Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The Magic School Bus Lost in the Solar System
Safety Month botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Explore Premium Audio Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks STEM Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 4, 2002
The Magic School Bus Lost in the Solar System is one is a series of science adventure books by Joanna Cole and Bruce Degen (Illustrator), all of which are trulky excellent. The chart the adventures of Ms. Frizzle and her class as they go on some really interesting field trips.
The books operate on several levels. They work as adventure stories as the manner in which they get diverted from an ordinary school field trip to the adventure at hand is always entertaining. The illustrations are truly wonderful and add to the story line very effectively. The books do in fact contain a lot of basic information about the topic at hand, so your kids are actually learning something as they read. And, as a final bonus, the books always involve some sore of class socialization issue, so your kids are exposed to some real life classroom issue, (here it's a Miss know-it-all type) and strategies for dealing with them as well. On top of all that, the books are just plain fun.
A great series for late pre-schoolers and early elementary age kids. So, what are you waing for? Jump on the Magic School Bus and have some fun!!!
0Comment|26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 6, 1998
Ms. Frizzle and her class are delightful. This book is a must-have for children interested in the solar system. The students in my second grade class thoroughly enjoyed it. It is PACKED with information. My students even asked if they could take notes! The book has sparked such excitement about the solar system that I find myself searching for more books to feed their interest.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 12, 2002
Would you really board a bus that could turn into a spaceship? Well, the kids in Ms. Frizzle's class did it once again. The Magic School Bus Gets Lost in the Solar System by Joanna Cole. This time they were off on another fantastic adventure in space. It gets very crazy in his book when Ms. Frizzle gets lost in space and the class has to go on without her. The children also have to learn now to deal with Arnold's cousin Janet. She is a "know it all" who shares everything with every one. This book is great for a couple of reasons. First, the pictures really let you visualize space. Second, the pages are set up so that you can learn something on every page. This book is a really good introduction to a space unit. It really encourages you to learn more about space. I think the author must include her own love of adventure and learning in every magic school bus book. She has so many great lessons that are packed with information. I hope you look forward to finding out if the children can save Ms. Frizzle and if there will be any more great adventures!
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 15, 2003
Not content with what Earth has to offer, Ms. Frizzle takes her class on a field trip of outer space for the fourth installment of this acclaimed science series, "The Magic School Bus: Lost in the Solar System." Joanna Cole and Bruce Degen are bright as ever in their latest out-of-this-world adventure.
The Friz was already planning for this field trip at the end of her previous voyage, "Inside the Human Body." She informs her students that they're "going to the planetarium to see a sky show about the solar system." And since the kids have already swam through water ("At the Waterworks"), dug up rocks ("Inside the Earth"), and been digested ("Inside the Human Body"), an afternoon at the planetarium seems like a walk through the park. Or, better yet, through the solar system!
There is only one thing dimming everyone's shining star. Arnold's cousin, Janet, is visiting for the day and she isn't exactly the quiet type. She's a regular Ms. Know-It-All, expressing her opinions whenever she feels like it. "I know all of you will be nice to our guest," says Ms. Frizzle. And with that, the class blasts off for the planetarium.
However, it looks like the Friz's mission has been grounded. The planetarium is closed for repairs! But that's when the magic school bus takes matters into its own hands. If you can't bring the stars to you, simply go to them yourself!
The students in Ms. Frizzle's class learn all sorts of interesting facts about outer space. They get up-close and personal with the other eight planets - Mercury, Venus, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune, and Pluto. They are educated on universal bodies such as the Asteroid Belt, meteorites, the Sun, various moons, and rings of the planets. They even find out about things such as gravity, orbits, sunspots, various temperatures in space, etc.
Then something happens that threatens to end the students' quest of knowledge through the solar system. What will Ms. Frizzle do? And even though Janet is a bit haughty, is she the only one that can save the entire class from drifting off into space?
Once again, Cole and Degen prove they have no boundaries. Mixing humor and truth - and not to mention a dose of drama - author and illustrator lead Ms. Frizzle's class and readers alike on an intriguing journey of the solar system. Written in 1990, "Lost in the Solar System" is yet another solid effort from all those involved. But would you expect anything less at this point?
The end of this book, like the three before it, has useful information on what was fact in the story and what was made up. And, like she's done three times before, Ms. Frizzle leaves the reader another clue as to what spectacular exploration she has rolled up her sleeves during our next encounter. Dolphins, fishes and sharks - oh, my! If her outfit is any indication, readers had better start packing their diving suits right now!
As Ms. Frizzle herself would say, "Buckle up, class. We're going down!"
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 6, 2000
I really like all my Magic School Bus Books. I liked traveling to all the planets and learning. The book doesn't have any newer facts about space. I also bought the Arty the Part-Time Astronaut Book with CD. Using these two books I learned everything about space I needed to know for school.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 1, 2014
My son loves these. He is seven, in first grade, and learned the planets from this book and the video. We went to a function in a public library, and he walked up to the model of the solar system, named each planet, discussed which were gas giants and wondered about Pluto. My only problem with the series is that the extra notes all over the place make the books hard to read, and it is not always obvious whether the text or the dialogue comes first, and many times they repeat each other.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 13, 2016
The Magic School Bus series is such a great combo of fun, science and learning. These books were purchased for my son many years ago, and my youngest (five and seven) are now enjoying them. They pull out a Magic School Bus book almost every night at bedtime! Now that my seven year old has begun reading on her own, I find her curled up with a Magic School Bus book all the time. All titles are worth the purchase, and I highly recommend this series for all children! They provide great reference as they get a little older, too!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 12, 2002
Magic School Bus Lost in the Solar System
By Joanna Cole
Illustrated by Bruce Degen
In the beginning of the story the class is going to the museum. But it is closed for construction so Mrs. Frizzle pulls a lever and they blast off in to space. The first thing they go to is our Moon then the sun then Mercury then Venus then Mars. Then they come to the Asteroid Belt. They lose Mrs. Frizzle and on the way back to Earth they find Mrs. Frizzle in the Asteroid Belt. And in this book Arnold's cousin comes with them and she keeps on touching Mrs. Frizzle`s things when she is gone When she is lost they tell her not to but she does anyway. This book tells me all about the universe. And the plants and when they get back to earth they make a project about the Solar System. I think that anyone could like this book. I say it would be good when you are studying the universe. That is the time you should read this book. Like I said it could be good for everybody I'm 9 and I still like this book so I bet you will to. I like this book because it is very interesting.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 10, 2016
A fun story that follows the first episode of the first season of MSB pretty closely, but the extra factual information/dialogue in the margins make it hard to read to ages 4-6 (especially if they suspect you're leaving something out!). It might be more enjoyable for ages 9-10, who can benefit from that info and can read at their leisure.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 6, 2016
My first and still favorite Magic School Bus book! It goes planet to planet (including Pluto) sharing your weight on this planet, and many, many, more interesting facts about each and where it is in our solar system. A must-have for all children's home libraries! A gem for fostering a love of science!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse