Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Makita 2705
If you're looking for the best portable table saw, here it is. I've used my boss' Bosch portable saw for seven years or so, and I love it, but this one is even better. This saw is very similar to the Bosch portable as far as quality, engineering, and features. The Makita is just bigger and badder! It's heavier too, but you'll have to deal with it, because if you want...
Published 11 months ago by Russell Scott

versus
33 of 42 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great table saw with poor rip fence
Makita did it again. They built a great table saw with a great motor equipped with a blade brake and plenty of power. The table extension is great for ripping large sheets. The major downside again is in the rip fence. I don't understand why Makita engineers can't figure out how to build a rip fence that locks tight and is easy to adjust tracking parallel with the blade...
Published on September 24, 2009 by BenQ


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Makita 2705, January 29, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Makita 2705 10-Inch Contractor Table Saw (Tools & Home Improvement)
If you're looking for the best portable table saw, here it is. I've used my boss' Bosch portable saw for seven years or so, and I love it, but this one is even better. This saw is very similar to the Bosch portable as far as quality, engineering, and features. The Makita is just bigger and badder! It's heavier too, but you'll have to deal with it, because if you want precision, longevity, and efficiency, you're going to want this saw. I just looked at the DeWalt portable at the store too, and I can tell you that it has some nice features, but if you want something you'll have forever, the Makita 2705 is your saw (and you do want your saw forever!) I bought the Makita 2705 never having seen it before, because I can't find one locally. I trust Makita wholeheartedly, and I'm glad I did. Most of my stuff is Makita because they not only have a reputation for quality, but their tools are just damn fun to use, comfortable, and user friendly. My local tool shop owner stands by their stuff too, and he urged me to check it out. You can forget about the negative reviews on this saw, because Makita must have fixed the fence problem since then. I don't know what the old one was like, but this saw comes with the best rip fence I've seen in a tie with Bosch's. If you don't know already, the rip fence is an ESSENTIAL part of the saw. It's what makes the saw accurate. It's one major reason you need a table saw in the first place. The Makita fence (like Bosch's) is a strong, sturdy, single piece of aluminum tubing basically, which means it's stronger than most other fences like DeWalts', which is a flimsy "L" shaped aluminum piece with only two sides to get strength from. Makita's rip fence slides smoothly across the nice, flat table. The Makita has a great, precise magnifying lens to view your ripping measurements (like Bosch's.) This saw is a little larger and certainly more powerful than Bosch's, with a higher RPM. The Makita is the only 10 inch table saw I know that can rip all the way through 4x material in one pass. That is a huge feature in itself. The table extension extends very smoothly and squarely, just like you want it to. It has two locking levers that function solidly. The rip measurements are easy to read; made on nice metal plates, recessed in the metal slide so they won't wear off. The blade height adjustment wheel has a nice feel and sturdy sound to it when you raise and lower the blade. Nice feel and sound to the on/off switch as well; easy to use even with gloves on. The bevel adjustment lock is basically the same as Bosch's too, which is the best on the market. Although the Makita requires you to turn the bevel adjustment wheel to adjust bevel angle, instead of just pushing the bevel mechanism like Bosch's. Both brands features have their pros and cons in the bevel department.

To use this saw on the job, I bought the Bosch gravity rise stand, because it's the best, fastest, strongest, and easiest to use of the ones I've seen. I tried the DeWalt one (which is light and portable, but flimsy), and I can tell you the Bosch is better hands down in quality, strength, and ergonomics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Makita table saw, October 31, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Makita 2705 10-Inch Contractor Table Saw (Tools & Home Improvement)
I bought this saw as a used saw from a vendor of Amazon. It was about 10% less than the new price. The product arrived in a beat-up original box that had been opened before and inadequately repackaged in a flimsy box with card boards and paper stuffing. The saw arrived with a few dents and several scratches on the table -- I can't say whether these cosmetic damages were due to poor packaging and shipping or as an used tool's wear-and-tear condition. In operation the saw is powerful but with moderate sound level , has a larger table than similar Bosch, DeWalt, or Rigid. If you like a large table to support your lumber, this saw will serve you better than any other in its class. While the fence is inaccurate when arrived, with some adjustment and compensation it works fine. It appears that Bosch's fence system is of better design and function. The anti-kick back and safety blade covers are easily removal without tools. Raising the blade up and down requires more muscle than I had expected -- perhaps my saw suffered too much concussion during shipment or a manufacturing defect. As this saw is slightly heavier than the other comparable table saws, this saw should come with its won dolly for easier transportation, but it does not. You must purchase the dolly separately for about $200.

