Customer Reviews


577 Reviews
5 star:
 (318)
4 star:
 (84)
3 star:
 (42)
2 star:
 (33)
1 star:
 (100)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Madden does it again!
Madden 25 is one of the most in depth football games I've laid my hands on yet! With the brand new infinity engine 2.0, your going to see a huge improvement with the gameplay.

Along side with the gameplay this game has improved most of its game modes as well. For those who like realistic football, this years madden allows you to do owners mode. By doing owners...
Published 10 months ago by AntoDaBoss

versus
240 of 271 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Madden stumbles at the end of the generation
Madden NFL 25 is one of the most difficult to evaluate sports games in recent memory. It carries with it considerable value thanks to a deep feature set, distinct improvements to gameplay, and appreciable fun factor. For every positive though there seems to be something dragging it down from potential excellence. Features aren't completely fleshed out, gameplay looks and...
Published 10 months ago by pastapadre


‹ Previous | 1 258 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

240 of 271 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Madden stumbles at the end of the generation, August 27, 2013
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Madden NFL 25 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
Madden NFL 25 is one of the most difficult to evaluate sports games in recent memory. It carries with it considerable value thanks to a deep feature set, distinct improvements to gameplay, and appreciable fun factor. For every positive though there seems to be something dragging it down from potential excellence. Features aren't completely fleshed out, gameplay looks and feels chaotic, and legacy issues remain unaddressed.

MODES
-Connected Franchise: This is obviously the big one - especially with the return of Owner mode - and I wrote over 3000 words and posted nearly 100 screenshots regarding it on my site detailing everything from the executive duties of an Owner and how things progressed within the entire Connected Franchise universe having played every game in a season and extended into year two.

Owner mode provides some compelling elements which will be especially fun when joined by friends but Connected Franchise as a whole fails again in tying events from the league into the actual games. That could severely dampen long-term enthusiasm towards the mode.

-Skills Trainer: Similar to NCAA Football 14 the Skills Trainer provides an opportunity to learn, improve, and refine play in very specific areas. It does a good job of teaching things like the option as well as aspects like hot routes and audibles which novices may need explanations on. There are also Ultimate Team bonuses given for getting "Gold" in each of the individual drills.

On the flip side it has the same faults as NCAA. Things that are out of the control of the user can screw up success. It gets frustrating going for the "Gold" and missing out because a receiver drops a pass or a defender sacks a QB when you needed to get an interception.

The Skills Trainer was personally approached with the hope of learning the new "Precision Modifier". Getting to test out the timing and various functions is the valuable thing here. What the Trainer didn't do was explain what "in range" actually means or go beyond just a handful of moves when there are 30 something combos possible.

-Madden Share: This is something that will become valuable as users get the game and start uploading their own personal content. During the evaluation period there were some files there to download but they may have just been tests from other users so it didn't make sense to spend time pulling any down not knowing whether they would make for quality useful content.
Files that can be uploaded/downloaded through Madden Share are rosters, playbooks, and slider sets. Video highlights can also be uploaded to the EA website.
Any roster set can be used to start a Connected Franchise including the user-edited ones obtained through Madden Share. Custom Playbooks can also be taken into CF.

-Ultimate Team and Online Play: Without many users to face online it would be inappropriate to judge Ultimate Team (which brings in the fun Seasons concept) or online play performance in general. Will update this section at a later date.

GAMEPLAY
Many of the enhancements apparent in Madden NFL 25 were first introduced in NCAA Football 14. The two series share a gameplay development team which means Infinity Engine 2.0, work done to the offensive line, enhanced player control, and much more are found in both. It might be the more wide-open gameplay or the lesser talent on the field but NCAA 14 plays a much cleaner game than Madden 25.

Sloppy is the best way to describe Madden's gameplay this year. It feels that way when playing it and it looks that way when watching it. There are glimpses of good things - there's no doubt about that and it can still be fun to play - but overall it's hard not to walk away and say it's a mess despite that.

The Infinity Engine seems to have been downgraded not enhanced. There is a distinct lack of tackles appearing organic (or any impact between players or gang tackles) and instead you get an overload of frantic collisions and guys knocking into and off one another plus bizarre looking pileups. Everything is much stiffer than last year and even what was played back at E3.

