Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Magellan AN0302SWXXX Dashboard Beanbag Mount for GPS Navigators
Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Adele Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer WienerDog WienerDog WienerDog  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Package Type: Standard Packaging|Change
Price:$17.95+ $3.95 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 13, 2010
I purchased the Magellan Beanbag Mount to securely hold my new Magellan 1475T to the dash of my car. First off, as mentioned in other reviews, this mount is not effective in cars with a curved dashboard since the base is rigid and won't conform to the dash. In reality, the name of the product is misleading since it is not a beanbag in any way shape or form. Amazon should quickly remove the term beanbag from the name of the product and from the product description. It is a rigid friction-based dashboard mount that requires the dash to be relatively flat. There is an attachment provided with the kit that can be adhesively attached to your dashboard and actually hooks to the back of the mount to prevent it from sliding around or falling off the front of the dashboard, but I would still be hesitant to purchase this if your car has an overly curved dashboard. I also don't like the thought of attaching anything to the dash which is why I considered the beanbag mount to begin with. While this mount works in my new Subaru Outback (which has a flat surface at the center of the dash), it doesn't work so well in my older Acura TL which has a curved dashboard.

Using the beanbag mount in the Outback, I am able to position the GPS on the dash at a good viewing level (doesn't interfere with my view out the front window at all) and within comfortable arms reach (I know, I know - you're not supposed to be using it while driving so it shouldn't make a difference). Basically, you just suction the window mount that came with the GPS to the smooth plastic surface of the mount and place it on your dash. The mount is heavy enough to stay in place while driving and convenient enough to store in the center console when not in use.

Unfortunately, I did have one problem. The first unit shipped to me had a slight discoloration in several places on the mounting surface (that I initially didn't notice) which I am assuming was glue that dried to the plastic mounting surface during the manufacturing process. This defect prevented the GPS Unit from securely suctioning to the mount which resulted in the GPS unit coming loose after a few minutes and flying from the dash. Fortunately, no one was in the passenger seat at the time and, more importantly, there was no damage to my GPS. Thankfully, Amazon came through and immediately sent out a replacement (it's good to know that at least one company still provides a solid level of customer service).

If you have a car with a relatively flat dashboard and want the convenience of mounting your GPS to the dashboard, this could be a good alternative. However, I'm sure the other "real" beanbag mounts would work just as well (if not better) and provide much more flexibility when placing them on the dashboard of any car.

As an aside, this mount looks very similar to the Arkon CM012 sold by Amazon for less than half the price of the Magellan. Sure, if you look at the pictures of the Magellan and the Arkon on-line, you would clearly see that although both mounts look somewhat similar the mounting surfaces are clearly different. However, when I received the Magellan Beanbag Mount, the mounting surface looked exactly like the one pictured for the Arkon and not the one pictured for the Magellan. This initially made me think that Amazon sent me the wrong one by accident because the Magellan name wasn't anywhere on the product. However, I did finally see the Magellan name on a small piece of literature that came in the box with the mount. If I had to guess, it is manufactured by the same company and then sold under the Magellan name. So if you are interested in this mount, you may want to check out the Arkon CM012 first.
22 comments|93 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 12, 2010
I was expecting a flexible mount that would sink into a little well I have on the dash in my 2006 Civic. However, this thing is NOT flexible at all! There is a piece of plastic that covers the whole bottom which keeps it very rigid. Calling this a beanbag mount is very misleading in my opinion.
0Comment|29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 15, 2009
This is a great idea and is very stable on my dash. I just got the GPS with a 7 inch screen and was concerned about it blocking my view. Using this product and not having it on the windshield makes the size of the screen wonderful and at the same time, no where near to blocking my review.
0Comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 29, 2009
This has worked out well so far. I mounted my Magellan 1470 to it using the original suction cup mount. The mount came with a hook to hold the front side, however I have not found it necessary to use the hook. Have taken hard corners and it did not fly off of my dash. Does not appear to have moved at all. Oh and my dash is relatively flat with a slant going towards the windshield (RSX). People with a curved dash may wish to find a mount with the tentacle type fingers. They would probably work better with curves. Overall I have no regrets with buying it.
0Comment|27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 26, 2010
Purchased this item along with my new GPS unit just so I would have everything possibly needed. It seems to be a quality made device but I have yet to find a use for it as the GPS mounting device is much easier to use and adjust for viewing. I have tried both mounting options in multiple vehicles with the same result. The bean-bag mount still wants you to add a sticky mount hook to keep it in place. Probably a good idea as I could see the bean-bag in your lap or on the floor without it!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon January 1, 2011
First of all, this is not a beanbag in the true sense. This is as solid as the rock of Gibraltor. If you have a dashboard that is perfectly flat then this can work ideally. In my case, my dashboard has an indented area exactly where the GPS would be located. This area is smaller than the size of the alleged "Beanbag". However, the dash is not smooth so clamping the mount directly to the dash is not an option. I clamp the GPS holder to the so-called beanbag which I then place over the indented area of the dash. This is not the best solution but I don't like having the GPS mounted to my window.

I have taken away two stars because the Dashboard Beanbag Mount lacks beanbag flexibility.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 5, 2010
I was disappointed this product didn't work out, but it didn't conform to my dashboard to allow mounting the GPS. The beanbag material is the cushion surrounding the base. The bottom is rigid, making it usable only on a relatively flat section of your dashboard, and at a spot where there is sufficient height to allow windshield clearance. It seems to me suited for SUV's or larger vehicles. I had to return it.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 19, 2014
As promised. We like to stow our GPS unit out of sight when we are away from the car. The windshield mount that comes with the unit makes it difficult to attach and detach the unit easily. We also had the problem of the mount releasing because of temperature changes. This beanbag mount solves all that. It is properly weighted to stay in place on the dash while in use, and easily stowed as one piece with the GPS when necessary.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 26, 2013
I gave it 4 stars because the window mount worked a lot better. But that may be due to the vehicle I've used it in. It doesn't have a pocket on the dash for it, and though it's designed to be anchored (anchor furnished), naw, just didn't care for it. Would I recommend it to anyone else, more then likely, if I had my explorer I would of used it, but in the 1/2 ton Silverado, it just didn't pan out.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2014
I bought this navigation device add-on to provide additional support for my Magellian 9250 7" screen. I read complaints that the supplied suction cup and articulating arm mount did not hold the device securely.
I placed the beanbag on the dash and locked down the suction cup of the mount onto the flat area on the beanbag. The Magellian stays put and does not move around at all. I have had it in place for over a month now and have done my normal driving around town and on the interstate. The device does not move. One tip I will share is let the extended arm rest against the edge of the dash so the device does not shake. The suction cup has not released once since I installed it on the beanbag.
This beanbag is a great addition for any automotive device that has a suction cup mount. You no longer need to attach to the windshield.
The beanbag comes with a tether attachment for extra holding power. You peel and stick a small hook onto the dash at the base of the windshield and attach the short tether to the loop on the rear of the beanbag. I personally did not elect to use this additional feature because the beanbag does not move at all, even when making a sharp turn to see if it would move.
Overall, I am completely satisfied with the beanbag. It is simple to use and the price is reasonable.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.