Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly Brilliant Series
The discovery of the Bruno Cremer Maigrets is for me the great event of the last several years in terms of filmed "policiers", and this applies to all four sets issued to date by MHZ. One should not go to them for gore (there is none) or violence (there is very little, and what there is, is tame by modern standards). What does reward the viewer are fascinating, original...
Published 23 months ago by Ronald G. Sampson

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars maigret
The content was good but not in English and subtitles detracted from overall enjoyment and I will not purchase any new ones with subtitles
Published 7 months ago by David W. Meadows


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly Brilliant Series, September 25, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Maigret - Set 4 (DVD)
The discovery of the Bruno Cremer Maigrets is for me the great event of the last several years in terms of filmed "policiers", and this applies to all four sets issued to date by MHZ. One should not go to them for gore (there is none) or violence (there is very little, and what there is, is tame by modern standards). What does reward the viewer are fascinating, original plots (thanks to author Georges Simenon and those who so expertly adapted his novels for television); a wonderfully engaging and consistent undertaking of the title role by Bruno Cremer (who has a normal, loving and low-key relationship with his infrequently appearing spouse, so there is none of the soap-operatic personal angst which so greatly mars many other policiers); consistently strong acting across the board, with occasional standout performances by guest actors from the French stage and cinema; and, most importantly for me, wonderful and entirely credible depictions of how the French interacted with each other, including issues of provincialism, class and education, in the 1950s.

These first 24 episodes are to be cherished, and one earnestly hopes that MHZ will soon issue the remainder of the oeuvre, which was filmed in a total of 54 episodes from 1991 to 2005 (MHZ's set 4 takes it up to 1996). In short, a series that for me unequivocally ranks with, although quite different from (after all, Maigret is French!), Inspector Morse, Prime Suspect and Jeremy Brett's Sherlock Holmes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A treasure, November 17, 2013
By 
Pamela J. King (Sydney, NSW Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Maigret - Set 4 (DVD)
I love the french version of Maigret, the story takes its time to evolve and it is so studied. Bruno Cremer is wonderful. I would like to see him in another role to enjoy his very unique style of acting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bruno Cremer is magnificent, March 9, 2014
By 
Marilyn (Houston, TX, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Maigret - Set 4 (DVD)
A much needed version of Georges Simenon in the vernacular, so to speak. Subtitles are a little odd but then you'll be speaking French by the end anyway so who needs 'em?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quinetessentially French - Gentle paced fine charcterisation, November 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Maigret - Set 4 (DVD)
Gently paced, subtly acted and always wonderful plots that are credible, developed over the course of the episode and character based.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, December 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Maigret - Set 4 (DVD)
I love this series. It helps in learning the French language as well as being entertaining. I would highly recommend this series to all sleuth fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars maigret, January 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Maigret - Set 4 (DVD)
The content was good but not in English and subtitles detracted from overall enjoyment and I will not purchase any new ones with subtitles
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Maigret, September 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Maigret - Set 4 (DVD)
Totally meet my expectations. I only have 2 more cd's to buy to complete my Maigret collection. Too bad there are no more after No. 9.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Maigret - Set 4
Maigret - Set 4 by Juraj Herz (DVD - 2012)
$59.95 $37.07
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.