Buy Used
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by BlueFrog
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: All CDs are guaranteed to play properly. CD in jewel case with front and back inserts. A well-cared-for CD that has been listened to, but remains in great condition and plays perfectly. The jewel case may show limited signs of wear, as may the inserts.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Magic
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available
  • To view this video download Flash Player


See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Audio CD, December 12, 2000
"Please retry"
$369.99 $9.73

Product Details

  • Performer: Lieven Termont, Steve Dugardin, Ewald Demeyere, Jan Caals
  • Composer: Diego Ortiz, William [Composer] Byrd, English Anonymous, Italian Anonymous, Josquin Desprez, et al.
  • Audio CD (December 12, 2000)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Alliance
  • ASIN: B00004YW1O
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #876,634 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

1. Recercada Primera Sobre El Passamezzo Antiguo & Recercada Ottava Sobre La Folia
2. Ye Sacred Muses
3. Estampie
4. Saltarello
5. Mille Regretz/Les Miens Aussi Brief
6. Pavana Lachrimae
7. Ballo Del Granduca
8. O Jove, From Stately Throne
9. Prepare To Die
10. Batalha
11. Scaramella Fa La Galla
12. Scaramella
13. Complain With Tears
14. Eliza, Her Name Gives Honour
15. Recercada Segunda Sobre 'O Felici Occhi Miei'
16. Recercada Segunda Sobre El Passamezzo Moderno

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See both customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful By Ohmi on December 4, 2001
The Flanders Recorder Quartet (FRQ) are the finest group of recorder players working today. This CD tells you why. Their virtuosity shines in almost every track, even when playing an accompanying role to the fine singers that joined them on some of the tracks.
The FRQ play wonderful instruments made for them by the world's best makers. They used 17 of the 100+ they own in this recording. Balancing their high-pitch instruments (sopranos and higher) with their low pitch instruments is a key part of this CD - they pick the right mix of recorders for each track and arranged the tracks so that you get the full experience and don't get too tired of one particular set of sounds.
For pure recorder playing, Sweelink's Ballo del Gran Duca is my favorite. It is played with "high-low" recorders that balance the sweetness of the upper part with a full but sonorous bass. It is amazing how full a 4-part piece can sound. The "low" recorders are used with great effect with the emotional laments accompanying the singers.
The mixed ensembles produce some great results. In particular the Saltarello and the Recercade No. 1 show what good things happen when pluckers and bangers join in. The 12-minute Saltarello in doubly amazing in that it was an improvisation.
CDs can only hold so much music - look to their other recordings to learn that FRQ has mastered the recorder literature from medieval to modern.
One more point in favor of this CD - the liner notes are substantial and informative. In particular, you can match an instrument you hear to a performer.
Buy this CD - you won't be disappointed.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Carme on March 19, 2011
One of the best recordings I ever heard. The choice of the pieces, the quality of the intepretation, group. The versions on Diego Ortiz pieces are just wonderful.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in