Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good early elementary science book
If your child is interested in science, they will enjoy this book. It combines colorful drawings with actual photographs to explane the earth's rotation in a simple, understandable way. It is also a part of the Harcourt reading series for second grade, and a wonderful addition to your home library.
Published on January 3, 2007 by Merry Tomfoolery

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for kids much older than 5
While I agree about the clarity and coverage cited by the other reviewers, I take issue with the book's age recommendation of "5 and over". My grandson is 7 and finds this book much to basic. It was still nice, but I think the age recommendation should be 4-6 in my opinion.
Published on July 11, 2012 by Joseph G. Donnelly


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good early elementary science book, January 3, 2007
By 
Merry Tomfoolery (Pittsburgh,PA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: What Makes Day and Night (Let's-Read-and-Find-Out Science 2) (Paperback)
If your child is interested in science, they will enjoy this book. It combines colorful drawings with actual photographs to explane the earth's rotation in a simple, understandable way. It is also a part of the Harcourt reading series for second grade, and a wonderful addition to your home library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars reading to the next generation, December 30, 2007
A Kid's Review
This review is from: What Makes Day and Night (Let's-Read-and-Find-Out Science 2) (Paperback)
My five-year-old grandson likes this book and my two-year old granddaughter looks along. Answers some of his gazillion questions in a manageable way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Day and Night, July 1, 2008
This review is from: What Makes Day and Night (Let's-Read-and-Find-Out Science 2) (Paperback)
The concept of day and night is discussed in grades 2 and 3. This book is a great supplemental text to help increase children's understanding of this concept. Great text and pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for kids much older than 5, July 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: What Makes Day and Night (Let's-Read-and-Find-Out Science 2) (Paperback)
While I agree about the clarity and coverage cited by the other reviewers, I take issue with the book's age recommendation of "5 and over". My grandson is 7 and finds this book much to basic. It was still nice, but I think the age recommendation should be 4-6 in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Science can be fun for kids, January 27, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: What Makes Day and Night (Let's-Read-and-Find-Out Science 2) (Paperback)
I really like the "Let's Read and Find out Science 2" series. These are great science books for elementary school and they are perfect for my first grader. They use familiar examples to introduce basic scientific concepts in a simple but fun way. They are interesting for both kids and adults. I have found them to be a valuable tool to teach these concepts to my kids.

This book does a wonderful job explaining the earths rotation and the day and night concept.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Let's-Read-and-Find-Out Science Book, December 3, 2012
By 
This review is from: What makes day and night
Reason for Reading: Ds read aloud to me as his non-fiction reader.

This book is still in print but has been completely revised and is not the same as the old edition we have here. A simple, easy-to-read introduction to the earth's shape and how it revolves to create night and day, sunsets and sunrises. An experiment with a lamp is used to further illustrate the process. This book was fairly easy for ds to read and gave him a chance to practice reading using a conversational voice. He also knew the information and it caused him to initiate dialogue to expand upon the basic observations and impart his own knowledge. I love this series of books; they are excellent easy readers in the science field and Branley is a good, interesting writer of non-fiction material. Branley was the originator of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book does a good job!, October 3, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: What Makes Day and Night (Let's-Read-and-Find-Out Science 2) (Paperback)
I bought this book for my grandson who just started second grade. He said science was his least favorite subject. He was reading the book by himself when I visited. He loves to read and he likes the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, January 8, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: What Makes Day and Night (Let's-Read-and-Find-Out Science 2) (Paperback)
Very good book explaining in a very child friendly language the day and night concept. My niece (5 yrs old) loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good!, March 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: What Makes Day and Night (Let's-Read-and-Find-Out Science 2) (Paperback)
Gave to grandchildren and it was very well liked. will buy this author again and also give to other grandchildren.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent children's story, December 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: What Makes Day and Night (Let's-Read-and-Find-Out Science 2) (Paperback)
I used this book to help teach a student with Autism about the rotation of the sun. This book did and excellent job of explaining how the rotation of the earth creates both day and night. This book, as well as other books that belong to this series (e.g. Energy Makes Things Happen (Let's-Read-and-Find-Out Science 2) by Kimberly Brubaker Bradley) would be a great addition to any home or classroom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

What Makes Day and Night (Let's-Read-and-Find-Out Science 2)
What Makes Day and Night (Let's-Read-and-Find-O
ut
by Franklyn Mansfield Branley (Paperback - October 20, 1999)
$5.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.