Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


65 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the best book on the subject
Home distilling is a rewarding hobby that combines skills as diverse as cooking, zymurgy, plumbing, chemistry and thermodynamics. Although it takes no great skill to whip up a batch of 'shine, this is a hobby that can be taken to great depths. The author has made a comprehensive guide to producing top-notch corn whiskey using hardware-store materials. The purity of the...
Published on February 2, 2008 by Gregory Bloom

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars informative but not very easy to follow
Good book. Lots of info but a little hard to follow. Everything is Metric. There was alot of good information however.
Published 18 months ago by tex


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

65 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the best book on the subject, February 2, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Making Pure Corn Whiskey: A Professional Guide For Amateur And Micro Distillers (Paperback)
Home distilling is a rewarding hobby that combines skills as diverse as cooking, zymurgy, plumbing, chemistry and thermodynamics. Although it takes no great skill to whip up a batch of 'shine, this is a hobby that can be taken to great depths. The author has made a comprehensive guide to producing top-notch corn whiskey using hardware-store materials. The purity of the product produced using the methods he describes far outstrips any that Grampaw could have made with his old thumper. The author's approach is very informative, without going overboard on technical detail. It is quite readable and should be considered a must-have for anyone looking into the hobby. Bear in mind, though, this is an instructional manual, so it isn't sprinkled with amusing anecdotes or breezy prose. It is simply a perfect 'how-to' manual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just as the title says, March 31, 2008
By 
This review is from: Making Pure Corn Whiskey: A Professional Guide For Amateur And Micro Distillers (Paperback)
The book is clearly written and has descriptions of how to build a still, and how to control ingredients, mash, fermentation, and distillation. It includes just enough on the history of moonshining ... with a real focus on the how-to.

This book really suited my level. Not overly basic - but not overly complex. Written a bit as though you were talking to a neighbor - being shown what to do.

Couldn't be happier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very informative, July 31, 2005
This review is from: Making Pure Corn Whiskey: A Professional Guide For Amateur And Micro Distillers (Paperback)
This book does exactly what it claims; it gives the reader the ability to firmly grasp distilling on a personal level. The only downside is the history chapter is a little bit choppy and some facts are questionable (which the author makes perfectly clear). I highly suggest this book for anyone interested in the hobby and pleasure of procuring fine corn whiskey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fool proof and indispensible, October 9, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Making Pure Corn Whiskey: A Professional Guide For Amateur And Micro Distillers (Paperback)
I had no previous knowlege of the subject at all. I read this book cover to cover three times before trying my first batch. I consulted it repeatedly while making my first batch.

It was a success. Over the last nine months I've made five batches of whiskey and it is all the smoothest, best tasting stuff around. If you follow his instructions it's impossible to fail.

I definitely recommend this book to anyone with an interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Informative and Technical, but kind of one sided., March 19, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Making Pure Corn Whiskey: A Professional Guide For Amateur And Micro Distillers (Paperback)
This book was almost exactly what I was looking for when trying to make my own hooch. A lot of great information and explanation, the only thing that bugged me was that to follow his instructions exactly you have to make this fairly large and very expensive still from a water heater! Yep, I said it "a small water heater". And he talks about having you do a beer stripping run in a pot still before you put it in his reflux "water heater" still. A LOT of equipment is required and it's not cheap. I highly recommend this book for anyone interested in the art or someone who is a beginner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great job-easy and informative., January 11, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Making Pure Corn Whiskey: A Professional Guide For Amateur And Micro Distillers (Paperback)
Great job using basic examples of how to make corn whiskey. Not much variety, as the title of the book implies, but an excellent resource, especially on the blending of the feints, tails, etc. Highly recommended for the novice to mid level distiller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best how-to book on this subject, December 23, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Making Pure Corn Whiskey: A Professional Guide For Amateur And Micro Distillers (Paperback)
Extremely well written and great drawings. Great plans not like some of these how to books that are vague. Shows and tells all the details you Need when starting out. Would buy this book again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good read., February 6, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Making Pure Corn Whiskey: A Professional Guide For Amateur And Micro Distillers (Paperback)
Very well written. A person with no chemistry background cand understand some very complex processes after reading this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Bible for distilling!, July 16, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Making Pure Corn Whiskey: A Professional Guide For Amateur And Micro Distillers (Paperback)
Very well organized and written. When I started distilling, I bought 5 or 6 books to help me develop my processes. This book has become my bible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book delivers..., June 7, 2013
By 
This review is from: Making Pure Corn Whiskey: A Professional Guide For Amateur And Micro Distillers (Paperback)
Great book, especially for those who want to go beyond the process and more into the science. There are more in-depth professional manuals out there, but only if you are willing to spend $100+ for one. I also recommend "Designing and Building Automatic Stills" by Riku (@$25)for those of you who want to delve more into the science and engineering of this great craft.

For those dissenters who bought this book thinking it was a beginners guide, and subsequently bashed it here and on other sites, you have no business working with this kind of equipment. The reason I say that is because: 1) The title says "Professional Guide" not "Beginner's Guide" or "Guide for Dummies" or anything else to lead you to believe this book is intended for novices who know nothing about distilling whiskey and, 2) Working with this kind of equipment has some level of inherent hazard and since you are too feeble-minded or just so lazy you can't do some simple online research (like read reviews) to determine if this book is what you need then hopefully you have given up and saved your own life and that of anyone near you by not attempting this process. Just move on to another hobby and stick with buying your whiskey at the store.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Making Pure Corn Whiskey: A Professional Guide For Amateur And Micro Distillers
Used & New from: $22.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.