Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

65 of 66 people found the following review helpful
on December 22, 2001
This is a must buy for all Madonna fans. The DVD is in standard format and contains 13 tracks. The sound quality is outstanding. The video tracks included are: Lucky Star, Borderline, Like A Virgin, Material Girl, Papa Dont Preach, Open Your Heart, La Isla Bonita, Like A Prayer, Express Yourself, Cherish, Oh Father, Vougue & a live performance of Vouge.
The DVD contains a video selection feature so you can jump right to your favorite video. Unfortunately, several videos were missing off of this collection. They were: Burning Up, Everybody, Dress You Up, Crazy For You, The Gambler, Into The Groove, Live To Tell, True Blue, Who's That Girl and Causing A Commotion.
I guess we will have to wait until Madonna releases a full video archive to obtain the complete collection.
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
105 of 118 people found the following review helpful
Here are the first basic 12 Madonna videos (it's missing a few) and a fabulous live performance:
Lucky Star - on this DVD, you get the rare extended version not available on the VHS version! Very cool, indeed!
Borderline - Aw, Mo's first storyline video. She's so cute with her black and white striped hat and spray painting the white car. A classic!
Like A Virgin - Men are beasts. Isn't that fun? ;) It's Mo frolicking in a gondola in Venice and looking sexy with her own brown mane. And the lion tongue pounding along with the rhythm? I remember being 8 years old and laughing crazily at that. Those were the times, weren't they?
Material Girl - Ok, although Maddy may hate this song, you have to admit that the video is pretty groovy. My favorite is in the beginning when the guy brings her a necklace and we get to hear her talking to her pal about how she's not into material things. Can we say, "sassy"?
Papa Don't Preach - I have to admit, I hate this song. I don't know why, but I do. The video? Eh, to have a baby, to not have a baby. Blah, blah, blah. I'm also not a Danny Aiello fan, so I can't say much about this clip. Although many like it, I'm not one of them.
Open Your Heart - I really like this song, and Madonna looks cool in her black wig, but I'm just not down with this whole short blond hair thing. She looks horrible, although this was our first introduction to those infamous cone bras. This is another 'blah' video, imho, but it's okay once in awhile.
La Isla Bonita - Maddy looks great in this one with her natural brown hair color and this song is just a great. One thing: who's that ugly man she's singing to? *L* Just a question. A cool video, though!
Like A Prayer - I know that everyone loves this video - and hey! I'm with them. This is such a coolified video. My favorite part is when she's dancing in the field with the burning crosses because she looks great, and I love when she's in the church with the choir. Another classic!
Express Yourself - The chains, the cat, the sexy models, the scary bald guy, and that sexy suit she wears whilst grabbing her crotch. What a brilliant video! I love it, one of Mo's best ever.
Cherish - This is a fun and carefree video that is really airy and a joy to watch. Watching Mo showing off as if she's being on a home video is just classic and the mer people are quite sexy! Very cool!
Oh Father - This is a really sad video, and shows Madonna's childhood and how it reflected her adult life. She truly looks beautiful as she's singing in the snow and when she's in the confessional. A wonderful video.
Vogue - Madonna's grande masterpiece. I'm sure you've seen it about a million times, and you're probably aware it made close to the top of all the "Best Video" Countdowns at the end of the millennium. Very sophisticated and timeless.
Vogue (Live from the 1990 MTV VMA's) - one of Madonna's best remembered performances. She's obviously lip-synching, but this proves that she puts on a fabulous show and you're not even thinking about the technicalities (or lack thereof). If you've been burned out on the other 12 selections, then make this your main objective - it's classic if ever there was one in Madonna's musical history.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
on July 30, 2000
Although it is not a complete collection of her videos since her early beginnings, Madonna's "Immaculate Collection," features some of her greatest videos that made her an MTV darling throughout the 1980's. From her very first video, "Borderline," to the last video before her pre-"Erotica" days, "Vogue," Madonna truly captures the essence of an empowered woman in Reagan/Bush years that were known as the 80's.
While the video and sound quality are great, I was disappointed that this video collection omiited two of my favorite videos: "Burning Up," and "Into the Groove." Both songs are very strong in beats, and it is a disgrace that the the compilation's producers omitted these videos. While many might see "Into the Groove," as being some type of music video-infomercial promoting Madonna's 1985 feature film debut, "Desperately Seeking Susan," I would still have included it because it was her greatest dance song that decade.
The other thing I disliked, that unlike many music video compilations available on DVD, there is not an option for the lyrics to Madonna's song to be played onscreen. This is one feature I feel that most music video compilations on DVD should have.
Madonna still reigns supreme, however check out this collection to see how she became the idol she is today. You'll see the transformation right in front of your eyes.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
on January 5, 2006
if one was to ask a DVD creator "can you make me a one hour DVD that symbolizes the 1980's", what you'd get would be similar to this. Madonna's Immaculate Collection video collection, originally released on VHS in 1990 to coincide with the release of the CD of the same title, and on DVD in the summer of 1999.

Madonna was without a doubt the biggest artist on MTV for quite some time, and here are twelve reasons why:

1. Lucky Star - this is the uncut extended version that differs slightly from the single edit version that got so much MTV airplay in the fall of 1984. Plain and but sexy, with a young Madonna strutting her stuff with two backup dancers.

2. Borderline - the song that brought her to the top 10 for the "very first time". An innocent youthful Madonna as a rising model whose boyfriend feels left behind. One of the first times most of America saw her.

3. Like A Virgin - Madonna in Paris on a gondola, with a tiger-man following her. One of her most played videos (it was #10 on MTV's MTV 500 countdown back in 1997)

4. Material Girl - An icon is born, basing itself on a classic Marilyn Monroe film sequence, Madonna became pop's ultimate sex symbol, nice storyline too where Keith Carradine is a producer who falls for her.

5. Papa Don't Preach - fast forward a year, new haircut, less makeup, nowhere as much jewelry. Madonna as a young woman who finds out she's pregnant and tells her father (Danny Aiello)

6. Open Your Heart - one of my favorite Madonna clips, where she works as a dancer at a sex club, while a young boy admirer watches from a distance, is he her brother? her son? what?!?! whatever, the video was still fun

7. La Isla Bonita - Madonna is a lonely, religious woman who has a "other half" who likes to dance and party. Be on the lookout for a really young Benicio del Toro in the video

8. Like A Prayer - she does it!! Madonna officially makes a video that truly proves she is a video icon. It's one of those videos that words can't describe because it has to be seen to be understood, and it is great.

9. Express Yourself - Madonna is sexy again, this time based on the classic Metropolis, a very daring and shocking video for its time even though as the years have passed, it's rather tame

10. Cherish - one of the weakest videos of the set, but a nice return to somewhat innocence after the last two groundbreakers, Madonna meets Splash.

11. Oh Father - the most autobiographical video she'd done up to this point. As someone who has lost my mother, I understand how Madonna feels with this song and video, a true work of art.

12. Vogue - easily the ultimate dance track of Madonna's career, a wonderfully stylish black and white video filmed during rehearsals for the Blond Ambition tour

Bonus - Vogue (1990 Video Music Awards) - another classic performance, I remember watching this as it aired. Madonna set in the 1800's.

Hopefully one of these days, a video collection will come along that is complete and supplants both this and "Video Collection 1993-1999", but until that time comes, this is what you should buy, along with 93-99. Other great collections to check out if you're a fan of this era include Cyndi Lauper's "Twelve Deadly Cyns", Janet Jackson's "Design Of A Decade", Eurythmics' "Greatest Hits", Olivia Newton-John's "Video Gold 1" and "Video Gold 2", Prince's "The Hits Collection" and Michael Jackson's "HIStory On Film Vol. 1". Along with "Video Collection 1993-1999" by Madonna, which covers the 90's.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on March 13, 2006
I love Madonna!!!!! I purchased the original VHS version back when it first came out -- And now the DVD version, and the reproduction quality is REALLY POOR! The videos are blurry -- its as if they lost the original (or was not able to obtain it) and used a copy to make the DVD. For example, In the video "Pappa Don't Preach", in some of the "low light" parts, you cant even make out their faces - total silhouette... not so on the VHS version.

But there are two BIG SURPRISES on the DVD that was edited out on the VHS version --- Madonna had (2) wardrobe malfunctions in her dance sequences in the "Pappa Don't Preach" video, - two total breast shots with full nipple exposure on both!!! Sorry Miss Jackson...Looks like Madonna did it first again!

Overall, most of the videos on the DVD were not as crisp and clear as the original VHS version.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on July 25, 2000
I was impressed with the number of quality hit songs Madonna turned out in such a short period of time (This collection covers 1983-90). These videos being back great memories of growing up in the 1980s -- and when it comes to presenting unforgettable visuals with pop music, they were exemplary.
Be forewarned -- the video quality of this DVD is surprisingly subpar. I don't know if the problem is inherent in the original masters being 10-15 years old or not, but this DVD plays like a typical VHS copy. (The problem is not evident in the other Madonna video collection -- '93-99').
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
I've had the video & CD of this for years now, so was happy to get the DVD for Christmas, but disappointed at the same time. My video's version of Like A Prayer was probably worn out, but as I hadn't watched the video in years, a lot of it was new to me. But it's also disappointing, how a few of the classics on the album are missed off the DVD.

For example Crazy For You (a particular favourite of mine after Like A Prayer), Into The Groove, Live To Tell, Justify My Love & Rescue Me are all missing. Instead in their place, are Oh Father, a song I'd previously never heard of, and an MTV awards performance of Vogue. I definitely think the missing songs should have been added on too.

As I've said already, I love Like A Prayer, and started my passion for having black hair when I was young, as I wanted to look like Madonna when I was young. I never understood this video when I was young, but for some reason it struck a chord with me. I understand more of it now I'm older, but some things which were fussed over in the press when it originally came out, aren't really portrayed that much in the video. Sure, the black Jesus is there, but Madonna & him getting down & dirty on the altar is only implied. You'd think the press would have got their facts right! I also love the choir in this, it adds a whole other dimension to the video.

After watching this right the way through, I've also discovered I LOVE Oh Father, coming a close third after Like A Prayer and Crazy For You. It's a black & white video, and Madonna is brilliant in it, from showing her mother's death, to the way her father dealt with it, and how things turned out. This video also struck a chord with me, and left me feeling very emotional afterwards, much as Crazy For You does.

The last video on this is an MTV awards performance of Vogue, with Madonna and her dancers dressed up in fancy Victorian clothes. Despite the fact it's glaringly obvious Madonna's lip-synching, it's all good, as it shows just how far Madonna will go (and how much further she's gone in recent years) to try and shock people. Her male dancers disappear under her skirts, and grabbing her chest at random points throughout the song, and the dancing's fantastic.

Ask any female pop star around at the moment, who influenced them and made them become a singer, they'll say without hesitation, Madonna. They're hardly likely to say Cher are they?
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on November 17, 2005
First and foremost, the idea of DVD technology is to take advantage of the considerable space. With the amount of early Madonna videos around, this DVD should have included them. While what's on offer are fantastic, it is not really worth the money for only 13 videos. Missing videos (which we all know and love) include:

- Burnin' Up

- Dear Jessie

- Justify my Love

- Crazy for You

- Live to Tell

- Causing a Commotion

- True Blue

That is seven videos that would have made this a nice collection of 20 songs, instead of only 13. Do we really need two versions of "Vogue" when we could have perhaps got one of the above?

Overall, a good DVD ... but not great, simply because it misses so much.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
on November 17, 2002
The Immaculate Collection was released in 1990 to accompany the album of the same name. The two went hand in hand as a celebration of Madonna's incredible achievements from 1983-1990, and sold by the million. The Immaculate Collection CD sold inexcess of 22 million worldwide and is considered by many to be one of the most accomplished and essential greatest hits collections of all-time. The album was so successful that the video of the same name often gets left in the shade, which is a great shame as it contains some of the most thought-provoking and controversial works of music video art of all-time. In this review of The Immaculate Collection video, I will be rating the videos out of ten - firstly on the song, then on the video...

The Immaculate Collection opens with Lucky Star (9/10, 7/10). This amazing dance/pop song was taken from Madonna's self-titled debut album in 1984. The video isn't very good, but music videos didn't need to be in the early days of MTV. It basically consists of a white background as Madonna dances around with a few dancers. We then move onto Borderline (10/10, 9/10), a much more accomplished video. The video features Madonna aimlessly walking around the streets following the man of her dreams - yet everytime she tries to get with him, he walks away. The next video is Like A Virgin (10/10, 10/10). This was the song that made Madonna the superstar she is today with its cheeky and saucy suggestions. Madonna prances around on a gondola in Venice trying desperately to shock the world and maintain a sex-kitten image - one that would have a much greater impact seven years later! This video is followed by Material Girl (10/10, 10/10). Madonna was being compared a lot to Marilyn Monroe in the early 1980's, so she decided to encorporate this into the video for Material Girl. She re-inacts Monroe's famous scene from the 1950's classic Gentlemen Prefer Blondes. (...)tube gown and showered in jewellery, she is followed around by a legion of men. A very good video - and a classic, well it is Madonna! The next three videos are from Madonna's third album, 1986's True Blue. Papa Don't Preach (10/10, 10/10) is the fifth video on The Immaculate Collection. This worldwide No.1 smash dealt with the teenage angst and heart-ache of an unwanted pregnancy. Madonna sells the song from the bottom of her heart and the video is absolutely superb - definetly one of Madonna's greatest songs/videos ever. This video is followed by Open Your Heart (9/10, 8/10). This controversial video shows Madonna as a stripper in a peep show on a chair. This was the first time the world got to see Madonna's now legendary conical bra on full show with its gold tassles! The seventh video is La Isla Bonita (10/10, 9/10). This Spanish-influenced classic track has some beautiful lyrics and superb beats. The video is set in Spain (or Latin America) and sees Madonna in a stunning red and black polka-dot Flamenco dress. Probably the most relaxing and beautifully produced video of them all...

The Immaculate Collection continues in true Madonna style with the video to Like A Prayer (10/10, 10/10). Easily the most controversial music video of the 1980's, Madonna decided to explore themes such as a black Jesus, stigmata, interracial kissing, burning crosses and statues crying blood in her video for Like A Prayer. The controversy surrounding the video only saw record sales soar as the Like A Prayer album shifted more than 15 million copies worldwide. The video recently landed at No.2 in VH1 USA's 100 Greatest Videos Of All-Time, behind Michael Jackson's Thriller. We then move onto Express Yourself (10/10, 10/10). This huge video cost $1 million to make and was the second most expensive music video of the 1980's - second only to (again!) Michael Jackson's Thriller. In the video, Madonna is the boss of a huge company as she sits up on her pedestal with her cats, smoking cigarettes, dancing while taking the mick out of Mr Jackson (crotch grabbing, ahem!) and exploring her sexuality by getting what she wants - a real girl power video that shows women can be all the things men get praised for. The tenth video on The Immaculate Collection is Cherish (10/10, 9/10). Taken from the Like A Prayer album, this superb song is deserving of praise all-round because of Madonna's sunlight and valentine lyrics on an otherwise dark and mysterious album. The video is black and white and was directed by legendary photographer Herb Ritts, who went on to direct other famous beach videos such as that of Britney Spears' Don't Let Me Be The Last To Know. This video is followed by another black and white video, Oh Father (9/10, 8/10). This was another controversial video, condemned for its child violence. The song is about Madonna as a child and how her strict upbringing often caused her misery and pain. The final video in this collection is Vogue (10/10, 10/10) - another black and white video! This song is officially Madonna's biggest selling single to date - a record that still stands 13 years later! Madonna is seen in her famous conical bra and pays homage to 16 of her idols. The video also came in a No.8 on VH1 UK's list of the 100 Greatest Videos Of All-Time.

OVERALL GRADE: 10/10

I often regard The Immaculate Collection CD and video to be one of the most essential pieces of merchandise around. Just like the Erotica album and the Sex book, this collection is a must for every Madonna fanatic. To miss out on this video collection would be to ignore some of the most thought-provoking, celebrated and controversial works of music video art of all-time. Anyway, The Immaculate Collection is a must have for all you mad fans on Madonna - buy it now...from Amazon of course!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on November 22, 2002
Don't get me wrong, this video collection is awesome. I previously only had the VHS video. After getting the DVD and seeing the so-called "extended version" of Lucky Star, I was REALLY disappointed. This is a REMIX video people. They totally cheesed up this video and made it look so much more dated by adding dumb effects. They shold have put in the VHS version. Also, they should have put Justify My Love on this DVD. Anyway, Madonna's videos (the original versions!) are awesome so of course she gets 5 stars.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
     
 
Customers who viewed this also viewed

Immaculate Collection
Immaculate Collection by Madonna (Audio CD - 1990)

 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.