Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Magic Tree House #12: Polar Bears Past Bedtime
Your Garage Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Adele Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 8, 2015
Did I enjoy this book: This is the first “chapter book” that we read to our nearly 3-year-old son. We read it over the course of three nights (bedtime story), and he loves it! Polar Bears Past Bedtime is the twelfth of the Magic Tree House series, so the beginning of the story was a little confusing because we didn’t have any background knowledge about the series, but that didn’t detract from the story.

My young one was excited to follow the story of Annie and Jack through their arctic adventures. There was enough mystery and plot to keep him interested despite the fact that there’s only one page of pictures per chapter. The chapters have just enough content without being too long and a few cliff-hangers to urge young readers to keep reading.

As a parent, I enjoyed the fact that Polar Bears Past Bedtime interjects interesting facts about the arctic into the story. Not only was my child having fun reading about an adventure, he was also learning about husky dogs, polar bears, and the native seal hunters of the arctic. This is a neat way to increase knowledge and vocabulary in a fun and kind of sneaky way. Learning is always easier to do (and more effective) when it’s fun!

Would I recommend it: This is a good book for parents to read to kids with a good attention span. It would also be good for young readers (say, 2nd grade level) who are looking to read chapter books on their own.

As reviewed by Sara at Every Free Chance Books.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 29, 2006
Mackenzie Mosley

Morgan the librarian gave Jack and Annie a 4th scroll and a book to start an adventure. 3 other adventures were already done. The 4th scroll and book were about adventures in the Arctic. The Arctic was very cold, windy, and snowy. They openned the scroll which had a clue that they need to solve. The story was about solving the clue. They were cold and read the book the help them.

When they were the reading the book they heard wolves by the tree house. The wolves actually huskies pulling the sled with a seal hunter. The seal hunter gave them warm clothes made from seal skin. The seal hunter then invited them to his house which was an igloo. Jack and Annie ate seal meat. The seal hunter showed Jack and Annie the mask that looked like polar bears.

Jack and Annie took the mask outside to see what the dogs were barking at and found baby polar bears. They followed the baby polar bears to the frozen sea. Jack and Annie were on the ice and it began to crack. The mother polar bear got her babies off of the cracking ice by sliding on her belly. Jack and Annie follwed her off of the ice on their bellies. When they were on the shore they saw the Northern Lights.

Jack and Annie solved the riddle and went back to the treehouse. They could not go back right away because there was another riddle. They used the other scrolls to solve the 5th riddle which took them to their favorite place home.

The problem of the story was about solving the riddles to get them home. They got home by going on a adventure to find clues.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 15, 2014
My daughter loves these books! She has been reading these books since she started second grade. They are easy to read and still have pictures that keep them interested in the books. The author does a great job of describing everything so my daughter can understand what is going on in the story. Normally these books go for $5 or more a piece, so this is the cheapest I have found so far. Wonderful purchase!! Totally worth it!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon July 16, 2012
O.K., so this book isn't "The Sound and the Fury". But it's cheerful; the siblings treat each other well; there's a touch of adventure, and it's a little sciencey, although in a very superficial way. There aren't any farts and boogers, faeries, or super dumbed down fantasy elements. It isn't frantic or hyper. The vocabulary is age appropriate and the length is good. If you don't like polar bears, well maybe the next one will take place in Rome or the Amazon basin or on the moon.

Of greatest importance, my grandkids love these books and read them like crazy. It's nice to walk into a bedroom when one's asleep and see one of the volumes, with a bookmark in it, on the bedside table. You can read them together, or let a more advanced reader try it alone. Either way, very satisfying.

So, while I wouldn't recommend a steady diet of these, (the formula can get a bit threadbare), the Treehouse books certainly seem to have a place in a new reader's library.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 10, 2016
Very good chapter book for my kindergartener. Kept her attention and corresponded to a poplar bear unit we studied. Good story line. Integrated facts with a fun adventure. My kids remembered all the fact finds from the book at the end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 3, 2005
We really think this book that we read is one of the most fun books because it has great words. If you like adventures and mysteries, well you don't have to think twice about this book. We are telling you this book is great. For example, polar bears feel that they can fly when they slide on thin ice. This book is a very good book. The characters are funny, like Jack who is smart and likes books a lot. If you like the book, well, you and him have something in common. So pick this book because it is awesome! --Juan Figueroa, Jerry Albor, Sergio Rocha and Cristian Garnica in Ms. Marik's 6th grade class
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 21, 2013
This didn't qualify as one of the best books in the Magic Tree house series, but we still thoroughly enjoyed going on this adventure with Jack and Annie. We did love getting to know the polar bear cubs and would recommend this story. Next we're off to explore a volcano with Jack and Annie,and we can't wait!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 26, 2011
This time, Jack and Annie traveled arctic to solve last riddle from Morgan.

They were helped by a middle man.

Magic tree house series have always a man help them.

And this time, they played with white bears.

White bears teach them to go cross ice land.

It was funny and pretty.

Finally, they could watch aurora.

And they solved final riddle.

So they became master librarian.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 26, 2014
My grandson insists he doesn't like fiction. There is enough science in these books to keep him interested. Add to that a relationship with a little sister that mimics his own and the book is a big hit.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2013
Polar Bears Past Bedtime is about a boy and a girl who go back in time to the Arctic and meet a man. He takes them to his house. They make food and meet these two polar bears and play with them on the ice. The mommy polar bear saves them from the ice cracking. Then they get home to their own time and said hi to their mom and dad.

My favorite part was when the ice cracks and mom saves them. I like that part because it is exciting because she gets there right in time.

I think people who like winter and animals would like this book because there's a lot of snow and animals. Now, are you wondering how the two kids could survive in the Arctic and not freeze to death? Well, go get the book and you'll find out!!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.