Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Makita JR3050T 11 Amp Reciprocating Saw
Industrial Deals Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Jake Owen Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer angrybirds angrybirds angrybirds  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
75
Style Name: JR3050T recip saw|Change
Price:$89.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 19, 2012
I have been using Makita tools since 1982 when I purchased 2 of their grinders to use on my welding truck. I don't weld anymore but those grinders still function as well as ever. In 1985, I purchased a Makita Reciprocating Saw to use in my business as well and it functioned flawlessly for many years. I have recently found myself in need of a reciprocating saw to use for some home repair, but when I went over to my Dad's house to pick up my old Makita, discovered that someone had walked off with it. Dismayed, I go online to see what my choices are for a replacement. There are just a bewildering array of choices out there now. I considered the Milwaukee of course and Dewalt, even looked over some of the cheaper homeowner quality saws, but in the end decided to stick with what I know. I have not been disappointed. I was happy to find that even though this saw is now made in China, Makita is still apparently maintaining strict quality control over the manufacture of their products, unlike some of the other tool makers.

I almost passed on this saw after reading of the problems with the blade holder. I'm glad that I didn't. The blade holder assembly on mine works as intended and has not malfunctioned once. I rotate it until it locks in the open position, insert the blade and it snaps shut, locking the blade securely. Removal of the blade is just as quick and simple. The lack of an orbital action was not a consideration for me. Power-wise, the 9 amp rating is more than sufficient for my use and I feel, gives me a more controllable, more accurate cut than I might have with some of the higher amp saws out there. It also saves me the hassle of dragging out my larger, heavier extension cords. The balance and feel of this saw is "just right" for me, much more so than with some of the other recip saws I have handled in the store. The double wall, blow molded case is a nice addition for a saw in this price range with room for holding plenty of blades and to leave a blade in the saw if you want.

I will only use this saw for work around the house, but if I were still working, would not be embarrassed to show up on the job-site with this saw for light to medium duty work.

Update: 4/18/2013
I have been using this saw for over a year now and have no complaints except for 1 minor one and that is with the case. The area where the strain relief for the power cord is attached is a tight fit and results in my having to put a sharp bend in the cord in order to fit. I might have to do a little surgery on the case in order to correct this as it seems it might result in a failure of the cord over time. I have never needed more power although I see that Makita has increased it's power to 11 amps. I have really come to appreciate the more compact size and lighter weight compared to the heavier duty saws, especially when laying on my side in the crawlspace under my house. The adjustable shoe is a nice feature that has come in handy when needing to limit the depth of the cut. The saw is holding up well and nothing has broken yet, so I am pleased. My 5 star rating stands.
22 comments| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 20, 2015
I did a lot of research before choosing this saw. So I developed some criteria:

It must:
- Include a case
- Quality brand with good reviews
- $100 or less (I paid $99.00)
- In stock locally (I needed to start my project without delay)
- 8 amp or more
- relatively light weight

I considered the "Yellow Brand", but the one available locally in my price range, did not include a case, was 10 amps vs 11, and 2 pounds heavier.
The "Red Brand" (The Original), had almost the same specs (it's 12 amps), but was $20 more.
The HD store brand was tempting with the included "Lifetime Service Agreement", 5 blades, and $79 price tag, but it came with a soft case and had plenty of bad reviews.
The "Green Brand" WAS OVER 13LBS! ARE YOU KIDDING ME?
The other store band "Lxxx'x" was also on the heavy side, and I'm unfamiliar with their reputation/quality.

So I choose the Makita, and am glad I did. It cuts as good as any other color saw, is one of the lightest I found, and should hold up as well, if not better than any of them.

I almost forgot to mention... the Makita also includes two blades (1 metal, 1 wood), I don't believe any of the other colors come with blades.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2010
Reciprocating saws are awe-inspiring little toys. This on lives up to the Makita brand: solid like a rock, good grip, sturdy blade change mechanism, no nonsense control of speed, angle of attack and enough room to feel reasonably safe while working with it. This is a demolition tool, not intended for your fine cabinetry work; it will eat thru a steel pipe in 30 seconds and rip across a 2x4 in seconds (nails and all) whether you want it to or not.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon July 19, 2008
Like another reviewer, I bought this based on Fine Homebuilding's test of reciprocating saws. It's my first recip, thought I've borrowed others to use before. This has a nice heft to it, is very comfortable to hold and operate, and works like a champ. The day after it arrived I used it to tear through some walls so I could gain access to the attic space behind them, and then reframe the opening. It went through the studs a little slower than some other saws, and the blade is only just long enough to reach through ½" drywall and the wide edge of a 2x4, so I had to make a couple of recuts. If I did rough framing or renovation for a living, I think I'd go with Makita's top of the line saw, which got Fine Homebuilding's best rating. But for DIY home renos, this is exactly what you need, and a great value.
11 comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 23, 2016
Very well made, very high quality, beast of a saw...

It's a Makita, honestly - what else is there to say? It's better than any of the other reciprocating saws I've ever used.

Read the instructions on how to insert and remove blades. If you don't, you'll think there is something wrong with the saw and probably leave a bad review about it :)
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 21, 2006
I bought this saw because of the "Best Value" rating that it received in the November 2005 issue of Fine Homebuilding. I am very satisfied with it! I especially love the quick blade change system. I have nothing but good to say about Makita tools. I own an arsenal of them. They are, without exception, solid, dependable, comfortable, easy to use and very durable. I am hoping that the qaulity of Makita tools remains high. As long as it is, I will continue to purchase them.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 10, 2016
I love my new saw! I expected excellence from this brand, and it arrived exactly like I'd hoped, in a hard case inside a big box with plenty of paper around it. The case has a couple of 'pockets' inside the top and the blades I bought to go with the saw fit just right so I won't lose them. Everything in one place right..I used it within an hour to cut off nails which had been embedded in a 60 yr old foundation beam that the men around me couldn't get up. This was the first time I've used a reciprocating saw and I've 'needed' one for a long time. The instructions (we women DO read the instructions) were easy to understand. I had no trouble getting a blade in or to adjust the shoe (another new term I learned). I'm pleased with the Makita recip saw, and I'll get a lot of use out of it. I'd recommend this brand because I'm pleased enough to purchase another for someone's birthday coming up.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 20, 2016
Used it to cut tops off 2 3/8 metal fence posts as well as demo old wooden fence. Works like a champ. Haven't use the enclosed metal cutting and wood cutting blades and purchased 6" Carbide tipped demo blade and 6" Thick metal cutting blade for my initial project needs. Case appears to be strong and of good quality as well. Happy with my purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 10, 2015
This thing is powerful. I used it to cut though a bunch of wall studs. It had no problem with that. I picked up some good blades that I'm sure helped but the saw didn't struggle at all. Very happy with this purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 23, 2015
Out of the box I tackled some ground level tree roots that resisted the ax, and a heavy plastic landscape ring that had been penetrated by roots and would not come out. The saw make quick work of the former and was easy to handle, with plenty of power, for the latter. A good buy!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 15 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.