Customer Reviews


650 Reviews
5 star:
 (468)
4 star:
 (98)
3 star:
 (37)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (32)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


87 of 91 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars REMASTERED MYSTERY TRIP
The remastered Beatles CDS are out (finally), after a too long wait. If you want to get a quick idea what to expect from the remasterings, the best way to do this is to compair one of the 1987 remastered songs to your copy of BEATLES ONE (the number one singles CD from 2000.) The BEATLES ONE was remastered with 24 bit technology, and sound solutions to negate the hiss...
Published on September 9, 2009 by W. T. Hoffman

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Magical Mystery Tour 2014 MONO Vinyl LP
This review is supposed to be posted on the 2014 MONO LP re-issue page.
Very unusual, but this LP, included in the 2014 Beatles MONO LP boxed set, as with all but the "Past Mono Masters" LPs, come in those gawd-awful resealable plastic sleeves. Be careful here as the sticky stuff loves to stick to paper better than anything, so if you are not careful, it will...
Published 3 months ago by jukeboxexpress


‹ Previous | 1 2 365 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Music! Poor Remasters!, January 1, 2011
This review is from: Magical Mystery Tour (Audio CD)
I have recently gotten back into listening to the Beatles due to George Martin's fantastic 'Love' album...Hoping that a 2009 remastered version of 'Magical Mystery Tour' would sound as terrific as 'Love' I went out bought it. I loaded it into my computer, I put on my headphones, and then listened:

From an audio engineering standpoint 'Magical Mystery Tour', like most other Beatles remasters, is sadly disappointing. It seems as if the sound engineers make every individual instrument come from either direct left, direct right, or directly in front of you. There is no real blending of the instrumentals. 'Strawberry Fields' sounds incredible on 'Love' because George Martin took the time to MIX the audio....'Love' is the one of the best albums I own, mostly because of the music itself, but the audio engineering is absolutely stunning on it! I was hoping that 'Magical Mystery Tour' would have that same style, but sadly, it is just like the previous remixes: The drums on the direct left, The singing directly in front, and guitar on the direct right. It is incredibly annoying - considering the Beach Boys used only 4 track recording (just like the Beatles) and their stereo remasters sound INCREDIBLE, it shouldn't be that hard to make a decent sounding stereo mix...and the 'Love' album proved that this is possible.

I'm not ignorant enough to demote the rating down to 1 star due to the audio engineering - it is FANTASTIC music. The classic 'Strawberry Fields', 'Penny Lane', the title song, 'Fool On The Hill', - they are all terrific songs...and thankfully this mostly overshadows the poor engineering. If you are a Beatles fan, definitely get this album....but if you are, even remotely, an audiophile, I suggest buying the mono version.

