Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Making Pure Corn Whiskey: A Professional Guide For Amateur And Micro Distillers
Safety Month botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums The best from Bose just got wireless Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks STEM Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 2, 2008
Home distilling is a rewarding hobby that combines skills as diverse as cooking, zymurgy, plumbing, chemistry and thermodynamics. Although it takes no great skill to whip up a batch of 'shine, this is a hobby that can be taken to great depths. The author has made a comprehensive guide to producing top-notch corn whiskey using hardware-store materials. The purity of the product produced using the methods he describes far outstrips any that Grampaw could have made with his old thumper. The author's approach is very informative, without going overboard on technical detail. It is quite readable and should be considered a must-have for anyone looking into the hobby. Bear in mind, though, this is an instructional manual, so it isn't sprinkled with amusing anecdotes or breezy prose. It is simply a perfect 'how-to' manual.
0Comment|68 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 31, 2008
The book is clearly written and has descriptions of how to build a still, and how to control ingredients, mash, fermentation, and distillation. It includes just enough on the history of moonshining ... with a real focus on the how-to.

This book really suited my level. Not overly basic - but not overly complex. Written a bit as though you were talking to a neighbor - being shown what to do.

Couldn't be happier.
0Comment|42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 31, 2005
This book does exactly what it claims; it gives the reader the ability to firmly grasp distilling on a personal level. The only downside is the history chapter is a little bit choppy and some facts are questionable (which the author makes perfectly clear). I highly suggest this book for anyone interested in the hobby and pleasure of procuring fine corn whiskey.
0Comment|39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 9, 2011
I had no previous knowlege of the subject at all. I read this book cover to cover three times before trying my first batch. I consulted it repeatedly while making my first batch.

It was a success. Over the last nine months I've made five batches of whiskey and it is all the smoothest, best tasting stuff around. If you follow his instructions it's impossible to fail.

I definitely recommend this book to anyone with an interest.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 19, 2010
This book was almost exactly what I was looking for when trying to make my own hooch. A lot of great information and explanation, the only thing that bugged me was that to follow his instructions exactly you have to make this fairly large and very expensive still from a water heater! Yep, I said it "a small water heater". And he talks about having you do a beer stripping run in a pot still before you put it in his reflux "water heater" still. A LOT of equipment is required and it's not cheap. I highly recommend this book for anyone interested in the art or someone who is a beginner.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 11, 2007
Great job using basic examples of how to make corn whiskey. Not much variety, as the title of the book implies, but an excellent resource, especially on the blending of the feints, tails, etc. Highly recommended for the novice to mid level distiller.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 7, 2013
Great book, especially for those who want to go beyond the process and more into the science. There are more in-depth professional manuals out there, but only if you are willing to spend $100+ for one. I also recommend "Designing and Building Automatic Stills" by Riku (@$25)for those of you who want to delve more into the science and engineering of this great craft.

For those dissenters who bought this book thinking it was a beginners guide, and subsequently bashed it here and on other sites, you have no business working with this kind of equipment. The reason I say that is because: 1) The title says "Professional Guide" not "Beginner's Guide" or "Guide for Dummies" or anything else to lead you to believe this book is intended for novices who know nothing about distilling whiskey and, 2) Working with this kind of equipment has some level of inherent hazard and since you are too feeble-minded or just so lazy you can't do some simple online research (like read reviews) to determine if this book is what you need then hopefully you have given up and saved your own life and that of anyone near you by not attempting this process. Just move on to another hobby and stick with buying your whiskey at the store.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 23, 2010
Extremely well written and great drawings. Great plans not like some of these how to books that are vague. Shows and tells all the details you Need when starting out. Would buy this book again.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2009
Very well written. A person with no chemistry background cand understand some very complex processes after reading this book.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 12, 2013
Bought this to add to my Distilling library. I distill at a local start up and have about 3 years experience. This is a good guide for anyone beginner or advanced distiller. Well written and filled with lots of information.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse