Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$9.16+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 9, 2001
I got decent grades in college Spanish; two “A-‘s” and a “B+.” However, when I needed to actually speak Spanish, I was lost. I couldn’t say much except “Mas cervezas, por favor (More beer, please)!”
"Madrial’s Magic Key", along with the expensive (but quite worth it) Pimsleur tapes, have corrected the “mis-education” I was subjected to. The drills Ms. Madrigal presents are easy to remember and fun to do, not like those tedious translations and verb conjugations that college texts are so fond of. In two months, studying this book in my spare time, I retained more Spanish than I did in an entire academic year. And, for the first time, I can actually say that I understand Spanish.
I would supplement this book with a comprehensive book on Spanish grammar (I have the Barron’s, but I suppose any would work) and a dictionary. I would definitely recommend “Breaking Out of Beginner’s Spanish” by Joseph Keenan for an in depth take on colloquial Spanish as well. Further, if you have the money, buy the "Pimsleur Comprehensive" series as well. Get vol.’s 1-3, even though they are pricey. If you are an audio/tactile learner like me, I guarantee that you will retain more Spanish idioms using the Pimsleur method than any other.
1313 comments| 693 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 10, 2004
Magic Key to Spanish is one of those rare books that you come back to again again, it inspires progress and there's so much to learn from it- it's certainly not going to be a dust gatherer if learning Spanish is what you truly want. If I've convinced you already buy it- if not read on.
The book starts with a very positive introduction and goes on to explain that an English speaker already knows hundreds if not thousands of words in Spanish and it gives you the rules that unlock this 'magic key' to Spanish. It then moves on to teach you grammar in a very novel way, none of the boring conjungations that had to be learnt by rote when doing languages at school. She starts with the past tense as this is how we speak to friends and then moves through much of the essential grammar required to Speak, Read and write Spanish.
I would recommend this book to all beginners in Spanish. It has got two downsides which are the layout, which is now dated (it was written in the early 1950's with Andy Warhol as the illustrator) and also (for me living in England) the fact that the emphasis is on South American Spanish not peninsular Spanish.
I wish the Magic Key to French and German were still in print as I have made substanital progress with my Spanish using this book, the method obviously works. If the publisher is reading this, please consider a reprint of the other two editions given the success of the Spanish version.
The late Margarita Madrigal was ahead of her time as the method she used in this book is akin to what trainers would now call Accerlerated Learning. A word of warning, make sure that you do all of the exercises and tests or you will not be learning to your full potential.
I recommend that you buy this book and use it in tandem with an audio course either the Pimsleur series (expensive) or Michel Thomas would be great- as these will give you the pronunciation which you will require to progress further. Both the audio courses are structured so that there is no repetition and so you have to consciously form the language and remain motivated not bored. If you would like more in-depth information on Spanish grammar I highly recommend 'Buscalo'
Hope this helps you with your introduction to the beautiful and very useful Spanish language- buena suerte!
66 comments| 297 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 27, 1999
I have searched for years to find good books to teach myself Spanish, and this one is head and shoulders above the rest. The clear structured organization and presentation make it easy to read and to study. Most others are too basic or, it seems, oriented to very young students. If you are seriously interested in teaching yourself conversational Spanish, then this book will be very helpful. It progresses at a good rate, integrates vocabulary painlessly and uses excercises that build conversational ability. If you are interested in teaching yourself Spanish, then this book is very effective. It uses some very effective shortcuts. For example, it omits the familiar form which reduces the number of verb forms without limiting your ability to comunicate. Many books seem oriented to college course work and seem tediously and academically oriented to stucture and detail, rules and form. This book does not suffer these defiencies. It is committed to teaching you to communicate in Spanish easily (at least as easily as possible)and effectively. I am just someone who wanted to learn to speak Spanish and for that purpose, I found it very effective.
33 comments| 215 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 13, 2002
Since the original date of publication (1951), the Real Academia de la Lengua Española (guardian of the Spanish Language) officially removed the accents on some one-syllable words. The old spellings appear in the book. For example, in Chapter 31 (common irregular verbs), these words have changed:
Old form: ví, vió, dí, dió, fuí, fué
New form: vi, vio, di, dio, fui, fue
(NOTE: this is not a complete list!)
Old spellings also appear in exercises using these words.
These changes don't change the pronunciation of the words! Accent marks are used to show how a word should be written in accordance with the way it is pronounced. The rules on pronouncing weak-weak, weak-strong, strong-weak and strong-strong vowel combinations apply: so, for example, vio (new form) sounds the same as vió (old form).
This is a great book for learning Spanish. Don't let the age of it throw you.
My plug for a top-notch dictionary: get the Pocket Oxford Spanish Dictionary Second Edition (2000).
0Comment| 120 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 3, 2012
Did you Know, "You already know 30-40% of the Spanish language?". Most all of the powerful language learning books and materials came out of the 1950's & 60's. “This was the Golden Age of language learning”, as Dr Alexander Arguelles would say. This is one of those books from that era and it will show in a very systematic way how English and Spanish are close relatives. (NOTE: if you do not know who Dr. Alexander Arguelles is check him out on his site foreignlanguageexpertise.com)