4/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Capitol US Beatles release that got the job done RIGHT FINALLY!, November 11, 2007
This review is from: Magical Mystery Tour (Audio CD)
The Beatles' Magical Mystery Tour was released as an EP in the UK and album here in the US in time for Christmas in December of 1967.
For years, Capitol Records (EMI's US affiliate) had a reputation of chopping songs off of UK albums to create more US albums (Yesterday and Today, Beatles '65 and so forth) but with Magical Mystery Tour, the label finally did something right and (since the EP didn't take off in the US) they added the group's 1967 singles to the second side of a 12" album creating a treat for the US Beatles fans that Christmas.
Magical Mystery Tour was the soundtrack to the movie of the same name that left a lot to be desired, but the soundtrack is actually one of The Beatles' better albums and was yet another huge success that hit #1 here in the States (all but one or two of their studio albums hit #1 Stateside and sold well during the band's eight years together).
I did not hear this album until the spring of 1995 but loved it immediately (not counting the tunes I heard on radio like "Strawberry Fields", "Penny Lane", "All You Need is Love", the title cut and "I Am the Walrus).
The first six tracks (or side one of the US release) are basically from the movie Magical Mystery Tour. The songs continue in the vein of its predecessor Sgt Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band, perhaps with more psychedelia thrown in. We open with the psychedelic rocker the title cut which is a great album opener penned from bass player Paul McCartney. We follow with another McCartney number, the ballad "The Fool On the Hill" which is a great number. Next is the instrumental "Flying" which is a rare Beatles instrumental. Next is guitarist George Harrison's "Blue Jay Way" which was inspired from one of his trips to Los Angeles during the Summer of Love which was 1967. Next is the McCartney pop ditty "Your Mother Should Know" which is a great finger-snapping tune. We end this half with guitarist John Lennon's classic "I Am the Walrus" which is one of his best songs EVER!
The album's second half starts with Paul's single "Hello Goodbye" which was released before the US version of the Magical Mystery Tour album. "Strawberry Fields Forever" follows and is one of Lennon's best tracks (in fact, my second favorite Beatles track) and was recorded for Sgt Pepper's but didn't make the album. Paul's "Penny Lane" is next and is a nice pop song and was the first US #1 for The Beatles in 1967 (this was also recorded for Sgt Pepper). John's underrated B-side "Baby You're a Rich Man" is next and is a great song. The closing "All You Need is Love" is a classic Lennon tune which was a #1 hit in the summer of 1967 and a great song.
All you need to do is buy this album (especially the remastered version which was just released in 2009)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just A Collection Of Great Psychedelic Songs, April 1, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Magical Mystery Tour (Audio CD)
The great thing about "Magical Mystery Tour" is that it's not really a "concept" album, or (intentionally, at least) a full album. The movie only has the first 6 songs, and the rest were slapped on for use as a double EP. Let's just talk about the songs now...
Magical Mystery Tour: Certainly not their best song, but a good bit of indulgence with some good vocals and a crazy horn arrangement (listen to them during the "coming to take you away" lyric - very cool sounds!) Overall a good song, though.
The Fool On The Hill: Ok, I just like this song. Very melodic, keeps the mood, and Paul plays some good recorder.
Flying: I really like this, simply as a fun instrumental, nothing more or less. I like the mellotron and the superweird ending, as a good intro into...
Blue Jay Way: Most underrated of the songs on here. It's an awesome psychedelic song. George does really good on here, the lyrics nice and cryptic, the effects great (backward instruments, phased drums) and the vocals are fantastic! The organ voice sound is so unique to The Beatles. It's strikingly scary.
Your Mother Should Know: Like every Paul song on here, roots are very traditional and subtle psychedelic-poppy feel, not a bad thing. If you skip it, you dont miss it. But once it starts, you have to let it get you singing!
I Am The Walrus: What can I say that hasn't been said already? The greatest psychedelic song of all time. You have to hear it to believe it.
Hello Goodbye: A really great Paul song! The feel of it, the drums, the bass, the guitar...it has a feel that overrides the actual song. Real great stuff.
Strawberry Fields Forever: Oops, spoke too soon. THIS is the greatest psychedelic song of all time...as well as the previously stated song. People have got to give George Martin more credit! Instanly recognizable.
Penny Lane: A great flipside to SFF. Orchestral and epic sort of. And it's one of Paul's best songs.
Baby You're A Rich Man: Highly nutritious portions of a catchy chorus, handclaps and trippy keyboard sounds really make this memorable.
All You Need Is Love: Need I say more? Yes. The song itself, even without all the instruments, would be great. A great descending song, good emotional stuff, and orchestral samplings of Glenn Miller and the french national anthem in the same song!
That's it. Now go get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lennon McCartney at their peak........, June 26, 2000
This review is from: Magical Mystery Tour (Audio CD)
I bought this album recently with low expectations and was pleasantly surprised. It is not an album in the normal sense, as it is not a concept like Sgt Pepper, rather an eclectic collection based on the film which has only five songs, and fleshed out with singles released around the same period.

Nevertheless, this is a very strong collection of songs 6 of which reached no 1 in the UK, a claim that few other albums in history can match. Two of the 6 were double A sides Strawberry Fields/Penny Lane and Hello Goodbye/I am the walrus.

Strawberry Fields Forever and Penny Lane were originally intended for the Sgt Pepper album, until the Beatles manager decided they needed to release a single, so these were taken off the album. Strawberry Fields Forever is a classic song featuring the big production treatment with strings, with that classic introduction, a different buildup on each verse, a sort of consciousness enhancing mind expanding song taking you places you have never been before. Penny Lane is one of McCartney's most sophisticated melodies, his answer to John's reminiscences about his Liverpool childhood.

I am the Walrus is essentially a stream of consciousness piece, with diverse visual word imagery which as a piece of poetry is probably Lennon's best, but also his most disturbing. The intro is a very strong piece of music. Hello Goodbye is a catchy McCartney tune based around a word association one person positive the other negative...you say stop! I say go, go, go!

All you need is love is the great anthem of The Beatles, and the 60's written specially for the first worldwide satellite broadcast.

Fool on the Hill is a great song featuring Mc Cartney on piano and multi track recorders, and Your mother should know which harks back to an earlier era is also good. Blue Jay Way is like a mantra that seeps into your consciousness in a very pleasant way. The other songs are so so but listenable. I don't think you'll be disappointed in this album. All in all, strongly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surreal and strange, May 4, 2003
This review is from: Magical Mystery Tour (Audio CD)
The only American release I like more than the British one, as five extra songs were added to the original EP. Those five songs fit perfectly and add considerably to this album.
People who genuinely like "Magical Mystery Tour" are usually considered weird, and much abuse was heaped upon me for loving this album. For awhile, it was my favorite Beatles.
This is the height of their lysergic experimentation, and contains some of the most unusual songs of their career. It starts off normally enough, but enters strange territory around "Flying". George's "Blue Jay Way" has a great dirgelike quality to it, and exudes a Kafkaesque atmosphere of waiting. "Your Mother Should Know" is a little weak, but not too bad.
"I am The Walrus" is Lennon at his most imaginative, a great nonsense song. George Martin's loopy orchestration adds to the dementia. This really should've been an A side, instead of "Hello Goodbye", an energetic ditty with a great coda.
Wow, what's next? "Strawberry Fields Forever" (enough has been said about that one) and "Penny Lane", Paul's ode to suburbia. There's a dark undertow to this song that belies its sunny exterior, as if the inhabitants of PL are dissatisfied with their supposedly happy existence. "Baby You're a Rich Man" has a great bumpity rhythm guitar and bass line part, with strange lyrics about money in zoos. It's been said this was about Brian Epstien.
"All You Need is Love" is a return to Lennon's more straightforward lyrical style. He says exactly what needs to be said with no extra padding. A perfectly suitable ending to a great EP made LP.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bad movie---great record, December 10, 2006
This review is from: Magical Mystery Tour (Audio CD)
MAGICAL MYSTERY TOUR was a dismal failure as a BBC television special, and justly so. In fact, it was so awful the program was never aired in the United States. Unscriptedly ad-lib and haphazard, the film's occasional musical performance highlights couldn't redeem this silly exercise in group personal excess.

