Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clear instruction, excellent photography, good intro
Make: Arduino Bots and Gadgets is a heavily illustrated guide to incorporating the Arduino platform into six projects which illustrate embedded systems concepts. The author's stated ultimate goal is to teach the reader how to build prototypes, and in that they are largely successful. A secondary mission is to allow the reader to "learn embedded systems in a week"; here...
Published on April 21, 2011 by John Brady

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Code Problems
All of the projects in the book are great except for the soccer robot. I am making the soccer robot now and have found many problems on the finished football.java code for android. For some reason it does not work and now i feel that i wasted my money on parts. I tried contacting the author but i have got no respond... I made sure that i followed every single instruction...
Published on January 16, 2012 by marcus2017


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clear instruction, excellent photography, good intro, April 21, 2011
This review is from: Make: Arduino Bots and Gadgets: Six Embedded Projects with Open Source Hardware and Software (Learning by Discovery) (Paperback)
Make: Arduino Bots and Gadgets is a heavily illustrated guide to incorporating the Arduino platform into six projects which illustrate embedded systems concepts. The author's stated ultimate goal is to teach the reader how to build prototypes, and in that they are largely successful. A secondary mission is to allow the reader to "learn embedded systems in a week"; here I'm not so sure they reach the objective.

The format of the book is excellent, combining a lucid narrative with clear photos of the work underway. Parts lists at the start of each project chapter list precisely the materials and tools necessary to complete that project, usually including potential sources of the materials and part numbers in many cases.

One consideration for potential readers is financial. Some projects require components that are relatively expensive, considering that the Arduino Uno can be purchased for about $30. As an example, the first project uses a Ping))) ultrasonic sensor, which costs about $30; another project in the book uses three of these sensors. This is not a massive outlay of funds, but should be factored in if you plan to actually build these projects.

You will also need some foundation tools and skills, such as a digital multimeter, soldering iron, the ability to solder, etc. Fairly generic stuff, but these are not "snap-together" projects.

Overall, this is a great read and an easy introduction to Arduino and embedded systems. Exceptionally clear instructions and excellent supporting photography make it a joy to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must-Have Idea Book for Physical Computing, Mechatronics, Arts & Crafts Fabrication, April 4, 2011
This review is from: Make: Arduino Bots and Gadgets: Six Embedded Projects with Open Source Hardware and Software (Learning by Discovery) (Paperback)
This is an excellent, fully illustrated idea book for making things with software, physical devices, and simple hand fabrication. The authors have a range of skills in Arduino, Mechanical Construction, Linux, Electronics and Physical Systems. The book most closely resembles O'Reilly/Make Publications excellent previous book, Making Things Talk, with the benefit of a few more years of experience in illustrating project construction and careful step by step instructions. Skills taught include the Arduino hardware and software environment, programming an Android smart phone, use of relays, stepper motors, remote controls and other similar electronic devices, as
well as project construction with a glue gun, pliers and Dremel tool. The projects are intriguing and give instruction in important Hackerspace skills (I know from experience at Philly's Hive 76).

I was somewhat baffled with a slight mismatch between the wide diversity of Hacker skills taught in these projects and the specific
subjects of Arduino and Robotic's, but this illustrated projects book is a must have in the physical computing, electronics and arts and crafts construction space.

--Ira Laefsky MSE/MBA and Hackerspace Enthusiast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really neat book!, June 3, 2011
By 
Lawrence Maturo "Larry" (Austin, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Make: Arduino Bots and Gadgets: Six Embedded Projects with Open Source Hardware and Software (Learning by Discovery) (Paperback)
I'm a fan of Ardunio, and interested in robots, so what's not to like about this book? If you haven't heard of Ardunio, it's an open source hardware/software embedded platform, basically. Since the hardware isn't patented, and teh software is free, anyone can afford to play with it. I've been an embedded programmer for most of my career, and this is the first time I could afford to play with an embedded system at home. So, with Ardunio you can buy a $50 embedded system, get the software free, and use this book to see how to take advantage of them to do some really neat things.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for the robot enthusiast, April 17, 2012
This review is from: Make: Arduino Bots and Gadgets: Six Embedded Projects with Open Source Hardware and Software (Learning by Discovery) (Paperback)
Excellent book! I have successfully completed the soccer robot!

