Customer Reviews


73 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A True Gem!
In the spring of 1975, a producer named Robert Stigwood sent thousands of copies of a single with no artist's name on them, with a title called "Jive Talkin'". It was an immediate hit and people wanted more. Remember, that in 1967, Mr. Stigwood pulled this same stunt with "New York Mining Disaster 1941", teasing the public into thinking it was the...
Published on February 6, 2000 by Martin A Hogan

versus
20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Music is 10 stars but the reissue is a big disappointment.
You will expect at least a decent remastered process for this true gem, like they did in 2011 with Bee Gees First, Horizontal and Idea. But don't let them fool you, this 2011 Main Course isn't remastered at all. This one sound exactly the same as the 1994 Polydor version, even the cover art are better in polydor version than this 2011 made by rhino. It is very...
Published on January 30, 2012 by E. Parra


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A True Gem!, February 6, 2000
This review is from: Main Course (Audio CD)
In the spring of 1975, a producer named Robert Stigwood sent thousands of copies of a single with no artist's name on them, with a title called "Jive Talkin'". It was an immediate hit and people wanted more. Remember, that in 1967, Mr. Stigwood pulled this same stunt with "New York Mining Disaster 1941", teasing the public into thinking it was the Beatles trying to see if they could make it under a different band title. The resulting surprise was that it was the Bee Gees; that tear-jerking, ballad writing trio that had faded into an old record collection that millions of record buyers owned. "Jive Talkin'" went to #1. "Night On Broadway" followed with two versions - one with the slow bridge and one without. "Fanny (Be Tender With My Love)" was the third hit off the album. This latter one being a studio gem, but virtually UN-singable in public due to the intense over layered vocal work. Being a 'single' oriented group in the past, the Bee Gees had finally crafted an album worthy of all ten songs being memorable. "Wind Of Change" was actually the first demo sent to Stigwood, but became a concert staple instead with it's strong beat and funky rhythm. If you still longed for the old Bee Gees sound, "Songbird" fits the bill (no pun intended). It's as strong a love ballad as any they have had in the past. "Country Lanes" is nearly an anthem in it's perseverance of commitment to a lover. "Edge Of The Universe" and "All This Making Love" are, admittedly, novelty songs, but "Baby, As You Turn Away" is a grand finale. What better way to also compliment your latest album production than to have another artist (Olivia Newton-John) make a hit out of "Come On Over"? Given the times, the music and the variety, Main Course is no doubt one of the most important albums the Bee Gees have had in their roller coaster career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Bee Gees Best Album Ever, April 20, 2001
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Main Course (Audio CD)
Before I review this great album, I feel that I need to get something off my chest. I'm sick and tired of not only so-called "music lovers and experts" bashing the Bee Gees but all of American radio. It is my sincere hope that everybody will give the Brothers Gibb's new CD This Is Where I Came In a fair chance. People who think that the Bee Gees are nothing but disco need to listen to their first 4 albums especially Odessa or some of their later stuff like One and Size Isn't Everything. Then they would realize how stupid and ignorant they really are when they "discovered" that the Bee Gees did other types of music besides disco. Well, enough about that--on to Main Course. This is without question their most consistent and endearing album that they ever did. While Saturday Night Fever (which is technically not a Bee Gees album)and Spirits Having Flown had the bigger hits, Main Course has the better songs. Here's a track listing and my thoughts on each: 1) Nights On Broadway -- One of my all-time favorite Bee Gees songs! It is criminal that this song only reached #7! I love the bridge! 2) Jive Talkin' -- The song that really started their comeback as it became their second #1 in the US. Personally, it's okay, but there are other songs on this CD that I listen to more. 3) Wind of Change -- A pretty popular B-side that would later show up on their double CD, Greatest. It has a good funky beat to it. 4) Songbird -- The first slow song or ballad on this album. It features a harmonica and great harmonies. 