Season 3 has had the best writing and acting and...
Published on November 10, 2009 by Highland Rob

versus
13 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what I paid for
I love "Mad Men", and have wanted to start collecting the dvd sets for awhile now, but they have generally been priced higher than I wanted to pay. Imagine my excitement, then, when I found Amazon selling a new copy of season 3 for only $17.99- I was thrilled, but also cautious. I researched to make sure the packaging pictured on Amazon was the actual packaging for the...
Published on October 2, 2011 by K


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

75 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From A Man Who's Mad About This Show, November 10, 2009
By 
This review is from: Mad Men: Season 3 (DVD)
From day one, this show has not disappointed. It has some of the best writing and acting that Hollywood has produced for a television show in a long time and it has the awards to prove it. It's a highly stylized look at a Madison Avenue advertising agency and the people who work there and has been extremely enjoyable. Season 3 has had the best writing and acting and the last 3 episodes have been the best out of all 39 episodes produced to date. You cannot truly appreciate season 3 without watching seasons 1 and 2 so if you are new to the series, please do yourself a favor and watch them before consuming season 3, you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Winning Season and Set, March 28, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mad Men: Season 3 (DVD)
Mad Men remains a show that rewards careful viewing. How much you'll like it depends on how important it is to you that there are explosions and car chases. Me, I zone out during action sequences in movies -- it's the weirdest thing. Sports too. What interests me and what Mad Men provides is good story-telling centered around characters. The more you pay attention, the more you'll be rewarded in a greater understanding that will make you confused when someone tells you that nothing happens. This is the type of show that rewards people who take a geeky pleasure in noticing themes and motifs. Matthew Weiner, the creator, allows some things to remain ambiguous as well.

There are so few shows that you can watch more than once and find something new and few shows you can analyze. It's just as fun to discuss it afterwards as it is to watch it. If this sounds too much like high school English -- and not in a good way -- then you'd be better off taking a pass. However, if this is the type of show you seek out, then enjoy. If you haven't seen the previous seasons, start there and enjoy it from the beginning. I'll envy you your opportunity to enjoy three seasons in a row!

In season three, we continue to deal with the Draper marriage -- a union strained to nearly the breaking point in season 2. There was some really beautiful writing and acting here. One of the beauties of this show is how in the course of a scene a viewer's sympathies can change or be torn between characters. The marriage between Pete and Trudy shows some terrific growth and depth that could not have been predicted in season 1. Don Draper also meets a mogul who is probably rolling in his grave over the second most famous thing the family name now evokes. Sal, played by Bryan Batt, has several wonderful scenes, starting with the first episode of the season. Kiernan Shipka, who plays Sally Draper, is turning out to be a talented young actress, as highlighted in an episode called The Arrangements, as well as in the season finale. Frankly, I could just continue mentioning members of this terrific cast, as they all are a pleasure.

The Kennedy assassination is featured and handled in a way never seen before, I think, and it's one character's reaction to it and events surrounding it that causes him/her/it to make a truly huge decision.

On to the Bluray: I had to return the first copy as defective -- no matter what I hit, it wanted to rewind. Fortunately, the next copy was perfect, and Amazon has always handled returns well. Because this is a show that caters to people who want to really enjoy the writing and acting and to even study it a little, this set carries on in the tradition of previous seasons in offering tons of commentary -- most episodes have two commentaries. As always, some people really do a better job that others. The creator, Matthew Weiner, always has good insights. Kiernan Shipka, I'm not kidding, seemed to really be in touch with her character in a way that many adults can only envy. Other extras are a mixed bag, although I enjoyed the 2 part doc on cigarette advertising.

Love this show!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh, Don!, November 14, 2009
This review is from: Mad Men: Season 3 (DVD)
*Spoilers ahead. Just warning you!*

For all the fans and true "Mad Men" addicts out there, Season 3 was much-anticipated. At the end of Season 2, we had reason to believe that Don Draper (Jon Hamm), the charismatic creative director of Sterling-Cooper, had come to his place of reckoning and was ready to turn a new leaf (sorry for all the cliches) in his marriage, if not his career. His gorgeous, emotionally stunted wife Betty (January Jones) just found out she was pregnant, and they apparently decide to mend their marriage and try to make a go of it. Presumably, women didn't have many choices back in the '60's. Also, Betty just might be that kind of woman - she needs a man to complete her.

But right from the beginning of Season 3, the viewer can see that not much has changed at all, and Don is off being the bad boy again. Betty seems in a world of her own with her pregnancy, and then her father's decline in health and the subsequent decisions that have to made give her all she can apparently cope with. I found myself growing angry at her numerous times because of her cold, unfeeling treatment of her adorable children. Even with all his immaturity, Don seems to be the far more caring parent, at least while face-to-face with his children. Sally Draper, their little girl, had some of the best acting of the season, and I think she will mature into a terrific actress.

So much happens on the career front, it would be a mistake to give it all away in a review. I heard complaints from various people that Season 3 was too slow -- but remember that this is a show about character development and nuance, above all. The last two episodes, about the Kennedy assassination and the Season finale, are as action-packed as any plot lover could want. They are magnificently written and acted, and left this viewer, at least, panting for Season 4. What more can a series offer?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbearably Good, April 5, 2010
By 
This review is from: Mad Men: Season 3 (DVD)
An extremely creative and well-fleshed out portrayal of advertising executives, their co-workers and their families in the 1960's. Gives the same or better dramatic quality and acting as "The Sopranos" and "Deadwood". You may find some minor things to quibble about, but the overall product is pleasurable and enjoyable beyond expectations. In fact it surpasses Season 2 given the minimal use of surreal fantasy and flashback which can be irrelevant and distracting to viewers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best season yet, November 9, 2009
By 
lapis (Chicago, IL United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Mad Men: Season 3 (DVD)
You must watch from the beginning of the series, but Season 3 is amazing. You will not be disappointed. I've always been sad that there are only 13 episodes in a season, but the quality is so extraordinary, I cherish these 13 over lesser 22-episode seasons.

If you're not into Mad Men yet, start with Season 1. But don't stop until you get through Season 3 (at least).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The "Danse Macabre" of the American Dream, October 14, 2010
This review is from: Mad Men: Season 3 (DVD)
Enter here and abandon all hope:

Having stumbled upon this program in the first season, it made an instant impact on me, yet I find it hard to watch at times due to the dark nature of its underlying theme. Only nostalgia makes it bearable viewing for me. Some timing issues, writing flaws and less than great acting by some characters drags it slightly below top marks.

Scenario: the cusp of the 1960s: "Madmen" chronologically traces what many believe to be the greatest era of promise for the American way: the era of the Kennedy Camelot and the best of everything in one nation. America: the light on the hill; the envy of the world, boasting full employment, rising salaries, increasing leisure time, social security, the promise of genuine egalitarianism and technical advancements destined to take us to the stars by the year 2000. It is within this environment that we are introduced to a successful advertising company, replete with poised, glamorous people who seem to encapsulate the essence of the great American idyll itself; faces from a Norman Rockwell contemporary...but...look closer, something is wrong.

The principal is Don Draper (who bears a striking resemblence to '60s pop-crooner, Jack Jones), the all-American war hero: the archetypal good-looking, successful businessman; romeo by evening and family man extraordinaire as it suits; the ultimate renaissance man; cool and smooth; without a care in the world... surely this is a facade, though? The real man is not that bright; almost certainly a coward in war and most probably an incompetent manager, both at work and at home; destructive to all those around him. Perhaps this is why Draper is invariably depicted in a black suit: the personification of death. His adopting the persona of a dead man re-inforces the motif of death.

Draper's beautiful wife, Betty, could have stepped out of a portrait of "Stepford Brides" ...except that this Grace Kelly lookalike is flaky, to say the least. The question is, did Don push her over the edge, or did she inherit her madness from her senile father?

Welcome to Sterling Cooper, where the men and women play loose and dirty for gain. Chief paramour, Joan Holloway, covers up for the infidelities of the men and does a very good job of it. Even the naive young office girl, Peggy Olsen, is a single-mindedly ambitious young woman, willing to sleep with whomever and do whatever it takes to climb the ladder out of the secretarial pool. She has some talent, yes, but eschews scruples when an opportunity for advancement presents itself. Don Draper doesn't care when Sterling Cooper sells out to the interlopers; he gets his half million and gets to start his own company - and he gets to keep wunderkind, Peggy. Peggy's madness seems to be her propensity to ruin relationships.

As within so outside of the office we see depictions of dysfunctional families and relationships, or plans that go awry: a tabloid world of childishness and absurdity. The entire scenario is certainly negative, but is it accurate? Life can't be all bad. True, but one must see this in the context of the developing "Madmen" theme: I don't think the writers' intention was to balance the good with the bad. Rather, I believe the exaggerated negativity is deliberate; symbolic of something.

I won't go through every character one-by-one because it really would be redundant. Suffice to say, nearly all of them are flawed in some manner. At Sterling Cooper, almost everyone drinks, smokes and lusts without restraint. It's a cesspool of junk people with nothing more than well-dressed, fashionable front to disguise their corruption; shallow people motivated only by their carnal desires. It's no surprise they cheer for Nixon over JFK on election night in the hope of lower taxes.

At first glance, it may be that Pete Campbell's in-laws are the sole exemplar of the "good" people. They alone support him and his new bride with their fledgling (and straining) marriage and provide the cash Campbell's rich dad refuses to donate. ...and yet they spoil their nagging daughter rotten and attempt to micro-manage her marriage. So, on second thoughts, they do seem to be as addled as most characters in the series.

One of the more complex characters is Anna Draper, the wife of the man whose identity Don stole. She is totally accepting of Don and his "deadly sinning" and even harbours an inexplicable confidence that he can change. Anna seems to represent the light that juxtaposes Don's darkness; a light that is destined to be extinguished, along with the American dream itself.

The assassination of JFK is the pivotal moment when the new dream is revealed as a nightmare in waiting - this killing, a deranged act of national suicide - or had the fatal shot already been fired five years earlier in Brooklyn?

