Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


97 of 101 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 8th Generation of Magnavox HDD/DVD Recorders
The MDR537H/F7 is one of three in the 53x Series of std def (480i) HDD/DVD recorders... 533 and 535 are the others. This 537 has a 1000GB (1TB) HDD while the others have 320GB and 500GB HDDs.

More info at avsforum.com > Forums > Video Components > DVD Recorders > Magnavox 537, 535, 533, 515, 513, 2160A, 2160, 2080 & Philips 3576, 3575.

Page 1 there...
Published on October 3, 2012 by wajo

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars
I was unable to use it sor higher channels with dish.
Published 19 days ago by C. H.


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

97 of 101 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 8th Generation of Magnavox HDD/DVD Recorders, October 3, 2012
This review is from: Magnavox MDR537H 1 TB DVD Recorder/HDD with Digital Tuner (Black) (Electronics)
The MDR537H/F7 is one of three in the 53x Series of std def (480i) HDD/DVD recorders... 533 and 535 are the others. This 537 has a 1000GB (1TB) HDD while the others have 320GB and 500GB HDDs.

More info at avsforum.com > Forums > Video Components > DVD Recorders > Magnavox 537, 535, 533, 515, 513, 2160A, 2160, 2080 & Philips 3576, 3575.

Page 1 there is the only page you need to read and bookmark.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * *
The Mag 533/535/537 (53x) Series is the 8th, and possibly final, generation of simple, family-friendly, durable, std def (SD, 480i) analog/digital DVD recorders (DVDR) with hard disk drive (HDD) that are yearly improvements of the same basic design and operating system.

They're the ONLY recorders, SD or HD (720/1080), available for daily use in North America with:

-NTSC/ATSC/QAM tuners for antenna or cable.
-Easily replaceable/upgradeable/expandable hard-disk drive (HDD).
-Easily replaceable DVD/CD drive for burning DVDs and playing DVDs and CDs.
-Widescreen (16:9) recording.
-Amplified coax passthru w/unit on or off.
-Amplified coax and line inputs.
-DV input.
-Coax digital audio out.
-1080p HDMI upconvert.
-36 timer-rec programs with pre-titling.
-6-hour autorecord buffer.
-Pause & rewind live TV.
-Chase play.
-Skip/replay.
-Simultaneous play/record.
-Record while watching diff. channel on TV via coax passthru.
-Integrated TV/DVDR control via HDMI CEC-link.
-1-2 hour power backup, dep. on whether Auto Clock is off or on.
-Simple editing for your archive copies or home movies.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * *
FOR NEWCOMERS TO DVDRs OR THIS BRAND OF DVDR

The 53x Series are standalone units that can record from antenna or cable coax. They also have line inputs so they can record from cable boxes and satellite receivers or copy from VCRs, DVRs, cameras and camcorders.

They're so easy to use they can be operated by the entire family, from kids to timeshifters to gearheads.

Timeshifters can reliably record a bunch of named shows, unattended and with NO tapes or discs.

Gearheads can upgrade their HDD or create an "HDD farm" of multiple 2.5" and 3.5" external (E-SATA) HDDs with unlimited storage, <1-min. drive swapout, HDD portability, and external power for less internal heat and stress.

The DVD burner is also DIY replaceable with a ~$70 OEM unit.

For the past 5 years, this same HDD/DVD recorder design has proven to be a simple and reliable way to record your daily and weekly shows on analog or digital channels, completely unattended, so you can go on a long vacation or business trip and you'll never touch a disc!

It's the only device you'll need to copy your family's home movies or your DVR recordings to a stand-alone, no-monthly-fee HDD, where you can edit or not, then high-speed dub to DVDs for a perfect mirror-image of the original. You can also record/copy direct to DVD, if you prefer.

If you get your TV signal via OTA antenna, you won't need a digital converter box wherever you've got one of these.

Fair warning: The HDD will spoil you rotten!

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * *
FOR OWNERS OF PREVIOUS MODELS

If you looked at or have one of the previous models in the Philips or Mag HDD/DVD series, you might only need to know that, with the 53x Series, Funai is basically only satisfying a "Primary Wish": KEEP MAKING THE MDR515!

