Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magick Basics without pre-set Religion requirments!
I love this book. Patricia Telesco is a fantastic author. The Basic magickal components (Herbs, stones, etc), and their traditional/suggested uses in Folk Magick was well organized(alphabetically, by category) and well explained! This book is unintimidating and easy to refrence. She also gives the reader a good neutral foundation on which they can build their own...
Published on February 2, 2001 by Violin Goddess

versus
5 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Basically, a giant correspondence table
"Magick Made Easy" was somewhat of a disappointment. It didn't delve very deep into the subject of magic, and a quarter of the way through I realized all I held in my hands was a book about fluff.
I *will* complement the author on the correspondence tables, though... Hundreds of items are listed with each of their magical purposes, and every magical...
Published on March 6, 2000


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magick Basics without pre-set Religion requirments!, February 2, 2001
This review is from: Magick Made Easy: Charms, Spells, Potions and Power (Paperback)
I love this book. Patricia Telesco is a fantastic author. The Basic magickal components (Herbs, stones, etc), and their traditional/suggested uses in Folk Magick was well organized(alphabetically, by category) and well explained! This book is unintimidating and easy to refrence. She also gives the reader a good neutral foundation on which they can build their own opinions and practices. The very best aspect of this book was the fact that she presented a concept that is very much tied to various Earth Religions, but didn't give the book a religious slant at all. (Being a Christian Witch,) I appreciated the fact that there wasn't a pre-set religious affiliation to the information! This allows one to learn just "Magick"...leaving the religious application up to the reader!! The book is and easy read for the beginner, and a valuable refrence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Spell Component Cookbook, October 18, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Magick Made Easy: Charms, Spells, Potions and Power (Paperback)
If you're looking around your home and want to know how to use everything magickally, this is a great book for you. Rather than being arranged by spell topic, it has components (both ancient and modern) in alphabetical order so you can mix and match your magick to perfection.
For those wanting themes - there's a cross referenced index of spells, rituals, charms, etc. so you don't have to hunt for ideas (and there are a lot of them).
LOVE the cover!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Resource!, April 20, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Magick Made Easy: Charms, Spells, Potions and Power (Paperback)
Magick Made easy was obviously designed to be a recipe book focused on components rather than spells themselves - the idea being to encourage us to find our own combinations of magical ingredients to make that special spark happen in everyday life and Circle. Folk magick, as explained by Telesco, IS simple - but NOT fluffy. The difference is attitude. This book isn't for ritual magicians, it's for kitchen witches and everyday folk who want to bring an extra spritual dimension to things. I also loved the cover - very clever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sure to be a Classic, August 14, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Magick Made Easy: Charms, Spells, Potions and Power (Paperback)
I've been wanting more reference material for my library and this one won't see much shelf time! The alphabetical component listings that make up the majority of the book were a really neat twist on the books that provide cut-n'-dry spells by topic. Here, rather than getting spell recipes, you're given all the information on magickal ingredients so you can create your own personal "recipe" for successful spiritual living.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magick made easy, April 9, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Magick Made Easy: Charms, Spells, Potions and Power (Paperback)
I am a big fan of Patricia Telesco's works, as she offers practical usage for modern, everyday items in a magickal context. Although this book seems like a sequel to Spinning Spells, Weaving Wonders, it is different enough to warrant a purchase. The first part of the book, "Off to 'Oz'", answers common questions about magick, such as "does folk magick have a religious element", and Telesco offers her own rules of magick, much as Cunningham did. Getting started in folk magick is discussed, as is folk magick fundamentals. The second part of the book, the Components, is divided into Traditional and Modern components, and covers such items as coral, hawthorn, lead, snakes, batteries, blenders, and more. These entries are in alphabetical order and include themes, elemental correspondences, and sample applications. If you are looking for practical ways to use ordinary household items in your magickal practices, this book is well worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Believe this to be the first magick book I ever bought, July 1, 2005
By 
J. Malnar (Zagreb Croatia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Magick Made Easy: Charms, Spells, Potions and Power (Paperback)
and was that a lucky coincidence. If Buckland would have been my first, I would most likely have stopped right there, it would have been too much, as I am before all a solitary kitchen witch wannabe :) This book contains basics of the tools, the circle casting, the ritual and then basic magickal correcpondences and glossary, written in an easy and easy to undestand way. Enough for starters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Practical, August 21, 2006
This review is from: Magick Made Easy: Charms, Spells, Potions and Power (Paperback)
Simple to read. Non-expensive formulas. Will be a great reference book for years. I especially like how it gives a breakdown of the traditional uses/functions of traditional components.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Read, October 23, 2002
By 
Amanda (California, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Magick Made Easy: Charms, Spells, Potions and Power (Paperback)
This was one of the first books I had when I started Wicca. It has some good info, and I still use the components table, it still helps me out A LOT. Honestly, it has the most corrsepondences of any of my books, that is where it really shines. There were a lot of really intresting ideas to use each, but the glossary could've been better to a beginning witch, and the info was a bit limited, especially for a beginning book. And it didn't really, get me *into* it. But, the reason why I gave it 4 stars is because of the research and personal thoughts obviously put into the correspondences, I'd say they're more of an intermidiate witch's helpful info, but that's only my opinion, and everyone goes down their own path. Blessed Be!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It comes in handy, January 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Magick Made Easy: Charms, Spells, Potions and Power (Paperback)
Magick made easy is a very easy to read and understand book. this book also serves as a quick reference guide for how to do quick spells and answers questions on what household items can be used. I like it, and it is convenient for me to use as a quick reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, July 23, 2013
By 
Pamela (Damascus, United States Minor Outlying Islands) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Magick Made Easy: Charms, Spells, Potions and Power (Paperback)
Well written and informative. I lot of fun to read and easily understood. Great book to have in the library
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Magick Made Easy: Charms, Spells, Potions and Power
Magick Made Easy: Charms, Spells, Potions and Power by Patricia Telesco (Paperback - September 8, 1999)
$16.00 $13.83
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.