Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Madagascar 3: Europe's Most Wanted
Your Garage Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Explore Premium Audio Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors STEM

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$7.50+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 3, 2012
I'm the dad reviewing here: Super fun, ridiculous movie. Story line was so-so. That's okay though. Why? Because the characters both old and new were so endearing and well-developed that it doesn't really matter. No kid says "I love the continuity in that subplot about the relationship between King Julien and the bear." No. It's more like "It was funny. Polka-dot Polka-dot Polka-dot Afro!" and it was way funnier than I expected for installment 3. The subreferences to The Matrix, Bond films, and Cirque de Soleil, and zillions of other little things, I was in stitches several times. Actually my kids looked at me sideways wondering what the heck. In addition, the incredible fine details make it worth getting HD, or Bluray. I know I'm gushing, but I don't care -- this series has given me so many good laughs they deserve it. Basset hound!
Update 10/17/2012-- I watched it again, on my little Kindle screen, to recover from an episode of Walking Dead. It did the trick, but was so funny I ended up watching the whole thing. The penguins are still the most witty.
11 comment|74 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 16, 2012
Just an FYI - the insert on the DVD asks you to go to a Paramount web site, where you will asked for your code, email address, DOB, etc. Ignore it - they just want to add you to their database. Just launch iTunes, click "Redeem", enter the code on the insert - the movie will download to your iTunes library.
33 comments|97 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 2, 2013
This is arguably the best one so far in the Madagascar trilogy. This version comes in three formats, Blu-ray, DVD, and itunes digital copy along with Ultraviolet copy. The movie is exceptionally funny and captivating. I guarantee you wouldn't regret if you purchase this version that is several bucks more expensive.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon October 16, 2012
Sequels generally have a tendency to be half as good as the original, but in this case Madagascar 3 has a refreshingly new look, same level of energy and humor with its cast of characters, and a vibrant backdrop of a circus.

The cast of characters - Marty, Alex, Gloria, and and Melman - decide to leave Africa and go back to New York, but need the penguins help to fly back, the penguins are as hilarious as they have been. With the penguins in Monte Carlo, there begins their adventure. They run into the devious Captain Chantal Dubois is the head of animal control in Europe who is called for help. She is a little too serious about her job and wants to mount the heads of the animals, particularly Alex the lion's, on her wall as trophies. She brings delightful humor with her ways! In a way she reminded me of the "Bad Kitty" eastern European lady from NY in part 2. The scenes with her are very funny. The lemur king Julian falls in love with the bear at the circus and he is entertaining as always, the very talented Sacha Baron Cohen has done a remarkable job with this character.

The animals join a circus in an attempt to get away from Dubois. A number of new characters are introduced here who are part of the circus. This is where the movie picks up pace and bursts with color, and makes it a joy watching in 3D. This has to be one of the best 3D treats our family has seen this year across Ice Age, Brave, and The Lorax. The overall plot of the film is not as strong or content-rich as the first one, but the vivid colors and brilliant scenes make this as much a treat to watch as the previous two films.

Madagascar 3 is fun for the entire family, kids and adults alike. Anxiously waiting to watch the DVD so that we can share the laughs again.
0Comment|41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 13, 2012
This was a very funny movie.Rhe first 3d movie i saw in a theatre. i took the kids they really enjoyed it so i bought it for christmas.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 22, 2012
Admittedly the opening of "Madagascar 3: Europe's Most Wanted" is not great, but be patient. The second sequel is better than the first one and possibly the original. It takes a while for "Madagascar 3" to get really interesting.

The four animals from New York City's Central Park Zoo, Alex, Marty, Melman and Gloria, decide to leave Africa, following the penguins now staying at a Monte Carlo hotel. Alex and the gang want the ever-resourceful penguins to fly them back to New York. But please don't ask me how the four big animals - a lion, a zebra, a giraffe and a hippopotamus - managed to travel from Africa to Europe.

The film kicks into gear when the film's "villainess" appears. She is Captain Chantel DuBois, Monaco's (or the world's) most efficient animal control officer "collecting" animals (their heads, in fact). With her incredible tracking skills and Jackie Chan-like physical prowess, she attempts to capture Alex the lion and the other animals in a hilarious chase sequence.

