Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great introduction for anyone interested in experimenting with Kinect
This book makes it very easy to experiment with Kinect, Processing is easy to set up, simple to write and allows for rapid iterations. Perfect even when you're not that into programming (yet).

The book has a very gradual increase in complexity, taking you from 2D, to 3D to changing the position of virtual camera and eventually scanning a 3D environment. The...
Published on February 9, 2012 by Ivo Flipse

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy the kindle edition
The kindle edition's pictures don't work at all. Otherwise the book is good and is a four star book at least.
Published 10 months ago by Ella Kaaz


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great introduction for anyone interested in experimenting with Kinect, February 9, 2012
This review is from: Making Things See: 3D vision with Kinect, Processing, Arduino, and MakerBot (Make: Books) (Paperback)
This book makes it very easy to experiment with Kinect, Processing is easy to set up, simple to write and allows for rapid iterations. Perfect even when you're not that into programming (yet).

The book has a very gradual increase in complexity, taking you from 2D, to 3D to changing the position of virtual camera and eventually scanning a 3D environment. The book starts to get really cool when you get to the Skeleton tracking part, which allows you to calculate the angles between limbs and use those to control the arm of an Arduino robot.

Another great thing about the examples is how they show you all the basic elements you need to built highly interactive programs, like a virtual drum kit, controlling a robot or 3D model.

I would definitely recommend this book to anyone interesting in experimenting with Kinect. I easily got through the book in 3 days and with the help of Greg's GitHub [...] you should have no trouble getting the examples to work! A definite recommendation!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best in-print survey of Kinect hacking thus far, February 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Making Things See: 3D vision with Kinect, Processing, Arduino, and MakerBot (Make: Books) (Paperback)
"Making Things See" contains some of the most comprehensive documentation for the Kinect that I've been able to find. The prologue interviews were a good motivation for why the book exists: to help others start to discover the full potential of this wonderful little device. As a programmer, I found the explanations of the various computer vision algorithms accurate and and helpful for my own understanding of what the Kinect was capable of. All in all a highly recommended read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, February 28, 2013
By 
Nomad (Baltimore, MD, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Making Things See: 3D vision with Kinect, Processing, Arduino, and MakerBot (Make: Books) (Paperback)
Of the 3 kinect programming books I got (mainly cuz each one has its own SDK/language of choice), this one got me up & running the fastest. However, the instructions are dated for installing on windows, they are meant for the original X-box kinect sensor not the one dedicated to windows. Please see Ramsri Goutham's excellent tutorial:
[...]
In case the link is taken out of the review you can g**gl* kinect sensor for openni. Basically, there is a different method to install the correct drivers for the Kinect for Windows product. All the instructions for the OpenNI software in the book likely predate the Kinect for Windows product and fail to mention that the most common problem now has nothing to do with x86 vs. x64 but that the original Kinect hacks were for the Xbox kinect, NOT THE KINECT FOR WINDOWS DEVICE!!!! You MUST use the avin2 package and replace the “default” kinect sensor mod, and you MUST force the computer to NOT use the automatic windows update drivers, and you MUST force the computer to install the primesense drivers by navigating from driver update to “choose from a list” and selecting “all devices” and scrolling to PrimeSense and overriding the driver not signed warnings!!! Whew!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for hobbyist!, April 30, 2012
By 
Ryan Hartman (Bloomington, Indiana USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Making Things See: 3D vision with Kinect, Processing, Arduino, and MakerBot (Make: Books) (Paperback)
This book is 5 star for non-programmers. Mr. Borenstein walks the reader through the process of writing Kinect applications in a simple straightforward way that is extremely easy to follow. The code in the book is written using Processing (processing.org) which means even people with almost no background in software development and be up and running very quickly! If you are new to all of this then I recommend you read this book! You'll be amazed at how easy it is to write some really impressive Kinect programs.

The book is a 4 start for professional software developers. Still a great value for the price and it will give you a quick ramp-up into Kinect development. But after reading this you'll want to check out something more technical if you are interesting in writing applications using the Microsoft Kinect SDK or one of the several open source tool sets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Book.. Read for a time saving setup tip, November 9, 2013
By 
MAX (Costa Mesa, CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Making Things See: 3D vision with Kinect, Processing, Arduino, and MakerBot (Make: Books) (Paperback)
I just got this book and am enjoying it very much. I love that there are resources like this out there for people geek out on.

The main reason for the review was to save some people time if they purchase the book a year after its publication date like me. Getting up and running can be a frustrating task going by the book, when I probably would have been better off just downloading everything without a care in the world.

In the setup section it has a clear warning not to install the Microsoft SDK, otherwise your OpenNI stuff will not work. So I didn't install it. strangely it was working from the OpenNI stuff, but everytime I ran the examples in Processing, just said over and over can't find the device. So I finally gave in and installed the SDK because it sort of said to do so on the SimpleOpenNI site. Everything worked like a charm. There was no mention of this error in the book, and little if any online mention of it.

So..word of caution, even if there was a compatibility issue with the SDK when this book was first written, the open source community has clearly resolved that. INSTALL AWAY!

After that headache, I was up and running the examples in no time. Looking forward to reading the rest of the book frustration free:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another happy reader, May 13, 2012
This review is from: Making Things See: 3D vision with Kinect, Processing, Arduino, and MakerBot (Make: Books) (Paperback)
This is an excellent book. Readers will learn to use the Kinect in Processing including display the RGB, depth, skeleton and use the data to interact with the computer. The author explained every aspects right from the very basic and did not assume any prior knowledge. Programming techniques in Processing, dealing with vectors, 3D coordinates and everything that is required to follow the book. It was relaxing and enjoyable to follow the book. There is minimal mathematics in the book, which was great for my objective. There are a lot to learn from this book than simply the Kinect. The author has a good way to build every project from the basics. The major projects are inspirational and useful to carry further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy the kindle edition, January 11, 2014
The kindle edition's pictures don't work at all. Otherwise the book is good and is a four star book at least.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent text, November 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Once I received the PDF version from O'Reilly, I found the book to be well written. It provides in-depth technical coverage of the Kinect 360 as a 3D camera. Perfect for my application. The Kindle version that I originally purchases from Amazon did not include the illustrations. A big Thank You to Customer Service at O'Reilly for quickly correcting the problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars everything OK, I like the book, maybe will buy other on the same topic, April 25, 2014
By 
Luis Llerena A. (MIAMI, FLORIDA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Making Things See: 3D vision with Kinect, Processing, Arduino, and MakerBot (Make: Books) (Paperback)
everything OK, I like the book, maybe will buy other on the same topic in the future. the collection is ok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, December 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Making Things See: 3D vision with Kinect, Processing, Arduino, and MakerBot (Make: Books) (Paperback)
I have skimmed through the book a few times and have added the book to my list of books to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Making Things See: 3D vision with Kinect, Processing, Arduino, and MakerBot (Make: Books)
$39.99 $28.06
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.