Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A delightful surprise
I recieved Mad Money as a gift and found it to be an utter surprise. I don't know what I expected, but what I found was a tightly rendered and well executed mystery story with lots of dark elements and a solid core of humor. I was especially delighted with Madeline Carter as an amateur detective. There are many fictional non-professional detectives these days and Madeline...
Published on January 4, 2005 by Sandra Smith

versus
42 of 48 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mad Money
Taking on a too great load of guilt over the shooting of her friend and co worker, stock trader Madeline Carter pulls up stakes and moves from New York to LA, seeking peace and new start. What she finds is anything but that. Her new home is lovely, and she makes friends quickly with a young woman and her family. However, when she acts on a stock tip from an old flame, it...
Published on December 31, 2004 by AK


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A delightful surprise, January 4, 2005
By 
I recieved Mad Money as a gift and found it to be an utter surprise. I don't know what I expected, but what I found was a tightly rendered and well executed mystery story with lots of dark elements and a solid core of humor. I was especially delighted with Madeline Carter as an amateur detective. There are many fictional non-professional detectives these days and Madeline is more believable than most. As a professional woman in my mid 30s, I found I could relate to Madeline completely. Though I wouldn't have thought the stock market would interest me in the least, the author handles this aspect in a way that interested and intrigued me.

Mad Money is the first in a series. Like other reviewers of this book, the second Madeline Carter book can't come quickly enough!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Financial Intrigue and Murder, November 29, 2004
By 
Cynthia Chow (Kaneohe, Hawaii) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
When taking advice, always consider the source. This is an adage New York broker Madeline Carter should have followed before investing her money in stock based on a tip from her ex-boyfriend Ernest Carmichael Billings. The lure of an inside tip lured Madeline into overlooking ethics, and when the stock starts to nosedive as a result of Ernest's disappearance Madeline has no choice but to investigate in order to save her, and her family's, investment.

When a crazed shooter murders Madeline's friend Jackson in the middle of their office Madeline abandons New York for Los Angeles, where she ends up renting a room from the famous director Tyler Beckett. While Tyler hopes that Madeline will mentor his daughter Jennifer and keep her out of the Hollywood life, Madeline finds that she enjoys accompanying the young woman on visits to clubs. It's at one of these that she meets her old ex, and her involvement results in her becoming a suspect in his disappearance as she infiltrates the Langton Regional Group offices building and their parties. Along the way she meets an attractive but young LRG employee, gets tailed by a private eye, and discovers yet another kidnapping. And the move to California seemed to be so relaxing.

Richards excels at making the financial complexities of the stock market both understandable and exciting, with a plot that speeds right along to a very realistic and satisfying ending. The writing is sharp with a strong element of humor, making this a very enjoyable and fast read. The descriptions of California, from the wealthy mansions to the clubs and the cars are detailed and dead-on. Richards has created one of the most likeable, fully developed, and original characters this year, and we can hope that Madeline Carter will be making more appearances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 48 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mad Money, December 31, 2004
Taking on a too great load of guilt over the shooting of her friend and co worker, stock trader Madeline Carter pulls up stakes and moves from New York to LA, seeking peace and new start. What she finds is anything but that. Her new home is lovely, and she makes friends quickly with a young woman and her family. However, when she acts on a stock tip from an old flame, it turns out to be a bad move; the stock plummets when the flame disappears and Madeline is a suspect in his disappearance. Solving the case to clear her name brings her the chance for romance and the threat of danger, made more complex by a her new friend running away- or is it an abduction?

*** Multi layered and complex, this novel offers comedy, drama, and a rather unusual setting for a romance novel. If you are tired of the same old thing, then this will be what you are looking for. ***
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Quite a Good Investment, January 22, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mad Money (Madeline Carter Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Madeline Carter quits her stockbroker job and moves to Los Angeles after witnessing a gunman kill her friend. Madeline becomes a day trader, and invests her savings in a small company where her ex-lover Ernie is the new CEO. Madeline proceeds to lose her money as the stock tanks upon news that Ernie has been kidnapped.