What Margarita does in this book is PURE Genius. Simplistic, methodical and easy-to-understand as she puts the pieces of this beautiful Spanish language puzzle together for you to use, to Speak, Read or Write Spanish.

I think this book, along with a few other materials will get you up to level 2 beginning Level 3 in the The Interagency Language Roundtable (ILR) scale in 3 to 6 months. The other materials I would Highly Suggest is...

1) Michel Thomas Total Spanish about $60.00, Spanish with Michel Thomas (Michel Thomas Series) I would give it 5 STAR (because of Michel's teaching but the young Male student is distracting) Total/Deluxe/Foundation Spanish with the Michel Thomas Method is ALL the Same program,same recordings, just release from different publishers and times.
and/or Paul Noble's Spanish Program Learn Spanish with Paul Noble for about $55.00 I own both of them. I give Paul 5 STAR... because Paul uses Authentic Spanish speakers (NO Students messing you up) ... ( Prices reflect at the time of this Review)

Michel and Paul's Programs really puts Madrigals book into action and the two programs working really well together. Speak Spanish - Instantly. No books. No writing. No memorizing. Michel Thomas teaches you through the English language (cognates), so there's no stress, and no anxiety. He builds it up, step by step, and you don't move on until you've absorbed and understood the previous point. And, as Michel Thomas said, "What you understand, you know; and what you know, you don't forget." With parallels to the way you learned your own language, each language is learned in "real-time" conditions. Both Spanish Program Method's contains about 12 hours of audio on CD.

2) See It and Say It... about $4.00 See It and Say It in Spanish

This is a great little book to take with you on the go. It's sort of a Cliff Notes version of The Magic Key and with pictures it will help keep the words and phases in your long term memory. Fun book to have.

3) Open Door to Spanish: A Conversation Course for Beginners, Book 1 and 2 (2nd Edition)... About $4.00 each Open Door to Spanish: A Conversation Course for Beginners, Book 1 (2nd Edition) Open Door to Spanish: A Conversation Course for Beginners, Book 2 (2nd Edition)

Each book has 20 Lessons for you to take what you have learned from The Magic Key and do more reinforced lessons around her methodology. You really Don't need recording if you have gone through Michel or Paul Cd programs. If you get caught on a word or phase with pronunciation, you have Google Translation or Forvo to fall back on.

4) The Big Red Book of Spanish Vocabulary: 30,000 Words Including Cognates, Roots, and Suffixes (Big Book of Verbs Series) …. about $10.00 The Big Red Book of Spanish Vocabulary: 30,000 Words Including Cognates, Roots, and Suffixes (Big Book of Verbs Series)

This is a MUST Have book... it is a complete reference for your vocabulary building efforts that you will do in the most Simplicity way. This unique and complete resource combines three complementary approaches to vocabulary building'cognates, root families, and suffixes'to instantly increase word familiarity and aid memorization. 14,000 Cognates are grouped in a Thesaurus, arranged so the group in the first section deal with the subjects of general interest (I love the way this Book it is laid out) ... 130 Spanish Suffixes with 4,600 examples... Frequency table which includes 5,000 words and so much more.

