Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Guide to the Implementation of Sustainability Principles
Making Sustainability work does a significant contribution for practitioners on how to put sustainability principles and ideas into practice. We have seen in the past other important contributions about sustainability. The difference regarding this new book is in putting these ideas in a very explicit way; emphasizing on the challenges of integrating sustainability into...
Published on January 31, 2008 by Felipe Perez

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Kindle version jarring, all boldface
This rating is not on the content, but on the Kindle format. It is all in bold (at least in the "Look Inside" and the sample), which, when reading, feels like the equivalent of all caps. I really wanted to buy this book because it seems useful, but I will wait until the publisher puts it in a normal, non-bold font.
Published 5 months ago by jrc


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Guide to the Implementation of Sustainability Principles, January 31, 2008
By 
Felipe Perez "Landser08" (Miami, Florida United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Making Sustainability Work: Best Practices in Managing and Measuring Corporate Social, Environmental and Economic Impacts (Business) (Hardcover)
Making Sustainability work does a significant contribution for practitioners on how to put sustainability principles and ideas into practice. We have seen in the past other important contributions about sustainability. The difference regarding this new book is in putting these ideas in a very explicit way; emphasizing on the challenges of integrating sustainability into the business strategy and in the decision-making that encompasses the implementation of successful strategies at the firm level.

The book goes further giving valuable guidelines in practical methodologies on how to measure social and environmental risks and impacts and in the implementation of systems inside the firms for permanently monitoring such impacts. This has been a weakness in some of the literature we have seen in the past. Making Sustainability Work addresses the necessary evaluation of the impacts of sustainability initiatives on the financial performance to correctly assess the convenience of implementing them in terms of the benefits to both, the firm and the stakeholders. Finally, we have in a very amenable reading style, an important guide for practitioners on how to put sustainability principles into practice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Getting Brilliant Insights, February 22, 2011
This review is from: Making Sustainability Work: Best Practices in Managing and Measuring Corporate Social, Environmental and Economic Impacts (Business) (Hardcover)
If you are looking for a book that provides you with a comprehensive understanding what sustainability in an organization is about and how other companies handled this topic, your search is hereby over. There are a few books out there which only contain the theory about the sustainability concept. Epstein's "Making Sustainability Work" provides a well balanced mix between introducing theory and examples of best practices. Covering a lot of topics such as sustainable leadership style, sustainable cultural frameworks, risks associated with sustainability, social impacts, and reporting systems Epstein touches most of the areas that either impact the sustainability of an organization or are influenced by it.

However, sometimes I had the feeling that he could have gone more into depth. E.g. in chapter five, where he covers performance evaluation and reward systems, I missed a few deeper insights into what really motivates employees and aligns them with sustainable strategies. Furthermore, I missed the part about how to market sustainability internally and externally. Nevertheless, the given advices based on Epstein's experience are reason enough to read it, not to mention the most valuable best practice examples.

- Frank Roettgers, author of Going Green Together - How to Align Employees with Green Strategies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Important to read for both the Manager and the Management Academic, February 10, 2008
By 
W. Smith (Philadelphia, PA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Making Sustainability Work: Best Practices in Managing and Measuring Corporate Social, Environmental and Economic Impacts (Business) (Hardcover)
Whereas others have argued for why corporations must attend to social issues, Epstein helps us understand how. Epstein provides in-depth, thoughtful analysis that integrates the relevant research in the field about how to more effectively manage corporate social responsibility. He grounds this analysis in extensive examples of companies actively grappling with these issues. In doing so, he provides a manual for both academics and practitioners to understand what we know today about how to manage corporate social responsibility , and provides a set of questions for the issues that we must grapple with tomorrow. This book is a must read for anyone who cares about the success of companies and who cares about the future of our communities and our planet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A master plan for managing sustainably, February 7, 2008
By 
W. Birchard (Amherst, New Hampshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Making Sustainability Work: Best Practices in Managing and Measuring Corporate Social, Environmental and Economic Impacts (Business) (Hardcover)
If you want a single book on how to make your company sustainable, this is the book for you. Epstein distills the latest and greatest thinking into a sensible and comprehensive program for delivering environmental, social, and financial excellence. You don't need to look further for a guide to retool the machinery of your organization to create value for all stakeholders. Epstein is a renowned expert in the field of managing for sustainable performance. It's amazing how many insights and examples he fits into this easy-to-ready book. A great contribution to the field.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well grounded analysis and advice, January 30, 2008
By 
Jean Francois Manzoni (Lausanne, Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Making Sustainability Work: Best Practices in Managing and Measuring Corporate Social, Environmental and Economic Impacts (Business) (Hardcover)
Epstein's book aims at filling an important void: After years of arguing that sustainability is essential, there are now very few senior leaders and organizations that deny the need to "do something". What these leaders and organizations now need is solidly grounded help and guidance to "make it happen", i.e., to re-shape the behavior of hundreds, thousands, tens of thousands of managers and employees so they become better able to generate financial performance in a more sustainable way.

Epstein reviews the major levers that top management can use to make employees more willing and better able to do so: the organization's structure, processes, information flows, the performance measurement, evaluation and rewards systems, the behavior of senior leaders, are all reviewed and discussed. The book builds on Epstein's years of research in this area. It contains scores of examples and is written in a very readable style. It's a great book for leaders who are now convinced their organization needs to do better, and want to "make it happen".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good resource, December 16, 2013
By 
telefriend (Medford, OR USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Making Sustainability Work: Best Practices in Managing and Measuring Corporate Social, Environmental and Economic Impacts (Business) (Hardcover)
This book is helpful in getting concerned citizens to think about implications of their daily lives on the abundance or scarcity of the planet's resources.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Kindle version jarring, all boldface, November 7, 2013
This rating is not on the content, but on the Kindle format. It is all in bold (at least in the "Look Inside" and the sample), which, when reading, feels like the equivalent of all caps. I really wanted to buy this book because it seems useful, but I will wait until the publisher puts it in a normal, non-bold font.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good purchase!, April 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Making Sustainability Work: Best Practices in Managing and Measuring Corporate Social, Environmental and Economic Impacts (Business) (Hardcover)
Husband needed this for MBA school. Came real fast in the mail, worked out great, and now we are just stuck with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Making Sustainability Work, March 2, 2012
This review is from: Making Sustainability Work: Best Practices in Managing and Measuring Corporate Social, Environmental and Economic Impacts (Business) (Hardcover)
Management professor Mark J. Epstein conducted extensive academic research into the best social and environmental - that is, sustainability - practices of 100 companies worldwide. Drawing on that knowledge, he developed a "Corporate Sustainability Model" to show business leaders how to implement the right organizational processes to create, measure and promote corporate social responsibility (CSR) and "corporate social opportunity." The book is quite dense and academic, with much of its information packed into evocative but complex charts, so it seeks a professional audience. getAbstract recommends it to corporate decision makers as a well-informed, thorough manual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sustainability for the future, November 7, 2010
By 
Chance (CHANDLER, AZ, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Making Sustainability Work: Best Practices in Managing and Measuring Corporate Social, Environmental and Economic Impacts (Business) (Hardcover)
It is important to find out information to make this world have a more sustainable future. If you would like to read a book that contains thought provoking situations, I recommend you give this a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa0db95ac)

This product

Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.