Customer Reviews


149 Reviews
5 star:
 (74)
4 star:
 (42)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 47 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rent it first
I'd really recommend renting this game first, or buying it at a discount, or used if you can. If you're looking for a Rockstar-type GTAIV or Red Dead Redemption game, this isn't it. The story line is completely linear, no side missions, and once you've completed the game -- that's it! No multi-player, and even though the PS3 version has downloadable cotent, it's pretty...
Published on August 25, 2010 by Jake Barnes

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not what you think
Not having played the first game in the series, I only looked at the ad here on Amazon for Mafia 2. I expected something a little different than what the game is.

Mafia 2 is not a sandbox game, a la "Grand Theft Auto", with side missions or a branching storyline. It's very linear and sequential, as if you're playing through a movie. You do have the ability to...
Published on September 8, 2010 by Mark J


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 47 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rent it first, August 25, 2010
By 
Jake Barnes "docmoog" (Birmingham, Michigan United States) - See all my reviews
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mafia II - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
I'd really recommend renting this game first, or buying it at a discount, or used if you can. If you're looking for a Rockstar-type GTAIV or Red Dead Redemption game, this isn't it. The story line is completely linear, no side missions, and once you've completed the game -- that's it! No multi-player, and even though the PS3 version has downloadable cotent, it's pretty weak.

If you're looking for a game that feels like a movie you can play, then this will satisfy. The graphics are great. Empire City is a delight to move through, and the 1940's - 50's style cars and fashions add a nice element. Voice acting is good, too. Punching and cover-based shooting take up all the missions, and while I've read some critical reviews of the mechanics, I think they're fine.

Some of the missions are REALLY tedious, especially at the beginning. But, I'm still enjoying it.

Like I said, once you've run through the whole story, you're DONE. I enjoyed the journey, liked the characters, and had some fun. I got the game at a discount, and that made it worth it. If you're on the fence, rent it first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When story is greater than gameplay, August 26, 2010
By 
S. Posey (Baltimore, MD) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mafia II - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
Story has often been a minor addition to video games. Recently it has been coming into it's own with some previous and next gen games really pushing the limits of digital storytelling. When you play Mafia 2, you'll realize you have have one example of excellent story telling in a game to tell your friends about.

The game begins with an introduction of the character you will be controlling, Vito. Vito's story begins in Italy as he is part of the US Army forces tasked with invading Sicily. In this level you will get a feel for the gameplay and be introduced to the extremely intricate character that is Vito. Over the next 10-15 hours, you will take part in a story that rivals some of the best mob movies ever made. Vito's story is so compelling that you will find yourself looking forward to the next cutscene. Your friends in the game will really tear at your heartstrings at different moments and you will really feel for the characters.

So, the story is fantastic and hits a homerun, but for most, this isn't enough. Luckily, the gameplay isn't too bad. Shooting is and movement in the game is basically what you would find in any other game out there. If you have played other third person shooters then you will feel right at home with Mafia 2.

The sound is a homerun as well. The sound of the city and characters is extremely well done. Along with the sound, the graphics are top notch in some places. Occasionally you won't be wowed by the graphics but then you will see the city skyline and your jaw will drop. It's a mixed bag but one that is perfectly capable in a game of it's caliber.

The only drawback to the game is the open world. The open world is great, it just feels empty. There's nothing to do but go in some random shops and drive around. You will spend your time in between missions driving to the next story mission and nothing much else.

All in all, Mafia 2 is a great game you should check out if you like a great story in your video games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed., August 26, 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mafia II - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
I loved the game, but I was expecting more. The game is pretty short, I beat it in 7 hours. Once the game is beat, that's it. Nothing else, I can't even play free roam unless I want to start over again and do it all over. I was disappointed in that. The money I spent on this game and it not being repeatable or allow you to free roam your current game, or even to have side missions to play around with, is pure bull.

However, my disappointment doesn't take away from the enjoyment I had, or the how good the graphics are in this game. I just wish you could do a lot more after you beat the game. I wouldn't recommend buying it unless you wanted to collect it, you'd be better off renting it and beating the game in 7 hours and say your $8 was well worth it. Don't spend $60 or more for the collectors on this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's No GTA, But It's Still Enjoyable, February 16, 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mafia II - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
If you're going into this game expecting another version of GTA, think again...though it's open world to a degree, it's nowhere near as open as say GTA IV, and there really isn't much in the way of side missions. You can kind of explore the city and screw around a little bit between missions if you want to, but it really follows a more linear path and has a pretty set storyline to it...your a war hero returned home who, accompanied by a close friend, work their way into the Mob and work their way up the latter...lots of hand to hand combat and stealing stuff and shooting thugs. Those are the primary 3 things you will be doing in your missions on this game. While it's not as open, in depth, and big as GTA IV, this is still an enjoyable game, and if you're into gangster & crime games, you should still at least give this game a play through. It really ain't too bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent linear action game, January 2, 2011
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mafia II - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
As an action game or a third person shooter, I loved this game. Great story and action. If you are expecting an open world sandbox game like GTA, you won't get it. This is a story driven action game that happens to be set in an open world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mafia 2 Ps3 Review, September 29, 2010
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mafia II - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
Mafia 2 Review
By: Jonathan Hobson

Mafia 2 is now available, and after recently finishing everything there is to see in Empire Bay, I can confidently say that the game is enjoyable despite some flaws that keep it from reaching higher praise in a season chalk full of quality releases.

Mafia 2 casts you as Vito Scalleta, a young Italian-American fresh off a tour of duty overseas. With Vito back and freed from any further war obligations, his best friend Joe Barbaro takes him in until he gets settled and earns enough cash to free his family's debt with a loan shark. This also kicks Vito and Joe off on the path of organized crime as they attempt to become "made men" and lay waste to crooked mobsters all across town.

As Joe drives you to your family's apartment, the player is treated to a remarkable view of the city - a testament to the visual quality 2k Czech put into every detail of the game. The city looks great, with many little touches that try to make it feel alive and breathing. Smoke pours out of vents, cars and people fill the streets, and cops chase you for everything short of running a red light. They'll even call in your license plates and appearance to stay on your trail until you make a change at various auto shops and clothing stores around town. While the police can be overaggressive at times, a good bribe always kept the overall pace of the story intact. The tunes blasting from your radio and the clever advertisements and news clips that play after key story points all contribute to a feeling from the 1940's and 50's.

One thing I want to mention in the beginning is that Mafia 2 is not a typical open world game of the Grand Theft Auto ilk. While GTA fills the city with side missions and odd jobs, Mafia simply keeps you moving along one linear storyline with one objective at any given time. This may seem disappointing to some, but this mobster tale is one worth sticking to. I should warn however, the focus of one objective does give the city an uncomfortably empty feeling despite those impressive details I mentioned previously. Aside from purchasing upgrades for your car, new clothes, weapons, or pumping gas, there isn't much else to do between objectives.

The story is spread out over 15 chapters that follow Vito's point of view as he carries out jobs, makes a few friends, and unravels the mysteries of his own family. While most missions involve a lot of gunplay, not every chapter is full of action as several will task you with some strangely mundane activities. You'll spend time loading boxes on a truck, scrubbing toilets where you might not expect, and answering the phone while you stare vacantly at the wall to receive your next objective. While they do make sense in context, there are several memorable missions that outweigh any boring stretches you may experience. Whether you're escaping a mansion, burying an unfortunate bartender, or rushing a bleeding buddy to his mob doctor, Mafia 2's story will surprise you throughout the duration of the 12 or so hour campaign.

The only other critique with the story structure would be the anti-climatic method of ending a chapter by forcing you to drive back to your house just to go to sleep. This happens too frequently, and only emphasizes the amount of needless driving that occurs between objectives. It felt like the last thing they should do is slow down the pace by forcing you to drive across town to activate the next objective. Another carefully directed cutscene would have sufficed, and probably given it even more of the gangster movie feeling I enjoyed most.

The combat in Mafia 2 works pretty well, despite some issues. There are a handful of weapons to nab off enemies or purchase at gun shops between missions, and the cover system works for the most part - albeit in the traditional sense. Tommy gun and shotgun-toting enemies will try to flank you from time to time, but mostly it's your standard hide behind cover, pop off a few magnum rounds, and wait for your health to regenerate. If you try to deviate from this formula, you're going to get blasted. There were a few points late in the game where I was shot behind cover, but nothing that breaks the game. The aiming can be suspect at times, while the hand-to-hand combat is very basic and repetitive throughout many of the early missions. These combat experiences are designed for you to fight one-on-one, and only require you to hold a dodge button long enough to get in a light or heavy hit on your opponent. The camera struggles to frame these sequences, but they're fairly short once you learn the mechanics.

One final point that needs mentioning has to do with the inclusion of wanted posters and playboy magazines throughout the game. While they give players incentive to repeat missions via chapter select or explore Empire Bay in its entirety, I can't help but feel a fun gameplay opportunity was missed. Why have wanted posters if they don't trigger a mission to track those criminals down? They just felt like a cheap way to make me drive around a cul-de-sac that I never would have thought to explore during the main story. While some of the posters and magazines were in creative locations, it just felt tacked on without something meaningful behind it other than the trophy/achievement.

