Customer Reviews


127 Reviews
5 star:
 (59)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 52 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great collection of classics all on one DVD!
This DVD is in the tradition of "Fantasia" with its musically-charged animated shorts. You get 10 shorts and three generous extras - "The Band Concert" Cartoon, "Farmyard Symphony" Cartoon and "Music Land". It is beautifully restored with the picture and sound being crisp and clear. It is a high value assortment of 'classic'...
Published on May 21, 2000 by J. Williams

versus
268 of 276 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disney Has Done It Again
When FANTASIA was released on home video in 1991, there was a clip missing (also from recent theatrical releases) becauses it was deemed offensive to today's audiences. When ALADDIN was released to home video, pressure groups insisted some lyrics of the opening song be changed from the theatrical release (of course they weren't changed on the soundtrack CD which came...
Published on June 8, 2000 by J. Ewaniuk


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

268 of 276 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disney Has Done It Again, June 8, 2000
By 
J. Ewaniuk (los angeles, ca United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Make Mine Music (Disney Gold Classic Collection) (DVD)
When FANTASIA was released on home video in 1991, there was a clip missing (also from recent theatrical releases) becauses it was deemed offensive to today's audiences. When ALADDIN was released to home video, pressure groups insisted some lyrics of the opening song be changed from the theatrical release (of course they weren't changed on the soundtrack CD which came with the "special edition" video release). When MELODY TIME was first released to home video in 1998, the cigarette dangling from the mouth of the character Pecos Bill was edited out (evidently Disney villains can smoke, but not the hero). When THE LITTLE MERMAID was re-released to home video in 1998, the advertising said Fully Restored - but the closing credits were pushed to one side to make room for a "music video" and the song was not even the original song accompanying those end credits - this is restored?
And now we have MAKE MINE MUSIC - the last of the animated Disney features to be released on home video (some had previously been released on laser disc but not video). It is difficult to believe that anything Disney released to theatres to all audiences in 1946 would be considered objectionable to today's more cynical audiences more than 50 years later - but evidently Disney thinks so. The first of the 10 musical segments that make up this film (the same format as FANTASIA) is missing! The segment is called The Martins and The Coys, performed by The King's Men (whose name has been erased from the opening credits!). This film has played several times - intact - on the Disney channel (thank God for VCRs) for almost 10 years - the last being less than one year ago. But now, evidently for the home video audience, a segment about feuding hillbillies is considered too objectionable.
I like this film, and it is important to me to have it in my Disney animated features video collection. Regardless if it is your cup of tea (old 40s music), or if the DVD has good sound and pictures, I cannot recommend this film. When I buy something on home video, I expect it to be complete - regardless of Disney's devotion to what is considered PC. We can't protect anyone from the past.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


137 of 139 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great early Disney with disappointing edits, February 20, 2002
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Make Mine Music (Disney Gold Classic Collection) (DVD)
I am both happy and disappointed with "Make Mine Music." Happy, because it contains some fantastic theatrical-quality short cartoons in DVD quality. "Peter and the Wolf" has always been a favorite of mine since the days of "Wonderful World of Disney." The funny and sad tale of "The Whale Who Wanted to Sing at the Met" is still great (Love that version of Mephisto). "Casey at the Bat" is a familiar classic. My personal favorite for this release is "All the Cats Join In." It has great animation and a swinging tune.
The disappointment comes from Disney's unfortunate editing. They are very busy painting fig leaves, and ultimately it is the fans who suffer. One piece originally included in "Make Mine Music," "Martins & Coys," has been removed entirely due to the comic gunplay which they feared could be confused with reality by children. Significant edits have been made to the actual animation cells of "All the Cats Join In" to make the girls less...buxom.
I hope that an unedited version of "Make Mine Music" is released some day. Until then, it is nice to have some of these great cartoons on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


