Customer Reviews


162 Reviews
5 star:
 (67)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (24)
1 star:
 (27)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The definitive version of the game -- one whose sum is greater than its parts
Let's make this clear from the outset: this is not a brand-new game, but rather the "director's cut" of the title that released a few months back. Those expecting a whole new "Madden" will be disappointed, but look a little deeper and there's much to discover.

First, the game looks better and runs smoother; there's more detail everywhere, from...
Published 9 months ago by SED

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Coming from someone who has never played Madden - HUGE learning curve!!!
Many of the reviews you see are coming from people who have played previous version of Madden. I have not.

I can sum it up in one phrase - "Huge Learning Curve," So, before buying this game, take this phrase to heart "Know thyself". Know what kind of games you like and dislike.

To keep it short, this is not a game you will pick-up and...
Published 6 months ago by berklaw


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The definitive version of the game -- one whose sum is greater than its parts, November 25, 2013
This review is from: Madden NFL 25 - Xbox One (Video Game)
Let's make this clear from the outset: this is not a brand-new game, but rather the "director's cut" of the title that released a few months back. Those expecting a whole new "Madden" will be disappointed, but look a little deeper and there's much to discover.

First, the game looks better and runs smoother; there's more detail everywhere, from raucous crowds to sideline personnel, but it doesn't scream "next-gen" like some other titles. There's still work to be done going forward, but it's not as if "Madden 25" looks ugly -- far from it.

While the graphics might not dazzle, the immediately-noticeable improvement to the game's animations take gameplay up a notch. The war in the trenches that decide football games -- intricate battles between defensive and offensive linemen -- are far more dynamic and realistic. No longer do the lines simply ram into each other like buzzing electric football players of yore; they move with purpose, and they're a bit smarter to boot. Combine that with a more realistic running game, and one finds a new level of depth and challenge -- along with the satisfaction that come with success.

The end result is a more thoughtful and rewarding on-field experience, where play-calling and execution involves much more than snapping the ball and mashing the "sprint" button.

Unlike the last time "Madden" moved forward from one generation to the next, nothing's been left behind; all the modes you'd expect are there, from the multi-season Connected Careers mode to the card-collecting Ultimate Team -- if you're migrating from the Xbox 360 to the Xbox One, all your cards will come with you; a godsend for those that have dumped plenty of hard-earned cash into the fantasy-team extravaganza already.

It's a very solid package, filled chock-full of content, and it's easily the definitive version of "Madden 25"; a game that creeps ever closer to becoming a true-to-life simulation of the NFL.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Coming from someone who has never played Madden - HUGE learning curve!!!, February 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Madden NFL 25 - Xbox One (Video Game)
Many of the reviews you see are coming from people who have played previous version of Madden. I have not.

I can sum it up in one phrase - "Huge Learning Curve," So, before buying this game, take this phrase to heart "Know thyself". Know what kind of games you like and dislike.

To keep it short, this is not a game you will pick-up and just play. You will spend hours learning how to play it before you play it. Granted, all games have some measure of a learning curve, but the learning curve here is a different level. You practically need charts next to you to remember everything you can do.

Just be forewarned.

The graphics are great, it it has various game play options, it is, ultimately, a fun game. But requires a time commitment that some gamers may not have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars EA junk pile, January 8, 2014
This review is from: Madden NFL 25 - Xbox One (Video Game)
This game is horrible EA doesn't care, this game is strictly made for profit so many bugs and horrible graphics for next-gen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great start to a new generation and a solid foundation for the future, November 23, 2013
This review is from: Madden NFL 25 - Xbox One (Video Game)
Madden NFL 25 on Xbox One is an excellent start to this generation of football games. The graphics, presentation, and gameplay are all noticeably improved and the package is undeniably a step-up from current generation (X360, PS3) football.

Madden 25 on X360 and PS3 plays a pretty good (but not perfect) game of football. Madden 25 on X1 simply improves on the current-gen game in all aspects, which I'll quickly list here:

-Graphics. Madden on Xbox One is a gorgeous game. If you've been following the pre-release hype, you've probably heard (and maybe laughed) about EA mentioning the "blades of grass," but damn it if the grass isn't beautiful in this game, especially around center field logos. Realistic lighting, higher resolution players, coaches, equipment, and gorgeous stadiums highlight a really fantastic looking game. You definitely have to play it on a big 1080p TV to appreciate how good the game looks, since the ESPN MNF clips certainly didn't do Madden next-gen any visual justice.