5) Spanish English Bilingual Visual Dictionary (DK Visual Dictionaries)... about $10.00 Spanish English Bilingual Visual Dictionary (DK Visual Dictionaries)

A Great range of useful current vocabulary in thematic order, using full-color photographs and artworks to display and label all the elements of everyday life — from the home and office to sport, music, nature, and the countries of the world — with panel features on key nouns, verbs, and useful phrases. As they say “Pictures are worth a thousand words” and that is how your mind operates.

6) Berlitz Spanish Phrase Book & CD $4.00 Berlitz Latin American Spanish Phrase Book & CD (English and Spanish Edition) Berlitz Latin American Spanish Phrase Book & CD (Spanish Edition)

A Good Phase book is a must. Keep it on you at all times, most of them are small enough you can fit in your pocket. I like Berlitz, but you can get another one that many Polyglots like, Lonely Planet Spanish Phrasebook and Audio CD Lonely Planet Spanish Phrasebook and Audio CD (Lonely Planet Phrasebook: Spanish)

7) NTC's Dictionary of Spanish Cognates Thematically Organized … about $8.00 NTC's Dictionary of Spanish Cognates Thematically Organized

You will have 20,000 English and Spanish cognates--grouped into 100 topics under 20 themes.Easy and Awesome. Along with The Big Red Book of Spanish Vocabulary these two books will blow your mind on how the Spanish language can be learned much easier then thought before. Thank you Rose Nash Ph.D for creating both of them.

8) Fluent Forever: How to Learn Any Language Fast and Never Forget It … about $12.00 Fluent Forever: How to Learn Any Language Fast and Never Forget It

This is an AWESOME Book for laying a foundation to learning languages. Check out Gabe's YOUTUBE Channel.... Tons of Great stuff. He shows you how to use SRS like ANKI, a FREE phone app you can use.
Starting with pronunciation, you’ll learn how to rewire your ears and turn foreign sounds into familiar sounds. You'll retrain your tongue to produce those sounds accurately, using tricks from opera singers and actors. Next, you'll begin to tackle words, and connect sounds and spellings to imagery, rather than translations, which will enable you to think in a foreign language.  And with the help of sophisticated spaced-repetition techniques, you'll be able to memorize hundreds of words a month in minutes every day. Soon, you'll gain the ability to learn grammar and more difficult abstract words--without the tedious drills and exercises of language classes and grammar books.

After 3-6 months (150 hours of study) of using the above materials, you may want to get a Verb book and a Grammar Book

501 Spanish Verbs with CD-ROM and Audio CD about $10.00 501 Spanish Verbs with CD-ROM and Audio CD (501 Verb Series)

Verbs Verbs Verbs... Really key to Mastering a Language. Verbs are a necessary component of all sentences. Verbs have two important functions: Some verbs put static objects into motion while other verbs help to clarify the objects in meaningful ways. This book seems to be the go to Book for any Language you are learning.

A verb is often defined as a word which shows action or state of being. The verb is the heart of a sentence - every sentence must have a verb. Recognizing the verb is often the most important step in understanding the meaning of a sentence. In the sentence The dog bit the man, bit is the verb and the word which shows the action of the sentence. In the sentence The man is sitting on a chair, even though the action doesn't show much activity, sitting is the verb of the sentence. In the sentence She is a smart girl, there is no action but a state of being expressed by the verb is. The word be is different from other verbs in many ways but can still be thought of as a verb.

Unlike most of the other parts of speech, verbs change their form. Sometimes endings are added (learn - learned) and sometimes the word itself becomes different (teach-taught). The different forms of verbs show different meanings related to such things as tense (past, present, future), person (first person, second person, third person), number (singular, plural) and voice (active, passive). Verbs are also often accompanied by verb-like words called modals (may, could, should, etc.) and auxiliaries(do, have, will, etc.) to give them different meanings.

One of the most important things about verbs is their relationship to time. Verbs tell if something has already happened, if it will happen later, or if it is happening now. For things happening now, we use the present tense of a verb; for something that has already happened, we use the past tense; and for something that will happen later, we use the future tense.

Well here you have it $120.00 worth ($170.00 if you include both Audio programs) of awesome Spanish tools and you will save about $350.00. You will also have more FUN and Learn more with these Books and Materials then any computer program on the market.

Have Fun and Live with Passion,
Greg
review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image
0Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 17, 1998
Learning Spanish should be fun and easy. If not, the odds are that you'll get frustrated and never learn this fantastic language.
Madrigal's Magic key is trully "magical." The book simply is entertaining and a very easy read. It makes learning Spanish fun and not a chore. The book gets the student right into the language without all those complicated rules. The emphasis is on buidling your confidence and establishing a Spanish vocabulary quickly without pain. This is accomplished based on your knowledge of English. For example, she teaches you the tricks of converting english nouns into verbs. The result is that you're not memorizing verbs but focusing on applying simple rules to building a large spanish vocabulary quickly and maintain conmfidence.
The book would truly be outstanding if it combined more exercises (writing) with her "See It and Say it in Spanish" book which is great also.
This is not a book that you'll read and forget a! ! bout. The second and third time I read it increased my comprehension significantly. My ownly regret is that I found this book after spending alot of money on books that only frustrated me, were virtually useless and definitely too much like work.
0Comment| 47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 22, 2004
I found this book by chance in a bookstore in Berkely California 12 years ago. At the time I had only taken 3 years of Spanish in high school. My spanish took off after studying this book and most people now think I am a native speaker of Spanish. I think this book boosts your confidence from the start by showing you all the Spanish that you already know (the conjugates) and by teaching you the past rather than the future first. I highly recommend it. Also remember to practice at every opportunity! Speaking a new language is like learning to dance. You feel silly at first and will make mistakes. But with practice you will become more confident and you will experience the joy of communicating with others in this beautiful language.
11 comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 6, 1999
This book is the clearest, easiest and most rapid way to learn a foreign language I've ever experienced, and I speak 6 languages. I learned to speak rather fluent Spanish in record time because of the ease of using this book. I was able to rapidly perfect my fluency later because I was fortunate enough to find the late Margarita Madrigal in New York to teach me. She was a fun person, hence the fun of using Magic Key to Spanish to learn the language. I'm now using it to teach Spanish to my friends and they are advancing rapidly. It is an amazing book
0Comment| 43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 8, 2001
This book is loaded with great info on vocabulary-building, grammar, verb-conjugation, usage, etc. even though it was originally written in the 1950's. But what makes this book stand out for me is the "magic key" that Madrigal provides that allows one to derive or intelligently "guess" hundreds and hundreds of words, including verbs, based on words you already know in English which can be converted into Spanish with little to no modification following a few basic rules. It's actually AMAZING!
In addition to the "magic key" and the other useful info it presents, Madrigal's Magic Key to Spanish is written in a very informal, unpressured style that reassures the reader constantly that they will master the material in short order, with quizzes and periodic self-tests to reinforce the learning process.
As I was already a beginning to intermediate Spanish speaker when I first encountered this book, I cannot say how well it would work for someone with little to no previous experience with the language. My sense is that it will be more helpful for people who are at least familiar with Spanish pronunciation and rudimentary grammar, although it is written as if the reader has no previous knowledge of the language.
It's also cool that Andy Warhol did the illustrations for this book.
I love this book! I highly recommend it to anyone who wants to exponentially leap forward in their knowledge of the living Spanish language.
0Comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 4, 2000
I've been studying Spanish for over 3 years and I have purchased dozens of books. I've also completed 2 years of study in a local college. This book is by far may favorite of all the books that I have collected during my studying. The lessons are put in a very logical order and the book has been written so that it is much easier to learn! I hope to see more of Madrigal's work in the future. This is a great book. It's worth every penny. In fact, soon I will have to purchase another because I have dog earred the pages and have written all inside of the book, soon it will fall apart because I have used it so much. How's that for a write up? Seriously, it's a great book for the student who really wants to learn the language and understand how the language is assembled, etc.
0Comment| 43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse