Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars True beauty tool
This is an older book, but excellent nonetheless. With diagrams and detailed instructions, anyone, makeup artist or otherwise, can apply makeup to modify facial features, highlighting the good and subduing the bad.
Published on November 7, 2011 by A. White

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The basics - well done
This is a well produced book that covers the basics of makeup application. Not too many pictures and not too many detailed descriptions. The actual content is too little for me to consider a real course book or something I would have students use. I think this must be accompanied by lots on in-class training or other supplements for it to be really worth something...
Published on August 7, 2012 by albertp


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars True beauty tool, November 7, 2011
This review is from: Make-Up Designory's Beauty Make-Up (Paperback)
This is an older book, but excellent nonetheless. With diagrams and detailed instructions, anyone, makeup artist or otherwise, can apply makeup to modify facial features, highlighting the good and subduing the bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The basics - well done, August 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Make-Up Designory's Beauty Make-Up (Paperback)
This is a well produced book that covers the basics of makeup application. Not too many pictures and not too many detailed descriptions. The actual content is too little for me to consider a real course book or something I would have students use. I think this must be accompanied by lots on in-class training or other supplements for it to be really worth something. For the home-starter or new student I would get this book, but also several others to supplement the lack of overall content needed to build a confident understanding of the craft.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Make-up Designory's Beauty Make-up, April 6, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Make-Up Designory's Beauty Make-Up (Paperback)
This is a good book for beginners & refresher for make up artist. It's very detailed and offers exercises to try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Make-up Designory's, May 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is an excellent book for beginners! This book teaches you how to apply makeup properly by breaking down the areas of the face.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars make-up book, November 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It did not sight enough examples. It did not show how to make the corrections clearly. It is a book for people who want the technical words for the make-up industry. I do not recommend it for people who use it for just themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I am keeping this on my reference shelf, June 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Make-Up Designory's Beauty Make-Up (Paperback)
I like this text. It is very simple and approachable while teaching tried and true standards of makeup artistry.. I originally was surprised at the lack of photography but I think it helps the student more -the diagramming is wonderful, but students are forced to read the text and understand more about the why and how of it all and then encouraged to break out their materials and figure it out for themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Happy Camper, February 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Make-Up Designory's Beauty Make-Up (Paperback)
This was a gift purchase for my makeup-artist girlfriend and she's very happy with it. She is learning a lot before entering school.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book!, March 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Make-Up Designory's Beauty Make-Up (Paperback)
This was required reading for my daughters Makeup Academy class. Great book with all the essential beauty tool info you need!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay, February 21, 2013
This review is from: Make-Up Designory's Beauty Make-Up (Paperback)
This item was listed as new however the creases in the binding made it obvious it was used. The book itself is good for the starting makeup enthusiast but, I'd recommend the milady makeup textbook over this if you want more in depth knowledge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MUST HAVE Make Up Book, June 21, 2010
This review is from: Make-Up Designory's Beauty Make-Up (Paperback)
One of the Finest Books available, A MUST HAVE for any Aspiring Make Up Artist. MUD is by far the LEADING Make Up Artistry Authority / Education in the US. If You have to buy ONE book, make it this one!!

A complete and thorough presentation of the basics of Make Up Artistry. I think the book has a very strong delivery of information that only requires a person to follow along and practice. Great attention has been given to every facet of Make Up Artistry, I loved learning about the history of make up as well as the questions and answers as a reinforcement at the end of the chapters.

Do your own research and you will come to find that when Make Up Artists talk about Education, MUD is continually regarded as "The Top". This book gives you an insight into MUD's education. Obviously, not everyone wants to be a Make Up Artist, but if you do want to have a much better understanding of color (colour) and presentation and beauty through the use of make up, this is the book for you!

Hope you enjoy as much as I have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Make-Up Designory's Beauty Make-Up
Make-Up Designory's Beauty Make-Up by Yvonne Hawker (Paperback - Aug. 2004)
Used & New from: $19.88
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.