Customer Reviews


568 Reviews
5 star:
 (300)
4 star:
 (133)
3 star:
 (46)
2 star:
 (30)
1 star:
 (59)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


273 of 285 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is exactly what I wanted!
To correct the description, it actually needs 6 AA batteries.

I wanted an inexpensive off road R/C vehicle that didn't cost much over $100. I'm not planning on racing, just something for the yard and driveway. Well, this fit the bill perfectly. It will crawl over grass, sidewalks, sand, small animals, almost anything that gets in it's way. It does exactly what...
Published on August 18, 2010 by John D. Jayroe

versus
16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bought 3 and returned all 3.
Steering is horrible! It barely turns. Plus it is a very slow car. May be fun in doors if it turned but outside it was not a good time. Better spend more money if you want it to turn. The motor is one of those small ones you bought as a kid and put a piece of paper on it to spin. Not enough power for an RC car.
Published on September 6, 2011 by Review


‹ Previous | 1 257 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

273 of 285 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is exactly what I wanted!, August 18, 2010
By 
John D. Jayroe (Cook Springs, AL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Maisto R/C Rock Crawler Jr. (Colors May Vary) (Toy)
To correct the description, it actually needs 6 AA batteries.

I wanted an inexpensive off road R/C vehicle that didn't cost much over $100. I'm not planning on racing, just something for the yard and driveway. Well, this fit the bill perfectly. It will crawl over grass, sidewalks, sand, small animals, almost anything that gets in it's way. It does exactly what you think those cheap R/C trucks SHOULD do but don't. I drove it in the rain and through shallow water and it did great. The only downside so far is the whine of the motors but it probably geared to heck to do all that it does. I paid less for it at Wally World so shop around.

+ two motors
+ true four wheel drive
+ AA batteries (not some battery pack that is hard to find)
+ good value for the money
+ good tires and suspension

- motor/gear whine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


101 of 104 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Much more than meets the eye., February 12, 2013
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Maisto R/C Rock Crawler Jr. (Colors May Vary) (Toy)
Let's start off by saying that this is not a $250 Hobby grade RC, it's a toy. But it is also a lot more than 'just' a toy. for one, I haven't seen many toys that had a fully articulated multi-link suspension, with roughly an inch and a half of travel (that's the body sitting flat. If you lift one tire, you'll notice that you can lift it 3 and a half inches before it lifts another tire.) From a mechanical side, it's a very clevery built starter to test interest in hobby RC; if this truck is fun, then a hobby grade RC will thrill. And, this truck has a lot going for it to make an excellent starter truck for budget minded individuals. Another great benefit of this truck is that it IS highly articulate. Many toy RC trucks with 'suspension' are for looks, but this truck has shocks with coilovers, and they DO work when you put the truck in a bind. They suspension linkages and shocks aren't cosmetic, they're fully functional.

It is slow, but if you look at the real world crawlers, speed isn't the end goal; torque is, and this truck is surprisingly torquey to be powered by six AA batteries. It's not a wall climber, but it will climb up rocks as tall as it is, and sometimes taller depending upon the approach side of the rock. It's capable considering the cost, and it's also very sturdy. Just this morning I had a little testing session, and I can't tell you the number of times I jarred the bottom casing off of rocks and while the crunch sound was unnerving, the bottom side of the truck is still in good shape. Yes, the rocks have dinged it up in places, but that's part of the brilliance; it's less than $50 shipped, so a ding isn't the end of the world. Do people who spend $500 feel the same way? Maybe, maybe not.

This truck is not without fault. For one, the steering is dodgy. One time when you turn the wheels, it'll turn some, the next time it'll turn much more. Considering that 99% of the design is towards moving the truck over obstacles and not something like figure 8s, it's not a big deal. The turning circle is pretty large, but if the wheels turned very sharply, I'm betting they'd shear off the truck a lot easier when you bounce it off a rock at a funny angle.

The controller I do not like at all. It's a pistol grip style, and no pistol grip controller has ever satisfied me. A personal different, but not a big one. I'd prefer two toggles in a hand held controller, but we don't always get what we prefer. If the choice is a lesser truck with a controller I like, or this truck with a controller I don't like, I'd pick this one.

Liking or disliking RC often confuses because people use the vehicles for purposes that they weren't designed for. This is a crawler, not a racer or a trophy truck. It's meant to go up and down rocky terrain, not go 99 MPH and turn like an F-16. With that in mind, this truck is a good one. The tires have some grip, the body is positioned so it does look weird, but the body isn't bouncing off of obstacles, and the gearing is there in spades.

