Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's true -- this book is fascinating and wonderful!, November 12, 2012
By 
Gerald (Chicago, Israel) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mad Science: Einstein's Fridge, Dewar's Flask, Mach's Speed, and 362 Other Inventions and Discoveries that Made Our World (Hardcover)
The first two reviewers have essentially said it all. This book is fascinating from cover to cover, and wonderful in all aspects -- the breezy, clear writing; the enjoyable illustrations; the supplemental info about other things that happened on that day/in that year. For me, the greatest impact was not from the individual stories, fascinating and wonderful though they are, but from the overall awareness that I am surrounded by things that I take for granted but which once didn't exist and had to be invented and produced by someone. As obvious as this awareness seems, it's something I can too easily forget. I feel like I'm much more aware and appreciative now than I was before I got this book. My thanks to Wired and Mr. Alfred.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Science for EVERYONE, November 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mad Science: Einstein's Fridge, Dewar's Flask, Mach's Speed, and 362 Other Inventions and Discoveries that Made Our World (Hardcover)
This is the ultimate bathroom book. Each page link one calendar day to one tech event, totaling 366 educational, entertaining, positively delightful stories--yes, February 29 is in there, with the story of how Julius Caesar invented leap year. Mad Science emerged from a blog in Wired Magazine, "This Day in Tech," and it certainly has great appeal for techies. But the real beauty of this fascinating, well-written, beautifully edited book is its great appeal for non-geeks. Science has touched our lives in so many ways that we often forget how ubiquitous it is in all the everyday things we take for granted. From proto-bicycles to Rubik's cube, Dom Perignon to the saxophone, safety pins to drive-in movies, the great breadth of Mad Science takes readers on a magical history tour of the modern world with all of its wonders and woes. Two thumbs way up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great find for the science and tech history fan, December 11, 2012
By 
Robert Allison (Newburyport, MA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I've worked my way thru the first 1/3 of this little book, mostly while on the treadmill or bike at the gym. Makes my exercise time fly by. Lots of interesting facts and trivia about subjects most of us know at least "something" about. Good way to relax and still pick up some fun information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bite sized daily morsels of science, December 8, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mad Science: Einstein's Fridge, Dewar's Flask, Mach's Speed, and 362 Other Inventions and Discoveries that Made Our World (Hardcover)
Byte sized bits of science by the day. Written with a light touch and a bit of humor (OK, tickle me Gugliemo - Marconi - is a bit over the top).

Who knew that time zones were standardized because of the railroads? (yeah that's what they mean by railroad time). Did you know that the first gravity roller coaster designed for an amusement park opened almost 130 years ago? (in Coney Island). That the safety pin was invented to pay off a 15 dollar debt?

Read Mad Science and you will have daily doses of science trivia to put down that insufferable know-it-all in the office and to dispense at cocktail parties. It a delightful, entertaining read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Great book to have in the bathroom or while riding the metro", January 24, 2013
By 
This review is from: Mad Science: Einstein's Fridge, Dewar's Flask, Mach's Speed, and 362 Other Inventions and Discoveries that Made Our World (Hardcover)
I say this is a great book for short durations of reading because each segment is interesting, yet short and to the point. This makes for great factual reading and the next bookmark is never too far away. This book on science around the world covers everything from the first humans landing on the moon to the invention of birth control.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What me worry!, November 29, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Amazing science stories, lots of them. Great to pick up for a quick hit of science. Start with today's date, or your birthday. I have long been pleased with Edison's and my birthday being the same day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Major Scientific Discoveries Explained, November 25, 2012
This review is from: Mad Science: Einstein's Fridge, Dewar's Flask, Mach's Speed, and 362 Other Inventions and Discoveries that Made Our World (Hardcover)
Mad Science: Einstein's Fridge, Dewar's Flask, Mach's Speed,
and 362 Other Inventions and Discoveries that Made Our World by
Randy Alfred is a compendium of important scientific achievements
that go back centuries in some cases. The presentation is interesting
and informative for a wide constituency of readers in the arts and
sciences.

