Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST
I have all four volumes of Mahalia Sings Videos and a couple of other Mahalia Jackson Videos, and I can honestly say that this is the most well made and more informative than all the other videos combined. Lots of hard to find film clips and so many sound clips of Mahalia at her best.
Published on December 23, 1999 by Matthew Beckley

versus
45 of 48 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Get the bonus disc
It is not the rather lame documentary that makes this item worthwhile but the bonus disc. It contains 2 hours with 38 live video clips recorded in black and white for American television in the late fifties. The performances are set against a sober kind of German expressionistic background. Most of the time the accompanying musicians (piano -must be Mildred Falls-,...
Published on October 26, 2003 by B. J. Blote


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 48 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Get the bonus disc, October 26, 2003
By 
B. J. Blote "Jillis" (Voorschoten, ZH Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mahalia Jackson - The Power and the Glory: The Life and Music of the World's Greatest Gospel Singer (DVD)
It is not the rather lame documentary that makes this item worthwhile but the bonus disc. It contains 2 hours with 38 live video clips recorded in black and white for American television in the late fifties. The performances are set against a sober kind of German expressionistic background. Most of the time the accompanying musicians (piano -must be Mildred Falls-, acoustic bass, electric guitar, drums and organ) are not in the picture. Without an audience the performances are rather serene but they are of high musical quality. Though some songs are more uplifting than others Jackson and the other musicians are in great form. They are randomly taken from the 80 video clip collection 'Mahalia Jackson sings' which lasts for 4 hours.
In regard of the documentary: it is apparent that there is not that much video footage left of Mahalia Jackson, except from the above mentioned footage. There is something to be said for the interview recordings used but for a visual documentary it is a pity that only two excerpts, lasting only seconds, are accompanied by moving pictures of Mahalia Jackson. This is the great omission of the film. To cover up for this problem a lot of irrelevant archive footage is used and the camera zooms in or out on tens of still photographs. Then there are a lot of chit chatting talking heads from people who where more or less close to her and on top of it all there's the annoying voiceover. Most troubling is that their voices are mixed through the soundtrack of the few interesting concert snippets, which are not fully shown in the first place. Most of the scarce concert footage is from one of her later and less impressive concert tours where her voice, music (without pianist Mildred Falls) and performance have lost power. This footage is earlier and to a greater extend used for Allen Miner's, mostly depressing, 86-minute tour report (released in 1974). On a slightly positive note: added up there are a few minutes of unique video material from earlier performances. The one-minute recording of 'How I got over' from the march on Washington is very impressive; she performs the song at the same lectern where Dr. M.L. King gives his famous speech. Unfortunately this recording is also interrupted by speech and visuals.
I have not much trust in hoping for a thorough documentary film on Mahalia Jackson's life and music. I do hope for complete video releases of the concerts, which are so barely touched upon in this documentary. For example nothing beats the overwhelming recording of a part of her concert at the Newport Jazz festival 1958, which was used for the impressive music documentary 'Jazz on a summer's day' (Bert Stern, USA 1960). And then there are the unpublished television specials she made for CBS in 1955 (not the same as the 'Mahalia Jackson sings' recordings), a bit of interesting audio material is used for this documentary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST, December 23, 1999
By 
This review is from: Power & Glory [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I have all four volumes of Mahalia Sings Videos and a couple of other Mahalia Jackson Videos, and I can honestly say that this is the most well made and more informative than all the other videos combined. Lots of hard to find film clips and so many sound clips of Mahalia at her best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Long and lonesome road. . ., December 14, 2005
This review is from: Mahalia Jackson - The Power and the Glory: The Life and Music of the World's Greatest Gospel Singer (DVD)
I have read everything in print, I believe, about Mahalia Jackson. I have researched her life diligently for more than 35 years. This film does a good job of recreating from archival footage the basic substance of her life and work. While some things are not fully accurate, the film does depict the chronological events in her life quite well. For example, the Carnegie 1950 performance was not actually filmed or shown here. The later 1961 image from CBS was used to approximate the actual event. I do not fault any of this, as the film does justice to Mahalia's fabulous career in many ways, thus providing at least some form of historical narrative for future generations. I sincerely hope that an intensive and thorough work is currently in the making. Mahalia made TV appearances as late as 1971 (Flip Wilson). She sang at M.L. King's funeral, yet in this documentary that actual performance was not used. I personally watched her April 1968 televised performance of "Precious Lord" at his funeral. All major networks televised the event, so this performance should have been used. Mahalia was on TV in the 50's and 60's frequently. I believe that in essence this particular film does capture the life and work of Miss Jackson fairly accurately and well. I am grateful to its producers for the effort and research and the images of the great Mahalia. I did enjoy this film and in the end I felt that long familiar pang. . .I surely do miss her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mine Eyes Have Seen the Glory, April 2, 2003
By 
"wbmercer" (Dallas, TX USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mahalia Jackson - The Power and the Glory: The Life and Music of the World's Greatest Gospel Singer (DVD)
This 2-DVD set is a treasure if you care about Jazz, Blues, Gospel, the Civil Rights movement or the roots of Rock music. If you're a Mahalia fan it's an absolute "must have."