CPU QB's are competent if not unrealistically so. Other than one or two boneheaded throws each game - even the highest rated QBs will do that - they march their teams up and down the field fairly consistently. Completion percentages in the demo were ridiculously high. They haven't been as bad in the final version of the game. Lower rated QBs might even struggle at times though that usually isn't for the entire game. The one time that happened was holding Brandon Weeden to under 50%. Most other games are around 70% or higher even from guys like Mark Sanchez.
There are a few reasons this seems to be the case. Few throws will hit the ground. They'll more likely be jarred loose in a hit or intercepted. QBs are generally accurate and they find receivers in big space pretty often. Whether poor zone or man coverage is to blame is difficult to determine.

The pass rush is also inconsistent. Most sacks aren't due to immediate pressure but end up as coverage sacks. In my franchise I had some success controlling Cameron Wake and forcing off-target throws. The user shouldn't be forced to play the D-line (and not everyone has a Wake) in order to get pressure on the QB.
CPU running backs can threaten and they tore me up a few times in my franchise season, but that becomes an afterthought to trying to find a way to stop the QB. Heavy blitzing may be needed to push the CPU into third and long situations where their success level dramatically drops. Third and short or mid they probably convert over 75% of the time when the actual NFL average on third downs is around 39%. CPU punters are still idiots and kick it into the end zone at every opportunity. The CPU kickers only missed one field goal against me the entire season (short and off the bar rather than wide).

The "Precision Modifier" is going to have its share of supporters and detractors. On one side it adds more dynamic and exciting events. On the other it doesn't balance out well in terms of risk and in some cases, with the right players and the right timing, can almost be unstoppable. I'm personally not a fan of it in concept or execution.

It's interesting EA made this an option because there is very little reason not to just hold down the left trigger at all times when running forward. In my franchise season there were two fumbles noted while using the modifier with a back or receiver out of 14 total on the season. Of course there were more instances where contact took place without the modifier activated than with it, but that still goes to show there is very little or no correlation to turnovers and using the modifier.

Going up against a shifty player in open space controlled by someone who has the modifier down will undoubtedly be frustrating. Even power guys, when they stiff arm, end up dragging the defender sometimes 10 yards down the field in that animation. There was also an instance where Darren Sproles stiff-armed a linebacker to the ground.

The CPU will use some modifier moves though somewhat infrequently. The over and over spinning seen in the demo definitely wasn't present in any of the games played with the final version. What they will do is awkwardly throw out stiff-arms when no one is even in range.

The read-option is a lot of fun to utilize and is represented well in Madden. While some thought it was too easy in NCAA Football this year there is more balance found in Madden considering the talent of the defenders, the rate of fumbles being higher, and the always looming risk of injury. A fragile quarterback is not going to be able to take hits during a game and survive it. There were also instances where the QB would make the right read and still get crushed by a defender who identified it. The CPU only used it a few times with Cam Newton and Geno Smith running it sparsely in my franchise season.

The one play I may start removing from my playbook: HB Draws. It seems as though the offensive line frequently gets pushed so far back that the runner has no where to go once the ball is handed off. The one I'll be using more frequently: WR Screens. Against a soft defense getting the ball in open space to a quick and agile target can result in big plays.

As was the case with the demo there are issues with catch attempts at the sidelines. Quite often a receiver won't make a concerted effort to get their feet down when they seemingly have plenty of space to do so. Even top rated receivers don't always complete the catch in bounds.

Deep shots downfield can also be troublesome. This is where most of the INTs came off the CPU and in pass breakups by the CPU. In one-on-one coverage on a leading-lob pass the ball rarely gets over the top. User picks are easy to make on those attempts. Even with a step on the defender the ball usually ends up short and incomplete or picked off.

Those looking for more penalties will still not be satisfied. My team committed 12 over the 17 games played in the season. A few of them were self-inflicted (defensive offsides, false starts, late hits on QB) and the others were some for clipping, a few personal fouls for late hits on the sideline, one facemask, and one offensive pass interference that was called on my left guard.