Most of the other new characters introduced are animals of a traveling circus troupe, including Gia the jaguar, Alex's love interest, and Vitaly the tiger, star of the circus. King Julien XIII also joins the tour and falls in love with Sonya the bear. These new characters and their subplots, though not particularly bad in themselves, are pretty weak when compared to scene-stealing Captain DuBois, who, like the penguins in the previous "Madagascar" films, deserves her own movie.

But the strength of DreamWorks' new animation lies in its colorful visuals (in part inspired by Cirque du Soleil) and thrilling action full of imagination that makes up for the lack of credible storyline. The rousing car chase sequence in Monte Carlo alone is worth your money.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 17, 2016
Finally! We have a movie in 2012 that is worth every minute and every penny. If your kids (or you, for that matter) cannot stop singing "Circus! Afro!" then go ahead and see Madagascar 3: Europe's Most Wanted in 3D. It is the most clever, fun, and exciting animated film to hit theaters in a long time.

When we see our favorite zoo escapees this time, they are on the run with their jungle friends in Europe. Alex (Ben Stiller), Marty (Chris Rock), Gloria (Jada Pinkett Smith) and Melman (David Schwimmer) desperately want to get back to Central Park. Standing in their way is Captain Chantel Dubois (Frances McDormand) as the most evil animal control officer in the world. They narrowly escape her clutches by jumping on a train with a traveling circus. Now their only hope for getting to New York is to buy the circus and whip them into good enough shape to earn a touring contract in America.

Director and screenwriter Eric Darnell does an excellent job of leading the crew with this third installment. The story incorporates new characters beautifully by adding a love interest for Alex (Gia, voiced by Jessica Chastain), a dopey friend for Marty (Stefano, voiced by Martin Short), and a fallen hero everyone can cheer for (Vitaly, a tiger voiced by Bryan Cranston). King Julien (Sacha Baron Cohen) also finds love in a big bear wearing a tutu named Sonya, and the results are as hilariously sweet as the love saga of Donkey and Dragon. Kids will be able to keep up with all of the new names and nationalities and may even find a new favorite character in the bunch.

What makes this movie truly magic is the skillful use of 3D technology. Every leap on the flying trapeze, flight out of a cannon, and grasp at an animal's tail by Captain Dubois jumps out of the screen and excites the senses. It is so refreshing to see a movie in 3D that actually takes full advantage of its capability. The clever script and silly animation also kept me laughing, but I could have done without all of the jabs at people of Russian, French, Canadian, and basically all non-American descent. What was initially funny drifted toward mean, and resulted in one joke that was totally inappropriate. These moments only accounted for about 5 of the nearly 90 minutes of running time, so do not let that deter you from enjoying this chaotic adventure.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 15, 2016
I purchased this movie and previously purchased a Vizio television with an AMAZON VIDEO App that includes an "Amazon" BUTTON on the remote control - PURCHASED not rented - in reliance on the availability of this AND MANY OTHER MOVIES for viewing by my PERMANENTLY DEVELOPMENTALLY DISABLED 26 YEAR OLD daughter on the AMAZON Video App on the the remote because she is not, as a consequence of her disability, able to maneuver screens and log-ins on a television. In fact, I have purchased over 140 (ONE HUNDRED FORTY) movies on Amazon Video in reliance on her ability to view them on her television, which she is not able to do on other televisions we own, such as Sony televisions, having complex menu systems. Now, TODAY, JUNE 15, 2016, Amazon has decided to discontinue support of Amazon Video on her Vizio television and instead wants me to buy a Firestick for $50, which she will undoubtedly be unable to use! This is fraud. This is likely also a violation of the Americans with Disabilities Act, and just bad business!!!!!! Do not BUY ANY AMAZON VIDEOS unless you intend to purchase a new television every year to keep up with Amazon's unscrupulous and fraudulent business practices.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 21, 2015
Okay, I will admit that this isn't MY favorite movie, mostly because I am really, really sick of the polkadot afro thing, but my kids all love it & so I cheerfully watch it when it's what they pick for our movie night. The music is catchy, the storyline is engaging, & they love the penguins. :) Sequels are often terrible & thrown together, but that's not the case for this movie.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 15, 2014
i dont normally do reviews for movies but this is amazing in 3d,ive watched around 20 3d movies and this beats them all, so many special effects, the best ending to the series, this explains how the animals ended up in the zoo in part one, as good if not better than avitar, watched it twice in one night just for the effects alone, worth every cent, you do need a 3d player though as it only contains the one disc and it is 3d only.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.