5) Fanny (Be Tender With my Love) -- Another one of my all-time favorite songs by them! Only reached #12 on the singles chart which I thought was a joke compared to what else was out there. Very complex harmonies that featured many layers. 6) All This Making Love -- A bizarre song which is okay but is probably my least favorite on the album. 7) Country Lanes -- Another of one of my all-time favorite Bee Gees songs! This has to rank right up there with And the Sun Will Shine and For Whom the Bell Tolls as one of their most underrated songs. Robin's performance always sends chills down my spine. 8) Come On Over -- A solid song that would later become a minor hit for Olivia Newton-John and a country hit for Conway Twitty. A great song for the musical ignoramuses who think the Bee Gees are nothing but disco to listen to. 9) Edge of the Universe -- A song that would become a minor hit but only when it was done live. The lyrics to this song doesn't make any sense. However, I like it over some of the other songs on this CD. 10) Baby As You Turn Away -- A great song to close out a great album. All 3 brothers do a good job in harmonizing on this ballad. All in all, get this album because of Nights On Broadway, Wind of Change, Fanny, Country Lanes, Come On Over, Edge of the Universe, and of course, Jive Talkin. If you decided to get only 1 of the 20+ Bee Gees CDs, this one would have to be your choice. If you like great music like me, I guarantee that you won't be sorry if you buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Music is 10 stars but the reissue is a big disappointment., January 30, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Main Course (Audio CD)
You will expect at least a decent remastered process for this true gem, like they did in 2011 with Bee Gees First, Horizontal and Idea. But don't let them fool you, this 2011 Main Course isn't remastered at all. This one sound exactly the same as the 1994 Polydor version, even the cover art are better in polydor version than this 2011 made by rhino. It is very disappointment for all Bee Gees fans, especially when you see what other labels are made with other catalogues like Beatles or Jethro Tull.
I am not complaining about the music, the music here is great and we all love the Bee Gees and this album is one of the best. I really want this album with the appropriate remastered process, songs like Country Lanes, Songbird, Baby As You Turn Away and All This Making Love deserve a great remastered, the other songs are great too but we already have them in other compilations already remastered.
If you don't have this album I strongly recommend to buy it. It is really great music, but if you already have the polydor version don't bother on this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best album?, December 14, 2002
By 
This review is from: Main Course (Audio CD)
This may be the top of the list of BeeGees albums. With many great hits and a sweet variety of tunes, each and every song deserves a ten out of ten star rating. Starting with my top pick and also 2nd overall favorite BeeGees song, Nights On Broadway. This original version is better than any and is so, so sweet. Also considered a great hit is my second pick Fanny Be Tender. I love the chorus and its one of Barry's bests. All This Making Love is more of a hard rock change of tune and Edge of The Universe is a sad nice little tune, rather long. Wind of Change is another hit although wished to be sung a bit clearer. There's also Country Lanes and Come on Over, each great ballads in their own way. More of a country for Come On Over. Baby As You Turn Away is just outstanding and all three of them use a great harmony in the chorus. Songbird has awesome instruments and a great harmonic tune towards the end. Then there's Jive Talkin, a big hit at the time in the U.S., written on account of a train track. Still a top song. Put together these great hits and you've got a masterpiece in Main Course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A creative gamble at a critical point recharges the Bee Gees, February 7, 2003
By 
T. J. Perhai (Orlando, FL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Main Course (Audio CD)
Main Course was a gamble. But it paid off. So much so, that it is likely the best studio album from the Bee Gees. It reflects the amount of time they spent updating their sound to the styles of pop music at that time without sounding like a copy. Better than that, everyone wanted to copy them! It is also the seminal album of their 1970's career. Nearly all their work that followed up to 1981 originates with these compositions.