For instance, the author shows how the first light was produced in Roselle,
New Jersey through the use of overhead wires in 1883. On January 23, 1960,
the Trieste lowered 7 miles beneath the surface to the deepest point on earth
in the Marianas Trench.

Alfred shows how modern genetics was impacted when Mendel read the first
paper on February 8, 1965. A few years later in 1887, Mach explained the
idea of supersonic flow. In essence, shock waves form at supersonic speeds.

Alfred researched the history of the steam powered engine by documenting
how Tom Newcomen invented a prototype on February 24, 1664. Years later,
Alessandro Volta invented the wet cell battery on March 20, 1800.

Modern medicine was impacted when Robert Koch discovered the TB
bacillus on March 24, 1882. A few years later, Alfred explains how Felix
Hoffman invented aspirin on March 6, 1899.

Mad Science: Einstein's Fridge, Dewar's Flask, Mach's Speed, and 362 Other
Inventions and Discoveries that Made Our World by Randy Alfred is an
important work for students, teachers, geeks, non-geeks, journalists and
a wide constituency of readers everywhere.

The presentation is interesting and engaging. In addition, this work could
be employed by journalists for fact-checking purposes. The book is well
written and concise. The contents could serve as an important supplement
for scientific research papers and student projects.

Credits
An article of yours has just been published on Blogcritics.

It should now appear at:
Blogcritics dot org/books/article/book-review-mad-science-einsteins-fridge
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How Mad Can Science Get, November 6, 2012
This review is from: Mad Science: Einstein's Fridge, Dewar's Flask, Mach's Speed, and 362 Other Inventions and Discoveries that Made Our World (Hardcover)
The most fascinating book of the year is Mad Science (ASIN 978-0-316-20819-2 Mad Science hardcover $19.99 edited by Randy Alfred.)

This is a must for scientists, technicians, students and even--or maybe especially--science fiction buffs. The book lists what happened in science and technology (as well as science-connected historical events) for every day of the year. January 1 is notable for the first day of the Gregorian Calendar, replacing the old Julian calendar. The Julian was celebrated in Russia through 1918 which means the Soviets celebrated the October revolution in November. And oh, yeah, at the bottom of the page editor Randy Alfred tells us aspirin in tablet form showed up on Janujary 1, 1915.

Harvard and IBM dedicated the Mark 1 computer August 7, 1944, the electric motor started up November 27, 1834. Science fiction fans have the date memorized but for those who haven't, the first episode of "Star Trek was broadcast September 8, 1966 (live long and prosper, Captain Kirk!)

A facinating book to browse through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a great book!, November 6, 2012
This review is from: Mad Science: Einstein's Fridge, Dewar's Flask, Mach's Speed, and 362 Other Inventions and Discoveries that Made Our World (Hardcover)
This is a great book. I recommend it to folks with a sense of wonder and a sense of humor. Ageless facts and events.
Thank you, Mr. Alfred!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars What scientific discovery or invention took place on your birthday?, December 24, 2014
By 
William P. Palmer (Brighton, Victoria, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mad Science: Einstein's Fridge, Dewar's Flask, Mach's Speed, and 362 Other Inventions and Discoveries that Made Our World (Hardcover)
Review of ‘Mad Science’ edited by Randy Alfred

CITATION: Alfred, R. (2012). Mad Science: Einstein's Fridge, Dewar's Flask, Mach's Speed, and 362 Other Inventions and Discoveries that Made Our World. New York, Boston and London: Little, Brown and Company.

Reviewer: Dr William P Palmer.

This is a reference book which links at least one scientific invention or discovery to each day of the year including 29th February. The index provides a good cross reference of the invention and also of the name of the inventor to the day of the year so the book can be used flexibly. There is a wide variety of topics covered usually with several alternatives for each day. In general, the well-known scientists Newton, Galileo, Einstein, Bunsen, Priestley (misspelled), Faraday and Curie (Pierre and Marie) get adequate representation in the index but the slightly less well known scientists such as Lavoisier, Dumas, Cavendish, Kirchhoff and Graham do not get mentioned.

Overall this is a useful little book. Perhaps teachers could use it to link students’ birthdays to scientific discoveries or inventions that happened on the same day. The book is recommended.

BILL PALMER
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.