The Hit Stick finally has some use again as big hits do force some fumbles. Holding the stick down also activates "Heat Seeker Tackling" which acts somewhat as a magnet when in range but if out of range results in a big whiff.

I went into injuries at length in the franchise write-up. There are lots of them, which doesn't make it unrealistic, but the same players seem to get hit with them over and over and its usually key contributors.

In fourth and short situations coming out in goal line the CPU does not match unless near the goal line. That makes sneaks essentially automatic. The only thing to worry about would be the QB getting injured.

The booth will automatically review a close touchdown as they should, but never review close turnovers and the user isn't even given the option of manually challenging them. This was something mentioned last year as an issue that apparently didn't make it onto the radar to get fixed. This omission upsets me.

There are five camera angles including "Legacy" which is the standard one from recent years. Considering how many expressed hatred towards the new standard camera angle that was locked in for the demo it's important to note that.

PRESENTATION
Like everything else in Madden NFL 25 presentation has its ups and downs. There are only a few different game openings, personalized celebrations look alright but they're done within awkward cut scenes, the halftime show isn't a halftime show, the lack of ties during games to league events dampen interest in Franchise mode, and commentary hasn't taken a big jump. The intro videos for primetime or playoff games in Franchise mode though are pretty cool.

Commentary is steady but it's surprising how little has been added or old lines thinned out. If I have to hear Phil Simms criticize a QB for checking down again, the one where he says it's just the QB worried about stats, my head might explode. In general for year two in the booth there is still too much left unspecified in their calls. "What a win for that one team" is literally something that was said after a game.

Danielle Bellini is the new sideline reporter and fits in well but most of what she has to report is very generic and often leaves out identifying the team or player names. Where she's most valuable is reporting on injuries at different points in the game. Unfortunately even with those she's stuck saying something about how the team wouldn't tell her what was wrong with the player. "The team wouldn't say." So then what's the point?

The touchdown and sack celebrations look good upon first viewing. The more they're seen though the more looks wrong with them. Players will show up out of no where to celebrate, it'll happen in spots where the play hadn't ended, the camera view may be blocked by other players, or it's noticed that there are no other people actually on the field. What's worse though is how players just stop and stand there after crossing the goal line or catching a pass for a score before a celebration or replay kicks in.

Auto-replays also have issues with individuals being lingered on from a single camera for too long. In some cases players run towards the camera and end up out of frame as they approach it. The graphics, while still largely excellent, seem far more muddied and flat (the lighting in particular) than recent years.

Rain and snow thin the crowd out to about 60% of capacity. Even in franchise for the Super Bowl fans apparently won't show up due to bad weather. Outside of a few team specific crowd chants or PA sounds the atmosphere in games is uniform from stadium to stadium. Hopefully with the "Living Worlds" part of the next-gen Ignite Engine they'll get some definition to the unique experiences that each fan base and stadium delivers. It should also be noted that the crowd still reacts improperly to the results of challenges. They'll boo a favorable result.

The post-game "Never Say Never Moment of the Game" is almost always a let down. Generally the play of the game is identified as a field goal that didn't actually determine the outcome. Or even worse an extra point.

MISCELLANEOUS
-The wind indicator is reversed. How this seems to happen year after year is beyond me. It can even be seen in how the rain or snow is being pushed one direction and the indicator pointing the opposite way. Keep that in mind with any kicks and adjust accordingly.
-Another release that doesn't include surprise onside kicks.
-Game results can be shared on Facebook but the share to Twitter functionality is gone.
-There is still no screenshot feature included. The next-gen systems will have that built in.
-If a team is running out the clock when kneeling and the opponent has no timeouts can we get a chew clock option for that in the future please?

