Listen for $0.00 with
Join Amazon Prime now
Get unlimited, ad-free access to over a million songs and hundreds of playlists, free with Amazon Prime.

Made Up Mind

August 20, 2013 | Format: MP3

Join Amazon Prime to add this album to your library for FREE
$10.99 to buy
Song Title
Popularity Prime  
Your Amazon Music account is currently associated with a different marketplace. To enjoy Prime Music, go to Your Music Library and transfer your account to (US).

Product Details

  • Original Release Date: August 16, 2013
  • Release Date: August 20, 2013
  • Label: Masterworks
  • Record Company Required Metadata: Music file metadata contains unique purchase identifier. Learn more.
  • Total Length: 52:56
  • Genres:
  • Average Customer Review: 4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (262 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #14,907 Paid in Albums (See Top 100 Paid in Albums)

Customer Reviews

Great songs from the most talented band in music today.
Garry Rowe
I really dig their music and I think this album is a good improvement on their earlier stuff.
Kyle A J
The songs are pretty good on this record, however the vinyl pressing is not.

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

38 of 40 people found the following review helpful By r.j. zurek on August 20, 2013
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
For their third recording, the Tedeschi Trucks Band have developed a sound all their own that only comes from musicians playing together as a true collective-everyone shares the same musical goal and the song is more important than the individual participants.

The band's 2011 release, "Revelator" was an introduction of the combined efforts of the Susan Tedeschi and Derek Truck's bands, at one time known as the Soul Stew revival. Songwriting was the key, and the band delivered with original, quality compositions.Last year's "Everybody's Talkin'" captured the group in jam band mode and every member-ELEVEN musicians-were featured on this double disc, especially Susan and Derek sharing guitar duties. "Made Up Mind" shows a band with more confidence, more comfortable as the leading contemporary soul/blues/rock band performing today.

The title track jumps out with Derek's driving guitar. Susan has shown unmatched growth as a lead vocalist over the years. When she started out, comparisons were made to Bonnie Raitt. This is a good thing, of course, but Susan has been showing her early start with Gospel. As a child, she attended African-American Baptist churches and sang in the Gospel choir at the Berklee College of Music. You can't help but BELIEVE her when she sings "sure as the moon and the stars gonna rise, I've got a made up mind".

"Idle Wind" is quite a departure for the group. Susan again is featured with a beautiful vocal, but the interplay between Derek's slide and Kofi Burbridge's flute is unexpected-and engaging. Burbridge is also featured on clavinet and B3 on "Misunderstood", while the dual drums of J.J. Johnson and Tyler Greenwell drive the band.
Read more ›
2 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
28 of 30 people found the following review helpful By G. E. Harrison on August 20, 2013
Format: Audio CD
The track "Made up mind" carries on from where their last studio CD 'Revelator' left off - a swinging funky song with Susan belting out the vocals, Derek's wonderful slide guitar and the full band piling in behind them. "Do I look worried" is a more restrained song that slowly builds, with a great hook and some lovely guitar, were as "Idle wind" sounds like early Jethro Tull with its acoustic guitar and flute intro but that too builds with the brass joining the flute for some really nice lyrical ensemble playing. "Misunderstood" and "Part of me" are more mid-tempo funk tracks with riffing brass and wah-wah guitar, while "It's so heavy" and "Sweet and low" are slow-burning soul ballads and "All that I need" is a melodic song that is half way between a ballad and one of the mid-tempo funk work outs. "The storm" begins with powerful guitar from Derek and the track finishes with an extended solo where he mixes blues slide with Indian raga. The album finishes with the beautiful "Calling out to you", a duet with Derek's fabulous acoustic slide guitar and Susan delivering bucolic hippy lyrics.

There is some wonderful playing on this record and once again Susan's voice is absolutely sublime throughout but for me the record doesn't completely deliver on the promise of their debut CD. It must be really hard to come up with material that combines all 11 members of the band and even though they write songs with outside help from Doyle Bramhall, Sonja Kitchell, Oliver Wood and John Leventhal amongst others I did feel that some of the songs were a bit average and stuck in a 'Mad Dogs and Englishmen tribute band' mode. Despite Susan's wonderful vocals I did really enjoy trombonist Saunders Sermons sharing the vocals on "Part Of Me" and I still feel that Mike Mattinson is wasted just as a backing singer and think that he could have been given at least one song to sing.
6 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful By Russ Bashaw on August 22, 2013
Format: MP3 Music
Derek and Susan and company are back with Made Up Mind, the follow up to the 2011 grammy winning Revelator. Fans saw a unique fusion of Derek Trucks' band and his wife Susan Tedeschi's band to create the Tedeschi Trucks band and Relevator delivered. While I did have a few minor complaints about Revelator I thought it was a solid album and was glad to see it do well. For those unfamiliar with Derek Trucks he is arguably the best blues player on the planet right now and in my opinion the best slide guitar player ever.

Having double digit members in your band has to be stressful in the creative process of writing an album but Made Up Mind does a good job of dispersing and showcasing the musical talent. Fans of instruments will feast on Made Up Mind as the album offers a plethora of horn, flute, percussion, piano, and guitar. Derek still steals the show as expected on songs like "Do I Look Worried" and the jam blues track "The Storm". I'm a huge fan of the longer instrumentals and extended jams that we all know this band is capable of, "The Storm" fills that void and I can't wait to hear it in a live atmosphere. Sadly my one main criticism of Revelator remains on Made Up Mind , where is Mike Mattison? The former lead singer of Derek's band is virtually nonexistent and is reduced to backup vocals which really is too bad. As enamored as I am with Susan's voice, I really would've like to see what Mike could do on a few of these tracks. I'm probably in the minority but I feel as if a powerful opportunity has been missed.

Overall Made Up Mind is an excellent album that adds even more credibility to the band's exquisite live catalogue. If as a blues fan you haven't had the opportunity to hear this band live I implore you to do so as the studio is a difficult place to capture the essence of what many call the soul stew revival. Find more reviews at [...]
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?