The first disc is a montage of photos, film clips and recent interviews with people who knew and worked with Mahalia, interspersed with brief clips of her actual performances and interviews with her. The second disc is composed entirely of her performances. The approximately 40 songs she performs on the second disc appear to all be from one or two recording sessions on a set. Apparently without a live audience for the most part, and restrained for the occasion, her performances aren't as animated as many of the clips in the first disc, but it's still an amazing experience to watch.
This set meant that, after 35 years of hearing, at last my eyes could see the life and the joy and the laughter and the tears with which Mahalia Jackson embodied Gospel and the gospel.
Watch, listen and "move on up a little higher."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Experience the True Power and Sheer Glory of the Queen!, February 13, 2003
This review is from: Mahalia Jackson - The Power and the Glory: The Life and Music of the World's Greatest Gospel Singer (DVD)
I grew up listening to and admiring the voice of Mahalia Jackson. I began to collect her precious recordings, When I first saw this documentary, I declared, "I must have this in my collection". This set is priceless because accompanied with the cd of a great documentary of a legendary Gospel Singer that painstakingly narrates her life, there are 39 rare vintage performances of Mahalia at her "Zenith" Listening to her actually perform truly memorable songs such as "when the saints come marching in" "Guide me oh Great Jehova!" and other truly memorable songs bring you to tears. The Great Mahalia has a voice that will lift you to great heights and when you finish listening to her, you feel as if you were on a mountain and witnessed a breathtaking view and you do not want to ever leave that mountaintop! Mahalia is very engaging as you see her sincere Facial expressions and her ability to thrust her whole being in her song. One is left with the impression that she lived those songs, for they were sung with her heart. This set is a must for all Gospel and Jazz enthusiasts in the world. Teens and adults, get this so that you can recognize why there will never be another Mahalia Jackson!
All the Best!
Noel Serrano
Mahalia Jackson Group-2009
Hi5 Networks
[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Historical figure without peers, June 9, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Power & Glory [VHS] (VHS Tape)
There will never be another singer like Mahalia. She was really the greatest voice of the 20 century and this documentary video tells the whole story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I loved it,but...................., July 20, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Power & Glory [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Being an ardent fan of the late great Mahalia Jackson, I think this video could have been more in depth. So we could get a glimpse of who Mahalia Jackson, the woman was, instead of just Mahalia Jackson the world's greatest gospel singer. How was her family life? What was she like socially? Did she really love kids? You catch my drift? I want to know what she was like as an everyday person, not just an entertainer. Other than that, it is a beautiful biography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best available Jackson DVD-set, October 19, 2006
This review is from: Mahalia Jackson - The Power and the Glory: The Life and Music of the World's Greatest Gospel Singer (DVD)
Here are both, a newmade documentary abou Mahalia Jackson and on a 2nd dvd 37 songs of her vintage collection of the XENON-video volumes 1-4 in digital quality. Before you get the other DVDs on Mahalia you should prefer this one for its expansion and quality. Most of the othe until now available DVDs are repacked DVDs. Highly recommended!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mahalia Still Moves My Mountain, May 6, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mahalia Jackson - The Power and the Glory: The Life and Music of the World's Greatest Gospel Singer (DVD)
These two dvds were excellently produced. The first one about Mahalia's life was informative and interesting. The second one was entertaining, although to me a little lengthy but worth every penny spent toward this dvd collection. It's great to see via dvd such a wonderful person with an inspiring distinctive voice preserved for many years for generations to enjoy and be spiritually motivated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars God's Hand, November 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mahalia Jackson - The Power and the Glory: The Life and Music of the World's Greatest Gospel Singer (DVD)
One of the greatest gospel singers in the world. If you have not read her story, enjoy her music and see if you can feel her spirit in some of her selections.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.