The 53x Manual reads virtually the same as the 515 manual, except they now show 999 titles possible on the HDD instead of 600.

One major disappointment, other than the fact that the MDR53x Series doesn't add any new capabilities, is that the remote still operates the older Mag HDD/DVD recorders, the 2080, 2160, 2160A, 513 and 515. Users of multiple Mag machines will still have to use barriers to operate a single machine.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * *
ERRORS, OMISSIONS AND MISLEADS STILL IN THE MANUAL

Be aware that the 53x manual STILL has several important errors, omissions, and misleads.
Three of the worst are:

1. WRONG - SETTING THIS DVDR UP BEHIND A CABLE BOX, pg 19.
Makes this DVDR a "slave" to the box! It should be 1st on the incoming cable coax unless you order PPV/VOD thru the box... only then do you need a 2-way splitter on the incoming coax. This Mag already has a built-in, amplified splitter that (1) passes the raw signal thru to downstream components like a cable box or TV, and (2) feeds the Mag's tuner so it can "pick off" (record) ANY unscrambled channels in the signal. It should NEVER be behind a cable box where it can only record the channel the box is tuned to... EVEN IF ALL YOUR CABLE CHANNELS ARE SCRAMBLED (makes no diff.). Of course, you must do an Auto Channel Preset > Cable (Analog/Digital) to make sure your DVDR sees and memorizes the unscrambled channels (if any).

2. OMITTED - MAKING FRONT- AND END-CUTS IN EDIT, Pp 93-94.
Frustrates many new users! In the Scene Delete menu, only REW stops on 1st frame and only PLAY and FF stop on last frame. 2160, 2160A and 513 also had a totally confusing and unnecessary auto-Preview after an End Cut that should be IGNORED. At least the 53x Series doesn't have the confusing auto-preview!

3. MISLEADING - RECORDING 16:9 WIDESCREEN AS 4:3, pg 45.
This half-truth has caused more misunderstanding than almost anything else in the manual. It's a "deep" technical subject that didn't need to be there! It HAS TO record a 4:3 aspect pic FRAME because the DVD Std was built on the old 4:3 VHS Std, but the DVD std allows a combo of square/non-square pixels, variable horiz. rez, compression and decompression within that 4:3 frame. THAT'S what allows your HDTV to stretch the "non-square" (rectangular) pixels of a WS image inside that 4:3 frame to natural 16:9 WS aspect. You just need to set this DVDR's Video > TV Aspect to "16:9 Wide" and your HDTV on its "Wide" aspect setting. However, this DVDR's DEFAULT setting for aspect ratio is "4:3 Letter Box" so you have to change that to 16:9 Wide during setup or none of your recordings will be 16:9 WS!

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

More info at avsforum.com > Forums > Video Components > DVD Recorders > Magnavox 537, 535, 533, 515, 513, 2160A, 2160, 2080 & Philips 3576, 3575.

Page 1 there is the only page you need to read and bookmark.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * *
Disclaimer: I have never represented or worked for Funai or any seller in any capacity... and currently don't work for anyone else! -:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great DVR, but overpriced by "Koozam" and "SeizeTheDay" and others, October 2, 2012
By 
This review is from: Magnavox MDR537H 1 TB DVD Recorder/HDD with Digital Tuner (Black) (Electronics)
Update 03/01/2013 and 11/15/2012: This item can now be had for only $279+tax, with free shipping site-to-store (at 'Wall-Mart' site).
Amazon current has TWO listings for this IDENTICAL item, the other is Magnavox MDR537H 1 TB DVD Recorder/HDD with Digital Tuner (Black). Some sellers here are STILL overcharging for this DVR, beware!

Original Review with (older) updates:
This is a great DVR for over-the-air TV recording, and it allows you to edit out commercials and copy your shows to DVD (in SD, but it looks pretty good in the SP or HQ mode via the HDMI output), but don't buy it from "Koozam" nor "SeizeTheDay"; they are charging $50 or more OVER list price, plus "Koozam" charges outrageous shipping ($35).