Closing Comments

If you've been following and reading up on Mafia 2 like many, I have to say that the game is fun to play, but to be clear, the story is the star attraction here. The lack of things to do outside of that story will feel like they hold the atmosphere back despite many details that try to counter that feeling. The gunplay and cover system are very traditional, but do the job well enough to make each mission enjoyable. Collectibles make an appearance for those that care, but only to extend the life of the game. A few people may be disappointed by the ending, but I thought it was fitting and certainly will spark debate on the future of the franchise.

Overall Score: 7.5/10

Presentation
From the very first trip home with Joe, it is clear Mafia 2 wants to make you feel like a gangster in the 1940's. Empire Bay has a realistic layout and sense of scale, but only one objective at a time does give an empty feeling to the city as you drive around. It's too bad because there a lot of little details that try to make the city feel alive.

Graphics
Empire Bay looks really good, with a lot of small touches that make each environment interesting. Shattering glass looks awesome when blasted with a full Tommy gun clip. Cutscenes are generally well designed, but some poor lip syncing can be distracting.

Sound
Fantastic sound, voice work, and radio selections as you drive around the city. As a warning, you'll hear a record-breaking number of f-bombs by the time you complete Vito's saga. The start menu composition is one of my favorites in recent memory as well.

Gameplay
The driving is fun and offers a good mix of vehicles to steal, crash, and speed across Empire Bay. The gunplay and cover system work in a traditional sense, and the camera mostly frames the action how you would expect. The linear objectives for the storyline are effective, but do give an empty feeling to such a sizeable and detailed game world. You'll drive a lot between objectives.

Lasting Appeal
There are 50 playboy magazines strewn throughout the 15 chapters and 159 wanted posters hanging all over Empire Bay. These will take some time to track down, but after the end of the story, you may not want to go back for the posters. Overall it took me just over 20 hours to attain the Platinum.

Trophies/Achievements
All of the trophies/achievements are quite reasonable in Mafia 2. With the exception of one wanted poster, this is a great game that rewards you naturally throughout the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great story and delivery, crushingly short, August 31, 2010
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mafia II - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
Mafia 2 follows Vito, returned from Italy circa WW2, and is quickly snapped up by his childhood friend and introduced to the world of the Mafia.

Graphics manages to deliver perfectly, and are close to photorealistic. Same with audio. There's NPC conversations everywhere, and I've yet to hear one duplicated. And theres two entire city models, between the 1940's and 1950's, which means almost two entire sets of models and backgrounds, though this is a complaint later. Voices are spot on, and accents are authentic without being thick enough to be difficult to understand.

Gameplay is a touch merciless. Its possible to be killed by an out of sight enemy before you're aware of their presence, but otherwise, cover to cover combat works well. Cover is present without degrading from the quality of the background: you'd actually expect the materials to be there, and to actually stop bullets. Otherwise, everything is laid out how you'd expect it. Supply shops sprinkled lightly through a 3 region world map. Game mechanics to steal cars quietly or loudly.

What kills this for me is how cripplingly short it is. I'd expected GTA: WW2 Mafia. They even had it broken up well, with 3 families controlling 3 different regions of New York. But instead, this is a whopping 12 story missions. They may be hour long, well put together story missions, but that manages to make this a 11-12 hour game. This is big let down given this is probably solely due to making 3 independent world stages. A few missions manage to be frustrating and annoying, with teleporting enemies and the ability to fail while doing exactly what you were told to.

Overall, this is a great game... to rent. But the moment you're done, that's pretty much it. There are a few sidebars that are good to play once or twice, but if you pick this up for a long weekend, you'll be done with it with time to spare.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worthy of a Movie, November 24, 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mafia II - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
I'll start by saying that I have no previous experience with the Mafia series. I played Mafia 2 only after a good friend purchased it on a whim and highly recommended it to me. Now after completing the game it has become one of my all-time favorite games. If GTA: Vice City was Rockstar's homage to Scarface; Mafia 2 is a homage to every mob/gangster movie ever made. If you're a fan of The Godfather movies, Goodfellas, Casino, Donny Brasco, Scarface or the like then you need to play this game! The story in Mafia 2 could easily be a major motion picture, it's that good.

Mafia 2 places you in the shoes of Vito Scaletta a boy who's parents emigrated to the USA - specifically the fictional city of Empire Bay (fashioned after NYC) - from Sicily. Vito finds himself with the choice to either become a regular working stiff like his old-man or become a well-to-do wise guy. Vito chooses the latter and soon finds himself in trouble with the law. Facing either jail time or a stint in the Army, Vito chooses to fight Mussolini back on his parents home soil of Sicily during WWII. After being injured Vito takes leave to visit his family and soon runs into his childhood friend Joe Barbaro who uses his underworld contacts to arrange for Vito's permanent discharge from the military. This is where the adventure really begins and Vito and Joe set off to make something of themselves. My description only touches the first few moments of Mafia 2 and the story is much deeper and more engaging than I can hope to write concisely here. Think of Mafia 2 as the best of your favorite gangster movies only much longer and with you in control of the action and you'll get an idea of what the game is really like.

Gameplay is reminiscent of GTA only without the auto-targeting aspect. At its core Mafia 2 is a 3rd person over the shoulder shooter. Cover elements are a cross between GTA and Uncharted. The game takes place in 1940's - 1950's America so expect period guns (M1945, Tommy Gun's, shotguns); vehicles (not actual licensed cars but closely based on period autos); and clothing. The driving mechanics in Mafia 2 are in my opinion a vast improvement over the on-ice feel that the vehicles in GTA IV featured. Driving insane speeds is possible but expect a quick death if you crash (on hard difficulty anyway).

A major highlight of Mafia 2 has to be the graphics. This game is beautiful through and through. Mafia 2 initially begins in the winter time and through the story will transition to the summer. It's an incredible treat to see the developer take time to fully render the city in white/grey-scale snow & sleet setting and then see the change to a summertime setting with bright vivid colors. The care the developer has taken extends to the in-game physics too. Expect plenty of sliding about on the frozen streets of Empire Bay and more reasonable controls in the summer. Few games feature as much care in the graphics department as Mafia 2.

Unlike other open-world or sandbox games, the focus of Mafia 2 is the main story. Admittedly M2 is short on sidequests and minigames. This is generally a problem if you go in expecting a GTA clone. Mafia 2 is most definitely not that. Personally I found the focus on the story refreshing. Instead of distractions like pizza delivery missions or other time wasters Mafia 2 is about story driven events that include everything from jewelery store heists to covert missions planting explosives to assassinate a rival family member.

While I gave the game a 5-star rating there are some minor hiccups in the game. One disappointment for me would have to be the AI. Even on the highest difficulty setting AI controlled enemies are easily dispatched. Once you get a feel for the controls, escaping the police even at the highest wanted levels is insanely easy. It took a bit of the edge off for me knowing how easily I could shake the police. Despite that I feel that the game is a true 5-star title.

While Mafia 2 doesn't feature any type of online gameplay there are plenty of collectibles in-game including Playboy centerfold magazines (complete with nudity) and wanted posters to keep you occupied. Additionally 2K has released 3 DLC packs as of this writing that add significant replay value and give alternate perspectives to the story and to the mob's on-goings in Empire Bay. I highly recommend this title!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not what you think, September 8, 2010
By 
Mark J (Jacksonville Beach, FL) - See all my reviews
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mafia II - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
Not having played the first game in the series, I only looked at the ad here on Amazon for Mafia 2. I expected something a little different than what the game is.

Mafia 2 is not a sandbox game, a la "Grand Theft Auto", with side missions or a branching storyline. It's very linear and sequential, as if you're playing through a movie. You do have the ability to purchase weapons, clothing, or drive along whatever route you prefer while doing the missions, but you are still locked into the plotline no matter what.

You do a lot of things in Mafia 2, but they are all very simple. The gunplay/shooter aspects of the game are fine, but simplistic. The driving aspects are the same as well. The hand-to-hand combat is basically just holding the dodge button until you have an opening, then executing a combo.

Your character doesn't seem to be in any real danger on the medium difficulty level, either - I've played for several hours now and was only killed once (car crash allowed the bad guys to shoot me repeatedly)

One major annoyance is the need to return to the apartment and lie down on the bed to end a mission. Why do I need to complete a boring drive with nothing to do, sometimes a long drive, after I have completed a mission just to move onto the next mission?

I suppose the game is entertaining for what it is, but I'm just going to finish it quickly and trade it in.

Not a game that I see having any replay value at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars this a good game, April 20, 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mafia II - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
i really like it but if your looking for more grand theft auto get the add on pack of joes adventures that pack is more like gta like owning houses storing cars and making money or just free play but just getting mafia 2 is more of a story once its completed thats it so go for joes adventure pack is u want it to be more like gta but overall this game is excited to play =)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Mafia II - Playstation 3
Mafia II - Playstation 3 by 2K (PlayStation 3)
$19.99 $11.76
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.