OVERALL OUTLOOK
Madden NFL 25 feels like a 10 week bridge to next-gen rather than hitting a pinnacle in the way the series did late in the PS2/Xbox generation. It may satisfy many - there certainly are improvements over last year both on the field and off despite the gripes that will be had - but there will sadly be no Madden reaching "classic" status during the 360 and PS3 generation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


97 of 127 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Wasted $60 again this year., August 30, 2013
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Madden NFL 25 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
For all the so called "improvements" the gameplay is still ridiculously terrible. I'm sorry but the left tackle is never going to pick up a blitzing corner on the right side, defensive tackles cannot chase down WR's in the open field every play, and 1 safety cannot cover sideline to sideline. You literally have to jack with the sliders again and again to have any kind of realism. So far I've been unable to figure out how to stop a team when i'm on defense. Every game the computer has 85% completion percentage. The WR drops in this game is stupid, 10 drops a game minimum. I seen someone comment on penalties, what penalties? I've played 15 games and have not seen a single flag yet. The gameplay has so many glitches and bugs its ridiculous. You get tackled then flop around on the ground like your having a seizure, only your knees are behind your head and your arms are coming out of your butt (and by the way your guy is injured). 3 games into my franchise and have 5 rb's out for the season. Awesome.

Why even have owner mode at all if this is the option you give us. You can set your prices 1 time and never have to adjust. You can build a new stadium the inagural season with $0. Half the league moves to new cities within 2 years of the franchise. You can move and get a new logo/jerseys but you can't pick the color scheme. You have media questions, a whopping 2 or 3 a season that so far seem to only hurt you no matter what you say.

Every season I hear about "gameplay improvements" and "new features". This is the same crap game i've been playing since 2006. They fail to even address the main gameplay issues. I'm officially done buying this game/series and cannot wait till the exclusive deal is up and some other company can give it a try. Total waste of $60.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars can't believe I tried it again, September 18, 2013
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Madden NFL 25 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
Madden 13 had mad banging my head against the wall with no franchise mode. I was hurt. I like to play online as well as off and when I play offline in franchise mode I like to play other team games within the play week, divisional matchups especially. When I found out I could no longer do this with 13. It was over for me and I traded the game in a got the Madden 12. Which I had before but was stolen. Now with this Madden 25? Not much difference. This xp point system you have to gain points to upgrade your players attribute is awful and shouldn't be in a game like this. They shouldve kept it simple let them progress through the seasons like before. Then players flipflop around like ragdolls and please like 13 don't bump into your linemen with your halfback, runplay over. And your halfback more than likely won't make it past 3weeks because he'll seriously injured by week3. Recievers can't catch a ball in the open to save their lives, the drop passes in this game is frustrating. Again your tackles are only good at blocking on the strongside, weakside blitz your sacked even if you put your halfback/fullback to block. Well sense you have to gain a hell of a lot of points to up their progression you'll be going through this season after season bc you'll never have enough points to share with all your players on your roster. Now I know why when Madden 12 had came out I had soooo much fun with it and I concidered as one of the EAsports best. Full franchise season mode, you can chose to upgrade your players yourself or let cpu do it which is determine by your players success on the field which I like the best. The undrafted free agents being invited to try for a roster spot during the preseason. Scouting mode for potentials picks. If Madden 12 had the graphics and better timed and more non repetitive commentary as 13-25 and you can just download the updated roster year after. I would never have to buy another one of these over additioned overdone new featured which in my opinion is a waste of space on my memory chip, to many windows game again. But being the football fan that I am I got it anyway knowing I would be disappointed again. can't believe I did it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars "Change" is not always good..., September 22, 2013
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Madden NFL 25 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
Having been a Madden-loyalist since 93, I always have high hopes for the next iteration. In hindsight, this franchise may have peaked in the mid-2000's though I can only speak for the PS2 versions.

This year's version seems "rushed" which is the edited version of my actual response (half-a**ed attempt).

Menus

The menus, taking a somewhat Microsoft Windows 8 feel, is cluttered, confusing and detrimental to quick play with only a modicum of changes. I can't speak for everyone but I do not need image menus where text menus, telling me exactly what I need, will suffice.

Gameplay

Ok, I get it. Having been a huge Barry Sanders fan and having voted for his cover, I understand the lean towards implementing running game techniques to allow people like me to relive Barry's glory years. Here it comes... But, not every running play is a 3-yard gain; even for the user. The new running tools are appreciated but overdone. Who needs an offensive line, or a well-rated one at that, when I start with a 12-foot hole and can make the backers and secondary look utterly ridiculous with a juke move?

The defense....stick to 4-3 if you're playing at any type of competitive level. I'm a 3-4 guy and stubbornly stick with it and have come to expect giving pass plays over the middle as well as seeing my linebackers getting manhandled by linemen who get to the second level with relative ease. I could cherry-pick my personnel but what fun is that?

Replays/Highlights/Animations/Commentary

Awful. Simply awful. It almost seems like EA took several months off of Madden development hoping to dupe us with repetitive animations, commentary and my personal pet peeve, the horrible camera angles on play highlights. There is nothing like watching that 20-yard fade route TD being replayed seeing only turf and the receivers hand. Or seeing some random camera man's head while they are trying to feature a player walking the sidelines. Or reliving a 50-yard TD run by seeing the last 1/2 second of that play. Ugghhh....whatever, EA.

The commentary is repetitive, game-to-game and even play-to-play sometimes. I am not certain if that annoys me more than hearing that a AI pass-play was completed for a 5-yard gain when I intercepted the ball for a 5-yard run back.

Danielle Bellini's commentary seems hardly relevant at times. Mostly, I tune out or bypass the equally irrelevant half-time animations.

The physics engine seems off. If players turning into rag dolls doesn't bother you, than good for you. I personally think that EA got the physics right in past iterations but is now trying too hard.

On a side note because it's not that important, if you make a player, coach or owner, expect some awful physical malformities to occur like caveman-like forheads, missing eyes etc. Not a big deal to me since I rarely stick around for the mid-play animations.

Summary

Not to forget any stone left unturned, this game will freeze on you. To be certain, I have the Xbox360 version. Be sure to save often. The game will freeze on me 3-of-4 times it is played. This is a huge issue for me and I walk away. With the effort it takes to get to the offline career games, I opt to simply walk away frustrated. I'm sure we will see a patch from EA though that is no guarantee to fix anything.

Overall, I understand the pressure of keeping this franchise on top with new additions/features to keep people coming back. It feels now that it would be like an artist adding stone to a stone block to make his sculpture. It's time to find the features that worked in the past, what works now (even it that answer may be 'nothing') and refine the game rather than dump more useless features that results in less-than-spectacular results in the gameplay and user experience.

I may be speaking for others but what we mostly want is updated rosters, refined gameplay and a feature or two that piques our interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dislike, October 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Madden NFL 25 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
Don't like because you lose what you have accomplished in previous Madden games. Can't continue with it in Madden 25
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


68 of 96 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Demand Better, August 30, 2013
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Madden NFL 25 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
Its insulting. EA wanted the exclusive contract to the NFL so they could be the only game in town; therefore, I am unable to take my business elsewhere.

This game is just flat out poor and I'm shocked to see all of the people who defend it. EA, is releasing a game that will gross hundreds of millions of dollars, for a league that generates billions and this is the best you can do. EA sold 1.6 million copies(projected) this week and if they gross $30/game, that's nearly $50 million. That's in one week. So far, they have seen an 8% increase from last year.

I'm not a beta tester, the bugs that we are seeing in this game (software) are unacceptable. Relying on patches after release to fix your game is lazy and the people who pay all of their salaries should demand better. EA is a monopoly, so we cant take our business elsewhere, which means the only way to impact the market, is to boycott or righteously inform EA of their errors and their obligations to the customer. Then hope that they heed that warning.

Maybe EA cut back on the development for this gen to focus on the next gen. If so, they should have sold this game at a discount and explained that it is a 'lite' version. Otherwise they are duping people deliberately. But I don't think its that well thought out, I think Madden, for the next gen systems will be just as poorly made. EA has very little incentive to improve their product at all, because they will make money being the only business in town.