-Gameplay. The big innovations here are "war in the trenches," "contextual awareness," and other miscellaneous improvements, most notably side line catches, which it seems like EA finally got right. War in the Trenches is a fantastic upgrade that people have been asking for for years and EA has done an excellent job with this feature, as the first time you see a DE bust straight through a double team is a sight to behold. Contextual Awareness is also a great feature, as it helps your RB's not run straight into their linemen and WR's and DB's make smarter plays on balls in the air. It doesn't always work, and there's some debate about how much user control should be taken away for the sake of "realism," (running, for example, is much harder on next-gen than current-gen, although this is undeniably a good thing) but I'm really digging the way next-gen Madden plays. Dropped the game speed to slow and been having a blast for two straight days.

-Presentation. There are a lot of cool new camera angles, the commentary is *slightly* better, highlights are back on Xbox One, and the crowd looks great. There are some issues here, however, as the commentary is still often inaccurate, which shatters immersion, and the Living Worlds feature hasn't lived up to the hype. I feel like the lack of women in the stadium (you get 40-60,000 men and men only) might be a bug because it seems like such a bizarre oversight. The sidelines are much improved, but still lacking, and I'd like the crowd--whether all men, all women, or both--to be more invested in the game, as it seems like their heads do not track the action and their reactions to big plays are often delayed or non-existent. Although the "Living Worlds" feature is underwhelming, I'm still happy to give Madden 25 a 5/5 on Xbox One based on the amount of fun I've had w/ the game the past 24 hours.

Overall though, this is a great looking, great playing game of football, and I haven't even begun to fool with sliders, dive into a Connected Franchise, or even figure out Coach Glass, which is Madden's unique and dynamic companion app for tablet devices using Xbox SmartGlass. There's a lot to play and do here in Madden 25 on Xbox One, which is remarkable when you think about what a stripped down, empty game Madden 06 was, which was the first Madden game on Xbox 360 and PS3. The potential for this generation is limitless at this point, and if you love football or are just looking to get the most out of your new Xbox One, then you'd be silly to pass on Madden this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I like it a LOT!!!!, March 16, 2014
By 
Seth (Wagarville, Alabama) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Madden NFL 25 - Xbox One (Video Game)
I picked this game up a few days ago, I usually favor the college football games but there aren't any available for the next generation systems so I went with there pro counterpart.

The grapics ARE updated not matter what other people are saying they might need so glasses or try being honest. The gameplay has a very realistic this time around. I find the game really fun no complaints here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of the series!, January 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Madden NFL 25 - Xbox One (Video Game)
Love the graphics. Lots of gameplay options. Madden just keeps getting better every year! You feel like you are there!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what it used to be., February 24, 2014
This review is from: Madden NFL 25 - Xbox One (Video Game)
I just don't understand how they keep getting worst? I really thought EA would turn it around with Xbox one but no. It's so buggy and the engine just feels like it has no life to it. Madden games are just a boring grind now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't Buy the game freezes, January 27, 2014
This review is from: Madden NFL 25 - Xbox One (Video Game)
This game is total joke and waste of money!!! You won't be able to play it and all you will do is try time consuming methods to get it to work. The end result is you will not be plying this game. The company that makes it claims there is no problem yet there is thousands of complaints on their web site. Just check it out....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars waiting for nfl 2k, January 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Madden NFL 25 - Xbox One (Video Game)
Fun to play when it work's. You can tell it was rushed or they just don't care anymore. This game needs major updates.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing, December 28, 2013
This review is from: Madden NFL 25 - Xbox One (Video Game)
I love football but I'm extremely disappointed in the quality of the game. The graphics are very disappointing for a brand new console. The players motions aren't very fluid. It plays the same three arena anthem songs when you are driving the ball down the field. The commentators keep repeating the same thing over and over and a lot of their comments don't fit into what's happening on the field. It seems like EA Sports was in a rush to put this game together in time for the release. There needs to be a bunch of patches to fix some bugs I've seen. Its also the only Xbox one game that has frozen on me. In fact its done it multiple times. I would trade it in at Game Stop if I knew they'd give me more then $9 for it. EA needs to give up its license with the NFL so another company could make a NFL game maybe then EA would actually put some effort into it every year. Rent it before you buy I wish I had!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Madden NFL 25 - Xbox One
Madden NFL 25 - Xbox One by Electronic Arts (Xbox One)
$29.99 $22.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.