Also, the list price of this unit is STILL erroneously listed today (11/15/2012) as $599.99, the real list price is just $399.99! Note that I say "erroneously", because I don't wish to use a stronger word here, in case it really was an error to say its list price is $200 higher than it really is.

Do a web search for "Magnavox MDR537H", and buy it for $100 less than list price (plus free shipping site-to-store), or wait for Amazon themselves to sell it at a decent price!

Note that this unit is available with THREE different hard disk capacities:

MDR537H: 1TB, List Price: $399.99

MDR535H: 500GB, List Price: $349.99

MDR533H: 320GB, List Price: $299.99

Don't get taken to the cleaners, do your homework before buying!

UPDATE 10/8/2012: This identical item is now being sold right here on AMAZON for $330 (see link in update above), if the URL below does not work, just type "Magnavox MDR537H" into Amazon's search box, and you will come up with TWO listings for the same product (this one, and the cheaper one, plus listings for similar [older] models, which you should ignore)!:

Thanks to user "Stapler" for his comments and the list price info, and to "wajo" for his detailed review.

And, to Magnavox / Funai, I'm still waiting for a full HD version of this unit, with a 3TB HDD and a Blu-Ray burner or at least AVCHD to DVD capability!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnavox MDR537H 1 TB DON'T WASTE $100.00 !!!!!!!!! Go to Wall Mart., November 8, 2012
This review is from: Magnavox MDR537H 1 TB DVD Recorder/HDD with Digital Tuner (Black) (Electronics)
These are awesome units. They are the 80's VCR'S . Everyone should own own one if not two of these units. I went to go buy one in Sept. 2012. to my shock, they were all gone from the market. They had been around for at least five years that I knew of, as far as having the built it hard drive. I had bought a Sony 14 years ago, but like a VCR, it had no hard drive I have 4 of them, and I went to go buy another one of them, only to find they all but disappeared !!! I did find one on E-Bay for $800.00, when brand new I bought them for $249.99. well after being gone for a year or so, they are back, and $100.00 cheaper at Wall Mart.
Magnavox MDR537H 1 TB DVD Recorder/HDD with Digital Tuner (Black)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great VCR replacement, March 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Magnavox MDR537H 1 TB DVD Recorder/HDD with Digital Tuner (Black) (Electronics)
Ok, I had a lot of trouble setting it up the day I got it. The major reason was, I expected it to act exactly like a VCR. So here's my tip; When you set the timer for a program, make sure you allow about 15 minutes before the program starts to put the unit into standby mode. For some reason, it needs some time to think, or collect its thoughts before it can record your program when you exit to standby. I kept trying to test the machine by setting up a program that would begin within a couple of minutes of my scheduling it. It wouldn't record that way. (This is all to the HDD) But allowing about 15 minutes works fine. You'll know you are recording, because in standby mode there is just a little red square lit up, (meaning timer is set.) But when the program starts, it will act like a VCR, and the time display will change to time tracking display, HDD will light up, and DTV will light up (if you're taping DTV) When it's done, you have to give it a little time again. It takes about a minute to finish wrapping up a recording, then the display will just show the current time again, and even the little red square will go out. When you go back into check your program schedule, the line for that program will be gone. You can then click "Titles" on your remote and see the video thumbnail of your recording. I haven't tried turning on the unit while it's recording yet. I don't know what will happen if you do that.

New info after using this for over a year now: I found out you CAN ACTUALLY WATCH ONE OF YOUR SAVED RECORDINGS from the hdd WHILE IT IS RECORDING SOMETHING ELSE to that same hdd! That, in my opinion makes it far more valuable than a VCR! It's great if you want to watch two TV programs that are both on at the same time. For example; you want to watch a recording of a two hour movie, but during that time it is scheduled to record something else. No Problem! It will record your program even while you are watching one of your saved recordings. BUT THAT'S NOT ALL!! You can also start watching a program that is CURRENTLY RECORDING. For example your movie started recording a half hour ago; well you can start watching it even WHILE it is recording! It will finish recording as you programmed it to, and you can watch it all the while. That means you can zip through the commercials while it is still recording (assuming you are behind time sufficiently.) This thing is GREAT!

This is all I wanted. A smooth, easy to use, no tape hassle VCR replacement. I put a DVD +R in the DVD tray, but I don't know if I'll ever record anything to it. Update: I tried the DVD recorder function and it worked like a charm. But I still haven't recorded anything to the DVD for later use, and I wouldn't know how to edit the commercials out or anything.

The wiring hookup went very smoothly, the initial setup went fine. I recommend this to anyone looking for a VCR replacement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Manual Error - CABLE BOX IS NOT NEEDED., January 8, 2013
This review is from: Magnavox MDR537H 1 TB DVD Recorder/HDD with Digital Tuner (Black) (Electronics)
The manual is wrong on this unit.
The built in tuner works just fine.
A Cable Box is not required regardless of what the manual says.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Word to the wise for any and all DVD recorders, January 4, 2013
This review is from: Magnavox MDR537H 1 TB DVD Recorder/HDD with Digital Tuner (Black) (Electronics)
I have been recording onto DVD recorders since 2002 , when the very first one was released by Philips. I have learned many things but most important is what Discs work the beston any and all DVD recorders out there. No disc errors. Verbatim 8X blank DVD's are ONLY ones to use. The product code for Verbatim +R discs are 95052 or 94812. They are affordable and very reliable.
You can also record -R Verbatim as well. (Not sure of the product codes for - discs). Reason: Most +R dics will play on DVD players whereas, -R discs may not play on all players out there. Verbatim does have the very best AZO dyes for recording. And NEVER use 16X discs (on any stand alone) DVD recorders. They are unreliable, cause disc errors.
BandH.com sell Verbatim at the best price out there. Or here on Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, March 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Magnavox MDR537H 1 TB DVD Recorder/HDD with Digital Tuner (Black) (Electronics)
Love this so much I will be ordering another soon for a gift. How can you not love a recorder you can leave the house for a long time and not worry about missing your favorite shows. I can leave for a month and still have enough room for more shows. 1T drive is great .Would take a long time to review them but can get a lot of shows and/or movies recorded before filling this thing up. Quality of the Pic is great too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Changed from a 4 to a 5 - Works Great after 6 months so far, May 17, 2013
By 
J. Cox Jr. (Torrance, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Magnavox MDR537H 1 TB DVD Recorder/HDD with Digital Tuner (Black) (Electronics)
11-16-13 Update
After 6 months I have had no issues. Excellent product

I did not buy from Amazon, because Walmart was cheaper. Just started using the equipment and seems to work very well.
Got a lot of good info from the forum mentioned. I had bought the Toshiba DVR 670KU, which is a piece of junk, so I wish I had bought this first, but I needed a VCR to transfer tapes. So much for using the 670KU.
I know folks do not like buying extended warrantys, but I did with Walmart since the cost was nominal for a few extra years and I do not want to have to pay for any problem(s) that might happen with the two drives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A GREAT BUY AT A BARGAIN PRICE, March 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Magnavox MDR537H 1 TB DVD Recorder/HDD with Digital Tuner (Black) (Electronics)
THUS FAR I HAVE NOT PUT THIS UNIT THRU ALL OF THE THINGS IT IS CAPABLE OF HOWEVER THE HARD DRIVE
RECORDER AND THE DVD RECORDER BOTH WORKED AS ADVERTISED.

ABOUT THE ONLY SLIGHT DOWNSIDE APPEARS AS A DULLER,DARKER PICTURE WHEN PLAYING DVDs,THIS IS
ONLY A MINOR OBJECTION AS I ADJUST MY TV CONTROLS TO COMPENSATE.

WILL UPDATE AS I USE THIS UNIT MORE,THE BUILD QUALITY LOOKS GOOD. FUNAI IS KNOWN FOR DECENT
QUALITY ELECTRONICS AT REASONABLE PRICES

N. DE LUCA MANCHESTER,NJ
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Magnavox MDR537H 1 TB DVD Recorder/HDD with Digital Tuner (Black), August 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Magnavox MDR537H 1 TB DVD Recorder/HDD with Digital Tuner (Black) (Electronics)
It could have a more responsive remote. It takes time to learn how to use your own DVR, but it was worth it to get onto an antenna and dump the cable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.