Conversely, the American record album of MAGICAL MYSTERY TOUR (ironically unavailable in Britain) was a wondrous thing indeed. The entirety and order of its songlist are included on this CD release. Inside the original record's foldout cover were several pages of 12" stills taken directly from that strange movie-- these appear here in miniature. The LP and CD also contain the complete song lyrics. Best of all, several Top 40 records that weren't a part of that original TV show were used to flesh out this set.

The majority of the songs on this Xmas '67 release received a great deal of American AM radio airplay at the time. No other US Beatles album contained as many chart topping hits as MAGICAL MYSTERY TOUR. Pretty good for what at the time was considered a letdown for all involved and their fans.

In many ways, MMT holds up better than SGT. PEPPER'S. Musically, if not cinematically, this was the Beatles at their height as a cohesive group.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars inadvertently one of their very best, December 15, 2000
By 
nat adamo (brooklyn, new york United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Magical Mystery Tour (Audio CD)
Though the Beatles didn't intend for it to be an album (CD)Magical Mystery Tour has got to be one of their greatest.Despite the fact that the film was not a critical success, the album "soundtrack" was an enormous hit at the time of its original 1967 release.Coming hot on the heels of Sgt.Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band, this album quite possibly rivals it.Just look at the songs.Some of Lennon's best psychedelia "Strawberry Field's Forever" "I am the Walrus" and the eternal flower power anthem "All You Need is Love" are represented here, as well as McCartney's exquisite"The Fool on the Hill" and the mini-symphonic "Penny Lane." Not to mention the cunningly complex but highly commercial"Hello Goodbye." Even the"minor songs" like the title cut and "Baby, You're a Rich Man" give today's dreck a run for it's money.Seven of these songs are represented on the Beatles Blue 1967-70.This is Lennon's personal favorite because "it's crazy and weird." Absolutely a creative peak.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superior Music, November 5, 2000
This review is from: Magical Mystery Tour (Audio CD)
Magic Mystery Tour is one my favorite Beatles cds. Every song is expertly crafted and a classic, similar to Sgt. Peppers. This was the first Beatles cd I purchased, just a few months ago, and after only one listen,, I knew I loved it. What made me purchase this was songs like 'Penny Lane' 'Strawberry Fields' 'I am the Walrus' and 'All you need is love'. Songs that I fell in love with after listening to my dad's old vinyl of the blue album, which is a great introduction the band.
My favorite songs on MMT are 'Blue Jay Way' 'Flying' and 'Your Mother Should Know'. Not that I don't like the other songs, those tracks just, in my mind, stand out more.
Good solid songwriting (like you would expect anything less from The Beatles?), tight tracks make Magical Mystery Tour an essential album in any music lover's collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty close mix to previous 2 albums, October 17, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Magical Mystery Tour (Audio CD)
All I can really say is....If you like this stereo mix....You will probably like SGT PEPPER and REVOLVER as well....it isn't that hokey "music-left/vocals-right" wannabe stereo that I have been ragging about....This is actually listenable and enjoyable....The remastering job is pretty good...aside from the sound is a tad bright at times

The last so-called remastering they did of this album...was pretty tinny sounding and lacked some bass in various spots.....They corrected that issue on this series...and got it right....I also have the MONO REMASTER of this cd...and it definitely is a major sonic step up.

As with all the remaster CD's in this series...the packaging is a treat and a delight for Beatle fans.

I would say....All in all...it's worth the investment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's The Beatles, what more need I say?, February 20, 2005
By 
This review is from: Magical Mystery Tour (Audio CD)
I know that all of you doubters out there don't like this album, the movie, or the Beatles. Well I'm telling all of you that this album is terrific. The movie of the same name is only for the hard-core Beatles fans such as myself. But the music can be enjoyed by all. The tracks are truly wonderful. This, and Pepper was them at the peak of their psychedelic powers. Fool on the Hill, I am the Walrus, Blue Jay Way, MMT, Your Mother Should Know, and all the rest are great songs. It's great fun. I've loved this album since I was a little kid, and if you give it a chance, I'm sure you'll love it too. Don't be put off because of the movie because that has no effect on the quality of the writing genius that was Lennon/McCartney, and Harrison.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 365 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Magical Mystery Tour
Magical Mystery Tour by The Beatles (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.