If you need a quality table saw, this saw is it. Don't buy the cheap Ryobi table saw; mines lasted only one year under moderate use and wasted my money. And you don't need to waste money on gimmicky, over-hyped, name-brand table saws.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lot of power and rips 4x4's., May 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Makita 2705 10-Inch Contractor Table Saw (Tools & Home Improvement)
There are a lot of portable table saws out there to buy. Dewalt makes a good one, Bosch has an excellent saw with a great rip fence that is well built which was my second choice, but none of them can rip a 4x4 in one pass. This Makita makes short work of modifying 4x4's and that kind of power also translates itself into ripping other pieces of material quicker and easier. As for the fence, Bosch is the best, but most previous table saw fences that I have used have required double checking with a tape. I find that most of the time the Makita fence is square with the material and right where it should be.
Other than that the saw is well made, I find the blade guard works well, but seems a little over complex. There is storage for blades and wrenches on the side. The weight of the saw is not bad, and fits through doorways as easily as any portable saw with a sliding extension side piece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 42 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great table saw with poor rip fence, September 24, 2009
By 
BenQ "BenQ" (Greenville, SC, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Makita 2705 10-Inch Contractor Table Saw (Tools & Home Improvement)
Makita did it again. They built a great table saw with a great motor equipped with a blade brake and plenty of power. The table extension is great for ripping large sheets. The major downside again is in the rip fence. I don't understand why Makita engineers can't figure out how to build a rip fence that locks tight and is easy to adjust tracking parallel with the blade. Makita's older more portable model 2703 has the same problem - a poor rip fence. I love Makita motors and overall build, but the rip fences are a huge drawback. The other negative is the weight, but this could be necessary to get the power of this saw. The cast frame that holds the motor is quite beefy as is the table - providing a great sturdy saw but not so portable. Maybe Makita should take a look at the Dewalt DW745 table saw. We have 3 of these and we all love them as the best portable table saw. The rip fence locks well and has a knob on the front that moves the rail that the fence clamps to. Check it out Makita!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Makita 2705, August 12, 2014
This review is from: Makita 2705 10-Inch Contractor Table Saw (Tools & Home Improvement)
Bought this one last weekend. its about 15-20% bigger than Bosch ones.
first i was worried about rip 8quart walnut, thats about 2in thick. spent 2hours ish fine-tune the saw. then powered it up, rip the walnut no problem! then i flipped that walnut 90 degree ripped it again now we are talking about a almost 3in walnut! no problem. no burning, no bogging it went thru smoothly. i was worried about the fence as well depends on the reviews. but i found it very square and stay down very solid. the ruler was off about just a shy of 1/16 with right side extension table all the way out but thats easy to fix. with the table extend out, its solid too. and i measured 4in - 6in - 9in- 12in-16in-14in, the fence all parallel and lock tight!. powerful little guy! blade stops in about 3 seconds. the miter gauge was wobbling abit i just put a piece of tinfoil tape under it its ok now but i will get some incra stuff for it.
overall, impressive. bigger and heavier and more power than the other portable saws. i was about to get a general 300-400 pounds best to make sure i get it "right" the first time but this one will do the job and easy to move around. what else, oh, the dust port shoots about 80-90% of the dust out. i hooked it up with my makita vc4710 it works pretty good.
again, its a good saw.

Andrew
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not worth the price., July 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Makita 2705 10-Inch Contractor Table Saw (Tools & Home Improvement)
Cuts no better than other saws. Will not adjust to 45 deg cuts because something holds it back. Rip guide doesn't stay parallel to blade when ripping, even after tightening Allen bolts. 90lbs and the lighter saws cut and rip just as well. Tool compartments don't have strap spots so all your safety items fly out during movement. I typically have 3-4 jobs going at once and the table saw moves from job to job I have had to adjust it every time I move it. View guides can bump out of alignment to easily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent saw, April 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Makita 2705 10-Inch Contractor Table Saw (Tools & Home Improvement)
This is a really top class saw. However for some reason the scale didn't line up. Given that I only read the instructions as a last resort this is probably operator error.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, December 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Makita 2705 10-Inch Contractor Table Saw (Tools & Home Improvement)
As described
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it !, October 27, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Makita 2705 10-Inch Contractor Table Saw (Tools & Home Improvement)
Once it is finetuned , it work just like a charm . I use it in my garage for building furnitures .The Fence was a little loose but after i tuned it, it was just fine.Just love it !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars VERY PLEASED WITH PURCHASE THROUGH AMAZON, October 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Makita 2705 10-Inch Contractor Table Saw (Tools & Home Improvement)
LOOKED AT MANY BRANDS OF SAW, HAD SETTLED ON BOSCH BEFORE CHECKING INTO MAKITA. VERY PLEASED WITH PURCHASE THROUGH AMAZON, AND LOVE THE SAW WORTH EVERY PENNY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Makita 2705 10-Inch Contractor Table Saw
$960.00 $527.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.