Customer Reviews


69 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


57 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!
As a paper engineer and artist with some electronic experience, I have found that learning about gears, pulleys, motors, and the actual mechanics of getting things to move somewhat daunting. There are basic books geared towards beginners as well as books filled with inspiring complex examples that are impossible to navigate unless you already have a high level of...
Published on December 4, 2010 by M. Petit

versus
28 of 36 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good intro to mechanical design
This book is a very fun and approachable book to getting started and excited about building/making things. I find this book is great for building the vocabulary needed to understand and build things. It's an easy read and is very digestible.

My biggest complaint is the disappointing electrical sections. The author spends effort trying to build intuition on...
Published on June 5, 2011 by stephane


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

57 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, December 4, 2010
By 
M. Petit "m.petit" (New York, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Making Things Move DIY Mechanisms for Inventors, Hobbyists, and Artists (Paperback)
As a paper engineer and artist with some electronic experience, I have found that learning about gears, pulleys, motors, and the actual mechanics of getting things to move somewhat daunting. There are basic books geared towards beginners as well as books filled with inspiring complex examples that are impossible to navigate unless you already have a high level of expertise. This book is the book I've been looking for. It is really useful and very comprehensive in its approach and scope. It starts with the basics, but, takes you through a wide array of materials, techniques, and examples. Its section on motors (and arduino control) is great. I think its a fantastic book for students and individuals with varying skills, experience, and interests. Highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Presentation, December 26, 2010
By 
John M (Boston, MA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Making Things Move DIY Mechanisms for Inventors, Hobbyists, and Artists (Paperback)
I'm sure the way you respond to this book will depend heavily on your experience level as a mechanical and electronics tinkerer. I happen to be right in the bullseye of the author's target audience: this book is perfect for where I am in my informal education in those areas. My favorite part is that Ms. Roberts makes specific recommendations for tools and for parts and materials sources. The information is presented in a very logical order. It is intentionally not too deep - just the bare essentials to get you started experimenting. But with plenty of information about how to go further. If you want to learn how to build machines that move, this is a great place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect book for student designers, December 7, 2010
This review is from: Making Things Move DIY Mechanisms for Inventors, Hobbyists, and Artists (Paperback)
I have been waiting for this book! I teach product design at a local university, and my students often have questions that I can't answer about topics discussed in Making Things Move. The language here is perfectly suited for this purpose, the information is very clear and the example projects are nicely explained and documented. The hand sketches are great, because they capture the excitement of making things, and put one in the mood to start sketching and inventing! Thanks to this author for producing a needed book that will help many non-professional people as they try their hand at mechanical design and robotics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great practical intoduction to mechanisms, February 9, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Making Things Move DIY Mechanisms for Inventors, Hobbyists, and Artists (Paperback)
I have a PhD and teach Electronics at a university and this is a great introduction to mechanical movements. Most of my students are interested in robots and this book provides easy to understand explanations and sources for the materials. I have also helped FIRST Robotics teams and again this is a great reference. I was also impressed with the projects in the book. These would make great starting points for science fair projects or class room demonstrations. Each of the many topics is covered in enough depth to cover the basics with references listed to find more information. Many examples are given of actual parts with detailed descriptions of the specification sheets.

I did notice one mistake. On page 101 of the paperback version, it says that alternating current fluctuates between 0V and 120V. It actually fluctuates from about 169 V below ground to 169 V above ground. It supplies the same average power as a 120 V DC source, which is why it is called 120 V AC. This is a minor mistake in an otherwise great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing book, December 31, 2010
By 
Djair Guilherme (São Paulo, Brazil) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Making Things Move DIY Mechanisms for Inventors, Hobbyists, and Artists (Paperback)
This is an amazing book that really delivers what it promises. Excellent reference material. I had never learned physics in a way as interesting as the one presented by the author. Recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book! Very well written, entertaining and super inspiring!!, January 31, 2011
This review is from: Making Things Move DIY Mechanisms for Inventors, Hobbyists, and Artists (Paperback)
I really really enjoyed this book. For me, the best part was that it made all of the concepts seem attainable a a non-technical person like myself. I'm working on building my first robot right now and so far the ideas I've picked up here and coming in very very handy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Reference Book for Makers, Builders, Tinkerers, March 12, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Making Things Move DIY Mechanisms for Inventors, Hobbyists, and Artists (Paperback)
I deal mainly with the age groups of 8 to 15, so this book is a welcome addition to my library. While many of the concepts in the book do require some math skills and the language/style of the writing isn't geared towards the 8-12 age group, the concepts by themselves are explained fairly easily and in simple language that I believe most kids will be able to follow (or at least spark enough curiosity to hunt down a parent or teacher to ask for help). Starting out with a good discussion on the 6 basic types of machines - lever, pulley, wheel and axle, inclined plane/wedges, screws, and gears - it just gets even better from there.

She covers:

* materials
* Fastening techniques
* Friction and Torque (I learned a LOT in this chapter)
* Power/Work/Energy
* Types of motors and how to control them
* Bearings, couplers, etc...
* way much more...

10 chapters in all, with projects galore to test what you've learned... it's an outstanding book. (She even throws in a breadboard and Arduino summary/primer in the back of the book.)

With lots of photos and great hand sketches, this book would make a great gift to any budding engineer, tinkerer, robot fanatic, and/or DIYer. I read it in a few days and am amazed at the amount of information packed into this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 36 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good intro to mechanical design, June 5, 2011
This review is from: Making Things Move DIY Mechanisms for Inventors, Hobbyists, and Artists (Paperback)
This book is a very fun and approachable book to getting started and excited about building/making things. I find this book is great for building the vocabulary needed to understand and build things. It's an easy read and is very digestible.

My biggest complaint is the disappointing electrical sections. The author spends effort trying to build intuition on mechanical devices; however this treatment stops when it comes to electrical design. The primary effort to give the reader intuition on circuits has a grotesque error (pg 102 fig 504) in the circuit diagram where the capacitor is misconnected (should be in parallel, not series!)

The author presents some basic equations such as ohms law, but does not provide examples on how it's used. A missed opportunity is when she explains diodes; instead she simply states a 220k resistor with 5V supply should be fine with most LEDs. The reader is lost what to do in any other situation.

While she provides detailed information on how to read mechanical data sheets for browsing McMaster; on the circuit side, all of this is missing on basic devices such as resistors, leds, transistors or capacitors. The reader will be completely lost attempting to browse the dizzying array of parts at digikey or mouser. The reader is pointed to canned solutions provided in the text with little intuition to expand or modify.

The author advocates the importance of sketching out mechanical diagrams, yet does not mention or even show any circuit schematics. Without understand how to read a schematic, it is difficult, if not impossible to communicate design and debug broken ones. Instead she attempts to communicate circuit diagrams with black and white pictures of bread boards...

Finally, she introduces the reader to Arduino, but again the discussion lacks depth. She provides canned examples of how to control a motor, yet the reader is left to wonder how to do anything else.

In short, this book is great intro to mechanical design and getting things moving; however, as for building and understanding the electrical side, the reader will be left in the dark (pun intended).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great introduction, April 2, 2011
By 
PapaAussie (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Making Things Move DIY Mechanisms for Inventors, Hobbyists, and Artists (Paperback)
This is an excellent introduction to the subject.

The only reason it doesn't get 5 stars is because of it's American focus. The many references to US websites is helpful, but would be improved by adding an appendix with UK, European, Asian and Australia/NZ sites too. Worse is the quoting of imperial measurements only throughout. At least putting the metric equivalents in brackets would be a great improvement.

Otherwise, excellent...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic for makers of all ages, December 6, 2011
By 
Dug North "Automata Artist" (Lowell, MA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Making Things Move DIY Mechanisms for Inventors, Hobbyists, and Artists (Paperback)
If you have a maker or aspiring maker in your life and they don't own this book, this should be your gift to them. You won't just be giving them a book, but a fundamental education in machines and fabrication techniques that they will be able to use for the rest of their life. No, that's not an exaggeration.

In 'Making Things Move', Dustyn Roberts explains mechanical design principles and their applications in non-technical terms, using examples and a dozen topic-focused projects.

The book is a wealth of information:

* Introductions to mechanisms and machines
* Finding and using materials such as metals, plastics, & wood
* Basic physics
* How to fasten and attach things in a bunch of different ways
* Info on different types of motors and how to use them
* Converting between rotary and linear motion
* Using off-the-shelf components
* A wide variety of fabrication techniques
* How to have things made, if you can't do it yourself
* A primer on Arduino micro-controllers
* There is even a section on automata!

This is an outstanding book with a ton of useful material presented in a very accessible way. I believe it to be a classic-in-its-own time for makers. I wish I had owned it years ago!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Making Things Move DIY Mechanisms for Inventors, Hobbyists, and Artists
Making Things Move DIY Mechanisms for Inventors, Hobbyists, and Artists by Dustyn Roberts (Paperback - December 8, 2010)
$30.00 $17.92
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.