"Madmen" is an epic of failure: its characters take their partners and step out as the symbolic "dancers of death".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DON'T PRE-ORDER THIS NEXT YEAR!, March 29, 2010
By 
Megan Rose (Hammond, IN United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mad Men: Season 3 (DVD)
I cannot believe that amazon.com lowered the price of the wonderful "Mad Men" less than ONE WEEK after its release date. It's $17.99 today, 3/29/10. I preordered it in October 2009 and ended up paying a price of $28.99 when I received it just a few days ago. An $11 reduction immediately? What a slap in the face to loyal amazon.com customers and "Mad Men" fans. I thought amazon.com had more class and respect for their customers -- was I wrong? I understand that amazon.com does not making any pricing promises (see their pricing policies if you want) but this seems to be an especially callous way to treat loyal customers. Couldn't they at least have waited a while before lowering the price so drastically? DON'T BOTHER TO PRE-ORDER SEASON 4 OF "MAD MEN" FROM AMAZON.COM: the lesson seems to be that those who pre-order are taken advantage of, and those who wait will get the best price. (amazon.com played fair for the Season 2 preorder; why not now?) About "Mad Men: Season 3" the DVD itself? Of course it's wonderful, it's one of the best pieces of dramatic work ever, it's a must-have for any "Mad Men" fan. It's simply excellent. The old-fashioned glass of whiskey on the DVD box cover is a gorgeous hologram. But I can't watch Season 3 right now. I don't want to take out my anger at amazon.com on Don Draper!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keeping up appearances during the collapse of everything around you, December 1, 2010
By 
Scott Schiefelbein (Portland, Oregon United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mad Men: Season 3 (DVD)
AMC's breakout smash "Mad Men" continues its winning ways in Season 3, even as all of its characters seem to be teetering on the brink of losing everything. Never maudlin, always surprising, "Mad Men" keeps its cast on its toes as characters both major and minor come up against some of the harshest shocks any person should have to face.

Jon Hamm once again reincarnates Cary Grant in his portrayal of Madison Avenue's shining light, Don Draper. This guy is one maddening dude, puzzling both the other characters as well as the audience. Many would ask why he is so carefree with his marriage to the seemingly perfect Betsy (January Jones), although the show does a great job showing why Don finds the facade of domestic bliss to be so unsatisfying without making Betsy into a total harridan. But every time Draper leans too far to the side of the unsympathetic womanizer, he does something that is as true and honorable as anything that can be found on the show. Betsy, for all her faults, also comes across as human, if flawed, in Season 3.

The British Invasion of Sterling Cooper does not go swimmingly in Season 3, and the cultural clashes are almost as powerful as the blades of a John Deere tractor (which make an unfortunate appearance in the S-C headquarters - this is why my firm has banned riding lawnmowers in the office). Draper and the crew try to keep things going despite the Brits' penny-pinching, dictatorial ways, but you can tell that Sterling-Cooper's days are numbered, at least in its current incarnation. Even Roger, the walking bon mot, begins to show the signs of strain despite professing to have found happiness with his second marriage.

Everywhere you look, characters are confronting internal crises. These problems mirror the growing strains on the America of the early 1960s, as the writers powerfully use the assassinations of Medger Evers and JFK to add fuel to what is already a combustible mix.

All in all, if you have a favorite character on this show you are going to be pleased because virtually every character gets a chance to shine. True, some parts are smaller than others, and the Don-and-Betsy show looms large over everything else, but this is a well-balanced show with a bevy of well-rounded, entertaining characters. When the season finale rolls arounds, you will be at first upset that such a good season had to end, but you'll be thankful that there is a Season 4 to look forward to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mad Men is not "TV For Dummies", July 11, 2010
I fell in love with Mad Men from the first episode in Season 1. This is by far the best show I've seen on TV in many years and that brilliance continued into the third season. The show is not dumbed down to the intelligence level of lowest common denominator of its audience, but is not so esoteric that it's not understandable. The third season continues to explore the many facets of the handsome and mysterious 1960's ad exec Don Draper. While some episodes were better than others, the last three episodes were nearly sublime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every Episode Is a Wonder of Entertainment, September 7, 2009
I began watching Mad Men online and here I am in the third season and loving it every bit as much as ever. This is the fourth episode of the third season and we are knee deep in the Draper family and the Cooper Sterling ad agency once again. An especially touching part of this episode is the little Draper girl spending time with her grandfather in his waning days. Another aspect of parents and their children is brought home at the ad agency when the son of a corporate titan decides to invest his future and fortune in the game of jai alai, predicting it will make baseball become passe in the USA. We all know how he is going to fare but he barges ahead anyway. The tv keeps us roughly abreast of where we are in time and I can tell we are in countdown mode to the Kennedy assassination. I am on the edge of my seat imagining the impact it will have on these characters. I am staying tuned and you should start!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Mad Men: Season 3
Mad Men: Season 3 by Matthew Weiner (DVD - 2010)
$17.48 $11.29
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.