Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Madison Blues
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available
  • To view this video download Flash Player

Madison Blues Import

See all 4 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Audio CD, Import, December 2, 2003
$93.99 $29.13

Editorial Reviews

Live and studio recordings from the early 70s. All tracks unissued including a unique studio session of Christine McVie with her band before joining Fleetwood Mac, performing as the Christine Perfect Band. Rare Jeremy Spencer recording of one of his mimic performances of Elvis Presley titled 'The King Speaks'. Includes DVD disc (NTSC/All Regions) with a 96 minute Jeremy Spencer interview from Feb. 19th, 2002. 29 tracks packaged in 3 CD envelopes & housed in a clam shell box. Shakedown Records. 2003.

Disc: 1
1. Hey Baby
2. It's You I Miss
3. Gone into the Sun
4. Tell Me You Need Me
5. Crazy About You (Can't Hold Out Much Longer)
6. Down at the Crown
7. Tell Me All the Things You Do
8. Station Man
9. Purple Dancer
10. Station Man
See all 16 tracks on this disc
Disc: 2
1. Madison Blues
2. Purple Dancer
3. Open the Door
4. Preaching Blues
5. Dust My Broom
6. Get Like You Used to Be
7. Don't Go, Please Stay
8. Station Man
9. I'm on My Way
10. Jailhouse Rock
See all 13 tracks on this disc

Product Details

  • Audio CD (December 2, 2003)
  • Number of Discs: 3
  • Format: Import
  • Label: dr.ca
  • ASIN: B0000DFZDB
  • Average Customer Review: 3.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (6 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,671,538 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Customer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

17 of 20 people found the following review helpful By kireviewer VINE VOICE on April 26, 2006
Format: Audio CD
This originally came as a three disc set: 2CD's and 1 interview DVD. The discs come in sealed paper enevelopes that you have to rip open. There is an 8 page booklet that gives some background what the group was up to and some history of the recordings. It comes in a cardboard box, the size of the CD's.

The original version was much more expensive than this. So, I don't know if it still comes with the interview DVD.

Note that there is also a different live CD called Madison Blues that features Fleetwood Mac in the earlier days with Peter Green.

The DVD is an hour and 20 minute interview of Jeremy Spencer from 2002. It basically covers his whole life and isn't that interesting. There are a few notable insights (like Peter Green wanted to stick to basic blues and Spencer wasn't on Then Play On).

The CD's come from the Fleetwood Mac era of Christine McVie, Danny Kirwan and Jeremy Spencer.

The first CD is 72 minutes long and is a collection of studio and live tracks. The first 4 tracks are studio recordings of Christine McVie's band when she was a solo artist going under her maiden name Christine Perfect. They are pretty good and might be the best thing on this whole boxset. However, they don't sound complete, like they were not quite finished for release on a album. The songs were not included on her solo album.

The next set of songs are "live studio" recordings of Fleetwood Mac, when Christine McVie was not quite an official member of the band. They are basically studio outtakes from Kiln House. There are alternative versions of Tell Me All the Things You Do and other songs. The sound quality is fairly good.

The remainder of the first disc is various live performances from Fleetwood Mac.
Read more ›
5 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful By R. Tone on January 15, 2008
Format: Audio CD
I could not disagree more with the reviewer who said that "The Purple Dancer" is the worst song Danny Kirwan wrote. In point of fact, I think it is the stand-out track of the entire boxed set. The lyrics are dream-like and sort of trippy with striking imagery, and Danny's guitar work throughout is stellar and breathtaking. Both versions are fantastic, but the longer one with the jam is truly amazing. I'd give anything to have been at that concert! In addition, there is "Open the Door," another of Danny's very poignant songs, beautifully rendered, and "Down at the Crown," a great rocker of Danny's that can only be found here. On top of all that, there are really great extended, live versions of his "Station Man" and "Tell Me All the Things You Do," which must have been fantastic to watch in concert.

I definitely could do without Jeremy Spencer's derivative '50s stuff, and Christine McVie is in irritatingly bad voice on some of the tracks, which is why I was astounded to see that the liner notes portray this set as a sort of "Christine McVie show." These CDs are really at heart all about Danny Kirwan and his remarkable talent, and just as important, his tremendous influence on the direction the Mac took at a critical period in their musical evolution, extending many years into the future of the band.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By lonesome crow on December 3, 2007
Format: Audio CD
I completely disagree with the previous review on this album , especially the part of Purple Dancer being the worst song Kirwan ever wrote. Purple Dancer is one of the most sought after songs of the early FM era,and even though it is not the original release,it's available only on this set. And maybe it's not perfect,but this release is solid and raw and it captures fleetwood Mac during the Kiln house tour which was short lived , due to Jeremy Spencer's dissapearance from the band to join the children of god. Also I would like to add that it is rare to find any fleetwood mac live recordings between the eras of the band that was after the Peter Green days, and Before the Buckingham , Nicks era. So in my opinion if you are a FM fan of all the eras, you will be glad this is available. Let's just hope it stays available , and maybe there will so some recordings released during the "Future Games" or "Bare Trees" era.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?