I have righteously informed you of your errors and obligations. Boycott is my last option.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 29 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hey EA, if it's in the game, it should be in the game!, August 28, 2013
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Madden NFL 25 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
If it is in the game, it should be in the game, WITHOUT going online to redeem, buy, or whatever. I pay full price, i should get a FULL game. But this is the anti-DRM era, soon with Xbox One and PS4, all gaming manufacturers are going to go this route fully, and not partially. Heard Sony's PS4 would accept used games? Sure they will. BUT, and this is the devil in the details, gaming companies, like EA will sell their titles on exclusive Digital Rights Servers. They feel THEY are the ones getting ripped off, so they give us a MADDEN with only a few options on coaches/owners. They even want you to go online to customize your make-believe coach or owner, by downloading a pic. Not online? Sorry, you only get about 5 preset faces for both.
DRM is here, like it or not. Don't like it? well then you'll be in the video dark ages. All the exciting games, features, add-ons, etc. will be online. Like any other games in life, if you got to pay-to-play. look for games to be 70-80 for partial DRM games, and for "full" games, look to fork out another 20-30. EA, you win.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 32 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars NFL Sunday Ticket is bait and switch. game boring too, September 8, 2013
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Madden NFL 25 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
I was able to use the sunday ticket for about a half hour, after which it shut down and said I needed technical assistance to "change or upgrade" my device. I kept getting bumped to a page to subscribe and when I called the special help line they told me to call, it was a sales pitch to buy directv! I only bought the game from amazon in order to have the NFL ticket. This "special offer" apparently is a ripoff and scam. I hope that amazon and directv do the right thing and fix this problem or else refund our money. Maybe if enough people complain they will.

As for the game, my son says that it isn't that good. He didn't even want the anniversary edition, except for the special offer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Same thing every year., November 14, 2013
This review is from: Madden NFL 25 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
Another playable NFL game...but it's never worth 60 bucks. I like a lot of sports games, I like football, I'm a lifelong Steelers fan, but I am pretty sick of Madden. EA's chokehold on the NFL rights is getting really annoying, as the 2K football games were better than any EA Madden game ever made. Even NFL2k5, which is an almost 9 year old game, is better than any Madden before or since.

NFL games as a genre have potential, but EA ruins that. I truly hope the NFL will not renew the exclusive deal with EA. Please allow other game companies to work with the NFL rights. Like anything in a free market, innovation stagnates without competition. We need competitive companies making rival NFL games, we need true innovation. If other companies were competing against EA, I promise you that EA would not keep rehashing the same game, same physics engine, same graphics, same glitches and bugs, etc. year after year.

I give Madden 25 a 3/5 because it is not necessarily that bad of a game, it is enjoyable and playable, but because EA releases identical games every year, there is nothing special about this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Needs a patch - AI is much worse than Madden 13, September 3, 2013
By 
J. Mitchell (New York, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Madden NFL 25 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
This is pretty much a roster update to Madden 13 with some largely useless cosmetic and gameplay tweaks thrown in to make the game look/feel a bit different. But what is inexplicable is that the AI has some serious problems on both offense and defense that are new to this year's edition.

On offense, the run blocking AI is really messed up - particularly when blockers are pulling or going in motion, they will fail to block defenders right in front of them. As a result, the running game is pretty limited, particularly on outside runs, unless the defense lines up in a tight formation. On defense, good luck. Receivers constantly run wide open against zone coverage and it is very hard to get stops as a result. On any important passing down, you pretty much have to play man and get to the QB to have any hope of an incomplete pass (unless the receiver drops the ball, which also happens too frequently). Even then, once a pass is completed, defenders will often let the ball carrier run by without even pursuing him/attempting to tackle. The CPU doesn't have it much better, so it's very easy to have a potent passing attack if you have sure-handed WRs that don'r drop the ball. None of these issues were present (or at least, as glaring) in Madden 13, which is baffling because the game seems so similar. Hopefully they will patch the game and fix the AI, in which case this would at least be the best version of Madden yet (though still not enough change from 13 to justify a whole new purchase, in my opinion). As usual, EA has put out an unfinished product despite having a year to get it right.

I bought this game (Anniversary Edition) for the Sunday Ticket code and it'll be worth the price assuming that works as advertised, but as for the game itself, I'd rather play Madden 13 (which was itself far from perfect, but at least it more closely resembles NFL football).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 258 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Madden NFL 25 - Xbox 360
Madden NFL 25 - Xbox 360 by EA Sports (Xbox 360)
$29.99 $25.75
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.