The story line sounds really exciting. The author certainly knows her way around the financial world. What bogs the book down is the unnecessary details and the over-reliance on coincidence to cover some plot holes.

It takes a loooong time to get to the main plot. The book would have been much stronger if the author started with Madeline's move to LA and skipped all the pre-LA details. Later on, there are multiple, overly detailed conversations about psychopaths between Madeline and a psychiatrist she meets socially that add nothing, and the whole story line surrounding the psychiatrist could have been left out without impacting the plot.

Madeline feels compelled to investigate Ernie's disappearance, the reason being that she is a shareholder who's been wronged. I don't understand why she would even bother to invest in a small company run by her ex-lover, especially when we later find out she loathes the guy, and why she would care enough to investigate. This is where I felt the plot really falls apart.

While the pieces of this book were really interesting, they didn't always fit together well, making this just an ok read, when it could have been better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All the right notes, March 5, 2005
By 
Monica (Tacoma, Washington) - See all my reviews
There are few wrong notes in MAD MONEY, Linda L. Richards' debut novel featuring ex-stockbroker Madeline Carter. The story is smart and funny, the characters real and the mystery pleasantly mysterious. I'm looking forward to future books by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I liked it but for different reasons than most, December 17, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Although the plot seems on the surface to be a little out there, after having spent the last 3+ years tied up in the bankruptcy of Washington Mutual (a bank which should never have been seized, and if you want to know why go to wamustory dot com) I liked the fact that this book tried to expose just a tiny bit of the craziness and all the scamming done in the financial world. It is much worse than the author exposes...

At any rate this interested me due to the fact that I learned so much in the last 3 years about just how dirty stock market games are played, and the every day person has absolutely no chance against these monsters...

This book hopefully will not be treated as wild fiction...the dirty games played are real...so very real.

I liked that the author brought this to the forefront through a novel, which will probably reach more people than a non fiction book about the stock market would...

Strictly from an entertainment level, the book was fun to read...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars mixed review, June 8, 2012
This review is from: Mad Money (Madeline Carter Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
i have to give this one a mixed review. on the one hand, i really enjoy the author's writing style. on the other hand , the plot was very thin, there was a lot of filler and the ending was rather a bit of a whimper. overall a well done nancy drew. it is too bad that the substance wasn't on par with the style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This one rocks!!!!!!, April 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mad Money (Madeline Carter Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This is the best novel I have read in a while. I dont know why it has taken so long for Richards to come to my attention. She is an outstanding writer whose name should be mentioned in the same breathes as Michael Connelly, Lee Child, and Janet Evanovich. She is that good!

This is a 'fish out of water' type story about a lady stockbroker who witnesses the murder of a colleague and close friend. She cant recover emotionally and decides to change her life completely looking for peace and absolution. She moves to California. Instead of simplifying and smoothing her life takes a turn for the worse when she encounters and old flame who gives her a stock tip. She acts on it, to her immediate regret and this forms the plot for the rest of the story.

What makes this book so good is quality of Richards writing. The characterization, narrative, and dialogue is first rate and if I could give more than a 5, I would. The mystery itself is ok with adequate twists and turns.

Finally, I liked this so well that half way through this book I went online and bought the other two in the series. Higher praise cannot be given in the eworld!

DL this and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars mad money, December 28, 2011
This review is from: Mad Money (Madeline Carter Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Well-written and suspenseful. A fun read with varied and interesting characters. Clear explanations of financial intricacies that might be intimidating to those unfamiliar with the stock market.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mad Money thrills on each page, December 5, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mad Money (Madeline Carter Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This book not only takes you on the journey of a grief stricken young stockbroker but brings in several other elements.

Madeline Carter goes west from new york to california and get involed in blackmail, security manipulation, the movie industry, romance, murder and lust.

I really enjoyed it- if you want a compelling book read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Mad Money (Madeline Carter Book 1)
$4.50
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.