Automotive Holiday Deals Books Gift Guide Books Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Train egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Grocery Gifts for Her Amazon Gift Card Offer cm15 cm15 cm15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $30 Off Fire HD 6 Kindle Cyber Monday Deals BestoftheYear Shop Now HTL

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars30
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
on February 9, 2012
This book makes it very easy to experiment with Kinect, Processing is easy to set up, simple to write and allows for rapid iterations. Perfect even when you're not that into programming (yet).

The book has a very gradual increase in complexity, taking you from 2D, to 3D to changing the position of virtual camera and eventually scanning a 3D environment. The book starts to get really cool when you get to the Skeleton tracking part, which allows you to calculate the angles between limbs and use those to control the arm of an Arduino robot.

Another great thing about the examples is how they show you all the basic elements you need to built highly interactive programs, like a virtual drum kit, controlling a robot or 3D model.

I would definitely recommend this book to anyone interesting in experimenting with Kinect. I easily got through the book in 3 days and with the help of Greg's GitHub [...] you should have no trouble getting the examples to work! A definite recommendation!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
on February 28, 2012
"Making Things See" contains some of the most comprehensive documentation for the Kinect that I've been able to find. The prologue interviews were a good motivation for why the book exists: to help others start to discover the full potential of this wonderful little device. As a programmer, I found the explanations of the various computer vision algorithms accurate and and helpful for my own understanding of what the Kinect was capable of. All in all a highly recommended read.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on February 28, 2013
Of the 3 kinect programming books I got (mainly cuz each one has its own SDK/language of choice), this one got me up & running the fastest. However, the instructions are dated for installing on windows, they are meant for the original X-box kinect sensor not the one dedicated to windows. Please see Ramsri Goutham's excellent tutorial:
In case the link is taken out of the review you can g**gl* kinect sensor for openni. Basically, there is a different method to install the correct drivers for the Kinect for Windows product. All the instructions for the OpenNI software in the book likely predate the Kinect for Windows product and fail to mention that the most common problem now has nothing to do with x86 vs. x64 but that the original Kinect hacks were for the Xbox kinect, NOT THE KINECT FOR WINDOWS DEVICE!!!! You MUST use the avin2 package and replace the “default” kinect sensor mod, and you MUST force the computer to NOT use the automatic windows update drivers, and you MUST force the computer to install the primesense drivers by navigating from driver update to “choose from a list” and selecting “all devices” and scrolling to PrimeSense and overriding the driver not signed warnings!!! Whew!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on April 30, 2012
This book is 5 star for non-programmers. Mr. Borenstein walks the reader through the process of writing Kinect applications in a simple straightforward way that is extremely easy to follow. The code in the book is written using Processing ( which means even people with almost no background in software development and be up and running very quickly! If you are new to all of this then I recommend you read this book! You'll be amazed at how easy it is to write some really impressive Kinect programs.

The book is a 4 start for professional software developers. Still a great value for the price and it will give you a quick ramp-up into Kinect development. But after reading this you'll want to check out something more technical if you are interesting in writing applications using the Microsoft Kinect SDK or one of the several open source tool sets.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on November 9, 2013
I just got this book and am enjoying it very much. I love that there are resources like this out there for people geek out on.

The main reason for the review was to save some people time if they purchase the book a year after its publication date like me. Getting up and running can be a frustrating task going by the book, when I probably would have been better off just downloading everything without a care in the world.

In the setup section it has a clear warning not to install the Microsoft SDK, otherwise your OpenNI stuff will not work. So I didn't install it. strangely it was working from the OpenNI stuff, but everytime I ran the examples in Processing, just said over and over can't find the device. So I finally gave in and installed the SDK because it sort of said to do so on the SimpleOpenNI site. Everything worked like a charm. There was no mention of this error in the book, and little if any online mention of it.

So..word of caution, even if there was a compatibility issue with the SDK when this book was first written, the open source community has clearly resolved that. INSTALL AWAY!

After that headache, I was up and running the examples in no time. Looking forward to reading the rest of the book frustration free:)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on September 30, 2014
The material for this book is very out of date. I am sure it was a good book a few years ago but now all of the libraries are out of date, and there is no way to even run the examples shown.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on May 13, 2012
This is an excellent book. Readers will learn to use the Kinect in Processing including display the RGB, depth, skeleton and use the data to interact with the computer. The author explained every aspects right from the very basic and did not assume any prior knowledge. Programming techniques in Processing, dealing with vectors, 3D coordinates and everything that is required to follow the book. It was relaxing and enjoyable to follow the book. There is minimal mathematics in the book, which was great for my objective. There are a lot to learn from this book than simply the Kinect. The author has a good way to build every project from the basics. The major projects are inspirational and useful to carry further.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 13, 2014
Once I received the PDF version from O'Reilly, I found the book to be well written. It provides in-depth technical coverage of the Kinect 360 as a 3D camera. Perfect for my application. The Kindle version that I originally purchases from Amazon did not include the illustrations. A big Thank You to Customer Service at O'Reilly for quickly correcting the problem.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 8, 2015
I am really enjoying this. It is helping me with producing my Masters thesis. Each project gives you a solid sense of accomplishment as you work your way through the book.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on November 15, 2012
The book is very good, well-written and covers a broad spectrum of subjects on depth cameras, the kinect and touch-free interaction. The examples are advanced enough that they will be useful even if you already understand a bit about computer programming and the kinect. If you come from a technical background like me, you will at times be skipping forward and looking over some minor inconsistencies. I still don't understand why authors are struggling so hard to make it look like Processing is a programming language on its own. It is only a Java library and I do think presenting it otherwise makes it tougher for a beginner to grasp the more advanced techniques in the future.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this also viewed

Kinect Adapter for Windows
Kinect Adapter for Windows by Microsoft (Xbox One)


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.