For mine, it's destined to be modded towards hobby grade. The truck is literally that good, and I've driven some pretty costly hobby RC crawlers to compare it to. Rather than go the conventional method to Hobby grade and throw money at the hobby, I'm going to make this one a long term build for me. Being able to build a competitive hobby crawler on a $40 base, and effortlessly shove it up a trail that $500 machines struggle with, that's what it's about! First up is a heavy dose of protective copper cladding underneath to keep those rocks from cracking the gear housings. ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


107 of 113 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great in snow!, January 12, 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Maisto R/C Rock Crawler Jr. (Colors May Vary) (Toy)
My 9 year old son got this for Christmas and he was happy with it. He makes up indoor obstacle courses with legos, books, rocks and other things to drive over. It pretty much went over everything no problem. The wheels are great! They're not the plastic ones that have no traction that gets the car stuck with the wheels spinning & spinning. These wheels are bouncy and have great traction for climbing over things. My son takes it out into the snow (although it's probably not recommended for wet snow) but it works all the same. The independent suspension is amazing! All 4 wheels bend independently, hense making "4 wheeling" easier. It requires 6 AA batteries and a 9 volt battery for the remote.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


91 of 113 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great toy for kids!!!, September 6, 2010
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Maisto R/C Rock Crawler Jr. (Colors May Vary) (Toy)
This is a great toy for my 4 years kid.Small radio for his small hands, very fun...and easy to drive and set up.Have real rubber tires,2 motors,good looking body,working shocks,includes battery pack and a charger...
Recommended for kid or a first time radio controller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun but it broke and I fixed it for $2, January 3, 2011
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Maisto R/C Rock Crawler Jr. (Colors May Vary) (Toy)
We bought this truck for our 5 year old son. We got two good days out of it before the rear drive quit working. The truck still worked but it was slow and had no climbing power. Dead rear axle acted as a constant brake.

Took it all apart and found that the red wire running from the circuit board to the rear motor had been crimped by the manufacturing process and it had broken. I soldered the ends together and put some shrink wrap over it and the black wire to tie them together for support. I slid the original wire loom back over the two wires and the now repaired section and reassembled it. Problem fixed.

Truck does okay. Wish it moved a little faster (maybe 30%). Steering radius is huge so I wish it would turn sharper. Every 90 degree turn inside the house is a five point turn it seems. Lots of soft suspension travel and twist.

All that makes our boys happy.

Our other son got a New Bright Jeep which has been fun but has zero suspension movement, same wide steering and is fast enough to be a challenge to drive inside without hitting furniture. Perfect outside speeds but the lack of 4WD and suspension means it bounces all over on the dirt or winter yard. They switch back and forth so both are happy.

One more warning about the New Bright - after just two days the gears occasionally make a snapping slipping noise that warns that the gearbox may self-destruct in a few weeks. The Maisto rock crawler has not made any ominous sounds like this.

Sure wish we could buy the 1980s R/C dunebuggy I played with in my teens back then. Darn thing was fast and indestructible. Why are consumer toys so flimsy these days?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's supposed to be slow!!!, November 24, 2011
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Maisto R/C Rock Crawler Jr. (Colors May Vary) (Toy)
We own two of these and they are amazing for the $$$. People here are complaining that they are slow. The are rock CRAWLERS and are supposed to be slow. For the size they are very good at climbing and are fairly durable too. My 4 year old loves driving hers and it is slow enough that she doesn't crash. It does have a wide turning radius because it is 4 wheel drive and designed to be used outside where it doesn't matter. If you are looking for a fast street car or a tiny indoor car, don't buy this. If you are looking for a good climber that can go on most any terrain, this is your toy. Get some rechargable AA batteries, though. Check out all the vids on YouTube and see it for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bought 3 and returned all 3., September 6, 2011
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Maisto R/C Rock Crawler Jr. (Colors May Vary) (Toy)
Steering is horrible! It barely turns. Plus it is a very slow car. May be fun in doors if it turned but outside it was not a good time. Better spend more money if you want it to turn. The motor is one of those small ones you bought as a kid and put a piece of paper on it to spin. Not enough power for an RC car.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars toy grade, February 15, 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Maisto R/C Rock Crawler Jr. (Colors May Vary) (Toy)
The Maisto rc rock crawler is tons of for me. Other people say that is a really high pitch wine to the truck. Well there is a wine but it is only the trucks torque. The truck is a toy grade. A toy grade for those who dont know is were you get a truck and if it breaks you throw it away. But other then that this truck is a champion. I live out in the country and it is always wet in some areas so i needed something that would handle that. So instead of going out and buying a really expensive one for like 300 dollars i went out and bought this one. To my surprise it handle everything i put in its way. The truck does hill climbs not really steep, rock crawling, not to deep of mud bogging but still does it. Its not real fast but that is only cause its meant for crawling. Truck is fun even for adults, kids will love it. I know i sure do. I am not disappointed in it at all. I was so happy with it i was going to go out and get another one. But they were out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 26 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars broken front drive cup in 2 days, November 14, 2010
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Maisto R/C Rock Crawler Jr. (Colors May Vary) (Toy)
we bought this truck at target for our sons 5th birthday. he loved it, but broke a front drive cup within 2 days. I was impressed by its capabilitys, has the best steering i have ever seen in a toy quality rc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Lasted 10 Minutes Tops, October 30, 2012
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Maisto R/C Rock Crawler Jr. (Colors May Vary) (Toy)
Cool truck but only lasted about 10 minutes before becoming completely unresponsive. Tried everything .. new batteries (even though I knew the new ones I had put in only 10 minutes earlier were not dead), tried all three channels, even tried channel combos (A on the truck, B on the remote, etc) .. wanted badly for this thing to work but it was toast in the matter of a few minutes. Sent it back and shopping for something else ..... very disappointed. At least Amazon has customer-friendly returns......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 257 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Maisto R/C Rock Crawler Jr. (Colors May Vary)
$61.99 $29.97
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.