147 of 154 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Just say no to this abridged version, January 10, 2005
By 
Shanda Hoover (Port Orchard, WA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Make Mine Music (Disney Gold Classic Collection) (DVD)
As tacky and unnecessary as putting boxer shorts on the statue of David is Disney's over-zealous insistence on self-censorship. Cutting out segments of classic movies (or refraining from releasing them at all) in an effort to adhere to a perceived standard of "political correctness" is absolutely offensive to this viewer. It paves the way down a slippery slope of censorship. As much as I desire to have the 8th animated feature film produced by Disney in my collection I will refrain until they release the orignal, completely intact movie. Until then Disney should be advised to clearly label all censored movies as "ABRIDGED", to do otherwise is deceitful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 50 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disney does it again!, June 10, 2000
This review is from: Make Mine Music (Disney Gold Classic Collection) (DVD)
I would just like to say that this is a great movie. However it should have been released in its original format...meaning the first segment should not have been cut. I don't understand the Disney company. They cut the first part of this movie ( the Hatfields and the Mccoys) but they still insist that the film is made up of ten shorts.HELLO? The film originally consisted of ten shorts; Now , however, it consists of nine.Why did Disney cut this first part for the home video release? Who knows? Too Violent? Then why is The Whale Who Wanted to Sing at the Met included? He got shot and went to heaven. (In the Martins and the Mccoys the entire family gets shot and goes to heaven where the story continues).The full length Make Mine Music has been aired on the Disney channel intact. Why wasn't it released that way on DVD. Disney could have utilized the parental control lock feature.Anyway, I don't think that would have been necessary because the first scene isn't violent at all. What is next? When Bambi comes to DVD will the Disney company cut the scene of Bambi's mother getting shot?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 57 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Editing for PC reasons insults Disney fans, February 18, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Make Mine Music (Disney Gold Classic Collection) (DVD)
I purchased this DVD with the expectation of owning an accurate and complete version of one of my favorites from Disney's '40's catalog. Unfortunately, what I got was a butchered version that was missing one entire segment ("Martins and the Coys"). I phoned Disney's video customer service department and expressed my displeasure. The spokeswoman said that the segment had been removed "because of the guns" (!). I advised her that the segment was only a comic spoof (albeit based on a real hillbilly feud) and that that episode had been shown many times on the old network Disney show as well as the Disney Channel. I likewise advised her that I was a gun owner (although not a hillbilly one) and that Walt Disney himself had been a gun owner. I noted that firearms were featured in a number of other Disney films (e.g., "Davy Crockett") and those films had not been censored upon release to the home market.
I almost returned the DVD for a refund (and probably should have) but decided to keep the thing for what content it has. I feel all Disney fans, especially those who purchase this DVD, should give appropriate input to Disney. This release is certainly not the only example of censorship (e.g.,editing in "Melody Time", withholding of "Song of the South" from the US home video market, etc.) by today's Disney Company.
Also, for what it's worth, the video transfer quality is not all that great on this one either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 39 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Modern Disney killed this masterpiece, April 27, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Make Mine Music (Disney Gold Classic Collection) (DVD)
Like so many others, I bought this movie which had no notes stating it had been edited and censored.
Disney is so confused in their explanations. I, too, was told The Martins and the Coys were cut due to the guns. In which case I pointed out the guns in Peter Pan, and Beauty and the Beast. She had no explanation for me.
I also commented on the Pecos Bill clip in Melody Time. Disney had the nerve to completely remove the cigarette from every scene including a verse of the music that mentions a cigarette. Again I pointed out that in the same movie, Joe Carioca smokes a cigar, but I was told it was okay because he's an animal. So I pointed out Captain Hook. Again, no explanation.
What bothers me the most is that Disney has treated us as idiots and punished us. If they are so concerned, they can add a disclaimer. Porn is legal, too. It doesn't mean I buy it or watch it but it is my choice. How can pornography be allowed to be released (not by Disney) or Miramax's R rated movies, but fictional cartoon caricatures with guns are not allowed to be.
SHAME ON DISNEY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 52 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great collection of classics all on one DVD!, May 21, 2000
This review is from: Make Mine Music (Disney Gold Classic Collection) (DVD)
This DVD is in the tradition of "Fantasia" with its musically-charged animated shorts. You get 10 shorts and three generous extras - "The Band Concert" Cartoon, "Farmyard Symphony" Cartoon and "Music Land". It is beautifully restored with the picture and sound being crisp and clear. It is a high value assortment of 'classic' Disney shorts that are quite historical in their own way. The DVD features favorites such as "Peter and the Wolf," narrated by the well known voice behind Winnie the Pooh. Additionally, you'll enjoy such classics as "Casey at the Bat," "The Whale Who Wanted to Sing at the Met," and "Johnnie Fedora and Alice Bluebonnet," the rather far-out story of two hats who fall in love in a shop window. However odd the stories may sound, they each offer nice morals and child friendly material. You have to appreciate that this is Olde Worlde Disney, but you will not be disappointed. Glorious music and colour! Eye candy! Please note, although the sound is GREAT, it is in original mono format. This does not depreciate the title however!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing edits, January 26, 2003
By 
Mynameisthis (Main Street, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Make Mine Music [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Apparently Disney bowed to political correctness when they edited out so much of this classic. It saddens me that they did this. There's no way I can recommend this since Disney cut the heart out of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars make mine music, June 10, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Make Mine Music (Disney Gold Classic Collection) (DVD)
It was very dissapointing purchasing this DVD. The listed time is 75 minutes, but the film is cut down to only 67 minutes. The first segment called THE MARTINS AND THE COYS, a story about a hillbilly feaud, has been edited from the film. The transfer is absolutley beautiful, but if you want to collect this Disney classic, buyer beware, you are not getting the actual film, but an edited video version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DISNEY WAKE UP AND SEE HOW THE FANS FEEL!, April 6, 2005
This review is from: Make Mine Music (Disney Gold Classic Collection) (DVD)
Hello Disney it's time to get up! I want a full version of this movie! i saw this movie along with 'Saludos Amigos' last night and i must say that it isin't fair to those out there who would like to see full versions of these disney movies. Mr.Eisner is treeting us all like Idiots! It will be a blessing when he leaves and Mr.Iger takes over. Hopefully he won't act like a dad telling us what we can and we can not watch that way there will be a good chance to get full versions of these "Disney Treasures". I bet even Walt would be unhappy about all this PC Crap!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Make Mine Music (Disney Gold Classic Collection)
$19.99 $10.14
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.