Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funny and mildly challenging
This is another decent movie-based video games aimed at the younger generation. Your objectives are multifold but aimed at saving animals in the African Savannah from 'human predators'. You play one of the animals in the Madagaskar crew, Alex the Lion, Marty the Zebra, Melman the Giraffe and Gloria the Hippo and others such as the penquins through multiple levels...
Published on June 7, 2009 by Gene Cloner

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Where Do You Go?
Adorable characters from a really great movie that should have been a blast to play. It has all the makings of a fun platformer. Until you realize that you need to be psychic to figure out what to do next. You'll complete one task and then get dumped into another world with no idea of where to go and what to do. It would seem to me you'd give the gamer (usually a child) a...
Published on February 27, 2011 by Bobby Duff


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funny and mildly challenging, June 7, 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Madagascar 2: Escape 2 Africa WII (Video Game)
This is another decent movie-based video games aimed at the younger generation. Your objectives are multifold but aimed at saving animals in the African Savannah from 'human predators'. You play one of the animals in the Madagaskar crew, Alex the Lion, Marty the Zebra, Melman the Giraffe and Gloria the Hippo and others such as the penquins through multiple levels.

The animation and dialogues are humorous. The game play is mildly challenging (kids under 5 might need some occasional help) and has a number of very different objectives. Due to variety in action and gameplay, it is not boring at all. There are mild onjectives like taking pictures of animals/finding stuff around or a path to go to the next objective. There are also some challenging ones such as navigating through a path of scorpions, eagles and deep valleys or chasing human guards away by throwing soda cans at them etc.

There is also multi-player mode (upto 4 players) for some of the minigames most of which are quite a bit of fun. Do keep in mind that these games are aimed at kids under 10.

One bad aspect about the game is the camera angle. It does not change intuitively - sometimes it does, but is very slow. So you end up falling off cliffs or boxes when you try to turn around or go back. could be frustrating for kids. You can change the camera angle with the keypad though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!, November 11, 2008
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Madagascar 2: Escape 2 Africa WII (Video Game)
This game is awesome. I bought this game with my daughter and we wanted to check the reviews, but there were none. My daughter decided to open it anyway and she played it for 5 hours straight, no breaks. OMG! She says that it's really addicting and that even at the hardish times, she says that it's still fun for a challenge. And just a tip, when you are done playing and want to stop and when you go to "exit to map" or "exit to menu" it will say "every thing that wasn't saved will be gone", when it saves-a hippo's head wil spin on the left, that's when it's saving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Madagascar: Escape 2 Africa for the Wii: Jolly good fun!, December 28, 2009
By 
Roy Jaruk (Patterson, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Madagascar 2: Escape 2 Africa WII (Video Game)
This is one of the best video games for the entire family that I've ever seen for the Wii platform. It's a true delight.

Unlike some of the Wii games ties to movies, Escape 2 Africa does not take you though the movie, recreating the adventure from the point of view of various characters. This game has you manipulating the main characters in different challenges ranging from taking photographs to recovering various things the penguins need to fix up the airplane from the humans, to attempting to cure various animal ailments with carefully applied potions, to playing a game of soccer; and many, many more.

There are about 12 different levels in the game, with miniature games and levels in each one. They range from simple enough for a six year old to work, to games that will try the patience of adults. Madagascar: Escape 2 Africa packs more games onto one disk than any movie-related video game we've ever purchased. This one was the winner of the video game Christmas sweepstakes going away.

If you have small children and they have seen the movie, by all means buy this game for them. You will be guaranteeing them days of video game enjoyment. I don't see this one getting old for my son any time soon. Neither will you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Madagascar if Fantastic, May 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Madagascar 2: Escape 2 Africa WII (Video Game)
Game is alot of fun. Took a little while to figure it out but now fun. Have a Good Day
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Where Do You Go?, February 27, 2011
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Madagascar 2: Escape 2 Africa WII (Video Game)
Adorable characters from a really great movie that should have been a blast to play. It has all the makings of a fun platformer. Until you realize that you need to be psychic to figure out what to do next. You'll complete one task and then get dumped into another world with no idea of where to go and what to do. It would seem to me you'd give the gamer (usually a child) a clue what to do next. I've honestly given up on trying to figure it out. I'm at 40% completed and have concluded it's not worth the time or effort to try and figure everything out.

The sad thing is early in the game it's VERY well structered and easy to complete what ever challenge you have in front of you (some of those being somewhat challenging). But sadly as the game goes on you have more freedom and with that comes confusion beyond belief.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Madascar 2 Escape Africa Wii game, August 16, 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Madagascar 2: Escape 2 Africa WII (Video Game)
This is a great game. I enjoy playing just as much as the kids. Very addictive, fun mini games, excellent graphics. The accessories you can purchase for the characters are very cute.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Too difficult, July 26, 2013
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Madagascar 2: Escape 2 Africa WII (Video Game)
This game is frustrating for all ages. Nothing about it is intuitive. The concept is good but the execution is poor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for the whole family!, December 27, 2008
By 
R. L. Brown (Bamberg, Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Madagascar 2: Escape 2 Africa WII (Video Game)
I got this game for my 7 year-old son for Christmas. He said it was really fun. I played a few segments and found it to be very entertaining as well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great game, January 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Madagascar 2: Escape 2 Africa WII (Video Game)
originally the seller sent me the xbox 360 version, they then replaced the item for free, and got it to me before christmas! The game is great my kids love it they are 10 and 8 some parts are challenging, but they really like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars ok, April 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Madagascar 2: Escape 2 Africa WII (Video Game)
My kids werent thrilled with this game although they love Madagascar. We couldnt figure out how to add players and the levels were a bit difficult for my 6 year old
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Madagascar 2: Escape 2 Africa WII
Madagascar 2: Escape 2 Africa WII by Activision Inc. (Nintendo Wii)
$29.99 $8.80
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.