For those who have problems with the final project, most of the problems I encountered can be troubleshooted by following the green side box instructions. For problems NOT found explicitly in the book I encountered, this includes adding a switch to the robot, using a good battery and mechanical know-hows (drilling holes etc...). I bought continuous and non-continuous servos, the Arduino pro mini 5V (not the 3.3V as recommended) and bluetooth mate silver.

The codes fully work. Just be careful with the random numbers at the end of some lines. Remember to change your arduino program servo values.

In conclusion, this book has brought me to the world of Arduino and motivated me to learn more about open hardware projects!

EDIT: Okay, there was one major problem I had, my robot turned left when I tilt the phone right. To fix this, in the function 'void updateLR()', there are two lines 'l+=x;' and 'r-=x;', just change them to this: 'l-=x;' and r+=x'. Vote up so everyone can see!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Code Problems, January 16, 2012
This review is from: Make: Arduino Bots and Gadgets: Six Embedded Projects with Open Source Hardware and Software (Learning by Discovery) (Paperback)
All of the projects in the book are great except for the soccer robot. I am making the soccer robot now and have found many problems on the finished football.java code for android. For some reason it does not work and now i feel that i wasted my money on parts. I tried contacting the author but i have got no respond... I made sure that i followed every single instruction but it still failed. There is also close to no trouble shooting and it has trouble going in depth into any of the code. If anybody has gotten it to work can they please post their code. It would be a big help :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit misleading..., June 6, 2011
This review is from: Make: Arduino Bots and Gadgets: Six Embedded Projects with Open Source Hardware and Software (Learning by Discovery) (Paperback)
Good book for taking the Arduino to the next step, but the Android chapter had nothing to do with Arduino and was a waste of space - and misleading to title the book with '6 projects' as one would assume all were Arduino-based. Note the prior comment about the cost of each project - a very true statement. You're looking at $100+ per project, and that includes hacking out parts that you may have around the shop. Do yourself a big favor - wait until this book is on a shelf at your local B&N or Borders (does anyone remember Borders?) and look through it before buying. It may disappoint those with less than a strong command of advanced circuits, writing Aduino sketches or messing around with Python, etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent clear instructions and I'm a complete beginner, July 14, 2013
This review is from: Make: Arduino Bots and Gadgets: Six Embedded Projects with Open Source Hardware and Software (Learning by Discovery) (Paperback)
I just wanted to say that I got a good deal on this book for my 8 yr. old son. He's super smart and needs more of a challenge to get him off of computer games (where he likes creating circuits and making things) to real life applications. I absolutely love the way this book is written because it is step by step, totally clear and provides real photos of every step and even the pics of tools and parts. Everything is very clear and that is what I need because I am a total complete beginner. I happen to have a Makey Makey device which has arduino leonardo built into it - and I installed the software and am totally lost from there. I read tutorials online for projects and ideas but none made any sense to me. THIS BOOK however, did make sense and I am going to the store to buy some parts needed for one of the projects. I am absolutely amazed and fascinated with what can be done with an arduino and some electronics. Totally amazed!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great starter book!, December 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This one will help you get started building useful robotic devices with Arduino microcontrollers, sensors, and shields. Worth every dime!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Arduino Library Reference, January 18, 2013
This review is from: Make: Arduino Bots and Gadgets: Six Embedded Projects with Open Source Hardware and Software (Learning by Discovery) (Paperback)
Sure there might be a few things old and a few not entirely or strictly Arduino related but it is a great book and reference for Arduino projects. I rounds out and helps complete my library of electronic DIY books. For that purpose it is a must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Starter book and easy to read instructions, October 6, 2013
By 
Mr M. (Tennessee, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Make: Arduino Bots and Gadgets: Six Embedded Projects with Open Source Hardware and Software (Learning by Discovery) (Paperback)
The book is well written technically. It has remarks and explanations of the steps in the programming sketches that are in depth and not too technical for the inexperienced. I would recommend it as a good learning tool and introduction for Arduino's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.