This album contains significant musical advancements in the career of the Bee Gees in 1975. There's a new kind of beat and rhythm by the group, more of a funky, driving kind of beat, not quite disco (Jive Talkin', Nights On Broadway, Winds Of Change). This style would advance onto the next album, as would the updated pop-ballad sounds (Fanny, Baby As You Turn Away, Edge Of The Universe). Less emphasized but not forgotten are the traditional Bee Gees-type ballads, and country-and-western (Songbird, Country Lanes, Come On Over). The 'silly song' tunes would be dropped after this album (All This Making Love).
Barry, Robin, and Maurice Gibb, the Bee Gees, were looking for a new direction after 1972. While they had some big sellers in the U.S. in 1970-71 (Lonely Days, How Can You Mend A Broken Heart), their U.K. success at that time was minimal. It seemed that the sounds of pop music were changing, leaving them behind. But what kind of sound could they capture that would put them back on again? It wasn't readily apparent: they made another two albums between 1972 and 1974 before Main Course. During that whole time, they tried different styles and musical approaches. This redesigning culminated in Main Course, released in Spring, 1975.
Absolutely recommended -- and it's at a good price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Jive., March 17, 2000
By 
Jason Stein (San Diego, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Main Course (Audio CD)
All right, enough crticism about disco. The Bee Gees were never disco. Anyone who really listens to them knows this is true (just listen to the music they made prior to 1975 and after 1979). However, Main Course (1975), I think, is their best, most consistent cd. 10 tracks that have diversity not only in content and sound but in tempo and creativity. The hits "Jive Talkin'", "Fanny (Be Tender With My Love)", and "Nights on Broadway" are all here, plus the non-hits "Wind of Change", "Songbird" and "The Edge of the Universe." I feel Main Course to be better than 1976's Children of the World and 1979's Spirits Having Flown. Main Course is a must have for any rock collector. The Bee Gees were in their finest form here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Are you ready for your Main Course?, January 1, 2004
This review is from: Main Course (Audio CD)
The Bee Gees launched their second career with this 1975 release. The brothers had changed their sound, and did not appear on the album cover. (I had a tough time explaining to my niece why the cover picture is a naked lady in a spoon! )
Nights On Broadway was a hit, and brought about the birth of Barry's falsetto sound. It's excellently arranged and lyrically spectacular. Who hasn't been inspired by those gosh darn sappy love songs and dopey romance movies?! Nights On Broadway perfectly captures that moment.
Now as much praise as I have for Broadway, Jive Talkin' is not one of my favorite songs. In fact, it is one of three I nearly loathe. When this monster hit climbed the charts no one could believe it was the `Broken Hearted Bee Gees'. I was born after the Fever craze and had to almost relearn there was such a thing as the broken hearted sound. Jive is one of those songs that has probably been played to death. It's a shame, it isn't that bad, I suppose. To me the beat and voice arrangement seem at odds. You listen and decide
Wind of Change is the first song the brothers wrote for the album, indicating they were ready for a change. Main Course varies in style, and some dismiss it as a poorly constructed,uneven album. I disagree. There is something for everyone here. As much as I loathe the disco overkill, I like Wind of Change's heartfelt lyrics and disco sound. The brothers could have literally picked which style with which they wanted to continue.
My case in point is in the fourth track, Songbird. It's in the singer songwriter vein, similar to Elton John. Perhaps that's its one fault, but the verses are masterful. Each has subtle changes so it never sounds the same twice. Redundant in their lack of redundancy! Fanny Be Tender With My Love masters this idea. Each chorus is slightly different in arrangement, and you are just completely hooked and can't wait to hear what they do next. The one issue I have with Main Course is, like Mr. Natural before, there is no Maurice lead. That being said, this may be the definitive Maurice album. Barry and Robin masterfully do Fanny's lead, but Mo owns the echoes and harmony this album.
All This Making Love is another style change. The brothers go back to their Beatle roots a bit. A bit of Gibby humor is evident here as well. The brothers' country roots, however, appear on Country Lanes and the subsequent Come on Over. Both Robin leads, the country style here fits his quavering sound perfectly. Again we don't hear him much, but Country Lanes is made by Maurice's vocal addition. Come on Over's is lyrically excellent and was covered by Olivia Newton-John.
Edge of The Universe I take as the 'fun' song of the album. The brothers claim it's just about an alien and his dog, but I suspect something more mischievous! It's also unusual at this time to hear Robin sing a more upbeat song. The lyrics are hysterical in their wackiness, and they will get stuck in your head.
As happy as Edge is, Baby As You Turn Away is a cleverly disguised sorrowful song. Barry and Maurice lead this the final song on Main Course. The arrangement is masterful, and it's my favorite song on the album. Not every song on Main Course is for everyone, but it is a must in the budding fan's collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome!!!!!!!, April 24, 2002
This review is from: Main Course (Audio CD)
Main Course is the ultimate pre-Saturday Night Fever Bee Gees album. EVERY song is fantastic. I'm only 14, but I can easily see why the music of the Bee Gees was and still is so popular. "Nights on Broadway" is, to me, the attention getter of the album. The synth work on the song is great. The harmonies during the bridge are awesome and Barry's falsetto adlibs at the end bring the song to life. "Jive Talkin" is a CLASSIC! As a young music lover, I have been forced into believing that all disco music is cheesy and stupid. If songs like "Jive Talkin" are considered disco, then I love it! (Although "Jive Talkin" sounds more along the lines of 70's R&B.) "Fanny" (my favorite from the album, and of all time) is R&B BRILLIANCE!!! Should've been a number one, but it wasn't. The bass work and the harmonies are fantastic!! I love Barry's smooth, non-falsetto lead vocal. "Songbird" is a very inspirational track. Listen to it when you're down, and you'll be happy in no time. "Wind of Change" and the raunchy "All This Making Love" are very catchy tunes. "Come on Over" (eventually recorded by Olivia Newton John) and "Country Lanes" are the two country tracks on the album. They are great songs and they add a wonderful variety to the album. "Edge of the Universe" and "Baby as You Turn Away" are excellent songs to close out with. Barry's first falsetto lead appears on "Baby as You Turn Away". Overall, this album is BRILLIANT! Buy it, you WILL NOT be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Go On With Your Songbird and Mr. Arif Mardin!", August 9, 2001
This review is from: Main Course (Audio CD)
It didn't sell as much as "Saturday Night Fever", but this is the album that showed the BeeGees were the superstars of the 1970's because it is their best work in a different tone. With the help from R&B genius/ producer Arif Mardin, the album is flawless. Not only does this album contain the number one hit "Jive Talkin'", virtually all the other songs are even better. From the catchy "Wind of Change" which is fantastic, to "Edge of the Universe", it is obvious the world was being introduced to powerhouse songs from 3 brothers, different from there early work in the 1960's, thanks to Arif Mardin, who seems to always be flawless in all his productions. He also deserves credit for the best song on the album "Nights on Broadway", which can go under any category of music, from R&B to Rock to Disco Pop. Every song on the album shines, which is hard to believe this masterpiece is not the easiest to find, even in small music stores. Buy it now and I promise you won't complain. Thanks for reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simply the best non-greatest hits Bee Gees album, April 9, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Main Course (Audio CD)
The Bee Gees aknowledge that Main Course is one of their best albums. It's refreshing when artists know their best work. Main Course has many good songs-"Nights On Broadway","Jive Talkin'","Winds Of Change","Fanny","Edge Of The Universe","Baby as You Turn Away" and one or two more gems. The style of the album: smooth white soul and plastic funk( NOT DISCO!) is the perfect Bee Gees style. "Jive Talkin'" is an extremely funky song whose groove is iresisible. Tracks like "Fanny" are lovely r&b songs. The album was a big hit in 1975 and it set the stage for the Bee Gees most artistic and commercially sucessful period although the other 2 studio albums( Children of The World and Spirits Having Flown) from this period don't have as many good tracks as Main Course does.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Main Course
Main Course by Bee Gees (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.