Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Madwoman and The Oil Drillers
The Madwoman of Chaillot ( as portrayed by Katharine Hepburn in the movie version) is a two-act play about the destruction of the forces of evil by one older, senile woman - the Madwoman. A group of money-hungry corporation presidents team up with prospectors who claim to have found oil right beneath the streets of Paris's Chaillot suburb, and the Madwoman rallies her...
Published on June 28, 2000 by Danielle O'Farrell

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars madwoman of chaillot
The play was an assignment for class and was rather strange but interesting. I good read...think tim burton meets importance of being ernest - style.
Published 8 months ago by Pat


Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Madwoman and The Oil Drillers, June 28, 2000
This review is from: The Madwoman of Chaillot (Paperback)
The Madwoman of Chaillot ( as portrayed by Katharine Hepburn in the movie version) is a two-act play about the destruction of the forces of evil by one older, senile woman - the Madwoman. A group of money-hungry corporation presidents team up with prospectors who claim to have found oil right beneath the streets of Paris's Chaillot suburb, and the Madwoman rallies her bohemian friends and neighbors to stop them from destroying the city. The play is very dramatic and also humorous in parts; it seems primarily a fantasy, but has several fantastic parts for female characters, among them the Madwoman and her group of eccentric, delightful fellow Madwomen. I recommend it highly to any group of adolescent/young adult actors who are looking for a challenge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Is it Madness or Reality?, July 28, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Madwoman of Chaillot (Paperback)
I find "The Madwoman of Chaillot" contemporary and current. It describes the disillusions, falsness and corruption in a political world gone astray. Anyone who wants to understand the current situation of any government whether a democracy, a republic, a dictatorship, King, Czar, or madmen will identify with this play, and strive to undue the injustices that prevail throughout our modern 21st century world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A definite classic, appropriate for the ages! Hertwarming and touching., December 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Madwoman of Chaillot (Paperback)
Very good purchase for all you theatre lovers out there. A definite classic with an interesting message. Great script and great Seller, too! Very profound in message and context. A must-own for any classic theatre-lover!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars madwoman of chaillot, November 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Madwoman of Chaillot (Paperback)
The play was an assignment for class and was rather strange but interesting. I good read...think tim burton meets importance of being ernest - style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Didn't know this was a play, March 12, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Madwoman of Chaillot (Paperback)
I must not have read the description of this item correctly; I thought it was a book. Maybe there isn't a book.The Madwoman of Chaillot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Although It's Been Many Years, March 2, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Madwoman of Chaillot (Paperback)
I believe this is the play in which the role "Countess" appears...and if it is, I would like to write my opinion based upon performing in the role of Countess many years ago. This play is hysterical, entertaining, and a joy for those performing it as well as those seeing or reading it. It involves eccentric, rich old ladies who try to carry on with afternoon tea despite thier various quirky personalities(mainly quirky due to senility and the hallucinations that accompany it). A great play for adolescent through adult actors. It is worth having on your shelf if you instruct drama in any way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Madwoman of Chaillot
The Madwoman of Chaillot by Jean Giraudoux (Paperback - Jan. 1998)
$9.00 $8.10
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.